The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscription to request support. Its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the public tickets is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2013-06-14
Reviews: 10
A very useful component to backup your website and migrate it to another server. Default settings allows you to easily use Akeeba Backup, but it is also possible to change many settings to customize it. I strongly recommend this component!
2013-06-11
Reviews: 2
I can't imagine the administration sites without this component.
Great work. Thanks!
2013-06-08
Reviews: 1
Hands down the best component and the best support I've dealt with. I cannot stress this enough. This is absolutely worth every penny. Phenomenal support. Very detailed. Incredible product. Awesome!!!
2013-06-07
Reviews: 1
Akeeba Backup is hands down the one extension that you most certainly wouldn't want to do without. Kudos to the developer for creating such a useful tool that is available to the masses!
2013-06-04
Reviews: 5
DO NOT SPEND YOUR HARD-EARNED MONEY ON ANY OTHER PRODUCT!
I have tried another product (no names mentioned) and I had nothing but problems - at each step of the way I was presented with some drama to deal with.
Akeeba just simply is bullet-proof. I have in the last two weeks had to restore EIGHT new sites and on ANOTHER SERVER. Seven of these were Joomla sites. Akeeba restored these flawlessly each time - with NO hitches whatsoever. The eighth site was a Word Press site which I transferred last because I was dreading having to use the other backup product. Sure enough it took me a whole day to get the site on the new server with that other backup component and I ended up having to restore it mostly manually anyway!
The Akeeba developer Nicholas is not only smart and professional but he has a sense of humour and is very attentive to any questions or issues put to him (the only problems I ever had with Akeeba were due to my own mistakes).
When it comes to backing up your site - you don't want excuses or have to wade through forums to find answers to restore your site. You just want it to work - period. And importantly you want to know its GOING to work as that is peace of mind.
That is what Akeeba does - it works. It is embarrassingly easy to use too....
2013-05-29
Reviews: 2
Fantastic!
Easy to use even for newbies like me!

I installed Akeeba Backup Core a few weeks on my main development site. I made a few backups which all reported as successful.

Today I installed another Joomla! extension which unfortunately didn't work as I had intended. Never mind, it's not a problem, it's an opportunity to try out Akeeba.

I used FileZilla to rename the directory, create a new directory with the original name, copy Kickstart and the latest backup file, and then run Kickstart.

I had made a lot of notes on database names etc but in the end this was unnecessary and KickStart did a great job and did it all. The website appears to be all back up and running.

Akeeba Backup is great for testing and development.

Documentation is first class and easy to understand. The author is great at communication - I bought a subscription of the Pro version and couldn't get it to download, Nicholas (the Author) was quick to reply and very helpful.

On this basis, I will shortly look about automated backups saving to the cloud for total piece of mind,

I have no connection with Akeeba Backup,apart from being a very happy customer.
2013-05-24
Reviews: 3
It's easy to use and has all of the features we need and more.
2013-05-19
Reviews: 3
It is one of the reason why I am still using Joomla comparing to other open source CMSes.
2013-05-18
Reviews: 2
If you use a website more serious, than Akeeba Backup should be considered.

There are too many good reasons for it:
- Migration Tasks (Test, Productive)
- Development (If you messed somthing up)
- Security (If somehow your site was attacked, defaced, whatever)

Thanks to Akeeba Backup it's always not that troublesome and/or time consuming.

You can use the default settings, but I strongly suggest to take a bit time and break down what and how your backup should look.

I'm mainly using it on a website with around 1.6gb Download Files. I make now and then a "profile" Backup only with the necessary joomla data (so Backup is around 150mb) and through cronjob I make every week a backup (1.6gb+ and remotely saved).

I already had once a security breach and my website was filled with malware. Deleted the webfolder, run my Akeeba Restore through Kickstart and 45 minutes later (it took time to upload the Akeeba File to the webserver) the Website was back again.

With the Pro Edition you'll get some neat features. Based on your need It would make sense to compare it.

Support is also quite fast and can be recommended.
2013-05-12
Reviews: 2
Having had problems with restoring files and databases on various sites I decided to give Akeeba Backup a trial run. I have a site with over 300 pages so I followed instructions and created a backup which I downloaded. I then tried to restore it to a different domain name on my server. Initially I used the Kickstart script to restore which didn't work. I then extracted the files using Akeeba extract wizard and uploaded them using ftp. I had already set up the database and the install ran similarly to a normal Joomla install. Although it took time to upload the files I'm pleased to say it worked perfectly. I don't mind if it takes an hour to do as long as it does the job and this certainly does the job. Well done and thanks to Akeeba!
2013-05-10
Reviews: 9
It took me a little while to get this all figured out - not that it is difficult!

Now I know I can depend on this backup/restore 100%. I use it more often to migrate from local to testing to production servers! Just awesome!
2013-05-07
Reviews: 1
What can I say more more than all the other reviewers, Akeeba Backup is an amazing extension, makes me feel my website safer, and made my life easy when moving my website to another hosting provider. In my Joomla toolbelt since months.
2013-05-04
Reviews: 9
Akeeba back up is the most usefull extension to have. It can saves you 1000s time with just a click on a button. How many times did you blow up you site with an instalation and spend hours and hour to fix errors ?
With this extension is only a click to a button.
The support is perfect when exists,is fast and accurate but many times is closed.
2013-05-02
Reviews: 2
Akeeba has saved COUNTLESS hours and untold frustrations for me. The FIRST thing I do when I build a new Joomla site OR teach my students how to build a site is Joomla is INSTALL AKEEBA!

THANK YOU Akeeba!!
2013-04-24
Reviews: 1
I use Akeeba backup for a long time. Today I registered here and i am too late with my review. But better late than never!

I'm really thankful for this component.

For this year I have decided to donate 1 EUR for each restore. Not really enough, but I want to support a bit to developers. I test a lot, so something will come about.

But more importantly, the current Web page is saved always good.
2013-04-15
Reviews: 2
This is the one extension that I cannot go without and neither should you. I cannot believe how simple the Akeeba team has made the backup and restore process. I had been using Akeeba backup for years off and on depending on specific project needs and specs. I would just do a backup of the database in phpmyadmin when needed. Finally one day I had a website completely bomb. Luckily it was on a project that I already had a backup on and I had a restored website within minutes. I cannot tell you how grateful I was.

Since then, I have implemented Akeeba backup on all of my websites and I'm so glad I did. It's now my newest tool in migrating websites between servers and of course for those what used to be disastrous days. Thanks Nick, you guys are awesome!
2013-04-12
Reviews: 35
I was always a bit intimidated by Akeeba to perform a backup.

Tonight I gave it a try by backing up my site and creating a new subdomain a new database and a new folder on my server.

I quickly read the manual and started.

This component is just perfect! It worked in a blink of an eye!

No hassle, no problems, just perfect results :)

Now I have tow versions of my website.

Thank you for such an easy and comfortable extension!

Best regards,

Rob van Linda
2013-04-09
Reviews: 9
This is an absolute must have for any webmaster using Joomla. It's easy to use, works perfectly fine and is really easy to administer your backups.
2013-04-08
Reviews: 7
This is so simple to use and does exactly what it claims. It must, surely, be an essential element of any site extensions kit.
2013-04-07
Reviews: 5
Simple!!
Go to the component, create a backup. Use the Akeeba Archive Extractor, upload the extract to server, enter the installation url.
Its a breeze using this component!! Thank you so much!
Page 5 of 46