The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscription to request support. Its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the public tickets is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-03-02
Reviews: 1
Works great. You can't do without it :-)

If you install the free version you need to get also 3 files from the special version. They are missing in the zip from the new version. (check the forum).
But this was the only mistake I encountered.

Thanks for this component!
2009-02-28
Reviews: 1
This is perhaps the most vital extension you can ever have. It has saved my life twice so far. It was extremely helpful when I moved my site and domain to a different host. simply the best
2009-02-27
Reviews: 1
I would give it 10 stars!!!
Thanxxx
2009-02-23
Reviews: 3
Thank You for this extension.
It's my favorite extension.
working fine...
Thanks!
2009-02-22
Reviews: 3
Works great! Support forum is awesome. So far I used it on 3 dif. website and works all the time. Much easier then going thru putty and packing everithign by hand. It packs database associated to the site as well, saves a lot of time.

Thanks much. We just made donation.
2009-02-21
Reviews: 1
One of my Joomla sites was hacked just recently so I needed an easy solution to get a full site backup w/o spending hours. Then, I found this component. Really tested it for hours, read the doc first, created the back-up and even transfered my site easy to another domain. This product rocks! Really does what the author says it would.

Great work!
2009-02-18
Reviews: 6
Even if you're the most seasoned Super Admin, absolutely comfortable exporting database tables and reinstalling backups, I'm sure that this extension will have something to offer you.

If you're a intermediate level developer, I cannot stress how much easier this makes working with a joomla site.

For example, I have a localhost development site, a live test/launch server, and the live site. If I make changes to the live site or the development server, I can make a mirror of the revised site as easily as doing a clean joomla install. Or you can build you're own core joomla install, with all the extensions and changes that work for you, pack it up. And then rather spending the hours re-configuring each joomla install you done as soon as you run the install, and you can get to the business of building your site.

There's a lot of deep control about what and where to pack. So if you think that this has nothing to offer you, check it out. I'll bet you'll be surprised.
2009-02-18
Reviews: 1
it works as designed. Thanks for this nice application
2009-02-11
Reviews: 1
This a Life Saver Extention.
Big thumbs up for the creator.
Easy to use and Haven't encounter any problem since I use it. Instruction is easy to follow.
2009-02-10
Reviews: 2
I had just a little trouble getting it going but that's only a quibble.

JoomlaPack is a brilliant product! I often recommend it on the forum.

Well done!
2009-02-09
Reviews: 1
Thanks to the developer for a great extension. I use it on every website, and have had no problems with it.
2009-02-08
Reviews: 6
Brilliant, fantastic, superb (and no i'm not related or on commission). Was dreading migrating sites to a new host this made the whole process so easy. Great documentation and easy to use.
2009-02-07
Reviews: 1
This is a must have tool for every Joomla site owner.
It's clear, well documented, easy to use and the most important itw works !
thanks
2009-01-30
Reviews: 2
I've tried this component and I've found it's a great component. All worked very well from the first moment and it's incredible the speed in all the operations.

It's the easiest way to develop a project in local without problems and deploy it in production in a few minutes.
2009-01-25
Reviews: 3
I needed to backup my website and clone it for security reasons. Thanks to Joomlapack I now have two identical sites on the www. I also have a third copy on my lap top.

I found that the documentation was exteremly thorough, but it took me several hours of reading through a 60+ page pdf before I was confident that I had cracked the procedure.

This product does exactly what it says on the tin. This is a must have component for serious Joomla users. It really is first class.
2009-01-23
Reviews: 22
Thought I would try clone one of my old joomla 1.0.x sites using this tool. Backed up site, backed up database, made new database on server (imported the backup to it), reconfigured configuration.php for new site location and new database details. Ran the installation as stated in the great documentation (changing database details at database section). Now I have two of the same sites running using different databases
Hey Presto. Cloned.
thankyou
2009-01-18
Reviews: 1
This works great and it's easy to install.
2009-01-15
Reviews: 1
That works perfect and really easy to clone or backup your site with JoomlaPack, very thanks to the developers
2009-01-11
Reviews: 5
I am a bit of a newbie and have had to reinstall Joomla (long story) but this software takes no time at all to setup and it is so effective.

If i was going to offer any constructive criticism that would be the structure of the download list (I first accidentally downloaded a beta of something else), but once I knew what I was looking for it was pretty straightforward. Nice one!
2009-01-06
Reviews: 9
This is useful to copy a site over from 1 address to another and I would recommend it to everyone, a must have for backing up
Page 36 of 46