The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscription to request support. Its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the public tickets is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2007-07-21
Reviews: 15
I never thought there would be a better extension than chronoforms, but I was wrong. Thank you for this great great extension. The pros are: it works, easily, effortlessly. It is professional. It is easy to migrate a site using this. It is also easy to backup. The cons are: none that I know of.
2007-07-18
Reviews: 1
We have been looking for a good backup solution & also an automated way of migrating from our development site to the live site. I tried JoomlaCloner & that didn't work with our 750MB site (1000+ photos!). JoomlaPack backed it up beautifully & we have now been using it routimely.

Migrating to the live site went very smoothly except that reloading the database choked complaining of a duplicate entry. It turned out that we had a corrupt entry in one of the MySQL tables & nothing to do with JoomlaPack at all. Once this was deleted the restore proceded without incident.

I would thoroughly recommend JoomlaPack to anyone who is looking for a backup or migration solution for Joomla. We are promised automated scheduled backups in a future version which will make a great component even better.
2007-07-17
Reviews: 5
WOWEEE!! I love this component. Smooth as glass. I didn't have the host information for the old site, so I installed this component, made my backup, uploaded the zip file to the new host and unzipped it. Created a new/empty database and changed the configuration file to reflect that db info. Entered the installation folder, clicked through the install and was done in 45 minutes total. Next time it will take me 30 minutes because I know what I'm doing now.
Thank you so much, you've helped me today and will help me many times in the future.
Regards,
Montano
2007-07-14
Reviews: 1
Can't even figure out how to get an account on the home site that supports this module. Thought there is a login!

No documentation found there either.
2007-07-14
Reviews: 2
It at least installed on my Godaddy accounts. It even reported that it did a backup and even DL to my local machine. Could not however for the life of me find a way to restore or propogate the backup to another site.

Could not find any documentation anywhere.

Also could not get the component to install locally under "uniform server" on my lap top!

HELP!!! :-D
2007-07-10
Reviews: 1
I have a professional site with "alot" of customers and content! I had downloaded this a while back and it worked good, hoping I would never have to see if the backup would really work in case my site was wiped out..

Well, my site was wiped out due to a server shutdown.

This thing works 110% ...it's awesome!
All of my "entire site" is up and running again, it was so easy, I just used the included installer and away she went!!

Good Job Guys, Excellent Component... Should be included as a must for any Joomla install!!!!
2007-07-03
Reviews: 1
I've found this app lot better than others. For me it would be excelent but it doesn't have one thing that is a must for any app of this category: backup time programmed (via crontab or whatever)

If it is released in future versions it will be really appreciated for becoming the best app out there :)

Congrats
2007-07-02
Reviews: 1
I installed the component, took a backup, downloaded the backup archive, restored the backup into my local install of Joomla (JSAS), and it worked!

The documentation could be improved, but I can't complain much since it's free.
2007-06-29
Reviews: 3
I was able to move a site to a new host in about 90 minutes, including the time to FTP all of the files to the new host. Even though I used the latest version of this component and the site is using an old (1.0.10) version of Joomla. This was great!

I initially tried to use JoomlaCloner, but the old hosting environment was too restrictive and did not have ZIP or TAR on it. Installed JoomlaPack, and was able to backup the site and download it the first time within a minute.

Just be sure to follow the suggestions posted here by others when moving to a new host, and this will work like a charm! Kudos!!
2007-06-27
Reviews: 3
It works! That is the bottom line. Simple and effective.
2007-06-20
Reviews: 2
The first comment I am leaving here. I had to backup and clone a site with many users and a many downloads as well.
I had to look a bit around for a solution to get DOCMan running smoothly again on a new site, but this is a DOCMan issue. Finally I got all running fine on a new domain.

GREAT component! Keep up the wonderful work. Many THANKS
2007-06-15
Reviews: 4
I've written praise for several extensions here at Joomla!. not that more were not worthy of praise, but this extension is really incredible.

I use many different hosts for my Joomla! Websites, most are multiple accounts, so designing a new Website for a client in a new folder on their domain works. When the new Website is ready to launch, the domain usually just gets pointed to the new folder and life is good.

Recently this was not an option for me. I have traditionally used the commercial version of the Joomla! Cloner. It works for me(sometimes).

I installed the JPack on this new Website, performed the backup beautifully (and without timing out).

THEN I unzipped the backup file into it's new home, deleted the new temporary installation folder JPack created, opened my Web Browser and I was done.

Bravo, and Thank you for a Wonderful Product.
2007-06-08
Reviews: 3
It takes 3 minutes from installing the component to have the whole site (files + database) zip-packed on my pc. It works absolutely great. I had nothing to configure, just click one button to beginn the backup-process and then download the packed site (perfectly named with date and time). Very excellent!
2007-06-08
Reviews: 1
Worked great, thank you. :) You saved me from maybe a weeks worth of rebuilding a site from scratch again.

This great component allowed me to successfully transfer a medium sized site to a new webhost [from yahoo to servage], also moving from a mysql 4 db to mysql 5.

The first attempt ended up timing out, but the second attempt worked fine. Took maybe 15-20 minutes to backup all files and database into a zip file.

On the second attempt I made sure to exclude the joomla cache directory and disabled the joomla cache module I had installed. Turned off error reporting as recommended and I deleted any excess templates that I wouldn't be using.

Might not be neccessary but I thought it might help if there was less to backup.

Reinstalling the site required quite a few changes to the configuration.php file since it was going onto a brand new host & new database. Make sure your settings are correct here.

Importing the database during the reinstall gave me errors. I found I had to delete all DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1 from the sql file for it to import correctly..

From this:
ENGINE=MyISAM DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1 ;

to this:
ENGINE=MyISAM;

Once I did that it was a smooth installation and the site has now transfered perfectly with all settings/modules/configuration intact.

Would recommend this tool to anyone with the need to backup and transfer a site quickly and completely.
2007-06-07
Reviews: 1
This is my first review here and I`m so happy with this component. I have test a lot of backup systems (jommla systems and other systems to make back ups from ftp), in this case I would give this componet 10 from 10 points. Easy installation, easy backup process and also easy restore process!!! Thans to Nicholas for this great work!
2007-06-07
Reviews: 1
I was really missing this component. Every since my site got Hacked 1 year ago I do daily backups and this component works great. The only thing that would make it better is to have it automated.
2007-06-06
Reviews: 2
I'm using this excellent backup tool very often, can wait to see future version for J!1.5. Keep up the good work mate!
2007-04-21
Reviews: 3
This is one of the essential utilities you should install as soon as possible. Worked flawlessly. Backup both the database and files in one zip file. I especially like the ability to change the location of the zip file so that you can create it outside the main website. As a developer you can make snapshot backups as you build the site and upload them to a server and install them in one pass.
oak
2007-04-20
Reviews: 2
I have very good impression from trying this component, however it seems it is not written very well in terms of accessing database. It uses insane number of queries, efectively sucking out my user quota every time I try to use it...
"User 'user.org' has exceeded the 'max_questions' resource (current value: 10000) SQL=SELECT name, value FROM ..."
However, it is possible, that it only does this in combination with "com_opensef" (I do have it installed but I don't use it due to compatibility problems).
2007-04-18
Reviews: 5
This backup tool is really great. I installed this on Joomla 1.0.12, PHP 5.1.6, MySQL 5.0.27 and it works like charm. I chose the multi-step backup and got no timeout problem. Thanks for sharing this. Keep up the good work.
Page 44 of 46