The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscription to request support. Its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the public tickets is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-12-08
Reviews: 4
Easy to use, comprehensive feature set and the best support I've experienced in over 25 years. I can't say enough about Akeeba and the entire procust line.
2011-12-07
Reviews: 3
So fast, so easy, so important part of your maintenance kit.
2011-12-06
Reviews: 8
I think is the most important extension and the 1rst one that need to be installed on each Joomla site!!

Clear / Easy / Powerful / Useful / Helpful / Free!

Off course I gave a donation for the huge work done here by the Akeeba team.

Simply the best!

Cheers ;-)
2011-11-30
Reviews: 7
As others have said, this should come as standard with Joomla and Im sure in the future it will. Moving or backing up a site is a dream.

Great work to the developer!
2011-11-27
Reviews: 12
This is perhaps the most important extension in Joomla. It has saved my website so many times! This should come standard with all new versions of Joomla. Trying to build a website without it is SUICIDE! And, best of all, it is FREE!
2011-11-25
Reviews: 1
What a great product! I am a bit of a dunder whan it comes to this stuff, but Akeeba Backup made it easy even for someone like me! Install follow instructions and your all backed up... Oooohhh I just love it when extensions work.

Thank you Akeeba ;o)
2011-11-23
Reviews: 3
This is absolutely amazing, backup and restore with just a few clicks. Unbelievable it's free too....
2011-11-23
Reviews: 2
Easy to install and use. This extension saves you time. I used it on all of my websites.
2011-11-20
Reviews: 1
impressive product plus responsive developer.
YEAH!
2011-11-18
Reviews: 1
Easy to install, easy to configure, easy to use ...
Thank's a lot!
2011-11-18
Reviews: 1
Excellent component. it should be integrated in joomla itself. Perfect guide and no support required because there is no problem or trouble while using. Its self explanatory interface.
Keep it up.
2011-11-17
Reviews: 5
Akeeba Backup is the only Joomla! extension that's absolutely essential for me. I install it on every site I build, whether it's an important "live" site or a site where I like to try new things. You never know when a back-up could be usefull!

One lesson I learned is that, when I'm experiencing a problem with Akeeba Backup, the first thing I should do is to read the documentation. I can't remember a problem I couldn't fix using the manual - and if it couldn't be "fixed" the reason of the problem was found in the very same manual.

While Akeeba Backup Core suffices for 99% of our sites, both me and the company own a subscription to Akeeba Deluxe. The extra features are totally worth it. I love being able to back-up to Dropbox as it's the cheapest (free) way for me to make back-up to the clouds.

And the support, well it's just stellar. On the rare occasion there was a problem I couldn't fix, I submitted a ticked and the developer took the time to look at the problem, and indicated the hosting related problem - only 3 hours after submitting the ticket!

Conclusion: if you use joomla! for a site, you'll want to - nay, need to install this component!
2011-11-15
Reviews: 8
Part of my standard Joomla build - don't install sites without it!
2011-11-15
Reviews: 4
I can't add anything more than Akeeba Backup is a must for all Joomla installations. Easy to install & use & well documented & supported. It ticks all the boxes.
2011-11-13
Reviews: 5
This extension should be used on every Joomla! site where the hosting environment will support it. Together with Akeeba Kickstart it is the quickest way to move from a development machine to a live server. It will also allow you to try a lot of things you might be afraid to do without it - and then roll back to a stable version of your site if you completely mess everything up. I cannot praise this extension enough, if "Excellent!" means five stars, then "Akeeba Backup" should mean six.
2011-11-10
Reviews: 10
This is a must have for any serious Joomla user.

As they say in Yorkshire "Best thing since sliced bread"
2011-11-10
Reviews: 2
Today I just cannot imagine how to run a joomla site without having Akeeba backup.
It's just the best extension I ever used. I am developing my sites on a local server (JAMP)and you cannot imagine how easy to transfer my site from the local server to the live server.
Only one thing which could be a bit better; the design. I mean, it is not so important but the design, especially kickstart, is quite ugly :(
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review! Well, I never claimed to be a decent web designer; I am just a PHP developer. If you have a good proposal for improving the layout of Kickstart and the Akeeba Backup Installer (without significantly increasing the file size and without using images) please feel free to contact me. I am always open to suggestions for improvement!

2011-11-09
Reviews: 2
A must have on all initial joomla projects. Good work!
2011-11-08
Reviews: 3
I had a backup when our site was destroyed and this saved my behind!! EXCELLENT!!!
2011-11-08
Reviews: 2
simply awesome! does the perfect job, pretty much anything you can think of, it backs up or has the option to!
Page 14 of 46