The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2013-11-17
Reviews: 1
Works perfectly well. Good and clear documentation.
Easy installation, easy backup, easy restore.
2013-11-08
Reviews: 1
After a disaster with an other backup script, I'll tried Akeeba.
I have tested it and it works.

Database: manually deleted, files and folders: manually deleted.

The restore has been completed after 5 minutes without any errors.

BTW: I have not read the manual - so you can see it's really easy.

My recommendation? YES, absolutely!
2013-10-27
Reviews: 3
Works perfect for me. Thanks for such a useful and handy tool.
2013-10-17
Reviews: 9
Kickstart saved my proverbial life last night- I restored a completely non-functional site from a recent backup with flawless precision in 10 minutes. Pure genius- everybody needs to use your extensions. I am a paid member of Admin, but will also purchase a Backup subscription as well.
2013-10-02
Reviews: 2
I have used Akeeba backup in several Joomla sites, but never needed to actually restore a backup. Untill today. So I've used Kickstart for the first time. The documentation is clear and it all worked at once, so happy to see the site up and running again. Thank you!
2013-10-01
Reviews: 2
I'm a non-techie, and I've been using Akeeba Backup on my Joomla sites for years. It's pulled me out of the fire several times. It works, even for people who don't know what they're doing! Thank you!!
2013-09-30
Reviews: 7
Backup is crucial and after been using the build-in backup at the Cpanel and had some restore disasters, and that you have to do the database backup separately, we decided it was time to go for the Akeeba Backup.

After had tested the non-commercial version we have bought the pro version which was a “laid-back installation” and the same goes for backing-up. We had some problems with the restore of our first backup, which was a 100% clone of our production site to our new development site. However, it was down to ourselves not the Akeeba backup, after Nicholas’s exceptional support we were up and running for good. We have by now done several restores of sites using Kickstart.php, which restore your site like a standard Joomla installation.

The documentation provided by Nicholas is very comprehensive. It is huge, but it takes you through everything step by step.

Someone here at the review for Akeeba Backup mentioned that Nicholas is a Joomla Guru and Teacher, I agree 100%.

Thank you for this great Joomla backup.

We have also bought the Admin Tools Pro version and I owe a review for this Joomla extension as well.

We are looking forward to continuing the co-operation with Nicholas.
2013-09-26
Reviews: 3
The component should be incorporated into the Joomla core.
Very good, useful and necessary.
2013-09-25
Reviews: 21
Using this well documented component makes using Joomla a breeze! Many thanks.
2013-09-19
Reviews: 18
Akeeba Backup provides an easy way to migrate complete sites. Using this tool you can easily adopt a professional way of working using a development site and then easily copy paste your developed site to the live environment.
Also, my sites have been hacked before. Akeeba Admin has put en end to that so far, but just in case it's a safe feeling to have a working backup at hand.
I've spent the money and bought a subscription, and it's money well spent.
Keep up the good work!
2013-09-16
Reviews: 6
This is the most powerfull extension ever.
There is no easier way for Joomla backup.
I would rate 10 stars if possible.
2013-09-13
Reviews: 5
For a year or so I've been using Akeeba Backup constantly on every website I programm. It does an excellent job any time, I love it!

Configuration is very easy (does it by itself), reinstallation is easy, new installation in a test environement also a child's play.

Great job! Thank you!
2013-09-11
Reviews: 2
Ever had a site that has gone 'white' after maintenance? I did. I don't make any site without this back-up component (and backup BEFORE you mess-up the lot). I do test back-ups. They never go wrong. Incidentally use it to transfer a site from the development platform to live platform. Ok, you must check some path settings. But hey, this is a back-up component.
2013-09-05
Reviews: 4
I needed a way to move a site from my development server to the client's server. It was a large database and site (over 10k members) and I was intimidated by the idea. Using Akeeba Backup, I was able to backup the site and database, then following the instructions and fantastic video I was able to use Kickstarter to migrate the backup, extract it, and install it flawlessly. Thank you for such a wonderful product!
2013-09-05
Reviews: 2
I had use this extension for a while and this is one of the main extensions I use in my site. Never failes and is very easy to use. I recommend it!!!
2013-08-31
Reviews: 13
Installed easily. Manual Takes a bit of going through, but is easy to understand and use once mastered. Have successfully used to restore backup to offline test system, so very happy with extension.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review!

Yes, the full documentation is thorough but quite a monster to read in one sitting. We do have two other, quicker, methods to get you started:
1. our Quick Start Guide (shorter, step-by-step, illustrated documentation); and
2. our video tutorials (seeing and doing is usually much easier than reading and doing).

Both are available free of charge from our site.

2013-08-30
Reviews: 8
I've been using Akeeba Backup for years now (first the free version and now to paid one as a form of support for this great tool).

Anyone running a Joomla! site should definatiely consider using this.

It's is very user friendly (also for non-tech people), it gets updated regularly without problems. You can create backups in no time and can use those to restore the site in case of problems without hassle. You can use it to move your website from one host to another without any fuzz.

This extension makes it easy to get non technical users to backup the website on a regular basis.
2013-08-26
Reviews: 7
We wouldn't trust any other component to run and manage our site backups. We use it on all of our client websites.
Highly recommended.
2013-08-23
Reviews: 2
An Excellent Extension to manage your site and prevent disaster. If your living without it, your missing out.
2013-08-19
Reviews: 14
Couldn't work without it. Saved my bacon more times than I'd like to count. The one absolutely must have tool for professional web builders.
Page 3 of 46