The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2008-06-20
Reviews: 1
I found a glitch with the installation, so I contacted the support team, as with quite a few modules I was not expecting a quick response if any. However I was wrong, within a day of listing the issue within the forum, the Head Developer got back to me with the solution. Top notch module to class support. Well Done.
2008-06-19
Reviews: 2
I've been wanting to consolidate my hosting for some time but I've resisted because of the work involved in moving some large Joomla sites. Well, JoomlaPack did the trick. I moved a number of sites, including one that 200MB+, in just a couple of hours, with little hassle or fuss thanks to JoomlaPack. Simply put, it works!
2008-06-16
Reviews: 5
I previously used sitebackup, another joomla extension. It performed well enough for a while, but when my site grew to its present size, it stopped working. I installed joomlapack, partly out of frustration, since I wanted to add community builder to my site but needed to backup first.

JoomlaPack seamlessly installed on my 1.0.15 site and handled the full site backup (330 MB) without a hitch. This is a great extension! I recommend it, and will be following up with a donation to express my gratitude.
2008-06-06
Reviews: 1
Amazing Free extension, a must have, amyone can use it, Iv backed up my site from XAAMP to my remote web server it works perfectly.

Only issue I faced: When I entered a new password in the Joomlapack Installation in the web server, it didnt accept it, I had to login to administrator with the old password I used in XAAMP.

I use Joomla 1.5, the joomlapack used was 1.1.1 stable
dex
2008-06-06
Reviews: 12
I can only imagine how hard it must be to write an extension like this, with all the possible hosting scenarios to take in to account, so I must comment...

Firstly, both the process and the instructions are clean and clear. Quite simple to follow.

I have just moved a 1.0.15 site from Windows hosting to Linux hosting, and the only issue I had was a stubborn resistance on the part of the installer to move on after the database had been populated. No problem, because once I tweaked the configuration.php file manually and deleted the installation directory, it all worked like a charm, far exceeding my expectations.

Thanks, I'd use it again any time. And it's free - I will donate right now.
2008-06-05
Reviews: 3
Well I have only used this application twice , on two totally different servers,but each time worked almost flawlessly.

There appears to be some issue where images that have rollovers are losing the rollover image. If for example the original install was in a sub directory and the new install was on the root directory of the server.

Main image is there, but on rollover you get an 'x'. When looking into the code I see that the rollover image still had the call to the sub directory from the original install. This was easily fixed by just removing the sub directory from the rollover code.

Note: The rollover was setup using the JCE editor's Rollover function so this may have something to do with it.

Regardless saved me so much time and potential headaches.

Thank you for this great FREE application. I can not recommend it enough at this point.
2008-05-24
Reviews: 2
WOW!!! It couldn't be easier. I use it on 8 sites, so far.
I develop new sites for clients on my "sandbox" site then use JoomlaPack to back it all up and then deploy it to the new site using the inbuilt installer. It is also then in place on the new sites to easily do regular backups.
It's got to be one of the simplest components to install and use. Thank you!
2008-05-19
Reviews: 24
This add on for Joomla is hands down the best backup program! To top that all off it's FREE! I have used this and only this because the functionality of this is just so easy! The user doesn't even have to have much knowledge of much to use and believe I know what I'm doing and THIS makes my life SO much easier.

Ever have a 'opps' moment when you were working your site? Well worry no more.. this one has it all!
2008-05-14
Reviews: 2
I installed JoomlaPack 1.1.1. which did not work correctly, giving an error message from the start. However, the support forum moderator was very helpful, giving me a new file a "development snapshot release, functionally equivalent to 1.2a2". This installed perfectly and worked correctly on the first try. So far the component is a winner and the support team is one of the best I have come across so far.
2008-05-12
Reviews: 1
Absolutely superb! This is very impressive. Simple to use, installs with no problems and it just works. What more could you want?
Hopefully one day I'll make some money out of my site and I will definitely be back to donate to this excellent work.
Thank you for all your hard work!!!!
wow
2008-05-10
Reviews: 1
simply incredible. i can't imagine a more user friendly implementation
2008-05-09
Reviews: 2
I have to admit, it's a great idea and probably still the best component for this task.
However - it just didn't work and that's what makes it only 'fair'.

In the restore process I get an AJAX error - Cannot evaluate content "Content of the Joomla offline page".

I searched the forum where this issue was discussed several times but no solution was provided except the manual restore process.

But even worse, when I tried the manual restore solution I found that only the DB structure was backed up but not the content!

So try if it works for you first! Don't rely on this and make a manual backup anyway!
Owner's reply

Have you tried the JoomlaPack 1.2a2?

2008-05-08
Reviews: 1
This component is very, very useful. In just a few clicks you have your site completely as back-up.
I didn't even need a manual!
2008-05-07
Reviews: 3
I tried some tools to backup and give up. So, when I found out JoomlaPack, my problems with Joomla backup installations is over. I install in all my Joomla instalations.
2008-05-06
Reviews: 3
Easy Install, works flawless. Backing up of Website - EASY. Backing up of DB - EASY. I love those one click solutions. The fact that you can define the path where you want to backup to is awesome. I had been looking for quite some time for a similar Component but this one absolutely get`s my vote and a Excellent Rating. THX for building this component guys. It makes it so much easier to work with joomla for us!
2008-05-05
Reviews: 1
I installed it both for joomla 1.5 and 1.0: joomla1.5 version runs like a dream; 1.0 version hit a few snags, but the support forum responded in 24 hours, and now works too.

It's so compelling that I have to register and express my star struckness. thanks a lot!
2008-05-04
Reviews: 1
PROS: This works better than anything available, commercial or otherwise. For you folks struggling to get your XAMPP created Web site onto a remote server, this is your ticket to Easy Street! The backend control panel is minimalistic and to the point, which is the way it should be. Be sure to download the latest PDF manual - the step-by-step instructions are only necessary the first few times you use JoomlaPack.

While JoomlaCloner is decent enough, it fell short horribly when I wanted to 'clone' a client's locally created site - it could not configure the new SQL database properly. I resigned myself to either dragging modified CSS and PHP files from the local server to the FTP server, or creating the site from scratch on the remote server.

CONS: The ONLY feature I miss is the ability to exclude individual files and components from the backup process. If the developer includes this in a future version, JoomlaPack would be complete!
Owner's reply

Please request those features on the feature request board where they will receive more attention.

2008-05-01
Reviews: 4
Installed flawlessly. Works flawlessly -- I have been able to back up my site and restore it to an entirely different host. I needed this so bad and here it is. It makes a .zip file of all the files and directories and includes the DB backup and an installer. You can also do just a SQL backup of your database. I have a pretty big site and this works fast. Did I say I love this. Great work guys!
2008-05-01
Reviews: 19
Today this is the primary backup solution for all Joomla versions and site owners I believe.

The latest version is something all Joomla site owner need at their hand and this backup now works like a charm!

Easy to understand, set up and use!

One of Joomla "must have".

Thank you thank you Joomlapack team that bring this for us this outstanding component for the whole Joomla community!

5 stars.
2008-04-23
Reviews: 3
I have just installed and tested this component, on joomla 1.5.2 with Community Builder 1.1 and Fireboard 1.0.4 installed with a few significant hacks applied, the included installer works like a charm. This way I can make a stock install with all the components I need in minutes instead of hours.
No problems at all, that I can see. Totally golden pimp work!
Thanks so much for a simple effective way to backup my whole configuration, this will save me time beyond measure!
I cannot effuse vehemently enough!
Page 41 of 46