The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2007-09-24
Reviews: 3
Hi

Installation : pretty easy. no issues
Configuration : pretty easy no issues
Documentation : fantastic documentation though it is not required. screens are well defined and self explanatory

I faced problem when File List, Database backup and File packing algorithms were set as Fast or Smart. (go to Joomlapack->options). when I set this to Slow, everything worked fine. I could see the process flow also. the problem that I faced might not be related to Joomlapack because the error log was showing as "server was not responding" when I set the algorithm to Fast. so I decide to keep it as slow.

My aim is to backup. this is freeware and there are no issues. it is perfectly fine tool

thank you so much

Muthukumar
2007-09-24
Reviews: 1
Jpack saved my life.

This ia really amazing software and I want to thank the programmer for such a nice piece of work.

JPack saved my life today.

My Joomla web site was totally lost. I don't do backups too often but fortunately I did a backup that day at 6 PM and lost all the information due to some hack who entered my site. I upload all the backup to the server via Core FTP LE, erased the old database and pointed my navigator to http://website.com//installation, created a new database using the same name the old one was using and took 1.15.45 minutes to upload all to FPT and be back in business.

This is the best sofware I used ever for backups. I tried Joomla Cloner beforeand always have problems. I enver waas satisfied with that software.

Jpack being free is the best lifesaver for any site no matter how big.

I know JPack don't have the way to creat automatic backups but hey...is free.

Lionel Remigio
2007-09-17
Reviews: 2
Jpack just saved my day!
After some days downtime I finally had some time to fix my web. Luckily I had a jpack backup, and after locating it on the server it was no problem at all to restore my site.
Yay to JoomlaPack!!
2007-09-14
Reviews: 6
I create Charity Malls for charities - I have to build each mall one at a time...thanks to this component I can now build one Master Copy and duplicate it for each charity. What would take me days to create one mall now takes me what seems like a blink of an eye.

I thank you and I know the charities that have been backlogged waiting for me to build their Charity Mall thank you too.

The ease of using this from novice (just pay attention and read manual) to experienced is wonderful, and now that I see the developers are putting together a support site for this component - I know that it will only get better. I recommend this to anyone who has a Joomla based site for back ups, transferring and anyone who needs to distribute, as in my case (which I do for free for charities), a customized Joomla package.
2007-09-11
Reviews: 1
Hello,

I've been using Joomla for a long time. I have always backed-up my site trough FTP or trough the host-backup utility. For me it was a very frustating work because the ftp connexxion wasn't very reliable. Also it was a hard job to convert my site to a local installation.
Now I found out of JoomlaPack and it's a pies of a cake! Just have to backup trough JoomlaPack, download the created Zip package and extract it to your local folder. Open you website like http://localhost/mywebsitefolder/installation. Follow the steps and in no time the website is installed locally with the mysql database!
Thanks for creating this component developers!!
2007-09-03
Reviews: 1
I tested this for the first time today. At first I didn`t follow the instrustion so it didn`t work. Thats normal. Then when I removed the Config.php everything went perfect. This is a great time saver. Keep up the good work guys and thanks for the great backup. Here in Germany it is not always easy to get good joomla stuff in German. But this makes things easy no more long translations.
2007-08-29
Reviews: 2
Exactly what we needed. I do advise people to read the PDF. When I did that I had no trouble at all. This makes me feel quite a lot more secure now, with all the hacking that goes on. What astonishes me is how easy it is to migrate a site. I wanted to be able to keep a current copy on my local computer for testing purposes and it is so easy and so fast. Full marks for this one. If they ever add a chron capability to this it would be out of this world.
2007-08-27
Reviews: 5
An easy tool to use, creates good backups, but I didn't find a way to download them except thru FTP... But at least I had a complete backup of the site!

One thing that should/could be made better is the error handling that you have to disable in the Joomla Config, if not you might have to wait a long time before you understand that it broke somewhere because of a php error/warning.

Great tool, needs some HTML makeup though :-) but I can live without that because the backups are good.
sfz
2007-08-20
Reviews: 1
Don't worry anymore to backup and restore your Joomla-Site. JoomlaPack is really simply to use and the restore also works without any problems.
I backed up my Joomla website which running (www.sfz-bw.de) and tried to install it locally to test a backup with JoomlaPack. I am running 1.0.12 and the backup worked PERFECTLY!

I am posting my steps I made:
1] Install the component and backup your website.

2] Download the backup file to your htdocs/location. This file must then be unzipped in the desired location. Rename the directory as i.e. Joomla

3] Now, point your browser to http://localhost:8888/Joomla/installation/
where there is the exact location of your unzipped files.

4] You will notice a joomla installation screen. On my localhost I used the following parameters for the
MySQL database configuration
Host Name: localhost:8889
MySQL User Name: root
MySQL Password: root
MySQL Database Name: sfz_joomla
MySQL Table Prefix: jos_

5] Remove the installation folder.

9) To use the admin program use the same username and and password as in the source Joomla site. The username and password shown by JoomlaPack on the installation screen didn't work!
2007-08-15
Reviews: 1
I recommend it and suggest that the user changes the path of the backup to be outside the web directory (public_html)/htdocs to be for example "./home/user/backup"

Hence, he/she can safely CHMOD this directory to the writeable state (777) without no fear.
2007-08-02
Reviews: 1
*if you read the documentation.

After reading the manual I was totaly impressed with how easy to use this component is. Excellent graphical progress bars displaying exactly where you are in the backup. My whole site was easily backed up including all modules, mambots, components and media directories!

Within a few minutes I was able to copy the the file down to my dev laptop and do a test restore. The only tiny issue was with my install of WAMP5, the php.ini had memory limits set to 8M so accessing my Community Builder elements crashed, changed the php.ini memory settings to 128M solved it.

FANTASTIC Component, well done.
2007-07-27
Reviews: 1
Nice AJAX Powered Joomla File and Database Backup (just like the description says)

It worked like a charm for me, created one Zip file.
Note: the Database SQL file is in a folder called "sql" in the zip file.
It backs up all tables in the Joomla chosen database, not only the joomla used ones, I liked this, but others may not.

I think restoring should be easy; upload files, import SQL file.

4/5 Stars as the homepage needs work, FAQ and Documentation is minimal. If anybody has spare time, help the developer.
2007-07-22
Reviews: 1
Do you remember the feeling when you could backup and restore your buggy operating system with a tool like Ghost? This is a most have for every Joomla website developer/owner, you can easily backup, restore and clone your whole CMS. This extention is mature and should be standard functionality in Joomla.

Thanks for this free product and making my live more easy :-)
2007-07-21
Reviews: 16
I never thought there would be a better extension than chronoforms, but I was wrong. Thank you for this great great extension. The pros are: it works, easily, effortlessly. It is professional. It is easy to migrate a site using this. It is also easy to backup. The cons are: none that I know of.
2007-07-18
Reviews: 1
We have been looking for a good backup solution & also an automated way of migrating from our development site to the live site. I tried JoomlaCloner & that didn't work with our 750MB site (1000+ photos!). JoomlaPack backed it up beautifully & we have now been using it routimely.

Migrating to the live site went very smoothly except that reloading the database choked complaining of a duplicate entry. It turned out that we had a corrupt entry in one of the MySQL tables & nothing to do with JoomlaPack at all. Once this was deleted the restore proceded without incident.

I would thoroughly recommend JoomlaPack to anyone who is looking for a backup or migration solution for Joomla. We are promised automated scheduled backups in a future version which will make a great component even better.
2007-07-17
Reviews: 5
WOWEEE!! I love this component. Smooth as glass. I didn't have the host information for the old site, so I installed this component, made my backup, uploaded the zip file to the new host and unzipped it. Created a new/empty database and changed the configuration file to reflect that db info. Entered the installation folder, clicked through the install and was done in 45 minutes total. Next time it will take me 30 minutes because I know what I'm doing now.
Thank you so much, you've helped me today and will help me many times in the future.
Regards,
Montano
2007-07-14
Reviews: 1
Can't even figure out how to get an account on the home site that supports this module. Thought there is a login!

No documentation found there either.
2007-07-14
Reviews: 2
It at least installed on my Godaddy accounts. It even reported that it did a backup and even DL to my local machine. Could not however for the life of me find a way to restore or propogate the backup to another site.

Could not find any documentation anywhere.

Also could not get the component to install locally under "uniform server" on my lap top!

HELP!!! :-D
2007-07-10
Reviews: 1
I have a professional site with "alot" of customers and content! I had downloaded this a while back and it worked good, hoping I would never have to see if the backup would really work in case my site was wiped out..

Well, my site was wiped out due to a server shutdown.

This thing works 110% ...it's awesome!
All of my "entire site" is up and running again, it was so easy, I just used the included installer and away she went!!

Good Job Guys, Excellent Component... Should be included as a must for any Joomla install!!!!
2007-07-03
Reviews: 1
I've found this app lot better than others. For me it would be excelent but it doesn't have one thing that is a must for any app of this category: backup time programmed (via crontab or whatever)

If it is released in future versions it will be really appreciated for becoming the best app out there :)

Congrats
Page 43 of 46