The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscription to request support. Its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the public tickets is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2008-01-15
Reviews: 2
Looks very promising, install & configuration is easy and looks like just what you need. But for me it created incomplete, corrupted ZIP files. And the dutch translation is missing text (e.g. no label on button to export database).
Owner's reply

Try the version just released (1.1.1b2), it should have fixed this issue.

2008-01-14
Reviews: 1
It is absolutely unbelievable tool.
It's not just a backup component. You can install Joomla and than all your favourite components and after you backup it you will have something like your own Joomla edition. Really cool
2008-01-12
Reviews: 1
Overall comment - a brilliant product. A great way to backup a site for restoring back to the same domain, or to a new domain. Just be careful, that if you use subdirectories, make sure that the subdirectory that you restore to has the same name (and path from root) as the original subdirectory. Root name being different is fine. It is also a great way of taking a website that you have customised with components and mambots, and using it as a template for another website, where you backup/restore and then delete the content and create the new content for the new website from scratch. Indeed all my sites from now on will be copies of my current site - I'll change templates/menus and delete the copied content and set up new as required for the new website.

I wanted to have a backup and restore process for my Joomla Website which was in existence for about a month. I have been managing websites as a hobby for a lot longer than that and have worked in mainstream applications development for more than 30 years. I wnat to be sure any backup/restore process I use actually works, so to backup and test the restore process I decided to use JoomlaPack and restore my domain to a subdirectory of another domain that I also had.
The site was Joomla 1.0.13, with sh404SEF, JoomlaPack 1.1.0, JW Media Manager XTD, Simple Image Gallery PRO, JoomlaFCK2. I was a bit worried about the SEF not working after the move, but I need not have worried. I did have one problem after the move with embedded Image Sources and links in content (see below).

To give people the benefit of my experience when moving the site, here are my steps and the small issues I came across :

Moving Installation to another server and www.address
1. Use JoomlaPack to create archive and FTP the archive (.zip) to local PC.
- Make sure you include all Joomla directories in the backup step, including directories that you might not use like "cache" (otherwise you seem to get warnings on the restore) and in the case of cache, you will have to manually creat a direcory of this name on the target server.
2. Unzip the archive and use FTP to transfer to new location.
3. Install as per JoomlaPack instructions and do the following during install (as the restore/install follows the Joomla Install Process, it is a good idea to have the Joomla Installation Guide open as well as the JoomlaPack User Guide) :
- Setup the MySQL Database and Associated User as per User Guide - I used cPanel (note the site prefix applied to the Datbase Name and User Name as these will most probably be different to those from the source domain (and the Install will "suggest" the old names with original site prefix - you will have to overtype the suggestions with your new ones).
- Ignore the Joomla suggestions for Admin User/Password - the SuperAdmin Name and Password will be those which were on the original site.
When the restore completes :
4. Modify .htaccess if you are using SEF Urls (as per sample .htaccess with Joomla) although your .htacces will have been copied as part of the install but you might have some bits that do not apply to new site - check it out anyway. In particular there is a comment in the sample .htaccess for SEF (both Joomla and 3rd Party SEF) where there is a bit to be inserted into a line if the installation is on a subdirectory of a domain - quite self explanatory but read it anyway (note, I forgot to change this at first but it did not seem to matter - the site worked anyway, but I changed it once I noticed it).
5. Modify the following fields in configuration.php if they need it
- $mosConfig_db : Database Name
- $mosConfig_dbprefix : Database prefix, usually "_jos"
- $mosConfig_password : Database Password
- $mosConfig_user : User Name associated with Database
- $mosConfig_absolute_path, $mosConfig_cachepath, $mosConfig_live_site, all to reflect the new location
(all these were done automatically for me by the install process - but check them before you run the system)
6. Delete the Install Directory
7. Sign in as backend SuperAdmin and check your Globals and also any SEF settings (3rd Party and Joomla). Mine seemed fine.
8. Browse to your new site address and check things out.

On my site everything worked perfectly after the move, except two things (very related) :
- Images embedded in news items, where I had used JoomlaFCK2 as my content editor to embed the image from the server. This will only occur where either or both original site and target site exist on a subdirectory To illustrate this I'll give the example. My original site was "www.orig.com", my new site "www.new.com/subd". JoomlaFCK2 has [img src="/images/picture.jpg"] for embedded images, however on the new site it will put [img src="/subd/images/picture.jpg"] ([] used to indicate html), unfortunately the old ones do not get converted during the install so you will have to do it by hand. Then again, how many sites will get restored to a subdirectory if they had a full domain - probably only if you are testing a restore process. If you are moving from one root domain to another this will not be a problem. And if you are moving from the a subdirectory of one root domain to the subdirectory of a different root domain - take my advice and keep the subdirectory name the same and again this will not cause you a problem. I also think that if you use TinyMCE, then you won't see this problem either (but I have not tried TinyMICE but it seems to embed its images in the same way the Simple Image Gallery is embedded in content and images for Simple Image Gallery worked no problem). I actually think that the [base href"...."] and [img src"relative uri"] ([] used to indicate html)(see source code for any page that contains an embedded image) is possibly being incorrectly interpreted by JoomlaFCK2 - but I could be wrong and JoomlaFCK2 is another brilliant product that I'm not going to stop using just because of this.
- Links embedded in content to other pages within the same website also seemed to remain pointing to the original site - these were also inserted with JoomlaFCK2 but I think that it would be the same with other editors. This might be a bigger problem for some sites. Unfortunately I could see no way other than hand coding changes using "Source" view in JoomlaFCK2 and putting in the new domain/subdirectory name. My problem was not big enough to look for a more automated solution, and I will avoid, where possible in the future embedding internal links within the content.

Any wish list? Not for JoomlaPack - it is brilliant and "does what it says on the tin". But if anyone knows of anything that I can run from my browser that will trawl through my content items (both dynamic and static content) and allow me to replace a string with another, e.g. /olddir/ with /newdir/, then I'd be interested in hearing about it. (I'm not a cPanel/phpAdmin nor MySql expert - so I'd like a noddy guide that includes the table names etc)

Well done Geoffrey
2007-12-29
Reviews: 2
This Extension is great!
But: It allways backups ALL tables of my Database, not just the joomla tables. Is this a bug, a personal problem, or is the function just missing? I'd like to have the possibility to configure this.
2007-12-03
Reviews: 1
An excellent component - I've ensured it's on all of my websites. I run bi-weekly updates which get picked up by FTP to both my fileserver and thumb drive. Geoffrey has done a great job, picking up where Nicholas left off. It's irritating to see negative comments rather than something constructive that might help the author address any issues. I had a few issues that were resolved by tweaking settings and have ended up with different versions running on different servers with different settings.

The one feature I'd like to see? The ability to do automated backups (by cron job or other means) set from within the component config.

As far as free backup utilities for Joomla go it's one of the best. Good work!
2007-10-26
Reviews: 7
JoomlaPack is very easy to use, easy to configure, performs backups without any problems. Backup files can be stored on the server or easily downloaded. Documentation is good, too. I haven't tried restoring a backup, but am confident it will work admirably.
2007-10-12
Reviews: 2
Congratulations, the component works very well. Why do not you guys allow Jpack be actioned by Jcron? Every week a fresh installation zip at my /tmp/backup would be a dream.

best,

rs
2007-09-24
Reviews: 3
Hi

Installation : pretty easy. no issues
Configuration : pretty easy no issues
Documentation : fantastic documentation though it is not required. screens are well defined and self explanatory

I faced problem when File List, Database backup and File packing algorithms were set as Fast or Smart. (go to Joomlapack->options). when I set this to Slow, everything worked fine. I could see the process flow also. the problem that I faced might not be related to Joomlapack because the error log was showing as "server was not responding" when I set the algorithm to Fast. so I decide to keep it as slow.

My aim is to backup. this is freeware and there are no issues. it is perfectly fine tool

thank you so much

Muthukumar
2007-09-24
Reviews: 1
Jpack saved my life.

This ia really amazing software and I want to thank the programmer for such a nice piece of work.

JPack saved my life today.

My Joomla web site was totally lost. I don't do backups too often but fortunately I did a backup that day at 6 PM and lost all the information due to some hack who entered my site. I upload all the backup to the server via Core FTP LE, erased the old database and pointed my navigator to http://website.com//installation, created a new database using the same name the old one was using and took 1.15.45 minutes to upload all to FPT and be back in business.

This is the best sofware I used ever for backups. I tried Joomla Cloner beforeand always have problems. I enver waas satisfied with that software.

Jpack being free is the best lifesaver for any site no matter how big.

I know JPack don't have the way to creat automatic backups but hey...is free.

Lionel Remigio
2007-09-17
Reviews: 2
Jpack just saved my day!
After some days downtime I finally had some time to fix my web. Luckily I had a jpack backup, and after locating it on the server it was no problem at all to restore my site.
Yay to JoomlaPack!!
2007-09-14
Reviews: 6
I create Charity Malls for charities - I have to build each mall one at a time...thanks to this component I can now build one Master Copy and duplicate it for each charity. What would take me days to create one mall now takes me what seems like a blink of an eye.

I thank you and I know the charities that have been backlogged waiting for me to build their Charity Mall thank you too.

The ease of using this from novice (just pay attention and read manual) to experienced is wonderful, and now that I see the developers are putting together a support site for this component - I know that it will only get better. I recommend this to anyone who has a Joomla based site for back ups, transferring and anyone who needs to distribute, as in my case (which I do for free for charities), a customized Joomla package.
2007-09-11
Reviews: 1
Hello,

I've been using Joomla for a long time. I have always backed-up my site trough FTP or trough the host-backup utility. For me it was a very frustating work because the ftp connexxion wasn't very reliable. Also it was a hard job to convert my site to a local installation.
Now I found out of JoomlaPack and it's a pies of a cake! Just have to backup trough JoomlaPack, download the created Zip package and extract it to your local folder. Open you website like http://localhost/mywebsitefolder/installation. Follow the steps and in no time the website is installed locally with the mysql database!
Thanks for creating this component developers!!
2007-09-03
Reviews: 1
I tested this for the first time today. At first I didn`t follow the instrustion so it didn`t work. Thats normal. Then when I removed the Config.php everything went perfect. This is a great time saver. Keep up the good work guys and thanks for the great backup. Here in Germany it is not always easy to get good joomla stuff in German. But this makes things easy no more long translations.
2007-08-29
Reviews: 2
Exactly what we needed. I do advise people to read the PDF. When I did that I had no trouble at all. This makes me feel quite a lot more secure now, with all the hacking that goes on. What astonishes me is how easy it is to migrate a site. I wanted to be able to keep a current copy on my local computer for testing purposes and it is so easy and so fast. Full marks for this one. If they ever add a chron capability to this it would be out of this world.
2007-08-27
Reviews: 5
An easy tool to use, creates good backups, but I didn't find a way to download them except thru FTP... But at least I had a complete backup of the site!

One thing that should/could be made better is the error handling that you have to disable in the Joomla Config, if not you might have to wait a long time before you understand that it broke somewhere because of a php error/warning.

Great tool, needs some HTML makeup though :-) but I can live without that because the backups are good.
sfz
2007-08-20
Reviews: 1
Don't worry anymore to backup and restore your Joomla-Site. JoomlaPack is really simply to use and the restore also works without any problems.
I backed up my Joomla website which running (www.sfz-bw.de) and tried to install it locally to test a backup with JoomlaPack. I am running 1.0.12 and the backup worked PERFECTLY!

I am posting my steps I made:
1] Install the component and backup your website.

2] Download the backup file to your htdocs/location. This file must then be unzipped in the desired location. Rename the directory as i.e. Joomla

3] Now, point your browser to http://localhost:8888/Joomla/installation/
where there is the exact location of your unzipped files.

4] You will notice a joomla installation screen. On my localhost I used the following parameters for the
MySQL database configuration
Host Name: localhost:8889
MySQL User Name: root
MySQL Password: root
MySQL Database Name: sfz_joomla
MySQL Table Prefix: jos_

5] Remove the installation folder.

9) To use the admin program use the same username and and password as in the source Joomla site. The username and password shown by JoomlaPack on the installation screen didn't work!
2007-08-15
Reviews: 1
I recommend it and suggest that the user changes the path of the backup to be outside the web directory (public_html)/htdocs to be for example "./home/user/backup"

Hence, he/she can safely CHMOD this directory to the writeable state (777) without no fear.
2007-08-02
Reviews: 1
*if you read the documentation.

After reading the manual I was totaly impressed with how easy to use this component is. Excellent graphical progress bars displaying exactly where you are in the backup. My whole site was easily backed up including all modules, mambots, components and media directories!

Within a few minutes I was able to copy the the file down to my dev laptop and do a test restore. The only tiny issue was with my install of WAMP5, the php.ini had memory limits set to 8M so accessing my Community Builder elements crashed, changed the php.ini memory settings to 128M solved it.

FANTASTIC Component, well done.
2007-07-27
Reviews: 1
Nice AJAX Powered Joomla File and Database Backup (just like the description says)

It worked like a charm for me, created one Zip file.
Note: the Database SQL file is in a folder called "sql" in the zip file.
It backs up all tables in the Joomla chosen database, not only the joomla used ones, I liked this, but others may not.

I think restoring should be easy; upload files, import SQL file.

4/5 Stars as the homepage needs work, FAQ and Documentation is minimal. If anybody has spare time, help the developer.
2007-07-22
Reviews: 1
Do you remember the feeling when you could backup and restore your buggy operating system with a tool like Ghost? This is a most have for every Joomla website developer/owner, you can easily backup, restore and clone your whole CMS. This extention is mature and should be standard functionality in Joomla.

Thanks for this free product and making my live more easy :-)
Page 43 of 46