The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscription to request support. Its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the public tickets is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-11-19
Reviews: 4
5 stars for the component.
5 stars for support.

On normal server settings everythings works perfect!
It still works perfect with some strange server settings and the help of Dale and Nicholas from the Joomlapack-forum. They do have answers that help!

I'll use it now to create a standard-package for future customers with many components and module and plugins already set up.
2009-11-09
Reviews: 3
Simply put, this extension needs to be added to Joomla! core. This is getting installed to all my Joomla! sites immediately.
2009-11-08
Reviews: 3
This component is brilliant! I love all the features it offers, such as cron jobs. I'm sure this component will save my website someday.

I have only one note to make. The JPA Archives arn't compressed enough. My site is around 120mb big, when I ran backup I saw that the JPA file took up 100mb or so... I nearly got in trouble with my host! :)
2009-11-06
Reviews: 1
I downloaded this component for 1.0x over a year ago and hit has been regularly backing up 2 sites I run without fail the whole time. I just upgraded my main web site to 1.5 and I am looking forward to having this dependable backup tool on it!
2009-11-06
Reviews: 3
It works! That's the best in that.

The front-end feature w/ cron job opportunity is a lifesaver.

How many times we delete something important by accident or mess up the development?
How many times we do not make a backup, because we forget, are tired to and do not do the last thing: backup of our work?

While doing development, using JoomlaPack frontend feature as a cron job is a must.
It works silently in the background so you can be sure that in case you mess it up, you only lose e.g. 1hr of work at max.

It takes 5 mins to retrieve the last working copy there is no excuse for not using it.

Also, I should mention that it is true what Nicholas (the lead developer) offers: they, indeed, come back to you within ONE day in case you have got problems and they do not just say: read the documentation, although this piece of software is very well documented.

I do not know how the they can do it, but they really SUPPORT you.

Try some software giants in this respect and afterward you will surely appreciate the support of this kind.
2009-10-30
Reviews: 2
There is absolutely no excuse for not doing regular backups of your Joomla site when there is backup software like this around.

I installed JoomlaPack and then did a full site backup in minutes. I restored my entire test site easily and it came right up with absolutely no ill effects.

I'll be using JoomlaPack to apply software fixes and upgrades from now on as well. Very well done!
2009-10-30
Reviews: 14
Very good extension
2009-10-26
Reviews: 2
Joomla Pack makes Joomla live much easier. I can remember transferring Joomla packages manually from my sandbox to the server. this was horrible. if i could vote more than 5 stars i would.
2009-10-25
Reviews: 4
This must be used by every Joomla users.. very Very very good. Salute the team. Thanks
2009-10-21
Reviews: 2
This component works as described, installs like a kiss, and has made my life much less stressful. What more can you ask for?
2009-10-20
Reviews: 9
How can one be at the safe side without a backup tool? No, not really.

In fact, this package is a life insurance - all completely not depending from the provider.

Fav'ed it
2009-10-13
Reviews: 2
I was able to move my site to another host in minutes with this extension. Well worth the download folks!
2009-10-11
Reviews: 1
backup in 4 mins, restore in 4 mins. 2 mins checking. perfect restore from existing!!!
2009-10-10
Reviews: 2
This extension is perhaps one of the best safty nets you could have for joomla! It takes a matter of minutes to figure out, and effectively reduces the time to backup or restore a site. Great product, 5 stars.
2009-10-10
Reviews: 1
JoomlaPack… WOW!!! What can I say besides, what a life saver this was for me!

I came across this tool about two months ago. It was a little hard for me to understand at first, as I am fairly new to Joomla!. But, once I harnessed it’s power, I began using the thing all over the place; on EVERY SITE I HAVE DESIGNED!

Moving a site was virtually impossible for me. I used FileZilla FTP to do this, and more often than not, files were missing all over. What a mess! It took me forever to figure it out and re-FTP them up to the site. By then I was pretty much done working on it for a while.

Enter JoomlaPack to the rescue! With JoomlaPack, I can move a site in minutes instead of hours. I can have it up and running with little work, as opposed to fumbling through folders trying to figure out what might have been missed.

And, that is not even talking about the strength of backing up a site. How could this not be a ‘main part’ of Joomla!1.5? They MUST know that this needs to be done? You know how many times (before I found JoomlaPack) I or one of my clients deleted a site by accident? Or moved something that shouldn’t have been moved and breaking the site all together?

NO MORE I SAY… NO MORE!!!

And, when I had trouble figuring something out (it was always my stupidity), Dale would ‘im’ with me for hours, nay I say days, until it was right. Now that is support!!!

Using JoomlaPack has certainly changed the way I move and backup Joomla! websites. If you’re smart, you’ll start using it too. Once you figure out the steps, it becomes so easy a Caveman could do it! (This in no way was designed or stated in an effort to offend any or all Cavemen who may be reading this article.)
2009-10-10
Reviews: 6
Just use it if you are new in joomla.
Don't hesitate.
It easy and really time saving:
for back up
for retoring asite
for cloning
for duplucating
for testing...

It should be included in joomla by default...

Thank you a lot for this fantastic extension.

Thomas
2009-10-08
Reviews: 114
Its a shame there is not a ratin called: Perfection. As this is.... It's a wonderful bit of KIT that I am now using on all my client websites. Thanks guys. I will be donating next month.

thank you
2009-10-03
Reviews: 5
Not all of us are Joomla wizards, but all of us do need good backup software. Joomlapack is not only very easy to use and also understandable for people with more modest web development skills, it also offers excellent support for when you do run into problems. This is the kind of feature that is sometimes underestimated, until you actually do run into trouble.

I had a problem with unpacking a JPA backup archive on a local host (MAMP) and the Joomlapack support stuck by me until solved. Thanks guys!

If you have this same problem, see [url=http://joomlapack.net/component/option,com_kunena/Itemid,98/catid,39/func,view/id,18559/]how to upload local backup to new local site[/url]
2009-09-29
Reviews: 9
I have used this product to backup sites before doing any changes "just in case" and the safety net provided by using this product has proved to be very worthwhile.
I have also used JoomlaPack to transfer complete sites between domains as part of release processing - it works brilliantly.
I have found it easy to instal and use and thoroughly recommend it.
Great product guys!
2009-09-22
Reviews: 12
This is a well put together extension. I like the fact it is geared toward security. The security "alerts/warnings/suggestions" with the hyperlinks back to the creators website makes solving these "alerts" a no brainer. I appreciate that.

Thank you.
Page 31 of 46