The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscription to request support. Its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the public tickets is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-03-07
Reviews: 2
Stated many times for sure, but its true, this is one of the best extensions for Joomla. The Akeeba Developers should be rightly proud of themselves, their efforts to provide us with one of the best in JED is very much appreciated.
2011-03-05
Reviews: 1
this solution really works specially for newbies. easy to understand and implement...even the multiple backup.
2011-03-05
Reviews: 2
This piece of software have saved me so many times now that I must have it installed in all my Joomla!-sites. Just brilliant!
2011-02-28
Reviews: 1
Flawless, really works like a charm.
2011-02-24
Reviews: 9
Plugins like this the supporting documentation make me happy. Great job guys. I will be purchasing the pro version... not because I need it, but because I want to support people doing such good work!

Kudos to you :)
2011-02-19
Reviews: 1
Thank god I felt like backup my site before I contacted my web host for some other sites under my account. The webhost tech support messed up everything in my account. I used the restore to save everything.

One thing maybe helpful. First time I restored everything, with change of the password for super administrator for the backend. It didn't work. I tried everything to recover the password. Still didn't work.

I restored again without changing the password (by leavning the textbox for password empty), and Everything is restored!!!!

Thank you.!
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review! We're glad our software was of service to you in such a stressful situation.

The password issue you mention was indeed a bug in Akeeba Backup's restoration script. In the meantime, we fixed it in the latest release of our software (3.2.3 at the time of this writing).

2011-02-19
Reviews: 2
The basic premise of JoomlaPack seemed perfect: back-up the files AND the database into one zip file. Unfortunately, I found it timed out even for small sites that contained little more than core Joomla. I resorted to using another program that just backed up the database (for sites updated on-line).

It's only in the last few weeks that I've been in a position to re-evaluate back-up solutions. Akeeba Backup delivers all the promises that it's previous incarnation, JoomlaPack, had made. It really is phenomenal - I'm not sure the size of the largest site I've used it on, but the resulting zip was around 250MB. I don't think you can get it any faster or do a better job unless you have command line access to the server.

The next problem is getting your back-ups automated. Yes - the core (free) version includes a lazy back-up plugin that will email it. But my simplest Joomla site when zipped is around 8MB and many email providers have a maximum email size limit of 5 or 10MB. Akeeba have developed another fantastic freebie - Remote Control - which will run locally to trigger a back-up and download. It can even schedule the back-ups! There are some issues with it, e.g. no way to migrate your site settings from the 2.5 version (for Joomla 1.5) and 4.x (which support Joomla 1.5 and 1.6 - but not officially stable yet). Unless you've got a lot of sites, this is not much of an issue, but I now think it best to go for the 4.x version. However, I had quite a few problems installing it which seems to be down to the Windows Titanium installer program that has been used to package it up (strictly speaking not a problem with Akeeba). After a bit of searching, I found the answer in Akeeba's forums - namely delete the titanium folder hidden on your hard disk, and then repair your installation.

My last problem was that J!1.6 sites were coming down as JPA files instead of zip files using the Remote Control program. After a bit of testing, I thought it was some kind of compatibility issue between Remote Control and Joomla 1.6, so resorted to asking confirmation on functionality on the Akeeba forum. I got an amazingly quick response from Nicholas and the issue was resolved in about 24 hours! The root cause is questionnable, but the resolving action was to re-install Akeeba Backup on the site (complicated slightly by part of my testing and having two backup profiles).

I cannot recommend Akeeba Backup highly enough. The Remote Control 4.x extension has installation problems, but once working is also brilliant - a requirement if you have dynamic sites. Akeeba Admin Tools is also a great product from Akeeba, although may not be used as much as the backup programs.

I think Nicholas and Akeeba have provided an excellent suite of products and it's backed-up by a first class support forum. I hope they are able to keep up their stirling work.
2011-02-17
Reviews: 1
This is the first thing I install on any Joomla site, I guess that shows that I'm very happy with Akeeba Backup.

I use only a couple of features but it really showed its value when I messed up and had to restore the site. Click, click, click (ok, maybe that sounds too easy but that's what it felt like) and everything was up and running again. This is a component you can't go without. 5 stars, not a doubt on my mind.
2011-02-16
Reviews: 3
Absolutely essential component. I started using when it was JoomlaPack and have been extremely pleased with the constant improvements. I also use the companion desktop utility Akeeba Remote Control so my backups are completely automated. Site migration or restoration is VERY SIMPLE using Kickstart. Site files and database can be completely restored in just a few minutes.
2011-02-16
Reviews: 7
Just transferred my site from my localhost to the clients server, I read about all the manual ways of doing it which were a bit tedious. The ease of this extension made it a really quick process - using the backup and the kickstart download from the same page. Really happy - cheers
2011-02-12
Reviews: 22
Thank you so much for this awesome component!

I love the new update method, other Joomla developers should follow your example.

Keep up the good work!
2011-02-12
Reviews: 1
This worked great. I love that it zips it up on the server for you. Really good work.
2011-02-07
Reviews: 1
10 stars out of 5.
My server's HDD got just crashed and usb backup saved my ass big time. I thought my boss would kill me with LAN Cable. Phew! Just put the backup file and kickstart!
KickAss Restoration was done by just few clicks.

Wonderful.
2011-02-04
Reviews: 2
Works great! Awesome support,
2011-02-03
Reviews: 3
I started using JoomlaPack (Akeeba's predecessor) a few years ago... and I have always been happy with the job it did. However, now I have an even greater admiration for the Akeeba Backup package. Where do I start? How about this... Akeeba puts a smile on my face each time I install it on one of my sites, then again each time I use it to generate a Copy or restore a backup! There is nothing I could say negativity about this package... Pros: a Configuration Wizard that works beautifully, the profile switcher... all this is great, but then there are the Extras! Desktop tools, Kickstart, SiteDiff, I could go on and on... 5 Stars, Thanks Nicholas.
2011-02-02
Reviews: 1
I've used Akeeba for a while and suddenly got errors.

Tried the support and Nicholas and his team solved the problem. For a free extension, the support is above and bejond!
Thank you, guys!
2011-02-01
Reviews: 1
I have been using Akeeba backup (former joomlapack) for some years now on every site i maintain and it has newer failed me. It is also a very good solution when you need to transfer sites to other locations or when you are developing on a test server. Akeeba is one of the component making Joomla the best CMS.
2011-02-01
Reviews: 5
Akeeba Backup and (!)Akeeba Kickstart(!) save me a lot of time during my work! Great job & Keep going!
2011-01-30
Reviews: 5
Used Akeeba to transfer a website i made on my local server.
Packed, uploaded on ftp, used Kickstart: after ten minutes the site was on line and working perfect!
Extremely easy to use, powerful and, overall, inclredibly useful!!
Thank you for this great piece of work!!
2011-01-22
Reviews: 6
Thank you so much for this fast, stable, efficient, and user-friendly backup and RESTORE component. Joomlapack was great and I am happy to say that this is even faster and better. So easy to restore! Also, by downloading kickstart from your site and putting it on my server it is much faster to FTP the backup file in a compressed format.
I would say this is one of the most important components for Joomla and I have depended heavily on several on a busy ecommerce site. Essential. Hats off to you for the clean and professional interface.
Page 20 of 46