The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2013-08-16
Reviews: 1
I installed it so I could demonstrate its capability to my Info Tech students at uni and how it worked with Akeeba, webcron and Joomla sites
It was easy to configure thanks to the great tutorial on the Akeeba website
regards
Eric
2013-08-15
Reviews: 4
Superb component for these people who thinking about security and weel done job (website). It works great together with Joomla 1.5.x, J2.5.x. and different components. Akeeba Backup works great, no problem with installation. I used this component from 4 years on different websites and had no problems! Must have component for Joomla! I strongly recommend this component. Thanks for great job!
2013-08-13
Reviews: 9
I've now used Akeeba a dozen times, including moving two sites today to a new host. Once I learned how to do it, it's remarkably easy and smooth. Do use their kickstart utility; remember after you finish the restore the "cleanup" button may be in a different window of your browser.

I was inspired to write the review, however, because of the quality of the documentation. Twice, looking for a problem that wasn't Akeeba-related, Google pointed me to a page on the Akeeba site that solved frustrating Joomla problems for me. There's an enormous amount of valuable information in the documentation and support files, useful for Akeeba and in other parts of Joomla as well.
2013-08-11
Reviews: 5
i have been using Akeeba since I joined a long time ago. I did have an issue and to be honest i tried another system. It worked but not with the ease of this system. I would not stray again. The support is great and this developer knows exactly what the issues could be and gets back asap to get them resolved. Keep up the good work. This is a winner all the way around.
2013-08-09
Reviews: 9
Indispensable tool for your backups and make migrations between servers. 100% useful, 0% problems.

Thank you
2013-08-08
Reviews: 2
This excellent extension saved me from trouble! :)

Thank you Akeeba, thank you Nicholas!

Filip
2013-08-04
Reviews: 6
If you download, you must donate. Five euros or 100... donate something. These people are offering us something free that should be 'commercial'. Donated. Great job!
2013-07-31
Reviews: 2
Easy to install, configure and use, extension mandatory for all Joomla sites administrators. should be included in the default installation of Joomla
2013-07-30
Reviews: 7
Between this and Admin Tools Pro, Nikos has given site developers/admins some of the most powerful tools you'll ever use. Backup is so simple to use and configure and does exactly what it says. Add Kickstart into the mix and site migration is now a doddle, even if you're changing URLs. Been using backup for quite some time and on some heavy duty sites and it's never missed a beat. Seriously, if you're still using manual backup and restore...you're wasting your time...Akeeba Backup is all you'll ever need.
2013-07-13
Reviews: 4
Many Years i do my backups manual because i dont belive some tool make it perfect like a manual Backup until i try the Akeeba backup.
Make Backups are now not more head pain just one click and you have a perfect easy to use full Datbase and site Backup in one. Akeeba make my life easy when you have to update and backup regulary 100 Sites
2013-07-11
Reviews: 2
Best Joomla third party extensions. Using it from almost two years and never let me down.:)
2013-07-01
Reviews: 16
A great extension !!

I have used it for years on 5-10 sites.
Quick support and a lot of different setting and choises.

I use it every time i have to move or duplicate a site.

Highly recomended !!
2013-06-28
Reviews: 9
This extension has always made my life simpler. WebSite transfer is made as simpler as possible. I would have transferred more than 100 sites with this extension, without any issues. Thanks a lot.
Sweta from india.
2013-06-17
Reviews: 5
There's nothing I can say that has not been mentioned so far. This extension is one of those killing apps any other CMS out there would like to have listed in their plugins/modules/extensions directory.

Simply put, after using it for a few months you'll loose the count of how many times it saved your life, or how much time it saved you for moving sites from one server to another.

And the most amazing thing: it's free! I'm sure many people in the software industry won't be able to believe it :).
2013-06-17
Reviews: 2
Probably the best backup-tool in the whole Joomla universe ! Another MARVELOUS tool from Akeeba (just like their "Admin Tools Pro")
2013-06-14
Reviews: 5
Akeeba backup offers a lot of functionality that even paid for applications don't offer.

I especially like how Akeeba Backup in combination with Kickstarter (also on their site) makes it very easy to migrate your site to a different location (in my case often from or to my localhost to experiment or break stuff).

No need to be afraid of wrecking your live site if you can easily work on an exact mirror of the site - putting a 12.000 article site back takes only a few minutes.

Caution though: if your backup file is not password protected, don't put it online - anyone bumping into it has all the information (including database login, user tables with email addresses, ...). Use a password if you plan on doing this, and delete the file right after you restored it.
2013-06-14
Reviews: 10
A very useful component to backup your website and migrate it to another server. Default settings allows you to easily use Akeeba Backup, but it is also possible to change many settings to customize it. I strongly recommend this component!
2013-06-11
Reviews: 2
I can't imagine the administration sites without this component.
Great work. Thanks!
2013-06-08
Reviews: 1
Hands down the best component and the best support I've dealt with. I cannot stress this enough. This is absolutely worth every penny. Phenomenal support. Very detailed. Incredible product. Awesome!!!
2013-06-07
Reviews: 1
Akeeba Backup is hands down the one extension that you most certainly wouldn't want to do without. Kudos to the developer for creating such a useful tool that is available to the masses!
Page 4 of 46