The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

rt
2012-12-27
Reviews: 1
I´m writing this thank you note for the developers, for this brilliant and easy to use backup and restoration solution. This is a must have extension to your site.
Wonderfully restored a live website in few minutes and saved me a lot of time trying to debug it.
Can´t believe it´s free to use !
2012-12-27
Reviews: 3
This is really a must-have extension. It saves you a lot of time and restore operation is really easy.
Congratulations to the developer|||
2012-12-23
Reviews: 17
Easy, excellent and complete.
It one of the pillars of my website. Thank you very much!
2012-12-15
Reviews: 2
A must have extension for any site. Just works.
2012-12-04
Reviews: 5
We all know that it's necessary to make back-ups of your website. Or at least, we we should all know that. Even if your hosting provider creates back-ups for you it's wise to do it yourself once in a while.

Akeeba Backup saves you time & hassle with creating back-ups of your website.

And with Akeeba's restore tool "kickstart.php" you can easily restore a backup. I'd also recommend to use that tool to create test environments on other (e.g. local) servers for testing purposes.

Recommended!
2012-12-02
Reviews: 4
Who doesn't know today Akeeba Backup?
Ignore it, is an enormous error and whatever the level of use of Joomla!
I use it for years now, and is a part of components which I install for any new project without asking me the question.
In fact: it is the FIRST component I install and execute before any the other action.
I don't understand how it's possible for not using it, this would be a madness!
Numerous very useful features, an intuitive use and a fast handling, an excellent support…
In brief, it is my N°1 !!!
2012-11-30
Reviews: 5
Not sure how we did without this. It goes into every site we build. We will soon be buying the Pro version, and look forward to many more years of excellence.
2012-11-30
Reviews: 11
Easy to use and ensures you have a site backup should anything happen to your site or for transferring to/from local or testing server.

A must have!
2012-11-29
Reviews: 7
Awesome extension!
This is must have for every joomla site. Every time when I install new joomla, immediately after that, I install the latest version of Akeeba Backup.

This extension saves me so much time. I love it so much!

I remember a couple of years ago, when joomla! 1.5 was in the begging we are dreaming for such fantastic tool!
2012-11-28
Reviews: 3
Amazing, a must extension for all Joomla users. Don't miss it.

I'm using to take backup to local web server. You feel very comfortable to mirror your site. Moving a site is a kindergarden project if you have akeeba backup.

Thanks to developers.
2012-11-19
Reviews: 3
Very good! It´s the most important pluing in Joomla aplication.... use it....
2012-11-17
Reviews: 14
This product has become an integral part of my base site components and will not build a site without it now. I am ordering the commercial version as I have used this free for long enough. This programmer needs a medal for the amount of time put in on this over the years. Don't only review this product but if like me you use it on more then one site, buy the commercial version and support the programmer.
2012-11-14
Reviews: 1
I've been backing up my sites with this extension since version 1.5. 5 stars all around!
2012-11-10
Reviews: 5
I would encourage anyone to get this. It's easy, great and in combination with kickstarter an amazingly usefull package.
2012-11-08
Reviews: 9
I've been using Akeeba since Joomla 1.5 in 4 different website, all works perfectly (I'm on 2.5.7 now). I had to change hosting twice, and Akeeba backup and Kickstart made my life very easy, had my website back in no time.
very easy to install, very user friendly.
Akeeba saved me couple of times, so I strongly recommend it to you
2012-11-07
Reviews: 3
Dozens of sites, always Akeeba Backup. Almost never fails and if it does the support and the documentation give you the solution at no time. This tool is incredible.

Thanks
2012-11-06
Reviews: 4
Not difficult to use, brings great sense of safety to me.
The "main site database" backup was my favorite. All you have to do is import the sql file via phpmyadmin and that makes the backup process lighter, you're amazing!
2012-11-06
Reviews: 8
If there was a Nobel Prize for Joomla extensions, this one would surely win!!

I've used Akeeba Backup for years on every single Joomla site I've built and it has never failed me once! If you're not sure whether or not to install this, LISTEN TO ME VERY CAREFULLY: THIS EXTENSION WILL SAVE YOUR HIDE!

I do not think there is another extension anywhere that will make you a HERO to your clients like this one! I would give Nicholas and company 10 stars if I could!

A full restore takes me less than 3 minutes and you can even have your backups sent to another server (take that you silly hackers!!) I've had clients severely mess up their site and I could restore it to how it was this morning in less time than it takes to even begin to figure out how to undo what they did! I've been hit by hackers (thanks to a exploit in another extension) and in no time the site was restored!

Please, do yourself a favor and install this extension and then send the guys at Akeeba some money! They truly deserve it!
2012-10-21
Reviews: 1
I'll keep it short: I would like to let everyone know that this extension saved me a lot of time and it's working really good. I never registrated any bug or unfunctionality. Great work and please keep up with this.
2012-10-11
Reviews: 9
This couldn't be any better and is actually one of the strongest reasons to use Joomla as your CMS. It is as professional as it gets - from interface to the way it functions. I have backed up and restored hundreds of sites with this extension with no issues. You just don't have problems with Akeeba extensions - they work and they are so well documented it is unbelievable. The PRO edition is definitely worth it with the automatic backup transfer to cloud storage providers. Thanks!
Page 7 of 46