The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JFusion Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Supercharge your Joomla! site. Integrate almost any software into Joomla! and allow your users single logins.

Now get full control over integrating multiple softwares at the same time, with the new master/slave capabilities. JFusion is a free GPL plugin for the award winning Content Management System (CMS) Joomla. JFusion provides universal user integration, by extending the Joomla 1.5 user authentication framework without any core hacks. JFusion does not support every software out-of-the-box, but is designed for people to easily write a plugin to create a bridge, without re-inventing the wheel.

JFusion proves that Joomla is the future of CMS softwares. Which other CMS software can act as a portal and integrate your users across multiple different platforms? None! Now you have full control over all of your web applications using JFusion.

Currently supported softwares are;
1. vBulletin 3.8.0
2. phpBB 3.0.x
3. MyBB 1.4
4. SMF 1.1.8
5. SMf 2.x
6. Magento
7. Moodle
8. Gallery2
9. dokuwiki
10. Elgg
11. Oscommerce 2.x, 3.x, XT, Zen, Max, SEO
12. e-Front
13. Wordpress
14. Mediawiki
15. Universal plugin (integration to "anything"? as long as it is simple enugh)

A number of modules are provided with the JFusion package such as;
1. Login Module
2. Latest Activity Module
3. User Activity Module
4. Who is Online Module

Additonal features such as a search plugin (integrates external search i.e. from you integrated software inside your Joomla! search) and a discussion bot(posts news items posted in Joomla! into your integrated forums automatically).

In addition to a user sync feature JFusion now also provides user-group sync using which you are able to link user-groups between softwares (handy if you have membership subscriptions that need to be synchronized between softwares)

Excellent support is available from the JFusion support playform, where our JFusion Support Team is ready to answer any questions you may have. Make sure you also check out our documentation section, as it has many guides on how to make JFusion work for you. With our new version checker and one-click upgrade functions, it has never been easier to keep your JFusion installation up to date.

JFusion is arguably the most actively developed integration software for Joomla. Just imagine what features we will be bringing to you next!

-----------------------------------NOTIFICATION-----------------------------------
TESTING FOR JFUSION 2.0 THAT SUPPORTS JOOMLA! 3.0 AND HIGHER. VISIT OUT SITE FOR MORE INFORMATION IF YOU WISH TO HELP SPEED UP THE RELEASE OF JFUSION 2.0
-----------------------------------NOTIFICATION-----------------------------------

Report Extension

 

 

2009-11-27
Reviews: 1
A must have. I wouldn't have used joomla it this extension weren't there. I am already using it to integrate phpbb3 and gallery. Never had to go to support forums because it's working without any problem.
2009-11-21
Reviews: 1
I'm surprised at the few negative reviews here for JFusion. I am NOT a professional web designer/developer, I simply volunteer for some of my kids' programs to do their websites for them and my own podcast sites.

I was already using Joomla! as my CMS for these sites, but when we wanted to add a forum to one of the sites, the native Joomla! extensions didn't seem right for me, I kept wanting to use phpBB3. When I discovered JFusion I knew it was time to get it set up.

With a little help from Google I was able to get JFusion up and running and had phpBB3 and Joomla's user accounts synced, and was getting logged into both. Encouraged I tried it with Gallery2 with the same success. So now I have a Joomla! website with both phpBB3 and Gallery2 integrated into it using JFusion and all three are working perfectly.

The one thing I'd like to do, and I've seen references to this but I can't find the plugin for it, is the Universal Frameless integration. I have a few websites that I'd like to use in my Joomla! site but I really don't like the standard Wrapper as it uses frames. Once JFusion's Universal Framelss is released (if it's not already) I'll be quick to get that set up.

I need to say again, I DO NOT do this for a living and found it incredibly easy to get configured and working. Thanks for a great solution to integration.
2009-11-16
Reviews: 1
I tried this component for about 2 months and it never has worked nor will it. Support on the home site was awful and no one would offer any help with resolving the situation.

My problems start with the install itself. I encountered a 500 server error while trying to install the product in the first place. I asked about this, nothing was said about it. I asked if it could be the problem, no one answered that part of my question. I realize that maybe a problem with my hosting so I let that go. I checked all the files manually via FTP and ended up uploading a few files that did not get placed into the install. This may also be the problem as well. But the response (or lack thereof) I got is what has me pissed off mostly. Instead they pointed out the obvious that I could see myself and did not need it pointed out that the plugin said that the user did not exist. The problem is I was using my admin account and the user DID and DOES exist in the tables. I posted this information and crickets. I never got any support of help that was actually helpful. I did not post there with an attitude or anything else and I understand and realize that the 500 error maybe a server issue, but one would think that would have at least some response or a possible fix for this. Apparently not I guess. I'm not an idiot and did appreciate being treated like one in the posts there. I install, upgrade & skin these things for a living and have been doing this for over 9 years. I will never recommend this product or others from this group ever to my clients again.
Owner's reply

Sorry but this review is completely inaccurate!!!

1: You mentioned you had a 500 error on the forum and had a reponse from the jfusion team within 3 hours. You then replied that you managed to install jfusion and never brought up this issue again. A 500 error is 99.99% related to incorrect server permissions (joomla is not allowed to write files in the joomla directory) and therefore is not an error due to JFusion programmming.

2: you also have a thread on our forum about making oscommerce a "master". I asked for some details about what version of oscommerce you are running (there are an incredible amount of clones) and also to make sure you have selected the correct oscommerce

Interestingly I did not realise that you had a 500 error on installing JFusion and you did not mention this in your post about the user not existing. Obviously if files could not be written due to your server permissions, it is not suprising that some functions may not work.

My suggestions would be to fix your server issues and make sure that you do not get 500 errors on installing (this is pretty logical), before making accusations that a product does not work.

In summary, you have always received fast support replies (you say that you did not receive support) and you forgot to mention in your second thread that you had JFusion installation errors.

Thanks, Marius

2009-11-13
Reviews: 3
A must have
2009-11-09
Reviews: 6
This is a very good product, I have tested it many times on my recent sites, Phpbb3 and Joomla users are merged.. It has ABOVE Good Support. Very Good Support and a good Extension. But the reason I gave it 4 Starts and not 5 is because it too has few errors such as

when a user changes their email on the phpbb3 board the software isnt updated, thus it creates a error. Same goes to newly registered users.. hope it gets fixed in the next version.
2009-11-06
Reviews: 1
I cant praise more, dying for Wordpress/Wordpress MU frame less integration. Please release fast :)

Thank you guys for contributing so much to the community !

Cheers and long live.
2009-11-04
Reviews: 8
Pros:
- Supports lots of software, supposedly simultaneously
- The extension has the appearance of a slick, easy to use interface.
- Has the potential to be the best bridge software out there
- External software, like forums and galleries appear in a joomla wrapper, actually integrating it into your joomla template, and making it appear more a part of your site than a separate product, and reducing the CSS customization needed for the software.

Cons:
- Trying to get it configured properly is confusing even for seasoned webmasters
- Even after following all the steps exactly, logins do not work properly.
- Most tooltips are poorly written, and often hard to understand
- Help documentation is incomplete, often containing things like "Link goes here" or "Needs more info on this topic"
- Even after uninstalling the extension my site is broken and I cannot access my forums. Joomla automatically redirects to a page that says that the JFusion plugin is improperly configured. Even typing in the direct url to my forums, it still redirects back to this joomla page. There should be no risk of such problems. Uninstalling the extensions and plugins should automatically revert all changes to the original site.
- The risk is high to completely ruin a site and it's user tables.

Other Thoughts:
My main issue with this extension is that it is very difficult to configure (relatively) and the self service help documentation is incomplete and unhelpful. A confusing interface/system is more tolerable when you have the proper help, but unfortunately the documentation for this product doesn't help hardly at all.
Owner's reply

Thanks for your feedback.

JFusion has a lot of options and can be a bit overwhelming if you are new to integrations. However, if we would remove the extra features (that you find confusing), we would have hundreds of people complaining that they need that function x,y or z. There are a lot of features of jfusion that help users like yourself with the setup. Such as the wizard function, that only asks for the path to software and will pull more than 10 different database and url settings automatically. Also the redirection mod that you used works with the click of a button, rather than asking you to read through 5 pages of instructions and spend hours editing multiple files.

It seems that your major issue is with the documentation and that you had to figure some things out for yourself. Our documentation is a wiki site that everybody can contribute to. Rather than complaining about some missing information, why don't you spend 10 minutes adding in some text that will help other users that are new to JFusion. JFusion is a free community project and will grow faster if you make contributions (even if it is so simple as writing some text on our wiki).

Removing your redirection mod is extremely easy, just click on "disable redirection mod". Or if you have completely removed jfusion already, just remove the clearly marked redirection code at the start of your software index or configuration file. JFusion does not use any hacks.

We will release a revolutionary new JFusion 2.0.0 framework soon that will have an easier interface and are therefore waiting with making new video tutorial for the new framework release (otherwise we would be duplicating our efforts)

2009-10-29
Reviews: 11
JFusion has been a blessing - it's an excellent product, that has multiple uses. Instead of needing a separate component for SMF and Gallery2, I can just use one. Also, it's well supported, unlike some older bridges that have fallen by the wayside.
2009-10-24
Reviews: 1
Very usefull. Thank you very much.
2009-10-18
Reviews: 3
I was looking for a wiki....and here we go. JFusion connects the stable dokuwiki with joomla, and the media wiki is already in the pipeline!!
2009-10-11
Reviews: 5
I could not be happier with the performance of this component. It has worked womderfully for me on 3 sites I have had to use it on... The only thing I could ask for is a frameless option for moodle.. Perhaps in a future version?
2009-10-10
Reviews: 2
This extension has done in 15-20 minutes, what has taken me days to complete. In the past, I have gone through countless backups and database dumps to join products to a joomla site; often with unexpected results. This extension did almost all the work for me and produced the expected results.
The only fault I had was that it looked very complex and difficult to use once installed, but once I had actually read the documentation(as I should have done first), it all made sense.
I think that a setup wizard would make the extension easier to use, but as it works perfectly without, there is no need.

This is a great extension, 5 stars! I would definitely recommend to anyone who is trying to bridge an application to joomla.
2009-10-02
Reviews: 1
I was looking at using Drupal for a long time for my site but they just didn't have a clean system to allow 3rd party forums to be used with the site.
When I saw that JFusion supported myBB integration it was a no brainer to pick up Joomla instead of Drupal.
This is probably the easiest and most useful component to add to a Joomla site.
2009-09-30
Reviews: 1
Jfusion is the best Joomla bridge out there. It has been absolutely essential to my site. It is easy to use and configure, has modules to help integrate the content from the various portions of the site, and the support from the jfusion team is always great. The few times I have had trouble figuring something out or had an issue all I had to do was post a message about it on their forum and within a few hours things were straightened out. With the addition of the elgg social networking bridge jfusion has gone to a new level.
2009-09-14
Reviews: 2
JFusion presents a whole world of possibilities to integrate with log in/out with other programs.
I also purchased Henks Kayako plug in for integration with joomla, and am very pleased.
Support has been great.

JFusion, to me, is a joomla must have.
2009-07-12
Reviews: 4
This is a great way of integrating a forum into a website. I love the simplicity. The frame wrapper works out really well as well, making the forum seem integrated. I definitely do not mind that the wrapper does not work on IE versions before 7, since IE 6 etc. should really be phased out anyway. Wrapper works well on Firefox and Chrome. The only thing missing is a way to integrate the Registration link into your forum. Right now, I have hacked the phpBB file to include an always on registration link to allow Registrations from the forum (so that users don't have to go to another page to register).
2009-07-09
Reviews: 1
Pro:
This is just a beautiful bridge for all, it comes with everything you want
1. proper user/pass bridging with many softwares
2. great syncing mechanism
3. replacing joomla login with its own login to point out to registration and forgot password to the master authentication site
4. integration with other community plugins

Cons:
it's bit tricky to setup and you might screw up your site, what i found out that joomla_ini plugin that you have to setup the location of your joomla install and it's not just / if you can set that right you're gold

Other thoughts:
rokbridge is buggy, require different forum menu and for a while it used static positioning and finally it doesn't work well with password recovery and didn't update properly
if you try this make sure not to logout from administration page till you make sure everything working perfectly
if you're wondering what I bridged...
I bridged phpbb3.0.5 to joomla 1.5.12
phpbb3 as master , joomla as slave also replaced the original login of joomla with JFusion login also changed request for new password and registration to phpbb3 links
2009-07-06
Reviews: 5
Like working with Joomla you need to sit down and plan what is to be achieved with JFusion.

Pros
It does what is says ... period
It makes life so simple without all the old hacking options
Support in the forum is top notch

Cons - (I have to find one)
As with all O/S projects like these keeping the documentation up to date with all the possible combinations is difficult and so there may be some things that are not there in the finest of detail for many of you. You will need to walk through the install and setup carefully.
2009-06-15
Reviews: 1
I don't know english very well but I want to give my opinion.

JFusion is the best extension I have tested, the support team is very good and the members are very friendly.

At the beginning I had problem with the configuration of some options but I reading the documentation and help of the members support forum I have been able to configure perfectly JFusion in my website.

I use the following plugins and options:
- JFusion Login
- JFusion Search
- JFusion Discussion Bot
- JFusion Activity
- JFusion Bridge Joomla PhpBB3
- JFusion Frameless Integration

Everything works great!
2009-05-31
Reviews: 1
I have been very pleased with this integration tool with Kayako. It does EXACTLY as described and support is the best I have seen.

I integrate Kayako with my Joomla site and the bridge is seamless and no core hacks are needed. I can now upgrade my Joomla site without having to go under the hod again to fix Kayako. Great job Henk!
Page 4 of 10