The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-07-28
Reviews: 1
Great extension. Very easy to use and outstanding directions.

Great job guys!
2009-07-26
Reviews: 2
I found JoomlaPack to be a great product. I have recently used JP and despite being a bit of a newbie to Joomla found it well documented, easy to use and was not disappointed with the result. I absolutely love this product and it made the daunting task of uploading a site from localhost to the web much less painful than I imagine it may well have been. Fantastic - and free!
2009-07-22
Reviews: 1
Worked the first time with NO PROBLEMS!

I am a novice to say the very least. Been banging around with Joomla for a few years now off and on. I tried this once before and couldn't get anything to work but today it was recommended again when I made a post about moving my live site from GoDaddy to my local host for revisions and improvements. This component has come a long way!

I followed the directions, packed up my site and moved it to my local host the very first try.

Trust me, if you are a newbie this is the first component you want to install!

Thanks so much!

Alejas
2009-07-20
Reviews: 1
My thanks to your team, this is a great joomla extension that really works and saves a lot of time and effort.

Had many problems with zip and jpa formats but when using tar format everything works just fine.

Again keep on with this project.

Regards,
Jorge
2009-07-18
Reviews: 1
Wow, I'm so pleased! I'm a newbie at this, but Joomlapack/Kickstart allowed me to actually deploy my new joomla site from my local disk to my web server successfully!

It was a bit tricky to figure out how, but basically here is how I did it: with Joomlapack installed on my local copy, I created a backup file of my site.

Then, I installed Kickstart file on my server (you need to download this separately from Joomlapack and upload it to your root directory) as well as the archive file generated by Joomlapack (extension is .jpa). You then browse to the kickstart.php file, and this starts the wizard that will unpack your archive and restore your site.

You don't need to have Joomla already installed on your server to do this. It was a bit tricky with regards to creating the mysql database though; basically, you have to create the database beforehand as well as a database user that you will assign to the database (my web host uses CPanel, and it was not clear how I needed to assign the user to the database, so read your CPanel instructions carefully).

Excellent tool, was the only way I found that worked to deploy my site (had tried manually and ran into all kinds of problems).
2009-07-18
Reviews: 4
I published the live site today:
- Backup the development invironment
- FTP ZIP file and Kickstart to production server
- start Kickstart, wait 2 minutes enter Database details

THAT'S IT

Thanks a lot for the most excellent work!

Willy
2009-07-16
Reviews: 4
I moved a site from GoDaddy to Rochen without a hitch. I love the way you go through the normal install process and you have your site back. Saved hours of work. Thank you!
2009-07-14
Reviews: 7
EXCELLENT!

Should be the 1st component you download and install. Very very good.

Thank You
2009-07-13
Reviews: 3
until I made my first successful backup. But now I've set up the remote backup and even restored the first system on a local server.

This definitely is one of the best and most needed tools out there.

Thank you and keep up the good spirit.
2009-07-13
Reviews: 1
Calling my self a novice in Joomla! is an over statement. After accidentally uninstalling my site last month through my hosts scripting program, I needed to find a backup that would also recover my Joomla! database. I started using JoomlaPack and prayed for the best.

Well, it happened again. I uninstalled another script and when it finished, both it and Joomla! were GONE! Time to test JoomlaPack.

Before I go on, I should note that I probably didn’t follow all of the directions and this process is probably done more easily that I made it to be.

The documentation isn’t laid out very well (my opinion). Once I figured out how to extract the archive and uploaded the recovered files, all I had to do was browse to the site again to get started. NICE!

The last hang up was the Joomla! database. Since JoomlaPack doesn’t create a database automatically, or it didn’t for me and my initial install of Joomla! had auto-generated the DB password, I had a disconnect with the MySQL server. I forum post showed how to change the settings in the configuration.php (very obvious once you see it and and very useful for the future) and I was DONE! My site is alive and well with NO problems!

I had 45 days invested in building this site and JoomlaPack idiot proofed it for me.

Next year I have to move this site to another server and now I can see that I will be able to do so very easily.

THANK YOU!

I will be making a contribution to this extension.
2009-07-12
Reviews: 2
In my opinion this is the best and most important component out there. This has saved me alot of time. Just discovered the kickstart.php after overlooking it for a year and what can I say you guys are great. Great work. this should be standard with joomla!
2009-07-06
Reviews: 4
Thanks for this powerful backup/restore tool. It works perfectly without any trouble. Keep it up!!!
2009-07-04
Reviews: 7
Backing up a html site is easy enough. Backing up a joomla site is a very different story. So I thought. Until I found this little gem. Makes a back up as easy as a html site. Anyone can do it (I'm the living proof of that!). And everyone should do it.
You can also use Joomlapack to deploy your site from WAMP to life. Without mannually install Joomla first.

I have rate it 'excellent' for lack of anything better. Highly recommended!
2009-07-02
Reviews: 1
I am working quite a lot these days with Joomla and that means local development copies, remote installations, server movements, updates etc.

I have been using the JoomlaPack Backup solution and can say that it works. On a basic level that is all one needs to know in the backup and restore process.

It is also is very intuitive in its implementation by orientating itself on standard backup software by:

- Showing you in the Admin Dashboard when a backup is overdue
- Software Updates are available

If I had to name one improvement for upcoming releases it would be an option to:

a) Integrate into the Joomla Install process (any component can install and overwrite any code...).

b) Installer for Joomla Updates with automatic backup and recovery in case the Joomla Update breaks the site.

Last but not least - I would actually pay for this component!
2009-07-01
Reviews: 4
I'm pretty new to Joomla, but I managed to install and configure feature packed Joomla site in a matter of just a couple of days! Indeed it's one of the best free software I have ever encountered! Good work for all the Joomla authors!!!!

Later on I decided to make a backup of my remote site and restore it to my local web server on my own laptop. I've taken your JoomlaPack product and did everything I needed in a few minutes time!!! Works like a charm!!!!

It's really one of the best backup tools I've used so far!
2009-06-29
Reviews: 5
This is one of the best components I have ever used. It can create a backup in a parent directory that has everything to clone/restore the site. I have a lot of extensions I use on almost all my sites, so now I just have a generic site that I update to replicate any time I make a new site. Also it allows for upgrade, without uninstall a key feature for all good components. Just perfect!
2009-06-22
Reviews: 16
Great extension.... every webmaster using Joomla NEEDS this extension.
2009-06-21
Reviews: 2
With it, you can move from one server to another with no fear.
2009-06-14
Reviews: 3
Thank you for an EXCELLENT component. I am donating. THANK YOU.

I'm not a programmer but it was very easy to back up my sites and move them to a new server. Flawless. Simple. Once I figured out a few things and those were not hard to find. I posted the following to the forum and thought it would help others deciding whether or not to use this. If you are just a Joomla user like I am, that's really all you need to be to use this. You don't have to be a programmer or even an Joomla expert.

Here are the things you might not figure out immediately. But really -- it's VERY easy!

1. Kickstart is great. It is not included. It is free, but you have to download and unzip it separately. USE IT. It makes things easier. The detailed directions are at the END of the component instructions.

2. The JoomlaPackInstaller is in the backup zip file you download from the original site. When you upload the zip file and kickstart, that's all you have to do. The details instructions for kickstart included in the joomlapack instructions have the URL you have to type in.

3. On a new site, you have to create an empty database before attempting to install the backup on the new site. Okay, that was intuitively obvious to someone with experience, I'm sure. :)

4. The screen that pops up and asks for db user name/server/password is prefilled FROM THE SITE YOU BACKED UP! You will have to CHANGE those values to whatever values you used for the new database. Otherwise you get a Cannot Connect to mysql error and have to go search the forum to figure out where you've been stupid.

5. It does fine with Joomla installs hosted in subfolders on godaddy. The thing about configuration.php in root on page 51 does not mean you can't use joomlapack with folders hosting domains and distinct Joomla installs. While there isn't a configuration.php in the subfolder, the one at the root of the whole host works just fine.

Perhaps that will help someone else who is relatively inexperienced.

Thank you again for such an excellent component.
2009-06-14
Reviews: 4
I used to FTP my sites files with FileZilla & it took FOREVER! This component makes a complete site backup in a snap. I've already used the KickStart restoration file (it's not a Joomla install - you need to place the file in the root along with your backup file & browse to yoursite.com/kickstart.php to restore from your backup) & it worked after a bit of confusion on my part (should have read the docs 1st)
Page 33 of 46