The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


ACL Manager ComponentPlugin

ACL Manager is the award winning Joomla extension that will save you a lot of time managing and understanding the Joomla ACL system. Set the permissions easily via the clickable permission grid that provides a great single page overview of all ACL settings across your website.

Discover & fix issues with your Joomla assets (permissions) table you may not even be aware of and even configure the backend access to 3rd party components without basic Joomla ACL support.

★ Clickable permission grid ★
The powerful clickable permission grid allows you to easily manage Joomla permissions of your website. The overview with clear icons helps you to understand the Joomla ACL system easily.

★ Understand Joomla ACL ★
Dozens of permission screens, nested User Groups, inherited permissions... It can be very confusing. Use ACL Manager and you will quickly understand the concept and power of Joomla ACL!

★ Fix issues with your assets table ★
The Joomla assets tables is often messed up by Joomla 1.5 to 2.5 migrations or 3rd party extensions. Easily detect and fix these asset issues in a few clicks via the diagnostic tool of ACL Manager.

★ Basic ACL support for any component ★
With ACL Manager you can set basic ACL permissions for any component. Even when the component does not support Joomla ACL by default. This allows you to set custom backend access to components for your users.

★ Enhanced Joomla ACL ★
A selection of powerful additional ACL features on top of the Joomla ACL system like: Permissions per Module, Show Editable Modules only, Show Editable Articles only and Permissions for the Category Manager.

★ Manage User Group permissions ★
Easily manage User Group permissions via the single page overview with all possible core & 3rd party permissions. The sidebar shows additional information about the group, like all assigned Users.

★ User permission overview ★
User in multiple User Groups with combined permissions of the assigned User Groups? No problem for the ACL Manager! See exactly which actions the selected User can & can't perform on the site.

★ Huge Time Saver ★
Managing the permissions settings for your entire website via a single screen, extended with practical information about the selected User or User Group will save you many hours. ACL Manager is a real time saver!

★ Reset Permissions ★
Easy reset Joomla! permissions for User Groups. Revert the default Joomla! permissions or clear all current permissions.

★ Available in 28 languages ★
ACL Manager is available in Afrikaans, Amharic, Arabic, Brazilian Portuguese, Bulgarian, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Danish, Dutch, English, Farsi, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Thai & Ukrainian.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-04-05
Reviews: 3
ACL Manager helped me a great deal in understanding the new ACL. When I had trouble, Sander the developer quickly found and solved the problems due to the migration process. Now, with the 1.2 version, it is even more powerful in making ACL to work with those extensions not yet updated with ACL. Thanks for a most useful extension.
John
2012-02-16
Reviews: 4
Helps a great deal being able to see everything at a glance from enabled, disabled and inherited. Being able to manage it all from one place as well makes life so much easier rather than going to each extension and turning things on and off. Thanks for the great work!
2012-01-18
Reviews: 5
This extension makes managing access to ANY item in your Joomla site simple. It is one of the most intuitive extensions I've ever seen published in the JED. Even if you don't have an understanding of access control levels, once you install this extension the concept becomes much clearer. Thank you Sander for your hard work and offering this product for such an affordable price. 10 Euros very well spent!
2012-01-02
Reviews: 4
I missed a permission overwiew in Joomla 1.6/1.7 and for me ACL was not easy to understand and needed a lot of reading and experimenting. By chance I found ACL Manager and immediately bought it. It is an excellent extension and very helpful in managing user and group permissions. I can recommend it to everybody not only those having problems with the concept of permissions and access levels. Very smooth installation and very easy to use.
2011-12-21
Reviews: 1
Very good extension, does what it says on the tin and well worth the cost to save time and energy. Excellent support, component initially had an error, but was fixed in next to no time by the developer. Well done!
2011-11-30
Reviews: 1
Checkout at website and installation of the component went very smooth! Lot's of languages are available and it works like a charm. This was exactly what I needed in Joomla 1.7! Keep up the good work Sander!
2011-10-31
Reviews: 3
Am going to keep this short and sweet. There is no better way to understand Joomla ACL with out this component. A MUST have!

GD
2011-10-26
Reviews: 41
I can't live without it. Enough said! Thanks for a brilliant piece of coding.
2011-10-15
Reviews: 9
We develop dozens of Joomla website and we were thrilled that 1.6/1.7 had built in ACL. The problem we ran in to was trying to explain to our clients how the ACL works. The built in ACL works well but it does take extensive knowledge of how Joomla works to really understand what needs to change and where it needs to change.

Luckily, I happened to stumble across a banner for ACL Manager that caught my eye. What I found when I clicked that banner was nothing short of amazing. This is how ACL should have been done!!! The screens are VERY easy to understand and manage. Simply pick the object you want to see the permissions for and everything is displayed in one clean and intuitive display. Managing the permissions for a site is not a breeze for every the lest technical of our clients. This has earn a spot in our default installation package.

Great work, this is a first class and well don extension. Definitely should be included in the core.
2011-09-25
Reviews: 1
After struggling for hours trying work with the Access Control of Joomla 1.7, I cames across the ACL Manager, and it quickly made life easier.

I wanted one user to be able to edit and publish just one article on my site, and the ACL Manager allowed me to quickly see how this could be done.

Its hard to imagine how the overview of the whole access control process can be made visually any clearer. I was also impressed how smoothly and cleanly the features integrated with Joomla.

Sander's level support is exellent. Response was rapid, and I found Sander very willing and generous with his time.
2011-09-23
Reviews: 2
This is excellent...
Very easy en quick
Good work Sander
2011-09-21
Reviews: 4
Aclmanager Component is very simple and very rich! I like it very much
2011-09-16
Reviews: 1
I subscribed to this extension as I was having trouble understanding the detail of how J1.7 permissions operate. It was worth the subscription just for using this use as a live visual aid.
However I suspect that this is a tool that will become a "must have" for anyone checking the security of J1.7 sites of any complexity as it clearly lays out who can do what with site resources(either group by group, or user by user) in a way that is not possible with the built-in admin. tools.
2011-09-16
Reviews: 4
I seldom write reviews on other developers' products, but ACL Manager is truly the cat's meow! It is exactly what is missing from Joomla! 1.7's ACL: a birds-eye view of ACL restrictions. Instead of having to go to countless components, click on the Options button, play around with the settings, Save, rinse and repeat to get the ACLs correctly, I can simply use ACL Manager. The way the information is presented makes it abundantly clear what is going on, something which isn't always the case with Joomla!'s own ACL editor.

Anyone else out there wanting to create a non-trivial Joomla! site, relying on ACLs for view and management control, don't think twice. ACL Manager is THE tool for this job and the price is very cheap, considering the huge time savings you get.

Well done, Sander!

Full disclosure: I personally know Sander and I was given a free copy of the extension as soon as it went live. However, everything I've written above is my honest opinion after having used the component on two sites (one test site and one real site I'm building).
Page 6 of 6