The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-08-31
Reviews: 6
RTFM before use and it's lifesaver. Literary, since webmaster start contemplating suicide when site goes down without proper backup.
2011-08-30
Reviews: 1
Well you won't get better documentation, that's for sure!
I am new to joomla and have a need to move my site to a new server with new paths etc. I installed the free version, read the quickstart guide, did what it said, backup failed, followed the troubleshooting section (my host's PHP file size limitation was the issue) resolved the issue from the documentation, whole site backup succeeded.
Tested the "successful" backups by following the quickstart guide and managed to get a fully working version of my website running on my laptop.
I cannot praise this enough as it is painless and will be a lot quicker when I come to migrate it to it's new server and will certainly have faith when I use Akeeba as the regular backup application.

Fantastic and a must for all joomla sites that I create.

This is my first review on here :o)
2011-08-29
Reviews: 3
I have to move a complete site (with Joomla 1.5 with VM 1.9) from one hosting to another, and I did with Akeeba Backup in seconds !!!

Actually, It was my first time and it was very easy to do.

I only want to say THANKS YOU !!!!

regards,
Mike
Buenos Aires
2011-08-28
Reviews: 3
Installed Akeeba backup after reading so much praise. Everything worked fine until I tried to restore. To solve the problem (dealing with memcache) the Akeeba site does not give clear clues for a Joomla beginner. If Akeeba works, congratutions, but if you are using hostnet and joomla in the Netherlands, I recommend not going in to the hassle!
Owner's reply

From your description it is not clear if you did have a problem with Akeeba Backup or Joomla!.

If you restored the backup on the *same site* as you backed up from and Akeeba Backup lost your memcached settings that is a bug and I could help you (and fixed the bug, and give you a free subscription as per our Bug Bounty policy which is posted on the top of our publicly readable support forum) should you have contacted me. But you didn't and I can neither reproduce this issue nor solve it, or even figure out if it *is* an issue.

If, however, you are restoring to a different site, the problem is not with Akeeba Backup. Akeeba Backup is only responsible for backing up and restoring your site's files and database contents. In the process it reconfigures Joomla!'s db connection information, FTP information, site information and Super Administrator logins but that's all. We can not possibly replicate Joomla!'s entire configuration page. If you have such a Joomla! configuration issue it's your responsibility to reconfigure your site.

BTW, I don't think that anyone would find it logical that a Joomla! newbie should ever use memached. This is advanced stuff, which is only required for heavy traffic websites. I suppose that no Joomla! newbie would ever have to manage such a site, but I digress.

2011-08-28
Reviews: 1
Sorry for my English I'm Spanish.
This extension is simply stunning, going 5 points
2011-08-23
Reviews: 3
The Akeeba Backup is a must for every joomla site. Even as non-Commercial version it works perfect.
2011-08-20
Reviews: 2
I don't know what I'd do without this extension! I was mired in frustration from attempting to move my joomla site from my local machine to my web server, and when I stumbled upon Akeeba Backup all of my troubles were solved! The documentation was fantastic, the tool is free, and I can now return to my clients with a smile on my face! Thank you!!!
2011-08-19
Reviews: 1
First let me start by saying that I am not affiliated with (or even know for that matter) the developer in any way.

Akeeba is the most rock solid component in ANY category on JED. It is the ONLY component that I install literally on EVERY site that I build. I install it before the first article or module. The support is absolutely second to none, though I only needed it once (and it was not even a technical issue, but rather a billing question). This component is absolutely dead simple to use. In fact the user manual (which every complainer here needs to read) is actually the most complicated part of the program (not that it is complex, but the component is really brainless - My 6 year old can use it). If I could only have one Joomla extension, this would be the one (though Akeeba Admin Tools are almost as useful).

Anyhow, to the point...For the lazy people on here that don't feel compelled to read the manual, here are the restore instructions in 2-3 easy steps (the 3rd is not always needed):
#1 - Upload the .jpa or .zip backup file, kickstart.php, and en-GB.kickstart.ini (if your language is English)
#2 - go to the URL that you are restoring and click through the "Next" prompts
#3 - If you are restoring to a different server than the one the backup was made on (i.e., moving your site to a different server), then create a blank database and enter that info when plainly prompted to do so during the restoration

That is literally all you have to do.

Here are a couple of tips:
1 - You can use the same kickstart.php and en-GB.kickstart.ini file every time so. for convenience, I just keep those files extracted and on my computer ready to upload
2 - If you don't know your admin password, you can change it during restore
3 - You can use Remote Control to automate the backup process from your PC or Mac (thanks for adding Mac Nicholas)

Ok, so here are my two requests:
1) Anyone getting free software should get a life and stop criticizing anything at all when it does not work for them (I have successfully used this several dozen times). If it does not work for you, believe me it is something YOU are doing wrong
2) Anyone that counts on this software to save their butt or for any other reason other than testing should buy the paid version. It adds very useful features and supports future development. Even if you don't need the extra features, you should support this developer. Everything I have used that he has made is AWESOME.

Ok, that's my piece. Again, I want to mention I have absolutely no association to the developer in any manner other than as a paying customer - nothing I said reflects his opinion.
2011-08-18
Reviews: 2
This is probably the best and innovative component, i'm very happy with it! Well done guys keep up the good work.

Gracias!
2011-08-16
Reviews: 12
I really dont know what I would be doing without this extension. Saves a lot of time in very important areas of site management. Thanks for the great extension!
2011-08-14
Reviews: 2
I have been using the component for a host of Joomla sites over a year now. I regard it as a core part of the tool-set I use in order to professionally manage my sites. I set up Akeeba so they do regular backup to the Amazon S3 service. Timing is set up in the Chrone/Cpanel. Overall, set-up is user-friendly, there have been regular security updates and I had a question to Nicho at the time I started to use Akeeba and I got a prompt and accurate response. The roll-back / kick-start features runs perfect: it has been a life saver for me several times...
I am using now the Admin Tools Pro from Akeeba as well. It is an other core part of a Joomla pro tool-kit - especially if you are security conscious. When I subscribed, I even got a discount for having two subscriptions.
Cudos to Akeeba and Nicho!
2011-08-14
Reviews: 42
I install Akeeba Backup on every website I build and it just keeps getting better and better.

I also rely on it to move websites from development to production or between web hosts. I do this frequently and Akeeba is very reliable.

Keep up the good work!
2011-08-13
Reviews: 4
I don't know what I would do with out Akeeba! Thank you!
2011-08-09
Reviews: 15
Very nice backup solution, should get 10 stars in stead of 5! Thanks!
2011-08-09
Reviews: 17
Wow! This does everything! Even updates itself with 1 click! What a great component
2011-08-08
Reviews: 1
All i gotta say is THANK YOU to the developers of Akeeba!! i accidentally uninstalled a very important component with a lot of modification already done, i don't know what i was thinking!, Luckily for me i had done a very recent backup with akeeba back up.. all i did was reinstall the component, downloaded my .jpa file, extracted my files via the akeeba extract wizard, replaced the extracted files (the particular component uninstalled) into my server, and bang my component and modifications is BACK!! I wonder what would have happened if i hadn't installed akeeba back up or if i hadn't done a recent back up! phew!! THANK YOU AGAIN!!!
2011-08-05
Reviews: 1
I recently had to move my site from one hosting provider to another. Akeeba and the supporting tools made the process easy. Nothing lost -- it all worked perfectly.

As a special bonus in this day and age you get documentation that is easy to follow.

Thanks.
2011-08-04
Reviews: 5
Akeeba Backup is one of those extensions that every Joomla! site should have installed. I have it, together with Akeeba Admin Tools, in all my clients sites. I also have it in my custom localhost install package which I use to develop new sites, 'cause besides being a security measure, it makes it a lot easier to transfer the files/database to the live server.
Akeeba's support is super and the docs are very complete.

Thank you Akeeba for another awesome extension!
2011-08-03
Reviews: 1
I'm sorry for writing negative review, but this component broke down 3 different templates (used in 3 different sites).. 2 of them were from rockettheme, 1 was self-made.

The back-up basically just saved the original version of the template without any added settings, module positions, images etc.

Looking at all the positive reviews that should not be a big problem to solve, but, still - it is easier to choose other components which work out of the box, not this one..
Owner's reply

Let's see... The template settings are saved in the database (Joomla! 1.6/1.7) or the params.ini file (Joomla! 1.5). In both cases, this is part of what is being backed up by Akeeba Backup.

Moreover, our own site uses a RocketTheme template (Omnicron, to be exact) and it does restore fine, as can be attested by the very fact that our site is working after three different restorations.

Perhaps you should take 10 minutes to follow the instructions in the post-restoration troubleshooting page at https://www.akeebabackup.com/documentation/troubleshooter/prbasicts.html to figure out what special settings your server requires when restoring a site. That's why we do have such detailed documentation and provide it free of charge to all.

2011-07-31
Reviews: 2
I used Akeeba Backup to move an entire Joomla 1.5.23 site to another webhost. The extension did exactly what I expected. The backup went smoothly and restoring the file with Kickstart 3.3 was really easy. Good work.
Page 16 of 46