The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-01-03
Reviews: 6
I would give it 10 Stars. Should be integrated into the next release of Joomla!. I would pay for this product if it becomes commercial, it's that good! Developer and support team are top shelf Professionals

In Summary, Using Joomlapack and the additional tools these developers provide is equivalent between riding a skateboard (manual backup) and driving a Ferrari (Using JoomlaPack and the additional tools).

What exemplary stellar tools. Outstanding! To let everyone know, I have just now realized after going through my own learning curve of how to set up everything, (it's not that hard to do, but does take a little time, READ the Instructions, you will honestly do yourself a BIG Favor and actually Save TIME!) but it's worth every second of prep time spent in setting it up for the 100 fold rewards you will get in return.

I will be able to save about 2 hrs a week not having to manage my backups anymore. I have a small web development company (11 customers and growing) and almost exclusively use Joomla! CMS.

I can say to anyone reading this post that Joomlapack, JoomlaPack Native Tools and Kickstart when used either as standalone products or leveraging the power of the combination of these tools are extreemly powerful and timesaving.

Without an easy reliable way to backup and restore you Joomla! web site, you are setting yourself up for a world of pain, whaling and gnashing of teeth! JoomlaPack is the way to go!
2008-12-23
Reviews: 1
Yes, this extension is very easy to use and manage.
But more importantly, the is probably the extension with the best support!

I used it also to clone my site into a subdirectory to create a test site. Nicholas helped me with it.

Highly recommended!
2008-12-20
Reviews: 37
Too many times I feel it important to have a copy of the entire system in my possession but this tool allows me to backup files and tables to the server all in one ZIP. Later I can download just one file! Very nice and all FREE!

This tool is best used with another automated backup but serves as peace of mind for the full site!

Thanks!
2008-12-15
Reviews: 1
Easy easy easy. Great product and really simple to use!
And best of all, it's free!
2008-12-11
Reviews: 2
This is a fantastic extension. It installs easily, works perfectly first time and every time.

We use if for migrating test/development Joomla sites to live sites. Or domain X.com to domain Y.com scenarios.

It handles all the permission and domain issues without any problems.

This is as great a tool for migrating sites to new domains as it is for backups IMO. No more hiding development sites until ready get the basics up and carry on working on the development site and then migrate it over again when ready or updated.

Brilliant - well done to the developers.
2008-12-10
Reviews: 1
i have to say GREAT, this is great component for backup and restore, and it's free to use. kudos
2008-12-09
Reviews: 1
Great product guys! We have Joomla 1.5.8 installed with the new JoomlaPack release 2.0 and everything is working great. This new version is so nice and we love the Restore option right from the Admin for testing on a localhost.

The support has been OUTSTANDING on their side as they respond incredibly quickly when issues due arise. Keep up the strong releases of this wonderfully easy to use tool.
2008-12-08
Reviews: 2
You never really know whether a backup and restore component is going to work until you go through the process. Well, that's just what I did last week. I backed up my website and restored it on another server using Joompack. It was so easy and everything worked perfectly.

I have not given many Joomla extensions 5 stars - this one really deserves it!
2008-12-07
Reviews: 1
I must admit... I like Joomla very much... But, third-party extension installations often offer challenges to the novice users, like me. This one worked the first time, without any problems whatsoever. This is an example of "user first" design and interface that other developers should follow. I backed up a site online in a remote site, and installed it locally without a single problem. Highly recommended.
2008-12-07
Reviews: 1
This component is just excellent. What a great time saver. It is so easy now to backup and download any one of my websites individually and install that site on my own PC for testing etc. Also the front end backup feature saves you the trouble of logging into your site admin and then performing the usual backup procedure. For my purposes, it would be even better if the front end backup would also automatically download the file onto your PC. You would not need to then log in after-wards to download the file. Also, if you are administering several websites and for e.g. you are logged into your main development site, it would be advantageous to be able to somehow backup and download all of your other websites with 1 or 2 clicks saving even more time. Is this possible? Anyway thank you for this great component.
2008-12-04
Reviews: 3
Sometimes, just sometimes something works so well as to be nigh on perfect - enter joomlapack! I have used this product twice now - once to rebuild a corrupt website, the second to clone a site. Both were perfectly executed by joomlapack. Both site were back up and running in under an hour. I cannot praise this product enough. It really should be a core part of joomla 1.5.x. Do yourself a big favour - download it today and use it regularly. One day it will save you a huge amount of time and stress. Brilliant!
2008-11-25
Reviews: 3
It's free - It's easy - It's fast and It does not have any problem

If you have a site using joomla, this is one of those extensions you *ought* to have
2008-11-21
Reviews: 3
First Great Thanks to the Geoffrey C, Dale Brackin, Niko Winckel, and Nicholas Dionysopoulos, for this tremendeously useful package. Backup and now Recovery using the "kickstart" feature is manageable. One little undocumented feature is that you can build a base install create a copy of the whole install with JoomlaPack, run a restore to another site make modifications and voila you now have 2 Joomla installs with all the components and settings of the original without having to redo the whole process. When you are building several Joomla installs with similar requirements or simply testing out a new extension JoomlaPack saves a lot of time.
Thanks once again to the team
2008-11-21
Reviews: 2
I am a new user and I am using the beginner version. The backup worked like a charm. Recommend to all new users.

great job.
2008-11-21
Reviews: 16
Even a person with no knowledge of php can manage this one (even I)! I had a minor problem due to my host having safe mode on (which is not recommended) but that was resolved thanks to Joomla Pack's excellent support. I got very quick, kind and clear instructions even though I haven't paid for Joomla Pack. That is outstanding and rare!
2008-11-20
Reviews: 3
I do just not understand how I could survive before finding JoomlaPack... saves me so much time, and the best thing is that it just works!
2008-11-17
Reviews: 1
Easy and does exactly what is promised.

Documentation is thorough, and may seem complicated at first glance...not so.

I feel completely confident to build Joomla sites locally and in less than 10 minutes upload the entire site to my server!

YAY!
2008-11-14
Reviews: 2
What more can i say.. These guys are amazing at what they do. Definitely a leader in the joomla community.

There customer support is instantaneous.

The product and people behind this genius component are perfect.
2008-11-10
Reviews: 3
This is a MUST. Installation: click, click. Just worked fine. Then a few click to look what was in the config panel. Then pressed the backup button. That's all.
Can be used to make croned backup. Really cool.
2008-11-08
Reviews: 2
This is a can't live without component. Extremely easy to use, works out the box what more could you want. Great if you move sites around or make base templates easy installs using the kick start. Took me a total of 5 minutes to move my site to a new host.

Awesome, Awesome, Awesome!
Page 37 of 46