The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2007-02-17
Reviews: 2
What a great tool. In about 15 minutes, I had installed this on a Joomla site and MAMP on my MacBook Pro. Backed up the site and installed Joomla on my laptop. Site was perfectly replicated. Full marks!
2007-02-14
Reviews: 1
I backed up a 120 MB Joomla website which is already up and running and tried to install it locally to test the component. I am running 1.0.12 and it worked PERFECTLY! This is THE component I was looking for... It effortlessly backs up sites, even the big ones.

Since there is no documentation available, I am posting an outline of the steps:
1] Install the component and backup your website. You can view the ftp path of your backup through this component.

2] Download/transfer the backup file to your desired location. This file must then be unzipped in the desired location.

3] Now, you might need to change some parameters. If your site has a huge database, you need to change the maximum execution time for a php script. Find the 'php.ini' file for your server (not sure where it will be), which is the file with the php settings for your server. For local testing, I had to restart the server but I'm not sure what you'd do for remote hosting. Anyway, the value for 'max_execution_time' in the 'php.ini' file should be increased to around 200 seconds for larger databases.

4] Now, point your browser to http:///install/
where the is the exact location of your unzipped files.

5] You will notice a joomla installation screen. Follow normal procedure, just make sure the name of the database is the same as that you had in the initial website. Change the database server in case there is already a database with that name in your server.

6] If you do not get past step 5, in the MySQL settings screen, try increasing the max execution time mentioned in step 4.

7] Make sure you use the same password for admin in the final screen,

8] Remove the installation folder.

9] Download via ftp, your configurations.php file for joomla. Change the '$mosConfig_live_site' to the path of your joomla installation.

Thats it! You have your entire site backed up!

Thanks a lot to this empowering component.
2007-02-12
Reviews: 2
No problems installing or backing up the site! Great job and THANKS.

Some quick feature requests:
1. If there are multiple sites installed on the database, it would be nice to be able to select the tables that we would like to backup. Same with the files/folders.
2007-02-11
Reviews: 1
Well, I tried the .3.3 version, and it ALWAYS got stuck on the first folder it tried to list the files for. It would never go farther no matter how long I waited.

I tried this latest version, but the backup button doesn't do anything. It doesn't start backup or anything.

Any ideas? If you need more info, I can provide it, but I can't get this to work at all. I REALLY hope that whatever my problem is can be fixed, whether it's on my end or the extension's end. Thanks for the plug.
2007-02-10
Reviews: 5
Like other postings I was looking for a backup component that would backup data and site files all in one go. Unfortunately, every time I tried to run a backup of this component it just hung! If it is because I am using 1.0.12 Joomla, please can this component be updated as soon as possible. A complete backup solution like this component, would be perfect.
2007-02-07
Reviews: 2
Pro: Easy easy install and config
Con: Never finishes backup, freezes every time. Really takes away from the usefulness of the com.
Owner's reply

If you are experiencing problems - unlike most users out there - it's more appropriate to discuss them on the support forum, rather on a review site like this. After all, no software is without bugs and the only way to solve them is to get feedback from users like you.

2007-02-06
Reviews: 3
I was looking for such a component a long time to

.) backup the database
.) backup the files

It works perfectly.
The option to restore a backup on another location is absolutely great and more than i expected.
2007-02-01
Reviews: 3
I'm wondering if all of the folks who claim success with this were only moving or copying from one Linux-based install to another or from a PC to a Linux install. I can't get it to enable me to clone my Linux-based install to my home Windows XP PC. I've successfully done that with other more complicated approaches, but can't do it at all with this component.

The component installs just fine on my Joomla Linux site. And it makes a complete backup which downloads and appears to unpack just fine on the PC. But I can never get past Step 1 of the installation on the PC. After confirming the database name, localhost designation, log-in name, password, etc., pressing the "Next" button causes the install to just hang. I've tried a complete new install twice. Same reaction both times. And each time I let the attempted install run for at least an hour before giving up. The thing just sits there and spins and spins. The tables appear to be loaded into the database (I used phpMyAdmin to confirm this after each attempt), but the installation never proceeds or ends successfully.

Too bad. I've spent about 5 hours tonight struggling with this thing. My wife is giving me nasty looks because I've been working on this instead of watching TV with her. I guess I'll have to give up for the night and try another utility tomorrow. Sad to have to toss this one out.
2007-02-01
Reviews: 1
I am running a site for my church and just used this today to set up a dev instance for playing with the CSS.

Other than my pickle-fingering an entry during the install, this worked out quite well! After my mess up, i just had to fix the config file and be on my way.

Would be great to add support for choosing an ftp server and directory to place the zip in, have it auto unzip if wanted, and have it run at certain intervals via crontab.

I recommend this to anyone.
2007-01-29
Reviews: 1
it's simple and fast install , i love it
thanks for delveloper
raj
2007-01-28
Reviews: 4
The author is right...it hangs while attempting to compress my huge website. About 50 megs of stuff, probably.
2007-01-27
Reviews: 1
I'm having similar problems to some other users.
tried it on 1.0.8 installation and it hung every time either during file list creation or while compressing the data.
upgraded to 1.0.12 and i get a different problem, it finishes and creates an archive file but it is seriously incomplete, sometimes the archive will not open as it is corrupt and sometimes it will open but not extract.

This looks like the answer to my backup needs, everything about it seems easy to use and installation was a breeze. Just hope the next release solves some of the problems.
2007-01-26
Reviews: 1
Great component, very easy to use and very fast too!

Only one minor problem I have found is not-so-good compatibility with Joomfish because it sets main language back to English and then i have make some modifications by hand. This is only a minor problem and I hope that it will be solved soon.

5/5
2007-01-26
Reviews: 1
Worked good for me, but the main issue why it is still unusable for me is that when I put a backup online again al characters like: éä etc become characters like: è. I hope you have a fix for this?
2007-01-24
Reviews: 1
I've been using BigApe for the past few months, but never having occassion to actually need the backups. Yesterday I installed something that really screwed up my site by breaking the internal links, but I thought "hey no problem - I backed up everything"

So....I got out my trusty BigApe backup set and tried to restore the database - man! what a mess...

The comment tag used in BigApe backups (//) causes errors during a SQL query. So I had to manually edit out all the lines that started with // and then restored the backup, but now my database is really screwed up with several of the tables having lost their auto increment tag.

So...I've installed this new one, it works really well, and I HOPE it works for restoring my site...- havent' tried that part yet.
2007-01-24
Reviews: 1
Excellent
installed it on Joomla 1.0.12 .
I really haven't done a re-install per say, but I was just looking for a backup solution. Like to see new developments with this.

Thanks
2007-01-24
Reviews: 3
Im currently using Joomla! 1.0.12 Stable [ Sunfire ] since 25 December 2006 installed at www.templatecustom.com. I wanted to take down my site and work offline since its faster at localhost (share hosting, so you cant expect much).

So I backed up with just a click and downloaded it with a click too. I extracted the backup data to my localhost and setup up a new mysql account (you know to dump all your site data). Then I pointed to localhost/xxxx/installation and followed the page (like normal installation). It works like wonder. Time taken, 2 minutes at 12 seconds.

Word of advise, to eases your transplanting project, remember to have your password, database, user of database exactly the same as the site. Saves headache.

Thank you developer for such a wonderful piece of work!
2007-01-22
Reviews: 1
i would recommend it! If you want to change server just follow the following (i did for Joomla 1.0.11):

1. Download this tool

2. Install it; installation process is pretty simple and there is no problem

3. Go to Component > JoomlaPack and then press 'create backup' button after viewing Basic configuration once.it took only a minute and half to complete the whole process for my 500+ page site and everything was shown on screen.

4. there is built-in option to download the backup file but i was not able to get it from there but you can always download files from servers via any ftp software!

5. After uploading file to new location, unzip it.

6. Once unzipped, open the index in browser and install the Joomla as you had done for the first time!

7. I had used the same password as previous and then obviously you have to remove the installation folder!

YOUR SITE IS TRANSFERRED in no time!

Highly recommended tool!
2007-01-22
Reviews: 1
I tried to install it on a Joomla 1.0.8 and it starts well then it hangs at around 80% of completion. A .gz file is generated but it is corrupt. I am using freehostia.org that has timeout scripts (30 secs on PHP). Could it be this the problem? Thanks. Luca
2007-01-19
Reviews: 1
Hi all,

I installed the Joomla!Pack backup component effortlessly on my Joomla 1.0.11 installation.
I ran a backup and reupped the file and unpacked it to a different server and to my utter surprise the whole thing worked !

Awesome Backuptool !

Grtz,
Peter Lunk
Page 45 of 46