The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-01-27
Reviews: 6
This is so simple to use and does exactly what it claims. It must, surely, be an essential element of any manager's tool kit.
2012-01-25
Reviews: 12
Seriously! Seriously, this should be built right in. Running a retail site and this became a must. The cron job information is not complete but the rest of the product is 100% easy to install, setup, and use.

Thank you. If we get the money for it will most definitely buy the commercial version.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review!

I would like to let you know that our CRON information is more than complete. It actually offers step-by-step instructions for two alternate methods (CRON jobs on your server, or using webcron.org). The result is a three and a half printed pages reference documentation. You don't have to take my word for it, you can read the documentation page in question over here: https://www.akeebabackup.com/documentation/akeeba-backup-documentation/automating-your-backup.html#frontend-backup

2012-01-24
Reviews: 1
This extension is absolutely brilliant! As a new Joomla user, I found this extension extremely easy to use and very very well documented. I had absolutely no problems following the documentation through the backup and restoration process. I would like to thank the developer for this great tool!
2012-01-22
Reviews: 10
Akeeba Backup and It's Developer's have set the bar by which every Joomla extension/Template Provider should be judged. Fantastic Software, Fantastic Support.

This is a must have extension!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2012-01-20
Reviews: 8
The first time I used this, I ran into some rough weather. Went through the documentation guides and found all my answers and no looking back since then. I use this now extensively and it makes life much simpler. Well Done!
2012-01-20
Reviews: 1
I love this piece of software, it's great for backing up your website or moving to a new server. It's a must install on all of our websites.
2012-01-18
Reviews: 6
I loveeeee Akeeba Backup!! I wanted to copy my current site to another hosting, i can just install Akeeba, make a backup and restore it to the new hosting FTP from Akeeba and everything is so automatic, including configuring the new hosting, database, site name, etc. All done in less than 10minutes!!

Thank you so much for creating such a helpful component and the developers really thought about every aspect of it!

When you want to backup your site or move it, don't waste your time on other component. THIS IS IT!! THUMBS UP!!!
2012-01-16
Reviews: 4
Every time I run Akeeba Backup to backup my site, I am amazed at how well it works. My entire website is backed up in less than a minute with a single click on a button. Restoring your website is almost as easy. And this is a FREE extension... incredible.

This is a must-have for EVERY Joomla user. Never worry about losing your data or having to transfer your website again.
2012-01-12
Reviews: 1
Thank god for this software.... without it my site would have had to been rebuilt from the ground up, thanks to Akeeba I had my site back in almost no time at all. Would be nice to have a restore function from within the software, but downloading the zip and decompressing it to the root of the site wasn't that big a deal.
2012-01-06
Reviews: 1
I gladly give this extension the highest rating. I have worked with Joomla! for years and manage dozens of Joomla! sites. Akeeba Backup is standard on every site I manage. We use it not only for backup and disaster recovery, but as a quick and easy way to migrate new sites from a development server to a production environment. Deploying sites from an archive is so easy that we can deploy earlier versions of a site in a matter of minutes. We subscribe to the Professional version of the product and never deploy a site without it.
2012-01-02
Reviews: 4
Akeeba Backup is one of the extensions I install first on every website I build. Backups are essential. Moving sites from one server to another or from localhost to a live server is an easy task with Akeeba Backup. Akeeba Backup makes me feel safer and saves me a lot of time. Akeeba Backup is a must for all my websites and I can highly recommend it.
2012-01-02
Reviews: 8
There is no way for dev to create a new website without this extension.

Congratulations to the dev for their support and work.
2011-12-24
Reviews: 6
Use joomla without this component is impossible.

- Easy to use.
- The restore script "Kickstart" works like a charm.
- Lot of languages.
2011-12-18
Reviews: 4
Can someone explain me the importance of this extension please. Is it the same thing to do a backup by only transfering your FTP files in your computer or is it better using this extension?
2011-12-14
Reviews: 6
The most important Joomla extension ever.
Nobody develops websites on the real domain.
Every professional does have a local environment and migrate to the real domain.
This is the point where akeeba is irreplaceable.
2011-12-14
Reviews: 2
I am not the most brilliant Joomla user, but I get by. Recently, I made the decision to move a few of my domains to a new host. All of them were fairly easy - but one was a massive site all built in Joomla. I was extremely nervous. I read a lot about Akeeba (and the KickStarter) and decided to give it a go. Wow! All my worry for DAYS was for not. Once I created the MySQL Db in the new host and did all the linking (super-straight-forward using KickStarter) - I restored my entire site from the back-up made with Akeeba BackUp... all in about 20 minutes. Done.

Thank you, thank you, thank you! I am very glad there are great extensions out there to help us little guys do things we'd normally have *no clue* how to do.

I heartedly recommend this extension to anyone not only looking to move their site, but to keep back-ups for restoration if needed.
2011-12-08
Reviews: 4
Easy to use, comprehensive feature set and the best support I've experienced in over 25 years. I can't say enough about Akeeba and the entire procust line.
2011-12-07
Reviews: 3
So fast, so easy, so important part of your maintenance kit.
2011-12-06
Reviews: 8
I think is the most important extension and the 1rst one that need to be installed on each Joomla site!!

Clear / Easy / Powerful / Useful / Helpful / Free!

Off course I gave a donation for the huge work done here by the Akeeba team.

Simply the best!

Cheers ;-)
2011-11-30
Reviews: 7
As others have said, this should come as standard with Joomla and Im sure in the future it will. Moving or backing up a site is a dream.

Great work to the developer!
Page 13 of 46