The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Joomla! 2.5/3.0 only. We have older versions for Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7 on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion desktop software (Akeeba SiteDiff and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscription (starting at EUR 7.79) to request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2008-08-08
Reviews: 1
I don't usually write reviews unless I'm really impressed.... so as you've probably gathered, I'm REALLY impressed!

This should become a standard part of the next Joomla release... it is the ultimate MUST HAVE for any developer or new site builder..
2008-08-06
Reviews: 1
This component is amazing.

I have spent hour trying the other backup components before I found this one. I tried JoomlaConer and JoomlaGhost. Both were difficult and problematic.

JoomlaPack is simple, quick and reliable and best of all FREE!

I have now used it on Joomla 1.0.x and 1.5 sites (the lastest JoomlaPack1.2 release). I have never had a problem and restoring sites is simple.

One of the best components for Joomla and one that every site should have
2008-08-06
Reviews: 1
Great job developers. This is one of the best extensions I have used so far. It is really excellent and does the job flawlessly. Very easy to use and nothing complicated. Thanks a lot.
2008-07-29
Reviews: 2
Does what it says on the tin, very well, with minimum fuss. Dead easy, and great support when required. Totally recommended!
2008-07-28
Reviews: 1
I've been using this extension on both Joomla v1.0xx and v1.5 sites and I have found it very useful. It has improved in stability over the last year(the time that I've been using it) with each update and I have great confidence with the current version both in backing-up and doing complete restores from backup.
2008-07-23
Reviews: 8
Wow, how easy was that. I always dread backups if you don't have ftp access to the old site. But with this tool it turns out to be a pleasure. Install the component, make the backup, FTP the backup to the new site and run the installer. Worked without any fault and very smoothly. Thanks for a great product. I already donated for this component. Money well spent.
2008-07-17
Reviews: 6
This is the best backup tool for joomla.

But today while trying to download thier website says: "Database Error: Unable to connect to the database:Could not connect to MySQL"
2008-07-16
Reviews: 5
Tks a lot
That component is very good, easy to use, thank you
2008-07-14
Reviews: 3
No issues whatsoever, it just works. Thanks for something that should be a built-in.
2008-07-09
Reviews: 3
This works flawlessly on my 1.5.2 site, with a bunch of add-ons. Thanks!
2008-07-06
Reviews: 1
Definitively this is one of the most amazing components for Joomla. I'm testing the new version in Joomla 1.5 and until now work very well. Congratulations!
2008-07-03
Reviews: 3
Had to take down my Joomla site for a day. This component backed up my whole site easily and restored without incident. Highly Recommended ++++
bbw
2008-06-25
Reviews: 8
was able to backup a joomla site, restore it one directory level upward on the same server with absolutely no loss of any extensions or files or db info that I can tell so far... the documentation was a little unclear for me at first, but I figured it out quickly and had no problems after that. Great extension.
2008-06-23
Reviews: 1
Itz really a excellent work.. and of course free. Easy to use and every thing went okay.. Backing up when ever required but Still did not get chance to restore and see how it works..
I advice every body to use this component and make a small donation to the owner inspite of making this amazing component.
2008-06-22
Reviews: 3
I've been using this on both Joomla 1.0 and Joomla! 1.5.

I only had a small issue with version 1.1.0 that generated unextractable zip files. The problem has been solved by downgrading to version 1.0.4.

For me it is one of the most useful components!
2008-06-22
Reviews: 1
Thanx for this component, it`s really good and work perfectlly and most important it`s really easy to work with this. Thanx again u save me a lot time making 4 site`s (i clone it :)
2008-06-20
Reviews: 3
Exactly as described. The new beta version (1.2B1) is ridiculously fast, as my entire joomla directory is over 100mb+ and yet it was done in seconds.

Highly recommended.
2008-06-20
Reviews: 1
I found a glitch with the installation, so I contacted the support team, as with quite a few modules I was not expecting a quick response if any. However I was wrong, within a day of listing the issue within the forum, the Head Developer got back to me with the solution. Top notch module to class support. Well Done.
2008-06-19
Reviews: 2
I've been wanting to consolidate my hosting for some time but I've resisted because of the work involved in moving some large Joomla sites. Well, JoomlaPack did the trick. I moved a number of sites, including one that 200MB+, in just a couple of hours, with little hassle or fuss thanks to JoomlaPack. Simply put, it works!
2008-06-16
Reviews: 5
I previously used sitebackup, another joomla extension. It performed well enough for a while, but when my site grew to its present size, it stopped working. I installed joomlapack, partly out of frustration, since I wanted to add community builder to my site but needed to backup first.

JoomlaPack seamlessly installed on my 1.0.15 site and handled the full site backup (330 MB) without a hitch. This is a great extension! I recommend it, and will be following up with a donation to express my gratitude.
Page 39 of 45