The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscription to request support. Its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the public tickets is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2008-08-21
Reviews: 19
Amazing: you can backup files and database (so everything needed) of Joomla's site in just few clicks and in small time. Good customization options (folder exclusions, output folder, ...). Thanks!
2008-08-19
Reviews: 5
Used with Joomla! 1.5.x. Installation is a snap, backup works first and every time, plenty of administrator control for backup options but easy even if you don't know what's going on under the covers -- what more could you want?

The hidden gem, though, is the Kickstart restore script. It's not a component, but instead is a PHP script that makes restoring -- or copying an entire Joomla! installation -- a breeze. If you are copying a Joomla! installation to a new location, you do have to create an empty database and copy the backup ZIP file to the new location, but Kickstart takes care of unpacking the ZIP file, putting everything where it should be, populating the new databse, and other messy details. Very nice indeed!

Top it all off with very responsive support on the JoomlaPack forum and you have a definite winner.
2008-08-14
Reviews: 1
Installed on J! 1.5.6 and works great.
A good solution for administrator who don't have access to crontab (or don't want to have to).
2008-08-11
Reviews: 5
amazing that with a file with less than 300kb you get such a powerful component.
This is something that was needed in Joomla and joomlapack hits the spot.
it is also well documented, i give it the 2 thumbs up!
2008-08-10
Reviews: 3
We've used this for some time on JV1.0x and JV1.5x, no installation problems works like a dream. Used on a daily basis to move sites between Dev, Test and Live servers. Has saved a huge amount of time.
2008-08-09
Reviews: 1
Talk about saving my bacon! I don't post a site unless it has JoomlaPack on it. Help these developers and donate some scratch. For designers who don't know a great deal of php, this is a no-brainer that actually works. You'll have to change permissions for some of your folders/files and should have root access and a decent control panel, etc. But if you're using Joomla, you should already have root access anyway.
2008-08-09
Reviews: 5
I love this extension, easy installation, configuration and my first back up made within about 2 minutes.
Thanks to the developers for such a great extension.
Not had to use the restore facility, but if the install and config is anything to go by, should be a breeze.
2008-08-08
Reviews: 1
I don't usually write reviews unless I'm really impressed.... so as you've probably gathered, I'm REALLY impressed!

This should become a standard part of the next Joomla release... it is the ultimate MUST HAVE for any developer or new site builder..
2008-08-06
Reviews: 1
This component is amazing.

I have spent hour trying the other backup components before I found this one. I tried JoomlaConer and JoomlaGhost. Both were difficult and problematic.

JoomlaPack is simple, quick and reliable and best of all FREE!

I have now used it on Joomla 1.0.x and 1.5 sites (the lastest JoomlaPack1.2 release). I have never had a problem and restoring sites is simple.

One of the best components for Joomla and one that every site should have
2008-08-06
Reviews: 1
Great job developers. This is one of the best extensions I have used so far. It is really excellent and does the job flawlessly. Very easy to use and nothing complicated. Thanks a lot.
2008-07-29
Reviews: 2
Does what it says on the tin, very well, with minimum fuss. Dead easy, and great support when required. Totally recommended!
2008-07-28
Reviews: 1
I've been using this extension on both Joomla v1.0xx and v1.5 sites and I have found it very useful. It has improved in stability over the last year(the time that I've been using it) with each update and I have great confidence with the current version both in backing-up and doing complete restores from backup.
2008-07-23
Reviews: 10
Wow, how easy was that. I always dread backups if you don't have ftp access to the old site. But with this tool it turns out to be a pleasure. Install the component, make the backup, FTP the backup to the new site and run the installer. Worked without any fault and very smoothly. Thanks for a great product. I already donated for this component. Money well spent.
2008-07-17
Reviews: 5
This is the best backup tool for joomla.

But today while trying to download thier website says: "Database Error: Unable to connect to the database:Could not connect to MySQL"
2008-07-16
Reviews: 5
Tks a lot
That component is very good, easy to use, thank you
2008-07-14
Reviews: 3
No issues whatsoever, it just works. Thanks for something that should be a built-in.
2008-07-09
Reviews: 3
This works flawlessly on my 1.5.2 site, with a bunch of add-ons. Thanks!
2008-07-06
Reviews: 1
Definitively this is one of the most amazing components for Joomla. I'm testing the new version in Joomla 1.5 and until now work very well. Congratulations!
2008-07-03
Reviews: 3
Had to take down my Joomla site for a day. This component backed up my whole site easily and restored without incident. Highly Recommended ++++
bbw
2008-06-25
Reviews: 7
was able to backup a joomla site, restore it one directory level upward on the same server with absolutely no loss of any extensions or files or db info that I can tell so far... the documentation was a little unclear for me at first, but I figured it out quickly and had no problems after that. Great extension.
Page 40 of 46