The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscription to request support. Its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the public tickets is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2008-09-14
Reviews: 1
I can't describe my ratings in words. For the last 14 hours, I had been struggling with different extensions, no success, but when i came across JoomlaPack, it works flawlessly.

Hat's off to the developer.

Excellent extension....
2008-09-10
Reviews: 3
This is one of those "must-have" extensions for any Joomla! site. It installed easily and works perfectly. It's well-supported at its site. I used it to move my live site to a Xampp site for testing. The process of moving a site used to be a bit annoying. With Joomlapack, it was easy. Thanks.
2008-09-10
Reviews: 2
This component is the best. Back-up your website with one click. Easy and understandable.

The bug (well not really but it could be a problem for some).
When creating a back-up from a website (lets say domain-a.com), and placing it on a different domain (say damain-b.com). The configuration.php has the wrong tmp folder stated. By this reason, installing a component does not work on your new domain.

What would be nice.
We would love to see the possibility to schedule a back-up weekly (maybe using cronjobs).
2008-09-08
Reviews: 5
I have found this component first class. After having one of our sites hacked (our fault) we started the process of security and back up on all the sites we manage.
For a free component this fulfils everything we require.
Complete back up of a site, including installer.
I had a problem with one of the sites, checked the forum, the answer was already there after a quick search. Installed the latest version and it works perfectly.
It is worth a donation to the developers, again a great component.
Does exactly what it say's on the tin !
2008-09-08
Reviews: 1
Definitively, this extension must be seriously evaluated to be included in the core program.

Simply great. Backup your site, download it, unpack it in a folder with a simple name, and procede as if it was a joomla usual instalation (meaning going to your browser and typing the url for the name you just give to the folder, for instance http://localhost:8888/backup). Here a wonderfully easy menu will do all for you.

Thank you guys, you did it.
2008-09-08
Reviews: 6
From the time I downloaded this component to making my first backup was about five minutes. The only thing else I'd like to see, if one were to twist my arm and ask me that, is the option to backup to an external server ("secure" FTP?). Otherwise, great component. Five stars all the way.
2008-09-07
Reviews: 1
It is a very, very good component and it should be a core Joomla.

One problem is that, probably due to some php settings done by GoDaddy, joomlapack does not work with GoDaddy shared hosting accounts.

Read the warnings and posts on the jpack forums.
Owner's reply

A new version will be coming out soon that may potentially fix the GoDaddy problem.

Aly
2008-09-07
Reviews: 4
I had no idea how I was going to move my client's site to a different hosting company as I had encountered glitches trying to do this manually in the past. JoomlaPack took all my fears away! I backed up the site on one server, and re-installed it perfectly intact on a brand new hosting account. She's thrilled, but more importantly, I actually look like I know what I'm doing ;) I couldn't be happier to discover this phenomenal tool! Thank you!
2008-09-05
Reviews: 1
This Tool is just awesome !! In Combination with eXtplorer a really really good helper. Just install it and of you go. Lovely !!

Thanks a lot for this beautiful extension.
2008-09-04
Reviews: 1
I started using Joomla a few weeks, ok make be several weeks ago and have tried at least 3 other backup utilities from this site including a commercial one that is said to be really easy, but there is ZERO comparison. My second choice for backup is to do it manually, which is really not that big of a deal at all, but the convenience here is hard to ignore. Here is how it works. Follow closely.

Step 1: Click "Backup Now"
Step 2: Click "Backup your site"
Step 3: There is no step 3 because you are done, go work on something else!

My only advice to newbies (like me) using this, make sure you put your backup directory above your root and set the permissions correctly. After that it is no harder then checking e-mail. This program should get a bonus 6th star.

I backup my site just for the heck of it now after only a couple of edits because it is so simple and quick.

One last thing: Restoring the site - is just as brainless.
2008-09-03
Reviews: 1
Though I tried many extensions on joomla. This extension made to to write my first review.

There are just so many hackers out there and this extension is one of the answers to bring back life to the site.

For those who dont know how to restore, just install the files in the directory where you want restore your site. You can run the installation file by opening your site in web browser, next it will walk you through. Some times your userid and pwd that you previously used may not work if you are on shared hosting. You need to use your cpanel login thats how mine worked.

Excellent work by Joomla Pack.
2008-09-03
Reviews: 1
JoomlaPack + KickStart = Joomla Admin dream

What a smooth, easy to use product.
Provides the ideal functionality to backup and restore a Joomla! site with ease. Was so simple and friendly to use, I can now give this to my clients to use.
It gives me the confidence that the sites can be restored simply and quickly.

Thanks and keep up the good work.

Satisfied Joomla! admin.
2008-09-02
Reviews: 1
When I tried to place backups in the super directory of my website (next to the "HTML" directory used by the webserver), this nifty tool was not able to create a backup. The default location worked fined.

A little digging showed that the backup directory needs to have the webserver "apache" as the owner. CHOWNed that property and things are working fine now. Simply having apache be a member of the owner group did not suffice.
2008-08-29
Reviews: 1
I buld my sites on my 'localhost' (my PC) to help keep the bulid time speedy. This extension is fantastic for moving your site from your localhost, to a new web hosting server. I have used Joomlapack to transfer on both PC and MAC platforms.. and to be honest I had a few minor hiccups getting this to work. But the support from the forum admins was excellent and they helped me fix my issues both times quickly and easily. Worth a donation !!!

I highly recommend it.. Thx for the great extension guys!!

Syco
2008-08-28
Reviews: 1
I highly recommend JoomlaPack's backup and restore component. Not only is it easy to install and configure this but the backup was extremely fast. Their documentation is excellent as well. I haven't tried a restore yet - hope I don't need it. Being able to backup my site makes me feel more secure.
2008-08-28
Reviews: 3
Wow,.. I read the reviews, but they fail (as mine will probably also) truly describe how simple, hands-off and stable this Back-Up Solution is! I am truly impressed,.. and with it, won't be running into errors during PhpMyAdmin sessions that corrupt a whole DB file!! Yeah, fun!

Thanks again for a great solution,..

Anyone looking for a solid, very simple and hands off backup, look no further. Install, configure easier than ANY other component,.. and let it do it's job.
2008-08-28
Reviews: 7
This turned out to be exactly what was needed. Produces backup files in minutes with no fuss and plenty of options.

Was able to move our Joomla project between domains with this tool which saved hours of configuration.

Excellent extension, so good it should be included as standard.
2008-08-23
Reviews: 2
Awesome tool, works just like it should. As a decent well documented manual too, not like you really need it, as its so easy to use. Keep up the good work guys
2008-08-23
Reviews: 1
It installs and backs-up really easily, the manual is really good, so far I can't fault it.
If I ever have to do a restoration then I will see how good it really is, I hope I never have to.
I have a Linux Ubuntu system and the regular archive manager wouldn't unzip the back-up, but it worked OK with 7Zip.
Recommended.
2008-08-21
Reviews: 19
Amazing: you can backup files and database (so everything needed) of Joomla's site in just few clicks and in small time. Good customization options (folder exclusions, output folder, ...). Thanks!
Page 39 of 46