The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscription to request support. Its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the public tickets is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2007-01-24
Reviews: 1
I've been using BigApe for the past few months, but never having occassion to actually need the backups. Yesterday I installed something that really screwed up my site by breaking the internal links, but I thought "hey no problem - I backed up everything"

So....I got out my trusty BigApe backup set and tried to restore the database - man! what a mess...

The comment tag used in BigApe backups (//) causes errors during a SQL query. So I had to manually edit out all the lines that started with // and then restored the backup, but now my database is really screwed up with several of the tables having lost their auto increment tag.

So...I've installed this new one, it works really well, and I HOPE it works for restoring my site...- havent' tried that part yet.
2007-01-24
Reviews: 1
Excellent
installed it on Joomla 1.0.12 .
I really haven't done a re-install per say, but I was just looking for a backup solution. Like to see new developments with this.

Thanks
2007-01-24
Reviews: 3
Im currently using Joomla! 1.0.12 Stable [ Sunfire ] since 25 December 2006 installed at www.templatecustom.com. I wanted to take down my site and work offline since its faster at localhost (share hosting, so you cant expect much).

So I backed up with just a click and downloaded it with a click too. I extracted the backup data to my localhost and setup up a new mysql account (you know to dump all your site data). Then I pointed to localhost/xxxx/installation and followed the page (like normal installation). It works like wonder. Time taken, 2 minutes at 12 seconds.

Word of advise, to eases your transplanting project, remember to have your password, database, user of database exactly the same as the site. Saves headache.

Thank you developer for such a wonderful piece of work!
2007-01-22
Reviews: 1
i would recommend it! If you want to change server just follow the following (i did for Joomla 1.0.11):

1. Download this tool

2. Install it; installation process is pretty simple and there is no problem

3. Go to Component > JoomlaPack and then press 'create backup' button after viewing Basic configuration once.it took only a minute and half to complete the whole process for my 500+ page site and everything was shown on screen.

4. there is built-in option to download the backup file but i was not able to get it from there but you can always download files from servers via any ftp software!

5. After uploading file to new location, unzip it.

6. Once unzipped, open the index in browser and install the Joomla as you had done for the first time!

7. I had used the same password as previous and then obviously you have to remove the installation folder!

YOUR SITE IS TRANSFERRED in no time!

Highly recommended tool!
2007-01-22
Reviews: 1
I tried to install it on a Joomla 1.0.8 and it starts well then it hangs at around 80% of completion. A .gz file is generated but it is corrupt. I am using freehostia.org that has timeout scripts (30 secs on PHP). Could it be this the problem? Thanks. Luca
2007-01-19
Reviews: 1
Hi all,

I installed the Joomla!Pack backup component effortlessly on my Joomla 1.0.11 installation.
I ran a backup and reupped the file and unpacked it to a different server and to my utter surprise the whole thing worked !

Awesome Backuptool !

Grtz,
Peter Lunk
2007-01-11
Reviews: 1
Excellent so far... I installed it on Joomla 1.0.12 and haven't actually performed a re-install, but I was just looking for a simple solution for a backup.

Just make sure you have the disk space... :-P My first attempt hung up about a third of the way through. I e-mailed Nicholas and he promptly responded with possible solutions and tips. Great CS!

The only improvement I could suggest at this point is to update it for 1.0.12.

Thanks Nicholas!!!
2007-01-09
Reviews: 3
The start is there, now put in more features.

I'm using BigAPE backup now and the option to select which folders should be included in the backup is very usefull.

Also a page where you can manage your packed files would be an improvement.

Currently it is to basic, but keep up the good work.
gws
2007-01-08
Reviews: 13
I tested this on 1.0.12 and it backed up everything perfectly,however when I tried to install the backup on a different domain it consistently timed out.Cant seem to find any FAQS or documents for this,It will be a really good addition to Joomla when the bugs are sorted, I hope the dev can sort this soon.
2007-01-08
Reviews: 3
I tested it on a local 1.0.11 installation, uploaded it on a remote server, untarred using SSH, and it just worked :)

Two things:
1. After the installation process, delete configuration.php (+ the intallation-folder, of course) before trying to access the site.

2.Use the same login-details as before! At the end of the installation-process, it gives you the loginname and password for administration you typed on the page before (as in a standard installation). If you decide to use an all new password, it's not gonna work; the old one from ther earlier installation is still active. That's actually great! Except that you shouldn't trust the screen if you just typed a new one ;)

RECOMMENDED!
2007-01-08
Reviews: 1
How long have I been waiting for a solid component like this? A LONG TIME! Finally, a strong component for backing up files AND the database...

Would be nice...
- If there were options to backup the database and files individually or together.
- was able to be kicked off by a crontab

Thanks to the developer for this long overdue component!
2007-01-07
Reviews: 1
I had been looking for a good backup utility so I decided to try this on a test site. It installed easily, had a good interface and the first backup went smoothly with good visual feedback as to how it was progressing. It looks to do what it says on the box without any issues. Keep in mind that I reserve final judgment until I am able to a test restore of the backup. But so far it looks great. Thanks a lot Nicholas!
2007-01-07
Reviews: 1
It looked good, but when i've tried it a few times it always hanged for a unlimited time. The idea is nice but it didn't work. Perhaps because it seems to use J!1.0.11 installer while the latest is 1.0.12
Page 46 of 46