The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-07-02
Reviews: 3
I just had to restore my fully broken website and the Akeeba system worked like a charm. I'm so pleased that I've been backing up regularly and that my first attempt to use a backup worked flawlessly. I'm ecstatic!
2011-07-02
Reviews: 7
it amazes me how good all akeeba products are, it makes me wonder why they dont charge for them, how is it they can give so much away for free, the quality of these products are definately worthy of paying for but even better because they are free.
2011-06-30
Reviews: 5
Like I said before in AdminTools, all Akeeba products are excellent; its amazing how easy you can change your site to one server to other or how you can get a live site from your localhost; you can save a lot of time with this product, I have no words to describe the feelings about this wonderful tool
2011-06-27
Reviews: 4
Been using the free edition - and it was so good I upgraded to the professional. Your site should not be without any tools from Akeeba!!!

No need to worry about support, they are fast.
2011-06-23
Reviews: 10
Very useful and powerful to backup my joomla site!
Not only backup SQL but also backup Joomla file to one file and easy to restore by akeeba kickstart!
I think it simply and easy to use!
2011-06-20
Reviews: 11
Usually the first component I install on any site I setup.

This really should be a part of the the Joomla core.

Every site needs this component installed! Backups are important and you need you do them often.

This is simple to use. After you config your settings it's as simple as pressing a button to create a backup of your files and database.

If you need to move your site from one server to another, just back it up and use the kickstart to install it on your new server. It's that simple.

The Remote Control lets you backup multiple sites from your desktop and even download the backups for local storage. And this is all free!
2011-06-19
Reviews: 8
Thanks so much for a great backup extentension. I have this extension installed on all of my websites and use it often to backup the site. It does a rapid job of it and is simple to install and use.
2011-06-15
Reviews: 1
I am a 'newbie' and manage two not-for-profit sites. I sleep peacefully because of this extension. It was easy to install, the backups work before I have had a chance to think about what's happening (the sites aren't large) and the upgrade installer works just as well. I couldn't be more pleased with the product. I haven't had to recover either site as yet but have worked through the process and am confident that I could manage that. I would recommend this to anyone. A big 'Thank you' to the developer.
2011-06-13
Reviews: 5
I've upgraded my server with mysql 5.1.57 because i was using 4.22 and all websites had a database problem. So i run the backup on the server with already the new version of mysql and magically all the websites were up and running again.
Really thanks.
2011-06-10
Reviews: 1
I have been running FTP backups for 5 years now. This has cut backup time by at least 90%.
Great Component!
2011-06-06
Reviews: 5
Great component I've been using for a while now.
2011-06-04
Reviews: 1
Congratulations for this job
2011-05-27
Reviews: 17
This extension is incredible to migrate sites... easy to use, with many options and also very fast.
Excellent work!
2011-05-25
Reviews: 8
I installed the plugin, and within an hour I had to restore my site from backup after I did a Joomla upgrade. Apparently, the upgrade wasn't compatible with my template and caused errors so thankfully, I was able to restore my site back to normal.

Whew!
2011-05-24
Reviews: 3
Great working extension and many thanks to developers! Will be nice to see more serious projects like this.
2011-05-20
Reviews: 4
I've been using Akeeba backup for around 8 months now and also have Akeeba Admin Tools and have found them both to be superb products and the support is the best I have found from any website I've ever used.
Upgrading the latest Joomla update takes seconds using this as does making back-ups.
First class products.
2011-05-16
Reviews: 1
I build sites and move them from my server to my clients. I started using this extension when it was still JoomlaPack.

I loved it then. I live it now. And, now, it's even easier to use since becoming Akeeba.

Great product!
2011-05-12
Reviews: 1
This is the best extension and a must for any joomla developer/site adminsitrator.
Makes backup and restore(even on a different site) so simple that anyone can do it!
2011-05-10
Reviews: 6
Should be installed before any extensions.
2011-04-30
Reviews: 1
I use Joomla for all my CMS websites and have found this component, along with its Lazy Scheduling feature, to be brilliantly simple to use. In fact, it is the first component I install. As a site designer, the time the built-in installer has saved me, moving my sites from the development environment to the live environment, would make this component more than worthwhile. But it's even better than that. Once the sites are live and in the hands of my clients, the Lazy Scheduler will back up the site automatically at predefined intervals. So no matter how lazy the client is about performing backups, their site is backed up in case of emergency. I even have one client that makes frequent changes to his site and knows how to make a backup manually before making changes to the site (and you all know how hard it is to get your clients to do that). It's just a couple of clicks and everything is ready to restore. I would recommend this component to anyone and everyone building on Joomla. My respect and compliments to the developer!
Page 18 of 46