The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2008-04-14
Reviews: 15
As a Joomla solution this is the best I have ever used. I have used many and they get a bit complicated and robust but most importantly they dont always work.

Joomlapack worked from the word GO... I even used it on a joomla 1.0.12 installation and it was 100% fine!

To top it all I moved some sites from MySQL 4 to MySQL 5 and worked every time first time without a problem.

THANK YOU to the DEVELOPERS! AWESOME COMPONENT and MUST HAVE for EVERYBODY!
2008-04-13
Reviews: 1
I have to transfer a huge website with a big database.

I have checked most utilities and all of them failed except JoomlaPack. Really usefull and working.

AJAX interface didn't work on my case but the rest work smoothly without any error.

Thank you author for your great JOB!
2008-04-08
Reviews: 17
Beautiful tool, a must have for every Joomla user. I guess/hope it will be included in official distribution. I'll donate for it.
2008-04-02
Reviews: 1
Have been using joomlapack form the start and watched it grow into the excellent backup tool it now is.

Just a big thanks for all the work you have done making a vital but fairly boring part of any site maintenance easy and reliable.
2008-03-29
Reviews: 1
Thanks for providing a brilliant conponent, east to install, worked first time and had no problems uploading site to another domain, all other addon's worked fine after install on different domain. Great support and documentation too. Thanks again.
2008-03-29
Reviews: 1
Thanks so much for this. props to the developer and open source for awesome apps like this. I made my donation!! Thank you again!
2008-03-17
Reviews: 1
Fast backup but slow restoring and there is some small bugs.
Componet is excellent!!! And I can just say big THX to authors of JoomlaPack.
2008-03-07
Reviews: 2
Before, I found this extension, I was reluctant to make any drastic changes to my sites. However, the ease with which sites can be backed up and restored has set me free to make improvements. I encountered a bug with some versions of PHP4, however it works flawlessly on PHP5. The developers are very active on the support forums and its worth sticking with it.

Finally, it is so simple and straightforward to use, I can't believe it's free.
2008-02-20
Reviews: 1
This is one of the best components you can get! It is FREE insurance. Who can't like that? I use it for weekly backups of my site and download it to my local machine and have a refreshed Dev version of my site locally.

One thing that I do every time I unzip to my Dev site is restore my local copy of the configuration.php and remove the .htaccess files. I just don't require them for my Dev site in MAMP. What? You aren't using .htaccess files for security? That's the other free insurance (against hacking). See http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?t=102558.

Thank you to the developer!
2008-02-18
Reviews: 1
I don't usually write reviews however this one really deserves it and especially as it's free. I have been trying to move my customised Joomla installation from one host to another and have had all kinds of problems. I installed this component, ran the backup and installed it on my host with no problem at all. Great for backups as I know it works and also if you want to move your site to another host. Good job!
2008-02-18
Reviews: 6
Hi Folks,

Great component, I use on different sites and I think it is great. One bad thing, it should be working on 1.5 and it doesn't...

M.
Owner's reply

We are currently working on 1.5 Native support.

2008-02-17
Reviews: 25
From my experience Joomlapack is OK but not perfect. 1.0 It installs easily enough, although under the administration page all my sites have an error message "Warning: filetype() [function.filetype]: Lstat failed for Array in /home/quad/public_html/administrator/components/com_joomlapack/includes/fBUAdmin.php on line 135" which does not appear to prevent the package working as designed.

The backup and restore works for a small site. You really need to read the documentation to get it to work. However, it does not back up one of my bigger sites, it hangs mid way with the following message.

"Creating archive file

This might take several minutes. Please wait...

28

14808531 / 25565004"

The admin user is then logged out and your backup is incomplete. I cannot rely on it as a backup solution for this obvious reason. I will try the next version when it is stable and see if the problem is resolved but for the moment backups are done another way.

Dean (yerluvinunclebert)
2008-02-07
Reviews: 4
It install in a second and it works. This program saved my month already three times!
2008-01-15
Reviews: 2
Looks very promising, install & configuration is easy and looks like just what you need. But for me it created incomplete, corrupted ZIP files. And the dutch translation is missing text (e.g. no label on button to export database).
Owner's reply

Try the version just released (1.1.1b2), it should have fixed this issue.

2008-01-14
Reviews: 1
It is absolutely unbelievable tool.
It's not just a backup component. You can install Joomla and than all your favourite components and after you backup it you will have something like your own Joomla edition. Really cool
2008-01-12
Reviews: 1
Overall comment - a brilliant product. A great way to backup a site for restoring back to the same domain, or to a new domain. Just be careful, that if you use subdirectories, make sure that the subdirectory that you restore to has the same name (and path from root) as the original subdirectory. Root name being different is fine. It is also a great way of taking a website that you have customised with components and mambots, and using it as a template for another website, where you backup/restore and then delete the content and create the new content for the new website from scratch. Indeed all my sites from now on will be copies of my current site - I'll change templates/menus and delete the copied content and set up new as required for the new website.

I wanted to have a backup and restore process for my Joomla Website which was in existence for about a month. I have been managing websites as a hobby for a lot longer than that and have worked in mainstream applications development for more than 30 years. I wnat to be sure any backup/restore process I use actually works, so to backup and test the restore process I decided to use JoomlaPack and restore my domain to a subdirectory of another domain that I also had.
The site was Joomla 1.0.13, with sh404SEF, JoomlaPack 1.1.0, JW Media Manager XTD, Simple Image Gallery PRO, JoomlaFCK2. I was a bit worried about the SEF not working after the move, but I need not have worried. I did have one problem after the move with embedded Image Sources and links in content (see below).

To give people the benefit of my experience when moving the site, here are my steps and the small issues I came across :

Moving Installation to another server and www.address
1. Use JoomlaPack to create archive and FTP the archive (.zip) to local PC.
- Make sure you include all Joomla directories in the backup step, including directories that you might not use like "cache" (otherwise you seem to get warnings on the restore) and in the case of cache, you will have to manually creat a direcory of this name on the target server.
2. Unzip the archive and use FTP to transfer to new location.
3. Install as per JoomlaPack instructions and do the following during install (as the restore/install follows the Joomla Install Process, it is a good idea to have the Joomla Installation Guide open as well as the JoomlaPack User Guide) :
- Setup the MySQL Database and Associated User as per User Guide - I used cPanel (note the site prefix applied to the Datbase Name and User Name as these will most probably be different to those from the source domain (and the Install will "suggest" the old names with original site prefix - you will have to overtype the suggestions with your new ones).
- Ignore the Joomla suggestions for Admin User/Password - the SuperAdmin Name and Password will be those which were on the original site.
When the restore completes :
4. Modify .htaccess if you are using SEF Urls (as per sample .htaccess with Joomla) although your .htacces will have been copied as part of the install but you might have some bits that do not apply to new site - check it out anyway. In particular there is a comment in the sample .htaccess for SEF (both Joomla and 3rd Party SEF) where there is a bit to be inserted into a line if the installation is on a subdirectory of a domain - quite self explanatory but read it anyway (note, I forgot to change this at first but it did not seem to matter - the site worked anyway, but I changed it once I noticed it).
5. Modify the following fields in configuration.php if they need it
- $mosConfig_db : Database Name
- $mosConfig_dbprefix : Database prefix, usually "_jos"
- $mosConfig_password : Database Password
- $mosConfig_user : User Name associated with Database
- $mosConfig_absolute_path, $mosConfig_cachepath, $mosConfig_live_site, all to reflect the new location
(all these were done automatically for me by the install process - but check them before you run the system)
6. Delete the Install Directory
7. Sign in as backend SuperAdmin and check your Globals and also any SEF settings (3rd Party and Joomla). Mine seemed fine.
8. Browse to your new site address and check things out.

On my site everything worked perfectly after the move, except two things (very related) :
- Images embedded in news items, where I had used JoomlaFCK2 as my content editor to embed the image from the server. This will only occur where either or both original site and target site exist on a subdirectory To illustrate this I'll give the example. My original site was "www.orig.com", my new site "www.new.com/subd". JoomlaFCK2 has [img src="/images/picture.jpg"] for embedded images, however on the new site it will put [img src="/subd/images/picture.jpg"] ([] used to indicate html), unfortunately the old ones do not get converted during the install so you will have to do it by hand. Then again, how many sites will get restored to a subdirectory if they had a full domain - probably only if you are testing a restore process. If you are moving from one root domain to another this will not be a problem. And if you are moving from the a subdirectory of one root domain to the subdirectory of a different root domain - take my advice and keep the subdirectory name the same and again this will not cause you a problem. I also think that if you use TinyMCE, then you won't see this problem either (but I have not tried TinyMICE but it seems to embed its images in the same way the Simple Image Gallery is embedded in content and images for Simple Image Gallery worked no problem). I actually think that the [base href"...."] and [img src"relative uri"] ([] used to indicate html)(see source code for any page that contains an embedded image) is possibly being incorrectly interpreted by JoomlaFCK2 - but I could be wrong and JoomlaFCK2 is another brilliant product that I'm not going to stop using just because of this.
- Links embedded in content to other pages within the same website also seemed to remain pointing to the original site - these were also inserted with JoomlaFCK2 but I think that it would be the same with other editors. This might be a bigger problem for some sites. Unfortunately I could see no way other than hand coding changes using "Source" view in JoomlaFCK2 and putting in the new domain/subdirectory name. My problem was not big enough to look for a more automated solution, and I will avoid, where possible in the future embedding internal links within the content.

Any wish list? Not for JoomlaPack - it is brilliant and "does what it says on the tin". But if anyone knows of anything that I can run from my browser that will trawl through my content items (both dynamic and static content) and allow me to replace a string with another, e.g. /olddir/ with /newdir/, then I'd be interested in hearing about it. (I'm not a cPanel/phpAdmin nor MySql expert - so I'd like a noddy guide that includes the table names etc)

Well done Geoffrey
2007-12-29
Reviews: 2
This Extension is great!
But: It allways backups ALL tables of my Database, not just the joomla tables. Is this a bug, a personal problem, or is the function just missing? I'd like to have the possibility to configure this.
2007-12-03
Reviews: 1
An excellent component - I've ensured it's on all of my websites. I run bi-weekly updates which get picked up by FTP to both my fileserver and thumb drive. Geoffrey has done a great job, picking up where Nicholas left off. It's irritating to see negative comments rather than something constructive that might help the author address any issues. I had a few issues that were resolved by tweaking settings and have ended up with different versions running on different servers with different settings.

The one feature I'd like to see? The ability to do automated backups (by cron job or other means) set from within the component config.

As far as free backup utilities for Joomla go it's one of the best. Good work!
2007-10-26
Reviews: 7
JoomlaPack is very easy to use, easy to configure, performs backups without any problems. Backup files can be stored on the server or easily downloaded. Documentation is good, too. I haven't tried restoring a backup, but am confident it will work admirably.
2007-10-12
Reviews: 2
Congratulations, the component works very well. Why do not you guys allow Jpack be actioned by Jcron? Every week a fresh installation zip at my /tmp/backup would be a dream.

best,

rs
Page 42 of 46