The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscription to request support. Its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the public tickets is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-08-14
Reviews: 43
I install Akeeba Backup on every website I build and it just keeps getting better and better.

I also rely on it to move websites from development to production or between web hosts. I do this frequently and Akeeba is very reliable.

Keep up the good work!
2011-08-13
Reviews: 4
I don't know what I would do with out Akeeba! Thank you!
2011-08-09
Reviews: 15
Very nice backup solution, should get 10 stars in stead of 5! Thanks!
2011-08-09
Reviews: 18
Wow! This does everything! Even updates itself with 1 click! What a great component
2011-08-08
Reviews: 1
All i gotta say is THANK YOU to the developers of Akeeba!! i accidentally uninstalled a very important component with a lot of modification already done, i don't know what i was thinking!, Luckily for me i had done a very recent backup with akeeba back up.. all i did was reinstall the component, downloaded my .jpa file, extracted my files via the akeeba extract wizard, replaced the extracted files (the particular component uninstalled) into my server, and bang my component and modifications is BACK!! I wonder what would have happened if i hadn't installed akeeba back up or if i hadn't done a recent back up! phew!! THANK YOU AGAIN!!!
2011-08-05
Reviews: 1
I recently had to move my site from one hosting provider to another. Akeeba and the supporting tools made the process easy. Nothing lost -- it all worked perfectly.

As a special bonus in this day and age you get documentation that is easy to follow.

Thanks.
2011-08-04
Reviews: 5
Akeeba Backup is one of those extensions that every Joomla! site should have installed. I have it, together with Akeeba Admin Tools, in all my clients sites. I also have it in my custom localhost install package which I use to develop new sites, 'cause besides being a security measure, it makes it a lot easier to transfer the files/database to the live server.
Akeeba's support is super and the docs are very complete.

Thank you Akeeba for another awesome extension!
2011-08-03
Reviews: 1
I'm sorry for writing negative review, but this component broke down 3 different templates (used in 3 different sites).. 2 of them were from rockettheme, 1 was self-made.

The back-up basically just saved the original version of the template without any added settings, module positions, images etc.

Looking at all the positive reviews that should not be a big problem to solve, but, still - it is easier to choose other components which work out of the box, not this one..
Owner's reply

Let's see... The template settings are saved in the database (Joomla! 1.6/1.7) or the params.ini file (Joomla! 1.5). In both cases, this is part of what is being backed up by Akeeba Backup.

Moreover, our own site uses a RocketTheme template (Omnicron, to be exact) and it does restore fine, as can be attested by the very fact that our site is working after three different restorations.

Perhaps you should take 10 minutes to follow the instructions in the post-restoration troubleshooting page at https://www.akeebabackup.com/documentation/troubleshooter/prbasicts.html to figure out what special settings your server requires when restoring a site. That's why we do have such detailed documentation and provide it free of charge to all.

2011-07-31
Reviews: 2
I used Akeeba Backup to move an entire Joomla 1.5.23 site to another webhost. The extension did exactly what I expected. The backup went smoothly and restoring the file with Kickstart 3.3 was really easy. Good work.
2011-07-31
Reviews: 2
I have used Akeeba Core for Joomla 1.5, 1.6, and now for 1.7. I had also communicated with Nicholas using free forum and replies were prompt and very helpful with excellent attitude.

Though it's a freeware but happens to be priceless. The creator of this product deserves my salute.
2011-07-30
Reviews: 1
Excellent, works perfectly! Been using it for 3 years and it's just excellent.
2011-07-29
Reviews: 7
Ever had a none-working FTP download? Strange errors on the backuped site, that seem to have no real explanations? (e.g. jpg images are not displayed... opening in a new window/tab shows only code!)

Simply give this extension a try! It backups the whole file and folder structure and even the database.

Another major benefit: The backup and restore procedure is lightningfast compared to FTP!

It saved my life and the whole project. Simple as that. I will definitely check out the PRO version...
2011-07-27
Reviews: 3
I have used Akeeba to back up multiple sites that I administer and have never had any problem with it. The ease of use is exemplary.

I had to use it to transfer two sites to new domains, using the Kickstart application which is also provided by the same developer. I wish that they include the Kickstart app into the Akeeba core, so that clicking on a button in the Akeeba control panel will automatically place a kickstart.php file in the default directory (maybe the user can be asked to select the directory) and run the program in a new browser window. That would really round out this extension into a back up and restore utility.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review! The feature you suggested is already implemented in our for-a-fee Akeeba Backup Professional edition and is called "integrated restoration".

2011-07-25
Reviews: 8
Have just moved a development site to live domain host in all of 30 mins - all in! Incredible. Thanks you so much for your efforts in making a fantastic must have Joomla utility.
2011-07-25
Reviews: 2
If you only install one extension, then install this one.

Stupidly, I installed a component this morning that was incompatible and crashed my admin area. I had no idea how to restore but knew I had done a backup just minutes ago thanks to the reminder from Akeeba back-up on the admin page when I logged in. I extracted the files to a temporary location then copies back to my root folder, then the brilliance of this component became clear. The backups are zipped with a restoration/installation directory that you are automatically taken to when you try to access your admin panel in your brwoser and you are taken through five simple steps to check your site and database settings, then voila! My site was back, weeks of work saved in a couple of minutes.

I cannot recommend this strongly enough. Every Joomla site should have this component.
2011-07-24
Reviews: 3
I have installed and customized many Joomla! sites and updating or migrating was a dreaded task. I can't believe it took me so long to try Akeeba Backup. Standard Joomla! install process and one click and I had a backup keeping all my work and client's site safe. The backup can ftp'd to save locally and restored from the component or as a new install in case of a server move or site crash.

The documentation is easy to follow. The files and docs are up-to-date. I quickly upgraded to the pro version for the extra features and because the developer generously provides an unlimited sites use, although I believe every site should donate to keep this essential service supported.

What a relief! I even had a local copy of my live site up and running in 15 minutes by following the instructions. (You have to know how to set up a local Apache server and database.)

Thank you for an essential component and tools for any professional site.
2011-07-22
Reviews: 4
I'm a novice but this was really easy to install for peace of mind.
1.7 version - thanks
2011-07-22
Reviews: 3
Thanks for you great and hard work to give us for free one of the best extensions!!!
2011-07-17
Reviews: 3
Very user friendly and works with our new 1.6 Joomla site. Support was fast as well.
2011-07-17
Reviews: 1
awesome extension.. works rite out of the box.. totally would recommend this for all joomla websites.. it cud be a life saver.. thanks a lot devs.. Cheers.
Page 17 of 46