The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Joomla! 2.5/3.0 only. We have older versions for Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7 on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion desktop software (Akeeba SiteDiff and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscription (starting at EUR 7.79) to request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-09-18
Reviews: 11
This is the first Component we install for each of our Joomla sites. We back up all our sites regularly with this extension and it has paid off big a few times already. This should be in every Joomla webmasters toolbox.
2012-09-07
Reviews: 8
Akeeba is the first extension I install on ALL of my sites now...! Absolutely first class. If you value your sites, use Akeeba...
2012-09-05
Reviews: 13
donated after this tool saved my site

a little complicated to restore from a downloaded jpa-file. But I managed and that was GREAT
jom
2012-08-31
Reviews: 17
I use this extension for a time and don’t have any problems. Thank you Akeeba team, if my site have some success I will donate. Thank you
2012-08-28
Reviews: 6
this is probably the most valuable tool EVER. if you are not using Akeeba Backup, then you are plain lazy and/or just don't care about protecting your work.
2012-08-23
Reviews: 14
A must have! Definitely the best of its kind. I've been using it for several years without any issues and it has saved me from loosing my data on more than one occasion. Easy to use, easy to restore.
2012-08-23
Reviews: 6
I was needing a fast way to cl;one a Joomla site to do some experimentation, and finally got to try Version 3.4.3 of Akeeba (For a Joomla 1.5 site) - WOW!

Works EXACTLY as described, documentation readily available and easy to understand, and the KICKSTARTER program REALLY makes re-installation a snap, even if you're changing the domain name (as I did)

WELL WORTH supporting the developer, IMHO
2012-08-20
Reviews: 3
One of the most useful extensions hereon JED. I always use it for making Backups of Joomla sites, and had no issues with it.
Congrats for the Developers!
2012-08-20
Reviews: 6
This extension is valuable. In my opinion is the best in it's category! I met the manufacturer in Joomla! Day Greece and he is a fantastic guy.
2012-08-16
Reviews: 7
Thank You for this Great Extensions We have been using it on our website icetheme.com. We are using the Pro version because we wanted to have the DropBox feature.

This is a must website for every Joomla project.

Again Thank you and keep up the good work...
2012-08-12
Reviews: 2
Congratulations for this job .Great component I've been using for a while now.
Great backup solution. Thank you to the developers!
2012-08-10
Reviews: 4
There's nothing I can say outside of everyone else here.

I use the software. My options work great: excluding some folders on a weekly backup. The restores I've done worked 100% and easily too.

This software is a must-have for any Joomla website.
2012-08-09
Reviews: 4
I use Akeeba backup since i began using joomla a couple of years ago. I use the PRO version now and i am 100% satisfied. Backup and restore management that helps me sleep well and save time! The Best extention for joomla i have ever tried ( i have tried a lot). Worth the money 120% but even the free version is a must have!
2012-08-08
Reviews: 1
After being hacked, I was searching for an efficient and good backup tool. AkeebaBackup is an investment, but more then worth it. After configuration, my site is now daily backed up and it uploads automatically to Box.net. Restoring your site is done in 5 minutes. Well done Nicholas!
2012-08-06
Reviews: 20
I decided to test akeebabackup that hard way, taking a live site and placing it onto a local WAMP server. Apart from having to create the new database everything went smoothly and a few clicks later I had the perfect clone on my pc.
The documentation is extensive as is the extension with it's help boxes. A must for every Joomla site.
2012-08-02
Reviews: 2
Works as desired, perfect usability!

Must-have component.
2012-07-29
Reviews: 2
I can believe how much hard work have you put in this great great component. This component is an essential part of Joomla, it strengthens the core of joomla and keep the developing environment safer.

Thanks very much Nicholas for your dedication.
2012-07-28
Reviews: 2
Whole process went smoothly - one click. Multilangual

Together with Akeeba Kickstart it is wonderful tool for backup and restoring whole site.

Must have tool!
2012-07-18
Reviews: 2
I just came to say this component has saved my life the past couple of years. I really don't know what I would do without it.

Im so thankful with the developers.
2012-07-15
Reviews: 3
I can't believe I've never gotten around to reviewing Akeeba before, still, here goes :

Brilliant. There's no other word for it.
Page 7 of 45