The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-02-19
Reviews: 15
I use the commercial pro version of this extension and it is a faultless product that I use on a daily basis without a single problem! Perfect backups and perfect site transfers every time! Can't fault it!
2012-02-18
Reviews: 1
GREAT JOB DEV!!
2012-02-18
Reviews: 5
This is an absolute must have for any webmaster using Joomla. it's easy to use, works perfectly fine and is really easy to administer your backups.

I cannot say enough good things about this extension.
2012-02-17
Reviews: 10
This is the definitive backup system for Joomla, IMO.

Again, after hassles with a hosting provider who hasn't a clue about customer service, I decided to move to another host. Akeeba made the exercise quick and painless. The old site was migrate to the new host within a couple of hours and very little effort.

I'm taking a subscription...
2012-02-13
Reviews: 6
I can't say enough good things about Akeeba Backup. Fantastic! Also great documentation - you can use this tool even if you've never done anything technical before - and incredible support (often within minutes). The pro version with automation and S3 options is SO worth it.

Thanks Nicholas!
2012-02-12
Reviews: 4
I've been using this extension forever and it does what it's supposed to. It's easy to use and makes site administration extremely simple from a backup and deployment standpoint. Thanks!
2012-02-10
Reviews: 27
Akeeba Backup has literally saved my backside so many times, it's become an indispensable part of my Joomla! installations.

We use the pro version on every site we design, uploading backups to S3 at whatever interval is appropriate to the site.

Kickstart allows us to move sites between hosting companies and up/down from localhost environments with ease, and the system restore points have added another level of 'oops I broke something' fixes which have been a great help.

We simply wouldn't be without Akeeba Backup!
2012-02-09
Reviews: 5
I have more than 100 sites built with Joomla... all with Akeeba Backup... I dare not not have it installed...
Thank You Nicholas
Peter in Peru
2012-02-08
Reviews: 3
If you are serious about your Joomla site then you need this tool.
As a backup tool is the best, you can configure how often you want the backups to be executed and many many things more.
For me it´s a great toll because i often work my client´s sites on my own server then i make a backup, use the Akeeba Kickstart on the client´s server and that´s it ! Have you done this manually? It´s a pain in the ...
With these amazing tools you wont get the blues.
2012-02-07
Reviews: 2
Great component that delivers what it promises!
2012-02-05
Reviews: 2
Easy to install, an attractive feature too with great dashboard. Have backed up daily with ease, but not yet had to restore a site. It is free, what a great extension. Thank you :)
2012-02-02
Reviews: 3
This is an excellent extension. I've been using Akeeba Backup for a couple of years without problems to make backups of several websites.
With Akeeba is easy to backup and restore an entire website in few minutes.
Thanks for this very usefull extension.
2012-02-02
Reviews: 18
What more can I say after hundreds of positive reviews? They are absolutely right! I just set up a procedure for creating test-and-development copies of my sites. Took some tinkering with server side settings for file access rights - not an Akeeba issue but with solved with advice from Nicholas. Just brilliant, that is!
2012-01-31
Reviews: 2
I've been using the free version of Akeeba Backup for a couple of years now and recently upgraded to the Pro version. It was absolutely worth every penny for the fabulous and fast support I got just when I needed it. Amazing value for money. Unmissable. The developer should get a medal.
2012-01-30
Reviews: 5
We have use Akeeba backup extensively. The professional version works flawlessly to not only back up a Joomla site, but also pull additional directories and databases, and routinely store those backups on Amazon Simple Storage Service. Support is outstanding. Highest accolades possible for a Joomla component.
2012-01-28
Reviews: 1
Akeeba backup is a must have if you are building your template from ground up, easy to set up and to recover!
2012-01-27
Reviews: 6
This is so simple to use and does exactly what it claims. It must, surely, be an essential element of any manager's tool kit.
2012-01-25
Reviews: 12
Seriously! Seriously, this should be built right in. Running a retail site and this became a must. The cron job information is not complete but the rest of the product is 100% easy to install, setup, and use.

Thank you. If we get the money for it will most definitely buy the commercial version.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review!

I would like to let you know that our CRON information is more than complete. It actually offers step-by-step instructions for two alternate methods (CRON jobs on your server, or using webcron.org). The result is a three and a half printed pages reference documentation. You don't have to take my word for it, you can read the documentation page in question over here: https://www.akeebabackup.com/documentation/akeeba-backup-documentation/automating-your-backup.html#frontend-backup

2012-01-24
Reviews: 1
This extension is absolutely brilliant! As a new Joomla user, I found this extension extremely easy to use and very very well documented. I had absolutely no problems following the documentation through the backup and restoration process. I would like to thank the developer for this great tool!
2012-01-22
Reviews: 10
Akeeba Backup and It's Developer's have set the bar by which every Joomla extension/Template Provider should be judged. Fantastic Software, Fantastic Support.

This is a must have extension!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Page 12 of 46