The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-10-18
Reviews: 1
Easy to use, excellent support and documentation. Get this extension for every Joomla site you build.
2011-10-17
Reviews: 18
This is the first component I install on every Joomla! website I create.

Nicholas is a great developer and supporter!

I backupd my website every day with this great component. Yes, I can sleep peacefully! ;-)
2011-10-15
Reviews: 2
I use this extension for every site. It is essential if you ever move a site to another server. The capability -- new -- to backup sites remotely from any client and save the backup remotely anywhere is extremely convenient. I encountered a very obscure issue with windows task scheduler and received prompt, thorough, and accurate support assistance from Nicholas. Virtually alone among free extensions (not to mention paid ones) the documentation is phenomenal. Extremely thorough, detailed, and precise, with many examples. Not only that, even within the extension there are many links to the documentation, precisely at the point whjere your question arises. And although I recognize that the Joomla communittis very diverse and international, nonetheless it is very helpful for me personally to be able to converse with a developer whose English is perfect, especially as my Greek is non-existent!

I cannot recommend this extension highly enough.
2011-10-13
Reviews: 3
If you just installed Joomla, this is the first extension to download. Absolutely essential. After that, install Akeeba Admin.

Thanks for a truly worthwhile extension
2011-10-12
Reviews: 12
I have been used Akeeba for 3 years now...and you know how many problems did I have with Akeeba??? NONE...works perfectly, smoothly and easy. Great for localhost work and after going live in minutes...THANKS FOR THIS GREAT EXTENTION!!! IMHO think is just one of the best Joomla! components ever!!
2011-10-10
Reviews: 6
It works perfectly fine, a must have.
You can configure whether .zip or .jpa (own archive system).

I would have needed it before my website crash though ^^

Thanks for this extension.
2011-10-09
Reviews: 4
This extension is Great free extension!!
Seven stars for this.
It's not only for backing up a website from online server to local computer server, but it's work also the other way around. I used to work and complete a website on my local computer first, before transferring it manually to online server trough ftp, it's took times and sometimes error happen resulted in fail. but when I got this extension no more problem :) is so easy, fast and no more error.
Thanks to Akkeba Team for this free extension...
2011-10-07
Reviews: 1
One of the most utilitarian components ever!
I use it one every site that runs on Joomla! and it has ever failed me. Recently, I downloaded the latest version and was surprised of the new features.
Great Work!
2011-10-03
Reviews: 5
I won't build a site without it. Simply one of the best tools available for Joomla! Intuitive, proactive and extremely useful. Install it today!
2011-09-30
Reviews: 6
It is perfectly easy to use and well designed. I use it very often before any plugin installations and until now I did no need to restore - let's hope this will be true in the future :)
2011-09-24
Reviews: 3
Perfect and a must have. We use it for all our sites. Two thumbs up.
2011-09-24
Reviews: 10
I may have already reviewed this ... but it's worth a note that, combined with Admin Tools, this makes upgrading from Joomla 1.6.x to 1.7 totally painless. The whole process (including a before/after backup) took less than 10 minutes .. with absolutely no issues.

This has to be welcome news for all of us that are all too familiar with the Joomla upgrade "dance".

Congratulations to the Akeeba team .. they deserve Joomla Oscars!
2011-09-23
Reviews: 12
Just moved a 1.5.17 (don't ask) to 1.7 on a different host with minimal effort, using this software. Thank you!
2011-09-20
Reviews: 1
First you have to read a lot of documentation to understand the concept. But once installed, you can make a backup with one click. And with 'kickstart', restoring your system is almost as easy as to backup it. Just at the beginning of building a website for a NGO, I had to use Akeeba a number of times. And it has always functioned properly.
2011-09-18
Reviews: 9
This extensions is really great, it's not even funny.

The installation was simple, the set-up is easy as well given all the explanation, tool tip an guides. Sure there are many settings as you would expect from a professional extensions. But not too many that you are discouraged looking at the config page.

The restoration process is a breeze! so simple.

It's definitely worth getting the pro version. I used to always go for free extensions. But what you get for such small price is no doubt valuable. And when you think about it, just factor the cost in your next project(s), and basically, your extension will be paid for by clients, and will benefits you for all sites.
And since time is money, you will save a lot of money with this extension. A very good ROI is you ask me.
Let alone providing additional service to your client by providing them with peace of mind knowing that their entire site is backed up frequently and ready to be restored very quickly.

Great work Akeeba team !
2011-09-15
Reviews: 16
This extension has given us a feeling of control over our website back-ups. Who knows if the host really does them or if they will work when there is a problem. Thanks Akeeba!
2011-09-15
Reviews: 15
Have always wondered whether Joomla backups of data and database worked as a user never knows until it is too late if it doesn't. On an earlier occasion this has happened for me.
However, this one does work and very well too.
Using this package I backed up my 7 year old online site, ftp'd the file to a PC running Windows Vista and Wampserver 2.0 and after using Kickstart (the other neccesary part to this package) was able to have a localhost perfect working copy. Now convinced that any backup would work in the future, and am breathing sighs of relief. All work completed in a very short time span and at no cost. Nicholas deserves the praise given by many users for this work. Many Thanks.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review and your kind words! I would like to take this opportunity to reiterate that an untested backup is not a backup. Meaning, every time you perform a major change on your site (lots of content, restructuring, updating component/modules/plugins/templates) please take a backup and do a test restoration on a local machine, making sure the restored copy works. It only takes an extra 10 minutes and provides you with adequate peace of mind that, should the unthinkable happen, you will be able to recuperate reliably and very fast. And one last thing: you can never have too many backups! Backup, backup, backup - the more often, the better ;)

2011-09-12
Reviews: 4
I've been using Akeeba/JoomlaPack since the beginning and I have to say that I am regularly impressed with the features and ideas Nicholas comes up with. Being a developer myself, I can say that the code in all Akeeba products are solid and Nicholas is top notch.

Akeeba backup is a must have for all Joomla websites. In fact, it's one of a few that live on every website I build.

Thank you Nicholas, Dale and others for all of your hard work. You provide a service to the Joomla Community that is hard to match.
2011-09-08
Reviews: 5
The process of migrating Joomla! from one server to another is relative simple, however it always takes some time. This extensions is an excellent way to save time and effort. Do you want to make a copy of any Joomla! site to your localhost to do some tests? No problem! Do you want to backup you entire site (files and database)? No problem either :)The idea behind an autoinstaller is really great, and the overall quality of extension is impressive. Just a must-have.
2011-09-08
Reviews: 9
Spare a lot of job, simple to use!
The free version knows everything what is important except cron.
It is extraordinary helpful for me, much thanks!!!

Joseph
Owner's reply

Thank you for your kind words!

You have made a little mistake, though (many people do that, don't worry). The free version of our software (Akeeba Backup Core) does support CRON jobs. In fact, we've been supporting CRON jobs to automate your backups for four years now, ever since the software was called JoomlaPack. You might want to take a quick look at our documentation at https://www.akeebabackup.com/documentation/akeeba-backup-documentation/automating-your-backup.html#frontend-backup

Even if your host supports neither wget nor curl, we still have a solution for you. Very recently, we've cooperated with Webcron.org so that their service could support our web-based automatic backups. Guess what? They made it and they made it super cheap, too. With their current price list, you can backup a medium-sized site every day using Akeeba Backup Core and Webcron.org for less than 10$ per year.

Enjoy your automated backups; they'll certainly help you sleep better at night :)

Page 15 of 46