The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscription to request support. Its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the public tickets is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2014-05-13
Reviews: 16
Useful, easy to use and I think very important for every web site.

Thank you
Francesco
2014-05-07
Reviews: 2
I have moved my site to another server, and I mast say it was a pleasure, with Akeeba Backup! A really like this extension and professionalism. Thank you!
2014-04-25
Reviews: 1
Akeeba Backup is the most functional and reliable extension/software here on JED to backup Joomla sites. It's a must have. It's not complicated to use and an all-in-one package. It's completely amazing.
2014-04-25
Reviews: 2
One of the most useful extensions hereon JED. I always use it for making Backups of Joomla sites, and had no issues with it.
Congrats for the Developers!
2014-04-24
Reviews: 9
This extension is flawless, super easy, and wonderful instructions. With just a few simple clicks you can have your website backed up, restored, or even moved to another webhost without any advanced knowledge of IT at all! This is a MUST HAVE extension for anyone using Joomla!!!!!

~THANK YOU!
2014-04-21
Reviews: 2
Akeeba Backup is simply awesome, saved all data of website and I like its feature of Moving my site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything.its companion desktop software which is free, took me in the air. Great work.
2014-04-18
Reviews: 2
This software really amaze me all the features that I need suites me. I'm truly speechless.. But one thing I can put my mind on this "BRAVO".
-johnmyself
2014-04-06
Reviews: 2
... every time I setup a Joomla! install: Install Akeeba Backup! Easy to install, easy to use. And if things happen ... and anything went wrong: Akeeba Backup helps you out. Perfect. Thank you for this component.
2014-02-17
Reviews: 2
Akeeba Backup is an absolut amazing piece of software!
Should be on EVERY SITE to "secure" it.
Easy to use, and great features. I love especially the ability to upload my backups automatically to dropbox.
It is also very simple to transfer your whole site to another webserver.
Was worth every cent!
2014-02-12
Reviews: 6
I install this on all my sites, and have done for several years now. The backup has saved me masses of times now, I love how easy it is to clone and install, or move a site.

Thank-you very much to the developer
2014-02-11
Reviews: 3
There is honestly no excuse for anyone using Joomla to not have this extension. It's free and it's an absolute necessity for anyone who likes their website.

Whenever I make a major update to my site, I download it as a jpa file with Akeeba. On more than one occasion, disaster struck and I had to restore my site (or move it to a new domain). The first time it happened, I panicked. Then I used Akeeba Kickstart and my site was back online in a matter of minutes. I didn't have to do anything but extract and fill in my database info again.

Instead of worrying about downloading all of your files and databases manually, Akeeba lets you store it as one single file, which you can then upload to ANY empty directory, extract and voila! Your site is restored, or copied, or whatever your heart may desire.

If you run a Joomla site and do not have Akeeba, I recommend that you remedy your situation immediately.
2014-02-07
Reviews: 3
Backing up your system is the very smart way to do. Without Backu up your like doing suicide. One click backup is also pretty cool. No need to worry since Akeeba backup is here!
2014-02-05
Reviews: 1
I just did my first recovery for a customer site. So easy, we where up and running again after 10 minutes. I have no words for how good this extension is. I'm running the Pro version worth every penny.
//Peter
2014-02-01
Reviews: 6
Backup before it's too late, and Akeeba Backup is the way to go
2014-01-19
Reviews: 2
A person would have to be an absolute fool not to install this. It saved me just today when I was moving a site from one server and domain to another. The documentation and prompts as you go through each step of the process are complete and intuitive.

Do NOT try to run a Joomla! web site without it.
2014-01-08
Reviews: 13
It´s an essential component.

In few steps you regain a complete website.
2014-01-03
Reviews: 8
This extension deserves a 10 Star actually. I do not need to worry about my sites not backed up properly.

It takes care of the hard work...

Dropbox support is amazing.

You can even recover the site using backend a couple of clicks!

Thank you
2014-01-01
Reviews: 5
I used the software to move two websites, older Joomla and a newer version, to another webhoster. In a matter of hours all done! Also testing and reinstalling afterwards.
This made me happy!
2013-12-28
Reviews: 47
You guys are simply Awe-Zoom

I just can't thank you enough for make life so much easy with these great tools.

Some Hot Chips:

>> Easy to install
>> Simple to use
>> Easy to backup
>> Very easy to restore

Great tool overall.

Regards
Syed.
2013-12-21
Reviews: 11
Thanks for the great work. It just makes web site designing possible.

Everytime you see "update your Joomla!" or "update your extension" , you are warned to save your site before : Akeeba.

Installation, setup, and use straightforward. I use in with Akeeba eXtract Wizard for local development

I just maintain the one website of a very small club, and I have no skill whatsoever in coding. That's what I am found of joomla! and of make-my-life-easy-extensions such as Akeeba.

I made a donation. Many thanks
Page 2 of 46