The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-12-11
Reviews: 1
This is probably my most important extension. JoomlaPack has saved me at least twice from disaster. I use this to backup regularly. At least twice I have been able to restore data that had been corrupted by bad modules (or by my own stupidity when using SQL on the back end). Getting everything restored takes some concentration, but it is a lifesaver.
2009-12-08
Reviews: 2
One of those exceptional pieces of programming. Time and live saver. Very, very well documented. I will donate for this to keep these things alive. Great work.
2009-12-07
Reviews: 2
I run a number of Joomla based sites and this extension has to be one of the best. For me it allows great portability as well as being a simple to use and efficient backup. The time saved in backup alone makes this a must. I really like the access to configuration and a simple backend back-up without fuss.

For me, this is in the top three extensions.
2009-12-02
Reviews: 1
I had a few things to sort so that everything was configured correctly to make the backups but I found the documentation excellent!

Highly Recommend!!
2009-11-29
Reviews: 2
This extension is a lifesaver (timesaver for sure)

I've used it on numerous sites and have never had a problem with it.

THANK YOU!!!
2009-11-26
Reviews: 3
This component is absolutely fabulous. The easy way to install and handle is awesome.
2009-11-26
Reviews: 4
This component is the best joomla site backup tool. worked like a charm, no problems to install or configure.

Nice work and thanks a ton to the joomlapack team. Keep up the great job.
2009-11-24
Reviews: 4
This component rocks. I recently developed a site on a test server and was trying to figure out how to move it to the live server. Wow, am I impressed. Talk about easy. 15 minutes to back up, transfer and restore to the live server. I will never use anything else and I will continue to use this even if they start charging for it. I HIGHLY recommend this to everyone. Makes backing up and moving a site dummy proof. I am living proof of that.
2009-11-23
Reviews: 2
I've used this extension for overall sites and it works very fine.
One important thing of this tool is the speed make a complete backup!
2009-11-23
Reviews: 1
Really great tool, it should be a part of joomla next generation.
2009-11-21
Reviews: 5
JoomlaPack is the first thing I install on every site I do. It's a lifesaver not only for backups, but aids in migration from development servers to live servers seamlessly. I can't imagine Joomla without it. Every webmaster should install this invaluable tool.
2009-11-19
Reviews: 1
This is such a life-saving extension!
I am a newbie to Joomla, manual installation or migration are out of the options. I followed step by step and did a practice round first. Now I've migrated my client's site successfully!
Thank you so so much!
2009-11-19
Reviews: 4
5 stars for the component.
5 stars for support.

On normal server settings everythings works perfect!
It still works perfect with some strange server settings and the help of Dale and Nicholas from the Joomlapack-forum. They do have answers that help!

I'll use it now to create a standard-package for future customers with many components and module and plugins already set up.
2009-11-09
Reviews: 3
Simply put, this extension needs to be added to Joomla! core. This is getting installed to all my Joomla! sites immediately.
2009-11-08
Reviews: 3
This component is brilliant! I love all the features it offers, such as cron jobs. I'm sure this component will save my website someday.

I have only one note to make. The JPA Archives arn't compressed enough. My site is around 120mb big, when I ran backup I saw that the JPA file took up 100mb or so... I nearly got in trouble with my host! :)
2009-11-06
Reviews: 1
I downloaded this component for 1.0x over a year ago and hit has been regularly backing up 2 sites I run without fail the whole time. I just upgraded my main web site to 1.5 and I am looking forward to having this dependable backup tool on it!
2009-11-06
Reviews: 3
It works! That's the best in that.

The front-end feature w/ cron job opportunity is a lifesaver.

How many times we delete something important by accident or mess up the development?
How many times we do not make a backup, because we forget, are tired to and do not do the last thing: backup of our work?

While doing development, using JoomlaPack frontend feature as a cron job is a must.
It works silently in the background so you can be sure that in case you mess it up, you only lose e.g. 1hr of work at max.

It takes 5 mins to retrieve the last working copy there is no excuse for not using it.

Also, I should mention that it is true what Nicholas (the lead developer) offers: they, indeed, come back to you within ONE day in case you have got problems and they do not just say: read the documentation, although this piece of software is very well documented.

I do not know how the they can do it, but they really SUPPORT you.

Try some software giants in this respect and afterward you will surely appreciate the support of this kind.
2009-10-30
Reviews: 2
There is absolutely no excuse for not doing regular backups of your Joomla site when there is backup software like this around.

I installed JoomlaPack and then did a full site backup in minutes. I restored my entire test site easily and it came right up with absolutely no ill effects.

I'll be using JoomlaPack to apply software fixes and upgrades from now on as well. Very well done!
2009-10-30
Reviews: 14
Very good extension
2009-10-26
Reviews: 2
Joomla Pack makes Joomla live much easier. I can remember transferring Joomla packages manually from my sandbox to the server. this was horrible. if i could vote more than 5 stars i would.
Page 30 of 46