The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2013-03-20
Reviews: 3
The title of the review says it all...

What more could you ask?

Just wonderful, wonderful!

Greetings
2013-03-18
Reviews: 16
This is such an excellent component! It has saved me so many times. I just upgraded a site, then backed it up and moved it to a new account. FlawLESS execution ... thank you so much. I am a happy subscriber to both AT Pro and Backup Pro. THANKS!
2013-03-12
Reviews: 1
I can sum this component up in just one word... AWESOME!!! Repeat after me.. USER FRIENDLY - EASY - AWESOME.. Have used the Joomla platform on so many of my sites that I have just about lost count. This is the FIRST time I just had to really pass out some major KUDDOS..

Thanks so much for this component it has literally be a life saver for me!! Keep up the wonderful work!!
2013-03-10
Reviews: 4
This component is a must for those serious about protecting their site(s). By far the easiest component ever for the protection it offers. Great work Alex! Yasou!
2013-03-10
Reviews: 6
This is a really great extension. It backup your whole website including mysql and you can import it anywhere on the web. Five stars!
2013-03-02
Reviews: 3
I don't know what I would do without both Akeeba Backup and Kickstart. Saved my behind more than once and so easy to use.
2013-02-19
Reviews: 5
Very useful extensions. Making a backup is very simple. Just one click. Thanks to developer!
2013-02-17
Reviews: 5
Very fast way to backup and restore my websites!! Thanks for developer! Considering buy this and other extension - admin tools... both are incredible and necesary to all joomla sites
2013-02-13
Reviews: 2
This is the first time I've felt compelled to submit a review for a Joomla extension, realising that Akeeba Backup has become part of my professional workflow for developing & deploying commercial sites. The free version has been completely dependable across a wide variety of environments, allowing me to develop a site on any server & then move it into its final location when done. Always a quick & flawless migration every time. Also I use it every day to back up multiple sites. At this point, I would never set up Joomla without it.
2013-02-10
Reviews: 15
Akeeba has been a life saver. I never have to start from ground zero ever again. I always start with a custom made distro of joomla with pre-installed add-ons. This feature takes away the extra effort that would have to put into repetitive tasks!
I thank the developer for his awesome work.
2013-02-09
Reviews: 20
Very easy and effective backup. Already used it "in field" for site transfer without any problem.
2013-01-28
Reviews: 2
For many years now I've used Akeeba Backup (yes, I'm from the JoomlaPack-generation...) and until last week I didn't have to use a generated backup 'for real'… Great script, easy to configure and use, easy to restore with and crucial to save your content on a regular - automated - base.

For me, there's no site delivered without Akeeba Backup.
2013-01-28
Reviews: 5
The tool work as described. Nicholas has accumulated a comprehensive collection of support documentation to assist with website management. The video there was all I needed to understand how to restore a crashed site. He was easily accessible via a secure ticket. He saw my problem as a webhost which was confirmed by the change. A Natural teacher.
2013-01-26
Reviews: 11
Great component.

Akeeba Backup is easy to set up, configure and Free

Thank you!
2013-01-22
Reviews: 3
Akeeba products are simply the best. I love their back and restore programs. Works like a charm. No issues / hiccups. I definitely can see that they have put lot of thought in it. The interface, messages, speed and above all finishing is exceptional. I have been using their other products as well. I like the fact that is is FREE. Hope this stays FREE for ever :)

Kudos to Akeeba Team ... great job guys

Cheers !!!
2013-01-18
Reviews: 1
I'm an intermediate Joomla! user, just enough to make me dangerous. What took me hours upon hours to create, I messed up in a matter of minutes today. Luckily, I had backed up with Akeeba Backup after making some big changes.

I downloaded Akeeba Kickstart, followed the instructions (very easy), and in a matter of minutes, I was up and running again.

I can't say enough about these amazing products. I saved a lot of time and frustration. Thanks Akeeba!
2013-01-14
Reviews: 11
I can't say enough about the Akeeba support team. I was having a challenge unpacking a 2.5 site and receiving a plugin error. This was the first time I was using 2.5 and the updated Akeeba Backup component. (I was a 1.5 user for so long) I contacted support and within minutes Nicholas contacted me and helped me to fix the challenge. As silly as it seems, I didn't know that I couldn't unpack a 2.5 site over an old 1.5 site and because of him I was saved hours of frustration. I LOVE AKEEBA! Thank you guys!
2013-01-09
Reviews: 1
An excellent well developed extension.

Used it to transfer my site from my localhost to my web server and worked perfectly first time.

Far easier and quicker than doing it manually and documentation is excellent if you get stuck along the way.
2013-01-09
Reviews: 9
In view of the hundreds of very positive reviews, there is, I suppose, little more that I can add beyond recording my satisfaction with this exemplary software. It scores in all departments for me, ease of installation and use, comprehensive documentation that's easily readable (a very big plus for me) and it works. Restoration with Akeeba Kickstart is hardly a chore too. I can only commend very strongly the Akeeba Backup and Kickstart combo. Great stuff. Congrats to Nick.
2013-01-05
Reviews: 1
The developer worked well. Easy to use. It has twice saved the my work. Always use.
Page 6 of 46