The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-06-22
Reviews: 16
Great extension.... every webmaster using Joomla NEEDS this extension.
2009-06-21
Reviews: 2
With it, you can move from one server to another with no fear.
2009-06-14
Reviews: 3
Thank you for an EXCELLENT component. I am donating. THANK YOU.

I'm not a programmer but it was very easy to back up my sites and move them to a new server. Flawless. Simple. Once I figured out a few things and those were not hard to find. I posted the following to the forum and thought it would help others deciding whether or not to use this. If you are just a Joomla user like I am, that's really all you need to be to use this. You don't have to be a programmer or even an Joomla expert.

Here are the things you might not figure out immediately. But really -- it's VERY easy!

1. Kickstart is great. It is not included. It is free, but you have to download and unzip it separately. USE IT. It makes things easier. The detailed directions are at the END of the component instructions.

2. The JoomlaPackInstaller is in the backup zip file you download from the original site. When you upload the zip file and kickstart, that's all you have to do. The details instructions for kickstart included in the joomlapack instructions have the URL you have to type in.

3. On a new site, you have to create an empty database before attempting to install the backup on the new site. Okay, that was intuitively obvious to someone with experience, I'm sure. :)

4. The screen that pops up and asks for db user name/server/password is prefilled FROM THE SITE YOU BACKED UP! You will have to CHANGE those values to whatever values you used for the new database. Otherwise you get a Cannot Connect to mysql error and have to go search the forum to figure out where you've been stupid.

5. It does fine with Joomla installs hosted in subfolders on godaddy. The thing about configuration.php in root on page 51 does not mean you can't use joomlapack with folders hosting domains and distinct Joomla installs. While there isn't a configuration.php in the subfolder, the one at the root of the whole host works just fine.

Perhaps that will help someone else who is relatively inexperienced.

Thank you again for such an excellent component.
2009-06-14
Reviews: 4
I used to FTP my sites files with FileZilla & it took FOREVER! This component makes a complete site backup in a snap. I've already used the KickStart restoration file (it's not a Joomla install - you need to place the file in the root along with your backup file & browse to yoursite.com/kickstart.php to restore from your backup) & it worked after a bit of confusion on my part (should have read the docs 1st)
2009-06-10
Reviews: 9
The word Excellent is a bit lower expression than you mention on this comment.

I am really pleased and I couldn’t believe the way it worked with no errors on such a complicated website like mine.

Though I am not an expert or an advanced user of Joomla 1.5, last one month I have been working on Joomla extensions and gained loads of experience, also I have so many Modules, Components and Plugins installed in my Server. After practicing/checking every extension, I uninstall the bad and keep the good. This is one of the reasons I said my website is complicated.

But guys, believe me; this is an excellent, fabulous component what I have found in the Joomla extensions website. No wonder they are on the top range. More than everything; it’s free.
There are some simple (very rarely used) tools, M, C, P are made as commercial, but this many thousands of dollars worth software is given free is an amazing point to think about.

This project is surely worth a donation. I will surely donate as soon as my Credit card is sorted out.

Guys, IF you are running an important website and a responsible person to manage a Joomla website; you would know the WORTH of this software.

I just want to encourage you guys to donate and support this project as much as you can.

I wish GOOD LUCK to the JoomlaPack team.

Augustine
2009-06-09
Reviews: 1
Merely an amateur 'web designer', even for me this was really straightforward. Extremely clear instructions in the documentation. Installation, backup and restore worked on first try without any problem. The combination with Kickstart for relocating the test site to the live site is just perfect.
2009-06-05
Reviews: 4
Thanks a lot my greek friends for this great Joomla Extension. It is one of the most useful Extensions out there which everyone should have. This is the way Joomla backup should be done!
2009-06-02
Reviews: 10
I downloaded this application to run a simple backup of my site. I'm not a coding expert, so I needed something easy and straightforward to use. This does it!

It runs the backups and reports clear messages to you at all times.

Best of all, it is easy to use the backup file. Just upload the ZIP file to your server, unpack it, then run it like a Joomla installation. Done!

I have used this application to create clones of my site for testing purposes.
2009-05-25
Reviews: 5
A very useful tool. My favorite feature is the simple ability to exclude files and directories from the backup. The option to add additional database backups is fantastic as well. A very useful component!
2009-05-25
Reviews: 2
This extensions makes life much easier.
As webdesigner i have to build my joomla on xampp and transfer it later to the customers webspace.
this extension is the right tool to do this.
i don't know any better than this.
2009-05-22
Reviews: 1
Very useful extension! All you need for your backup, and the support is efficient! I've got a problem with remote backup, and in 1 day it's ok even if we are on holiday! Good job
2009-05-21
Reviews: 1
This is a solid 5 stars. I had installed on several sites and went through several backup/restores. Very simple to install/configure and perform the backup/restore. The special version is absolutely rock.
Thanks a million for a wonderful component.

Regards,
Hai
2009-05-20
Reviews: 1
This works like a charm every time, I use it to build a website on a testing server and this allows me to transfer that to "any other server" that will run joomla. The reason I am writing this is to tell people that it is great but also to warn them to use the JPA archiving instead of ZIP because otherwise the backup could fail. Personally I think it should default to JPA but it doesnt. Is there a reason for this? I dont know. Its easy to change though.
2009-05-19
Reviews: 4
I just used JoomlaPack to move my website to a different server. It was fairly easy.

The only issue I had is that I had to make the backup directory, and Joomla's /tmp directory writable.

Installing on the new server was exactly like the regular joomla installation.

However, I think the help documentation on the website could be more clearly written.

I encourage everyone to donate so that future updates to this extension will remain free.
2009-05-17
Reviews: 1
I've used this component on 10 different web sites so far and have not had an issue at all. I've gone through the restore and with their 'special' version it is absolutely awesome.

This is a must have any one looking to safe-guard their websites.

- The installation went with no errors.
- The interface is fast
- I can't comment about support BECAUSE I NEVER NEEDED TO GET ANY!
- Archival is fast (very fast)
- Very intuitive
2009-05-16
Reviews: 2
I haven't tried any other backup component yet, but as long as joomlapack is out there I will not need to. This component is simply incredible! It has ample features, superb support, it is easy to use and it is absolutely free. I have restored backup sites (mostly test sites) at least 100 times. Only once did I encounter a problem and it was not joomlapack' s fault. Despite this, the support by Nicholas and Dale was outstanding. This is the kind of support (and product) that makes the open source community very proud and keeps the dream alive. DONATE when you can.
2009-05-13
Reviews: 3
Really good programme and superb support from Nicholas. Also with the implementation of jRemote.
2009-05-12
Reviews: 6
This is a complete, well thought out must have. If anyone has any Enterprise level view of an organization, business contiunity is Huge. This closes that Gap by providing assurance regarding the site any site> Large or Small. Well worth Donating in my opinion because i'm sure valuable time was taken to bring this to life. Well Done.
2009-05-11
Reviews: 2
This is a very excellent product. hard to believe it is for free. this is a must have for everyone who is creating sites for customers.
if this component would be commercial, i would pay for it.
2009-05-07
Reviews: 1
I am new to joomla and this product saved me lot of time..it works more than you can imagine. specialy if you use KICKSTART to restore your site.
Page 34 of 46