The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-09-14
Reviews: 3
Excellent component. First thing I install on every site.
cyb
2009-09-12
Reviews: 2
JoomlaPack the best backup stuff!
2009-09-08
Reviews: 1
this is a must have. very very usefull and it does what it said. 5 stars and thumbs up.
2009-09-04
Reviews: 2
As a joomla newbie, I initially had significant difficulties figuring out how to use Joomlapack.

Joomlapack support stuck with me, though, over more than two dozen forum posts between us.

Turns out that problems I had trying to clone my online site onto my computer locally inspired a fix by the developer. Which worked!

Now I'm able to back-up my online site locally on my computer, and I have cloned a back-up of my primary site on fatcow.com to godaddy.com.

There are some issues with SEF on my cloned sight on go-daddy. I have to set SEF to "no" in order for it to display right. But, to me, this is a minor issue.

I really appreciate the dedication of the joomlapack developers. One suggestion, though (and I'd suggest this to many developers of joomla extensions).

When writing directions on how to install/use an extension, please try to put yourself in the mindset of a true Joomla newbie and write the directions in "baby-step" mode.

Often, documentation skips the baby steps in between the steps that are actually written down, assuming that "everyone" knows how to do these un-written steps.

Baby-step directions take more time, but they really help newbies. I'd guess newbies are a big chunk of JoomlaPack users, as it's quite complicated to move a joomla site from one server another.

I don't think baby-step directions will offend the experts (I hope not!). Finally, baby-step directions could save a lot of time on the back-end in terms of fewer forum support questions and requests.

Anyway, I'm sticking with JoomlaPack and I look forward to updates and new versions!
2009-08-31
Reviews: 1
For anyone with a number of Joomla! sites to backup and support this definitely ranks as a "must have" component. The native tools make it very powerful and it does exactly what it says on the tin.

Recommended!
2009-08-31
Reviews: 7
this is a must have tool for every joomla! website.. very easy to use, and converts hours of hard work to just simple 10 minutes steps of downloading and uploading..
i've been using it since 2007..
thanks a million.
2009-08-29
Reviews: 7
what a time saver!!!
the title speak!

Your joomla in a pack!

thanks very much!
2009-08-28
Reviews: 1
All I can say is thank you, thank you, thank you! JoomlaPack have saved me countless hours of stressful back-ups my site.
2009-08-27
Reviews: 2
Actually, better than advertised.
6 out of 5 Stars!

Only suggestion: Separate One Page Quick Start Guide. (Would probably be all the documentation needed by about 95% of us)

Everyone needs to keep a backup. For Joomla! websites, JoomlaPack seems to be the way to do it!
2009-08-26
Reviews: 4
Joompack is an excellent component to take away all the pain when transferring your site. The component is not only useful when you need to generate a backup but also when you want to restore a site. I have used Joompack more than once to transfer my sites from my local wampserver to my online server and it cannot get easier than this.
2009-08-26
Reviews: 2
Thanks for this great addon, very simple to install and get up and running. Very handy for when you plan to make changes that could cause problems!!!

Thanks
2009-08-22
Reviews: 10
This component save my time. Work´s fine in first install and backup process it is easy.

Thank´s
2009-08-19
Reviews: 9
The new remote backup management using windows is great. Easy to use. Thanks very much.
2009-08-19
Reviews: 1
I had created our new site on a different server so we we wouldn't interrupt the live site and because the PreviewDns in GoDaddy wouldn't let me see some of the really cool Yootools we were using. I figured I'd just have to do a lot of manual tweaking when it came time to make things live. I had used a different content mover in the past, but it only moved articles/categories/sections (great too, but not exactly what I needed). I found this, took a deep breath and installed it and within a half-hour, it was all moved over. I'm a web designer, not a programmer and I confess I didn't really read much of the PDF documentation - I just went for it, and it worked.Thanks so much for making me look good in front of the boss. :)
2009-08-18
Reviews: 1
Never seen something like it! really great.
2009-08-17
Reviews: 1
This is the best backup component for joomla you can get! It saves so much time and after each update there is a bunch of new functions.

Remembering the old days, transfering sites via long ftp- and phpmyadmin-sessions, I will never do it without JoomlaPack.

Thank you so much!!!
2009-08-17
Reviews: 3
This product is fantastic ans fortunately I haven't needed to use kickstart yet

but there is one small problem, which isn't so much the software, but it affects the software

Having a large website, it cannot back it up completely, it runs out of memory to complete the task (my website is nearly 7gb, so I would expect this to happen), so if you have a large website, seriously look at external back-up solutions
2009-08-16
Reviews: 1
thanks a lot
this is the best backup tools I ever use, totally hands free.
PTO
2009-08-13
Reviews: 3
This has to be may favourite JOOMLA extension. Superbly documented, and it works. It wouldn't restore to a memory stick, which is where I like to run my portable development web server, but I can live with that. As an added bonus, the companion Kickstart utility can be used to apply JOOMLA update patches in seconds. Well done guys, and thanks for your prompt support.
2009-08-11
Reviews: 10
Good component. Needed lot of reading, but in the end it works great!

Using in combination with kickstart makes life even better! Only a couple of inputs required to fully upload your backup online!

Great work!
Page 32 of 46