The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscription to request support. Its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the public tickets is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-05-10
Reviews: 6
Should be installed before any extensions.
2011-04-30
Reviews: 1
I use Joomla for all my CMS websites and have found this component, along with its Lazy Scheduling feature, to be brilliantly simple to use. In fact, it is the first component I install. As a site designer, the time the built-in installer has saved me, moving my sites from the development environment to the live environment, would make this component more than worthwhile. But it's even better than that. Once the sites are live and in the hands of my clients, the Lazy Scheduler will back up the site automatically at predefined intervals. So no matter how lazy the client is about performing backups, their site is backed up in case of emergency. I even have one client that makes frequent changes to his site and knows how to make a backup manually before making changes to the site (and you all know how hard it is to get your clients to do that). It's just a couple of clicks and everything is ready to restore. I would recommend this component to anyone and everyone building on Joomla. My respect and compliments to the developer!
2011-04-27
Reviews: 11
If you are managing a ton of sites or one you should be running Akeeba Backup. This has saved me many times over the years as you never know when a site can crash. With the Akeeba Backup extension you can set the plugin to back up Daily/Weekly/Monthly etc.

Great work Nicolas
2011-04-23
Reviews: 1
This is such a great application, a true must for everyone working with Joomla.

It is easy to install, easy to work with.
2011-04-21
Reviews: 2
Fantastic! I was very frustrated with zipping JOOMLA! sites, no C panel on some servers, no propper Php My admin. MAC created all kinds of resource fork files when zipping that messed up my Joomla website. I remembered AKEEBA and decided to give it a try. It solved all my problems just in time to save my deadline. Well done guys and all for free!
2011-04-18
Reviews: 1
Simply to install, simply to use. Its a very fine BackUpTool.
2011-04-18
Reviews: 1
Akeeba Backup is the first extension I install when delivering a new site to a client. Truely amazing component and very user friendly.

If you don't have it, why are you still here? Go. Download. Now.
2011-04-14
Reviews: 11
I took the pro version with admin tools right from the start. Excellent documentation, excellent support. My request was solved within 1 hour. Now it is really just 1 klick and I got a zip that has it all. Setting up a testsite using this live zip is just as easy. I copy zip and a single php file in my new folder on web space, access the php in my browser, set details for my site and new database...that's it...done...

I feel secure now, knowing I can backup with 1 klick and not missing anything. Futhermore I can set a timer to auto backup.
2011-04-14
Reviews: 2
This extension should be a part of the joomla core itself! This is a great extension, It saved my work plenty of times. Thank you for your work guys! I use this on every one of my sites and i'm very very happy with it!
Thanks keep it up!
2011-04-10
Reviews: 1
Making backup with Akeeba works great, but restoring a Akeeba backup is a different story...
this should be in one package..

dutch
Owner's reply

Have you read our Quick Start Guide or watched our Video Tutorials? The process which you found so challenging as to give us two stars only is: upload kickstart.php; upload the archive; visit http://www.yoursite.com/kickstart.php; click Next until it's done. Even a 9 year old can do it, as I recently found out. I don't know what you expected but it can't get any simpler than that. Maybe you should spend 4 minutes watching a video tutorial than writing a non-factual review?

2011-04-10
Reviews: 1
i use akeeba backup for all of my projects and have to say that it works really excellent. project is often updated which i think is good. the lazy plugin is really comfortable and makes automatic backups easy. just lean back and let the plugin do its thing.
thanks to all the devs, u do a good job.
2011-04-06
Reviews: 1
What can I say that hasn't already been stated by much more seasoned users than me, other than Excellent!!
2011-03-30
Reviews: 2
This component is really great, very easy to install, and in just some minutes it is set up and working! I'm not an experienced user, but you almost can't do wrong! thank you, I'm feeling much safer now because my whole site is backed up! :)
2011-03-30
Reviews: 6
As the subject says, this is a magical extension. I've tested it on Joomla 1.5 & 1.6 versions and tried to crash it. Nothing. Every time, it performed flawlessly.

The two test sites, 1.5 & 1.6, I tested it on had basic, custom templates and various plugins/extensions installed. Akeeba handled all of them without a hitch. I even took a backup and installed it on a different server/database. Again, no problem proving how easy it is to migrate to another server. I can now offer a very competitively priced backup option to all my clients for the Joomla sites I've created for them.

A breeze to install and run. Download it now, install it, back up your site, then donate to the author. It's way worth it and will make your Joomla development life so easy.
2011-03-24
Reviews: 9
This is the first thing you should install. It makes a lot easier, more efficient, and simpler. I dig it.
2011-03-22
Reviews: 1
I have been using Akeeba Backup for almost a year now, and I have to say that this is one of the best extensions ever made for Joomla. Whenever I develop a new website, Akeeba Backup is one of the first components to be installed.
And this was tested to backup small websites of a couple of Mb, and large websites of a couple hundreds of Mb. The product remained stable no matter what.
Thank you Nicholas, and to everyone who helped make this extension what it is today.
2011-03-16
Reviews: 4
If you're looking for an easy to use backup extension, look no further. I have used Akeeba Backup on all the sites I've created and it works like a charm, it really is the best joomla backup extension there is!
2011-03-12
Reviews: 1
In reply to an email the author of this extension asked me to post a review. Herewith review #538 !!!) of this excellent product, the email that I sent to him having read as follows ...

Nicholas,

Thanks for creating Akeeba Backup, and thanks for keeping the core version non-commercial. I'm new to Joomla -- indeed new to web stuff -- but I'm very aware of the importance of a site backup/restore facility that actually works. (I agree with you. If you haven't proved your ability to restore a site then you really don't have anything.)

Accordingly I backed up my experimental Joomla site, downloaded the resulting jpa file to my local machine, cleared out the root of my hosting account after creating an empty mySQL database, then uploaded the jpa along with kickstart.php and the ini file for English, and then restored the site.

It all worked exactly as advertised, and your excellent step-by-step documentation gave me confidence that you know exactly what you're doing in a professional sense. You can be sure that I'll be visiting your site occasionally, and that someday you'll have me as a paying customer. :)

thx,
Mike McCarthy
Lakewood, Colorado, USA

Yes, you may quote me as a testimonial if this would be useful to you.
jk1
2011-03-09
Reviews: 3
Outstanding backup component. Excellent and friendly support. Of course I use it for producing backups but I also like it because it makes transfering new websites developed on a local xampp server to a live server a quick and easy task.
2011-03-09
Reviews: 1
This product does what it should right out of the box. And they are quick to respond. I still haven't tapped into all the features. But I'm going to to check out the video tutorials on Lynda.com about Joomla security, where they demonstrate and use the Akeeba tools.
Page 19 of 46