The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscription to request support. Its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the public tickets is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2008-05-04
Reviews: 1
PROS: This works better than anything available, commercial or otherwise. For you folks struggling to get your XAMPP created Web site onto a remote server, this is your ticket to Easy Street! The backend control panel is minimalistic and to the point, which is the way it should be. Be sure to download the latest PDF manual - the step-by-step instructions are only necessary the first few times you use JoomlaPack.

While JoomlaCloner is decent enough, it fell short horribly when I wanted to 'clone' a client's locally created site - it could not configure the new SQL database properly. I resigned myself to either dragging modified CSS and PHP files from the local server to the FTP server, or creating the site from scratch on the remote server.

CONS: The ONLY feature I miss is the ability to exclude individual files and components from the backup process. If the developer includes this in a future version, JoomlaPack would be complete!
Owner's reply

Please request those features on the feature request board where they will receive more attention.

2008-05-01
Reviews: 4
Installed flawlessly. Works flawlessly -- I have been able to back up my site and restore it to an entirely different host. I needed this so bad and here it is. It makes a .zip file of all the files and directories and includes the DB backup and an installer. You can also do just a SQL backup of your database. I have a pretty big site and this works fast. Did I say I love this. Great work guys!
2008-05-01
Reviews: 20
Today this is the primary backup solution for all Joomla versions and site owners I believe.

The latest version is something all Joomla site owner need at their hand and this backup now works like a charm!

Easy to understand, set up and use!

One of Joomla "must have".

Thank you thank you Joomlapack team that bring this for us this outstanding component for the whole Joomla community!

5 stars.
2008-04-23
Reviews: 3
I have just installed and tested this component, on joomla 1.5.2 with Community Builder 1.1 and Fireboard 1.0.4 installed with a few significant hacks applied, the included installer works like a charm. This way I can make a stock install with all the components I need in minutes instead of hours.
No problems at all, that I can see. Totally golden pimp work!
Thanks so much for a simple effective way to backup my whole configuration, this will save me time beyond measure!
I cannot effuse vehemently enough!
2008-04-19
Reviews: 4
This is one of those extensions that, when you see how well it works, and what it can do for you, it just seems like it should be part of the Joomla core features.

The admin panel has a great layout. There's clear documentation for how to use this extension, and best of all, if you get stuck, the support in their forum is quick and very helpful.

I highly recommend this extension, as it can bring great peace of mind for any Joomla site you've built.

And it's well worth donating money to as well!
2008-04-16
Reviews: 10
I would have to say that of all the tools that I have downloaded and installed that this one is at the top of my list for timesavers and ease of use!

I have a test site in a sub-domain and need to keep the configuration as close as possible. Well now I can have them exactly the same!

I downloaded the tool yesterday and installed it and performed a backup (really simple). This morning from work I deleted all files in the subdomain and moved the backup file into the subdomain and unzipped it. All that was left to do was access the site from a browser and change permissions on a few directories. Just a few basic screens with basic information to supply and... VIOLA!!!

An exact clone of my main site. This is awesome!!!!!!!
2008-04-15
Reviews: 5
This is one of the most practical, well thought out, simple to use components I have EVER installed. Kudos to the developers.

Combine this with M.A.M.P. and you have an extremely easy way to develop a site locally on your computer then upload when its done.
2008-04-14
Reviews: 15
As a Joomla solution this is the best I have ever used. I have used many and they get a bit complicated and robust but most importantly they dont always work.

Joomlapack worked from the word GO... I even used it on a joomla 1.0.12 installation and it was 100% fine!

To top it all I moved some sites from MySQL 4 to MySQL 5 and worked every time first time without a problem.

THANK YOU to the DEVELOPERS! AWESOME COMPONENT and MUST HAVE for EVERYBODY!
2008-04-13
Reviews: 1
I have to transfer a huge website with a big database.

I have checked most utilities and all of them failed except JoomlaPack. Really usefull and working.

AJAX interface didn't work on my case but the rest work smoothly without any error.

Thank you author for your great JOB!
2008-04-08
Reviews: 17
Beautiful tool, a must have for every Joomla user. I guess/hope it will be included in official distribution. I'll donate for it.
2008-04-02
Reviews: 1
Have been using joomlapack form the start and watched it grow into the excellent backup tool it now is.

Just a big thanks for all the work you have done making a vital but fairly boring part of any site maintenance easy and reliable.
2008-03-29
Reviews: 1
Thanks for providing a brilliant conponent, east to install, worked first time and had no problems uploading site to another domain, all other addon's worked fine after install on different domain. Great support and documentation too. Thanks again.
2008-03-29
Reviews: 1
Thanks so much for this. props to the developer and open source for awesome apps like this. I made my donation!! Thank you again!
2008-03-17
Reviews: 1
Fast backup but slow restoring and there is some small bugs.
Componet is excellent!!! And I can just say big THX to authors of JoomlaPack.
2008-03-07
Reviews: 2
Before, I found this extension, I was reluctant to make any drastic changes to my sites. However, the ease with which sites can be backed up and restored has set me free to make improvements. I encountered a bug with some versions of PHP4, however it works flawlessly on PHP5. The developers are very active on the support forums and its worth sticking with it.

Finally, it is so simple and straightforward to use, I can't believe it's free.
2008-02-20
Reviews: 1
This is one of the best components you can get! It is FREE insurance. Who can't like that? I use it for weekly backups of my site and download it to my local machine and have a refreshed Dev version of my site locally.

One thing that I do every time I unzip to my Dev site is restore my local copy of the configuration.php and remove the .htaccess files. I just don't require them for my Dev site in MAMP. What? You aren't using .htaccess files for security? That's the other free insurance (against hacking). See http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?t=102558.

Thank you to the developer!
2008-02-18
Reviews: 1
I don't usually write reviews however this one really deserves it and especially as it's free. I have been trying to move my customised Joomla installation from one host to another and have had all kinds of problems. I installed this component, ran the backup and installed it on my host with no problem at all. Great for backups as I know it works and also if you want to move your site to another host. Good job!
2008-02-18
Reviews: 6
Hi Folks,

Great component, I use on different sites and I think it is great. One bad thing, it should be working on 1.5 and it doesn't...

M.
Owner's reply

We are currently working on 1.5 Native support.

2008-02-17
Reviews: 25
From my experience Joomlapack is OK but not perfect. 1.0 It installs easily enough, although under the administration page all my sites have an error message "Warning: filetype() [function.filetype]: Lstat failed for Array in /home/quad/public_html/administrator/components/com_joomlapack/includes/fBUAdmin.php on line 135" which does not appear to prevent the package working as designed.

The backup and restore works for a small site. You really need to read the documentation to get it to work. However, it does not back up one of my bigger sites, it hangs mid way with the following message.

"Creating archive file

This might take several minutes. Please wait...

28

14808531 / 25565004"

The admin user is then logged out and your backup is incomplete. I cannot rely on it as a backup solution for this obvious reason. I will try the next version when it is stable and see if the problem is resolved but for the moment backups are done another way.

Dean (yerluvinunclebert)
2008-02-07
Reviews: 4
It install in a second and it works. This program saved my month already three times!
Page 42 of 46