The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2013-05-18
Reviews: 2
If you use a website more serious, than Akeeba Backup should be considered.

There are too many good reasons for it:
- Migration Tasks (Test, Productive)
- Development (If you messed somthing up)
- Security (If somehow your site was attacked, defaced, whatever)

Thanks to Akeeba Backup it's always not that troublesome and/or time consuming.

You can use the default settings, but I strongly suggest to take a bit time and break down what and how your backup should look.

I'm mainly using it on a website with around 1.6gb Download Files. I make now and then a "profile" Backup only with the necessary joomla data (so Backup is around 150mb) and through cronjob I make every week a backup (1.6gb+ and remotely saved).

I already had once a security breach and my website was filled with malware. Deleted the webfolder, run my Akeeba Restore through Kickstart and 45 minutes later (it took time to upload the Akeeba File to the webserver) the Website was back again.

With the Pro Edition you'll get some neat features. Based on your need It would make sense to compare it.

Support is also quite fast and can be recommended.
2013-05-12
Reviews: 2
Having had problems with restoring files and databases on various sites I decided to give Akeeba Backup a trial run. I have a site with over 300 pages so I followed instructions and created a backup which I downloaded. I then tried to restore it to a different domain name on my server. Initially I used the Kickstart script to restore which didn't work. I then extracted the files using Akeeba extract wizard and uploaded them using ftp. I had already set up the database and the install ran similarly to a normal Joomla install. Although it took time to upload the files I'm pleased to say it worked perfectly. I don't mind if it takes an hour to do as long as it does the job and this certainly does the job. Well done and thanks to Akeeba!
2013-05-10
Reviews: 9
It took me a little while to get this all figured out - not that it is difficult!

Now I know I can depend on this backup/restore 100%. I use it more often to migrate from local to testing to production servers! Just awesome!
2013-05-07
Reviews: 1
What can I say more more than all the other reviewers, Akeeba Backup is an amazing extension, makes me feel my website safer, and made my life easy when moving my website to another hosting provider. In my Joomla toolbelt since months.
2013-05-04
Reviews: 8
Akeeba back up is the most usefull extension to have. It can saves you 1000s time with just a click on a button. How many times did you blow up you site with an instalation and spend hours and hour to fix errors ?
With this extension is only a click to a button.
The support is perfect when exists,is fast and accurate but many times is closed.
2013-05-02
Reviews: 2
Akeeba has saved COUNTLESS hours and untold frustrations for me. The FIRST thing I do when I build a new Joomla site OR teach my students how to build a site is Joomla is INSTALL AKEEBA!

THANK YOU Akeeba!!
2013-04-24
Reviews: 1
I use Akeeba backup for a long time. Today I registered here and i am too late with my review. But better late than never!

I'm really thankful for this component.

For this year I have decided to donate 1 EUR for each restore. Not really enough, but I want to support a bit to developers. I test a lot, so something will come about.

But more importantly, the current Web page is saved always good.
2013-04-15
Reviews: 2
This is the one extension that I cannot go without and neither should you. I cannot believe how simple the Akeeba team has made the backup and restore process. I had been using Akeeba backup for years off and on depending on specific project needs and specs. I would just do a backup of the database in phpmyadmin when needed. Finally one day I had a website completely bomb. Luckily it was on a project that I already had a backup on and I had a restored website within minutes. I cannot tell you how grateful I was.

Since then, I have implemented Akeeba backup on all of my websites and I'm so glad I did. It's now my newest tool in migrating websites between servers and of course for those what used to be disastrous days. Thanks Nick, you guys are awesome!
2013-04-12
Reviews: 33
I was always a bit intimidated by Akeeba to perform a backup.

Tonight I gave it a try by backing up my site and creating a new subdomain a new database and a new folder on my server.

I quickly read the manual and started.

This component is just perfect! It worked in a blink of an eye!

No hassle, no problems, just perfect results :)

Now I have tow versions of my website.

Thank you for such an easy and comfortable extension!

Best regards,

Rob van Linda
2013-04-09
Reviews: 9
This is an absolute must have for any webmaster using Joomla. It's easy to use, works perfectly fine and is really easy to administer your backups.
2013-04-08
Reviews: 7
This is so simple to use and does exactly what it claims. It must, surely, be an essential element of any site extensions kit.
2013-04-07
Reviews: 5
Simple!!
Go to the component, create a backup. Use the Akeeba Archive Extractor, upload the extract to server, enter the installation url.
Its a breeze using this component!! Thank you so much!
2013-04-06
Reviews: 2
It doesn't get any better or any simpler than this! This is, by far, one of the most outstanding extensions ever developed for Joomla! Backup and restoration was FLAWLESS right "out of the box" with the standard settings!

A MUST HAVE for any Joomla! user!
2013-03-31
Reviews: 3
Play hard enough and at some point you going to break it !!!!

Great to know that in a few minutes I can be back to where I was thanks to Akeeba Backup. What is even more amazing is that its all for free - thanks Nicholas.
2013-03-31
Reviews: 1
I started using Joompack the earlier version of Akeeba Backup. I have continued to use this excellent extension and now subscribe for professional version. I highly recommend this excellent product.

James Wright
2013-03-22
Reviews: 2
Tried this for the first time this evening when moving a joomla installation from one domain to another.

It took me less time than to drinkthe beer i had next to me :)
2013-03-20
Reviews: 3
The title of the review says it all...

What more could you ask?

Just wonderful, wonderful!

Greetings
2013-03-18
Reviews: 15
This is such an excellent component! It has saved me so many times. I just upgraded a site, then backed it up and moved it to a new account. FlawLESS execution ... thank you so much. I am a happy subscriber to both AT Pro and Backup Pro. THANKS!
2013-03-12
Reviews: 1
I can sum this component up in just one word... AWESOME!!! Repeat after me.. USER FRIENDLY - EASY - AWESOME.. Have used the Joomla platform on so many of my sites that I have just about lost count. This is the FIRST time I just had to really pass out some major KUDDOS..

Thanks so much for this component it has literally be a life saver for me!! Keep up the wonderful work!!
2013-03-10
Reviews: 4
This component is a must for those serious about protecting their site(s). By far the easiest component ever for the protection it offers. Great work Alex! Yasou!
Page 5 of 46