The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-05-04
Reviews: 1
This is the most outstaing extensions in the directory. Essential in every Joomla project. Gongrats!
2012-05-04
Reviews: 2
Seriously - install Joomla, then install Akeeba Backup (and probably admin tools by the same developer).

Don't build without it. Moving from Localhost? Moving TO localhost? Cloning sites? Routine backups? CRON'd backups to your s3 storage?

You cannot beat this extension, this support and this quality.

There are 6 extensions that go into every single site I build. This is one of them. Client says "I have a backup system", I say "that's great" and install Akeeba. Its fast, effective, bundled restoration and just handles EVERYTHING.
2012-04-27
Reviews: 2
Akeeba Backup has been one of the featured extensions on every joomla installation.
My last installation upgrade has broken the back up now button and it seems not to work. That is the only reason I am uninstalling such a great extension
Owner's reply

Assuming that the latest upgrade refers to Akeeba Backup Core 3.4.3, the Backup Now button is tested and working by yours truly on Joomla! 1.5.26 and 2.5.4 on PHP 5.2.11, 5.2.17, 5.3.10 and 5.4.0 on servers running on Mac OS X, Windows and Linux, using Google Chrome 18, Firefox 11 & 12 and IE 9 across the same mix of OS. If you have Joomla! 1.6/1.7 you need to upgrade to 2.5.4; the obsolete, insecure versions of Joomla! are no longer supported. If this is not the case and you still have a problem I would suggest taking a look at your plugins. There are several plugins which manage to screw up the Javascript in the backend and, in this case, Akeeba Backup will not work. Unfortunately, I can only vouch for my code and its proper use of Joomla! development best practices, not other developers' code. If you do file a bug report, however, I might be able to trace the issue for you and who knows, we might even find a viable workaround as we always do in such cases.

2012-04-27
Reviews: 4
I only recently discover Akeeba Backup and it has saved me hours, instead of downloading a full copy of my site as a backup Akeeba does a complete, reliable backup in less than 5 mins.
The Kickstart component is absolutely brilliant it makes moving your site from one server to another a breeze.
Well done guys an abolutely brilliant extension.
2012-04-26
Reviews: 3
This is the first time a middle-aged woman penetrating into IT space and everything is new to me. At my age, establishing a joomla site for my business purpose is considered too late, but I couldn't start it earlier. Anyway, I found this backup comp on web and installed it on my site. It just works brilliant! It was actually taking me slow progress to understand how it worked and how to install it on my site, however, I made it eventually and now I think my other sites (which I am going to extend my business) cannot live without this fabulous extension. I want to thank the developers team for their outstanding work.
2012-04-24
Reviews: 4
Akeeba Backup works perfect and easy.
I have a test- and a productive site, it's really easy to make test changes and play them up into the productive system. At least once it saved my ass to have a backup, because I did something very bad - fiddled around in the database...
I am really convinced with Akeeba Backup and think it is a real goody for every Joomla!-Admin.
Thank you for this tool!
2012-04-23
Reviews: 8
I just noticed I marked the best Joomla extension as favorite but never made a review!
All is said before but this tool should be core and therefore it is the only extension I ALWAYS install on every Joomla site I support or build.
Very easy to use for most but don't forget: Read the Fine Manual!
2012-04-20
Reviews: 3
I have used Akeeba Backup for some time, but unfortunately it will no longer restore on my Mac with MAMP. I have read all of the trouble shooting documentation but unfortunately one of the suggestions solve the problem. I'm sure this is a bug.

Bugs are expected but the contact form on the akeeba website doesn't work and you have to pay for support (which I would be happy to do if it were a support issue, unfortunately I am absolutely sure my settings are correct).

So alas, I cant give 5 stars. I'm rating it as average because the backup does actually work, its in the reinstall that you may have trouble, but for archival purposes this should be fine.
Owner's reply

Given the fact that I am using MAMP myself to develop and test Akeeba Backup and its associated utilities on a MacBook Pro I would be very surprised if using MAMP was responsible for your restoration issues.

Receiving 5-7 unsolicited support requests over the Contact Us form every day pretty much ensures that the form does work. If you have submitted an unsolicited support request and not gotten a reply is because I never reply to unsolicited support requests sent through the Contact Us form, exactly as mentioned explicitly on the Contact Us form's page.

That said, if you actually pay for support and it turns out to be an unknown bug in my software I will give you a free AKEEBADELUXE subscription, exactly as I've done to a handful of bug reporters to this date. It's not like I have abandoned my software. I just don't enjoy working for free. Would you walk up to your car mechanic and demand that he fixes your car for free? If not, why would you ask a developer to provide you with free support?

2012-04-18
Reviews: 8
An excellent and a must component for my every Joomla site.
I really want to congratulate and thanking the developer for continuing providing the support.
I already purchased the pro version and it really is amazing.
2012-04-08
Reviews: 4
Congratulations, easy to use.
This extension is actually very easy to use. I've found the translation for pt-BR, which makes it even easier to use.
In a new site, is the first extension to be installed.
Before installing any, make up, if there is any mistake, go back to the restore point.
2012-04-07
Reviews: 6
I use it for years on all my sites and it just works perfectely. Backup in 1 click and restaure in few clicks. We can even install the backup on another server.

A must have !
2012-04-07
Reviews: 1
This extension has saved my bacon on several occasions - its simple to use and saves so much time and worry.

It is my first extension on every site I build.

The only problems I ever encountered using the extension have always turned out to be due to dud hosts

This extension is brillant, so is the documentation and the support :)
2012-04-01
Reviews: 3
I just used Akeeba Backup to migrate my site from one hosting provider to another. I don't know how it could have been any easier. The interface and documentation are extremely easy to use.

Many, many thanks to the developers. I will definitely consider your commercial extensions as my needs grow.
2012-04-01
Reviews: 1
Just cannot live without it. I also use it to restore backups in different location, e.g. for testing new functionality before deploying on live site. Just few clicks to start restore, enter new connection parameters and presto - everything works!
2012-04-01
Reviews: 2
I use this product on all of my sites now. Had issues in the past couple of weeks where several sites had been compromised. I was able to utilize Kickstart and have the sites restored on new servers in 20 minutes.
2012-03-30
Reviews: 2
I am no expert on Joomla so I was quite worried about restoring a site I had spend a week or so working on.

The reason for the restore was we are hosting elswhere. We installed the Bitnami VM stack, gave Akeeba 777 permissions on the joomla directory and then let it do its thing.

5 mins later we are up and running.
The hardest part was changing SQL credentials & also an issue with a Rocket template we are using disliking "localhost" so we had to change it to 127.0.0.1 and then it was fine.

Excellent product & excellent helpful support too.
2012-03-27
Reviews: 1
What a fantastic extension, having spent about 3 weeks preparing a new site for launch, i was taking regular backups using this extension, thinking it's prudent to have a copy, any way in my wisdom I decided to enable load balancing on my shared host account, and got the admin white screen of death ! nothing i did would solve the issue, so a reinstall of joomla was required. Clean install, fired up kickstart, went and put the kettle on, by the time the coffee was made the site was back, perfect in everyway !!! I would recommend that this is the first extension you install, I am a first time user of joomla, I have some coding skills and find the whole joomla environment inc, forums etc wonderful.
2012-03-18
Reviews: 1
Akeeba Backup saved zillions of hours I'd have to otherwise spend trying to figure a 'safe and error free' way to backup and restore my Joomla site.

Stakes are high when it comes to backing up www content cleanly and reliably. Well done!
2012-03-16
Reviews: 2
Perfect site backup. Easy to restore website with Akeeba Kickstart. You can also use Akeeba to move a website with just a few kliks.

Thanks!
2012-03-15
Reviews: 2
before a years ago i am not aware of akeeba... I will develop nice website & because of server issue's i lost always... (i don't have knowledge to make money from customers :) and i don't have much money to buy unwanted)... one of my joomla website i got more then 100000 users! and got crashed from one of the server. i ask them why .. then finally they close my account also :) .... (ayelshop or aceshop peoples also same, if you ask more doubt they cancel account!... but for them also i gave nice review! in joomla!)

after 3 years of joomla love now only i learn the use of BACKUP joomla :)

Thanks akeeba... THE MUST HAVE & MUST NEEDED EXTENSION... if joomla consider to put this free extension in default joomla installation many new people's like me get more confident...

THANKS AKEEBA.... LOVE YOUR COMPONENT EQUALLY HOW MUCH I JOOMLA ...

THANKS JOOMLA EDITER PICK :) JOOMLA ALSO MUST NEED THIS!
Page 10 of 46