The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-04-14
Reviews: 11
I took the pro version with admin tools right from the start. Excellent documentation, excellent support. My request was solved within 1 hour. Now it is really just 1 klick and I got a zip that has it all. Setting up a testsite using this live zip is just as easy. I copy zip and a single php file in my new folder on web space, access the php in my browser, set details for my site and new database...that's it...done...

I feel secure now, knowing I can backup with 1 klick and not missing anything. Futhermore I can set a timer to auto backup.
2011-04-14
Reviews: 2
This extension should be a part of the joomla core itself! This is a great extension, It saved my work plenty of times. Thank you for your work guys! I use this on every one of my sites and i'm very very happy with it!
Thanks keep it up!
2011-04-10
Reviews: 1
Making backup with Akeeba works great, but restoring a Akeeba backup is a different story...
this should be in one package..

dutch
Owner's reply

Have you read our Quick Start Guide or watched our Video Tutorials? The process which you found so challenging as to give us two stars only is: upload kickstart.php; upload the archive; visit http://www.yoursite.com/kickstart.php; click Next until it's done. Even a 9 year old can do it, as I recently found out. I don't know what you expected but it can't get any simpler than that. Maybe you should spend 4 minutes watching a video tutorial than writing a non-factual review?

2011-04-10
Reviews: 1
i use akeeba backup for all of my projects and have to say that it works really excellent. project is often updated which i think is good. the lazy plugin is really comfortable and makes automatic backups easy. just lean back and let the plugin do its thing.
thanks to all the devs, u do a good job.
2011-04-06
Reviews: 1
What can I say that hasn't already been stated by much more seasoned users than me, other than Excellent!!
2011-03-30
Reviews: 2
This component is really great, very easy to install, and in just some minutes it is set up and working! I'm not an experienced user, but you almost can't do wrong! thank you, I'm feeling much safer now because my whole site is backed up! :)
2011-03-30
Reviews: 5
As the subject says, this is a magical extension. I've tested it on Joomla 1.5 & 1.6 versions and tried to crash it. Nothing. Every time, it performed flawlessly.

The two test sites, 1.5 & 1.6, I tested it on had basic, custom templates and various plugins/extensions installed. Akeeba handled all of them without a hitch. I even took a backup and installed it on a different server/database. Again, no problem proving how easy it is to migrate to another server. I can now offer a very competitively priced backup option to all my clients for the Joomla sites I've created for them.

A breeze to install and run. Download it now, install it, back up your site, then donate to the author. It's way worth it and will make your Joomla development life so easy.
2011-03-24
Reviews: 9
This is the first thing you should install. It makes a lot easier, more efficient, and simpler. I dig it.
2011-03-22
Reviews: 1
I have been using Akeeba Backup for almost a year now, and I have to say that this is one of the best extensions ever made for Joomla. Whenever I develop a new website, Akeeba Backup is one of the first components to be installed.
And this was tested to backup small websites of a couple of Mb, and large websites of a couple hundreds of Mb. The product remained stable no matter what.
Thank you Nicholas, and to everyone who helped make this extension what it is today.
2011-03-16
Reviews: 4
If you're looking for an easy to use backup extension, look no further. I have used Akeeba Backup on all the sites I've created and it works like a charm, it really is the best joomla backup extension there is!
2011-03-12
Reviews: 1
In reply to an email the author of this extension asked me to post a review. Herewith review #538 !!!) of this excellent product, the email that I sent to him having read as follows ...

Nicholas,

Thanks for creating Akeeba Backup, and thanks for keeping the core version non-commercial. I'm new to Joomla -- indeed new to web stuff -- but I'm very aware of the importance of a site backup/restore facility that actually works. (I agree with you. If you haven't proved your ability to restore a site then you really don't have anything.)

Accordingly I backed up my experimental Joomla site, downloaded the resulting jpa file to my local machine, cleared out the root of my hosting account after creating an empty mySQL database, then uploaded the jpa along with kickstart.php and the ini file for English, and then restored the site.

It all worked exactly as advertised, and your excellent step-by-step documentation gave me confidence that you know exactly what you're doing in a professional sense. You can be sure that I'll be visiting your site occasionally, and that someday you'll have me as a paying customer. :)

thx,
Mike McCarthy
Lakewood, Colorado, USA

Yes, you may quote me as a testimonial if this would be useful to you.
jk1
2011-03-09
Reviews: 3
Outstanding backup component. Excellent and friendly support. Of course I use it for producing backups but I also like it because it makes transfering new websites developed on a local xampp server to a live server a quick and easy task.
2011-03-09
Reviews: 1
This product does what it should right out of the box. And they are quick to respond. I still haven't tapped into all the features. But I'm going to to check out the video tutorials on Lynda.com about Joomla security, where they demonstrate and use the Akeeba tools.
2011-03-07
Reviews: 2
Stated many times for sure, but its true, this is one of the best extensions for Joomla. The Akeeba Developers should be rightly proud of themselves, their efforts to provide us with one of the best in JED is very much appreciated.
2011-03-05
Reviews: 1
this solution really works specially for newbies. easy to understand and implement...even the multiple backup.
2011-03-05
Reviews: 2
This piece of software have saved me so many times now that I must have it installed in all my Joomla!-sites. Just brilliant!
2011-02-28
Reviews: 1
Flawless, really works like a charm.
2011-02-24
Reviews: 9
Plugins like this the supporting documentation make me happy. Great job guys. I will be purchasing the pro version... not because I need it, but because I want to support people doing such good work!

Kudos to you :)
2011-02-19
Reviews: 1
Thank god I felt like backup my site before I contacted my web host for some other sites under my account. The webhost tech support messed up everything in my account. I used the restore to save everything.

One thing maybe helpful. First time I restored everything, with change of the password for super administrator for the backend. It didn't work. I tried everything to recover the password. Still didn't work.

I restored again without changing the password (by leavning the textbox for password empty), and Everything is restored!!!!

Thank you.!
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review! We're glad our software was of service to you in such a stressful situation.

The password issue you mention was indeed a bug in Akeeba Backup's restoration script. In the meantime, we fixed it in the latest release of our software (3.2.3 at the time of this writing).

2011-02-19
Reviews: 2
The basic premise of JoomlaPack seemed perfect: back-up the files AND the database into one zip file. Unfortunately, I found it timed out even for small sites that contained little more than core Joomla. I resorted to using another program that just backed up the database (for sites updated on-line).

It's only in the last few weeks that I've been in a position to re-evaluate back-up solutions. Akeeba Backup delivers all the promises that it's previous incarnation, JoomlaPack, had made. It really is phenomenal - I'm not sure the size of the largest site I've used it on, but the resulting zip was around 250MB. I don't think you can get it any faster or do a better job unless you have command line access to the server.

The next problem is getting your back-ups automated. Yes - the core (free) version includes a lazy back-up plugin that will email it. But my simplest Joomla site when zipped is around 8MB and many email providers have a maximum email size limit of 5 or 10MB. Akeeba have developed another fantastic freebie - Remote Control - which will run locally to trigger a back-up and download. It can even schedule the back-ups! There are some issues with it, e.g. no way to migrate your site settings from the 2.5 version (for Joomla 1.5) and 4.x (which support Joomla 1.5 and 1.6 - but not officially stable yet). Unless you've got a lot of sites, this is not much of an issue, but I now think it best to go for the 4.x version. However, I had quite a few problems installing it which seems to be down to the Windows Titanium installer program that has been used to package it up (strictly speaking not a problem with Akeeba). After a bit of searching, I found the answer in Akeeba's forums - namely delete the titanium folder hidden on your hard disk, and then repair your installation.

My last problem was that J!1.6 sites were coming down as JPA files instead of zip files using the Remote Control program. After a bit of testing, I thought it was some kind of compatibility issue between Remote Control and Joomla 1.6, so resorted to asking confirmation on functionality on the Akeeba forum. I got an amazingly quick response from Nicholas and the issue was resolved in about 24 hours! The root cause is questionnable, but the resolving action was to re-install Akeeba Backup on the site (complicated slightly by part of my testing and having two backup profiles).

I cannot recommend Akeeba Backup highly enough. The Remote Control 4.x extension has installation problems, but once working is also brilliant - a requirement if you have dynamic sites. Akeeba Admin Tools is also a great product from Akeeba, although may not be used as much as the backup programs.

I think Nicholas and Akeeba have provided an excellent suite of products and it's backed-up by a first class support forum. I hope they are able to keep up their stirling work.
Page 19 of 46