The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-03-15
Reviews: 2
before a years ago i am not aware of akeeba... I will develop nice website & because of server issue's i lost always... (i don't have knowledge to make money from customers :) and i don't have much money to buy unwanted)... one of my joomla website i got more then 100000 users! and got crashed from one of the server. i ask them why .. then finally they close my account also :) .... (ayelshop or aceshop peoples also same, if you ask more doubt they cancel account!... but for them also i gave nice review! in joomla!)

after 3 years of joomla love now only i learn the use of BACKUP joomla :)

Thanks akeeba... THE MUST HAVE & MUST NEEDED EXTENSION... if joomla consider to put this free extension in default joomla installation many new people's like me get more confident...

THANKS AKEEBA.... LOVE YOUR COMPONENT EQUALLY HOW MUCH I JOOMLA ...

THANKS JOOMLA EDITER PICK :) JOOMLA ALSO MUST NEED THIS!
2012-03-14
Reviews: 4
Just used the non-commercial version of Akeeba Backup along with the extractor Kickstart and was able to backup my existing site and restore it in a different location where I will be upgrading it and testing the upgrade apart from the live site. It all went smoothly and I was very pleased with the process. Thanks for a very helpful extension! Would highly recommend it. When the upgraded site is complete I will be installing Akeeba there for regular backups.
2012-03-14
Reviews: 1
If you are not using this on your J! site(s), you should. That is all. End of story!
2012-03-12
Reviews: 3
Whenever, I install joomla, my next task would be installing akeeba. This extension should come with default joomla package. I am looking for a word other than Excellent, good or something.

Thanks Nicholos for this great extension.
rw1
2012-03-10
Reviews: 2
Excellence! Video tutorials were fantastic - https://www.akeebabackup.com/videos.html. Very thoroughly developed component with equally thorough documentation. Fantastic! The first scenario i successfully implemented Akeeba in was doing a site clone to a sandbox site and it went perfectly without a hitch, fantastic!
2012-03-08
Reviews: 2
Thanks for this extention! Even in free version I've got the base ability to backup my site.
2012-03-06
Reviews: 2
Excellent product. No hassle, easy to restore and great instructions.
After a failed upgrade of my site I was quickly up and running again using Akeeba Backup and their Kickstart restoration.

If you want peace of mind, this product is essential!
2012-03-06
Reviews: 2
Thanks to Akeeba Backup, after I made an error while editing databases in phpmyadmin, I was able to restore the website in under 3 minutes. A truly slick piece of work, Akeeba Backup should be an essential part of any Joomla developer's toolbox.
2012-03-06
Reviews: 4
We use two components from Akeeba, and one of this 2 components is Akeeba Backup, and I am more then satisfied.
I have some issue, but not with components, but with my server, and main programmer help me twice on support forum in short time.
We adjust settings that akeeba backup can work on my slow server without problem. Akeeba Backup is tool that every Joomla site need to have.
Big thanks for Mr. Nicholas (Akeeba main programmer), his professionally and knowledge.
2012-03-05
Reviews: 15
This is one of the extension i install on all my joomla websites. Very handy and very useful for backup. Awesome extension and awesome support.

All the other extensions from Akeeba are also of great importance to Joomla website.

Thank and Regards
Amit Patekar
2012-03-04
Reviews: 6
The best backup-restore component I've ever used. Easy to install, configure and use - even for beginners. Also got great documentation and support. If you want to ackup your site - Akeeba is the best choice.
2012-03-02
Reviews: 3
I have been using Joomla! for a few years now in test environments and just went live with my first site. The site started with Joomla! 1.5 and migrated up through 1.6, 1.7, and finally 2.5 before it was implemented. With all three Joomla! versions, AkeebaBackup core was there to save my butt each and everytime I did something stupid during development. And when I went live with the site, it made transitioning from the development site (MS Windows) to the production site (Linux) so smooth, I thought I had messed something up. I find Nicholas' documentation to be excellent and the forum is a great resource for finding solutions to common issues.
2012-03-02
Reviews: 2
Needed to use it for the first time yesterday. And it saved my life (or at least apprx. 20 articles since my last manual backup).
Extremely easy to reinstall website, with all features and content intact.

This is a super extension - and a musthave on any joomla-website.

Thanx, Guys!
2012-03-01
Reviews: 1
I have been using this extension for some time now and I have not found ANY other as easy to setup and use. On more than one occasion, on more than one production site, I have made changes that totally broke them. Akeeba with kickstart, totally saved me on each occasion. It's totally free, but after it saves you the first time you'll have no trouble donating or buying the pro edition. Thanks for this tremendous extension!
2012-02-29
Reviews: 1
This component is essential for all Joomla users. You can not do without! Not only the backup function but also the site transfer function is excellent.
Very good documentation, very concise and complete. The support is fantastic.
2012-02-27
Reviews: 11
Great extension. Have been using it for a while and hasn't failed ever. Migration is as easy as it gets, kickstart also works without a glitch. Tested it on 1.5, 1.6, 1.7... Just flawless!
2012-02-25
Reviews: 2
I put thisextension in my Joomla 2.5 Blog, it is great. In a few steps I can make a backup of all blog and can install inside the server.
2012-02-21
Reviews: 2
Nothing is easier than using Akeeba backup. Restore is easy and feature rich. I have several 1.7 sites and all use Akeeba backup.

What amazes me above all else is the level of documentation. I've never seen such guidance from any tool, period. When I ran into a failed restore, tips were given to show what was the cause of the problem. Well done!
2012-02-20
Reviews: 8
This is the component you just must have! Easy to use, easy to update. Don´t do anything without taking backup with Akeeba!
2012-02-19
Reviews: 1
Excellent excellent support! Amazing product. If you don't have it you are not getting the full Joomla Experience. There is nothing about this product that isnt perfect. Thank you for helping me! Amazing!
Page 11 of 46