The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Akeeba Backup Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Akeeba Backup Core is the successor to the now famous JoomlaPack component. In a nutshell, Akeeba Backup Core is an open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS, quite a bit different than its competition. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server. Its possibilities: endless. It creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. If you want a reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site, try it out.

Akeeba Backup has won the prestigious Administrator Only Extension J.O.S.C.A.R. Award at J and Beyond 2010. Download it for free to find out why.

Latest Joomla! 2.5/3.x only. We have older versions for past Joomla! 1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3.x versions on our site.

Features:

- It configures itself for optimal operation with your site. Just click on Configuration Wizard.
- One click backup.
- AJAX powered backup (site and database, database only, files only or incremental files only backup)
- The fastest native PHP backup engine.
- Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format
- able to exclude specific files, folders
- able to exclude specific database tables or their contents
- Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
- Backup using any cellphone made after 2007 with a web browser using our exclusive "Lite Mode" (including the cheapest Nokia and Sony Ericsson models!)
- AJAX powered site restoration
- "Kickstart" restore: restore without unpacking backup
- Move your site between hosts without downloading/uploading anything (using the DirectFTP backup engine)
- Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, Zend Server, etc).

and much much more!

Do not miss out the complimentary companion software (Akeeba Kickstart and Akeeba eXtract Wizard) which are available free of charge from our site. They make working with Akeeba Backup a breeze.

Note: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscriptionto request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION! ***

Report Extension

 

Images

 

CET
2012-07-12
Reviews: 11
Doing a backup with this tools is insanely easy! However, doing a restore with this tool is an annoying pain in the butt. There are other backup extensions that offer much more simple restore tools.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review. For the record, the restoration process is this:
1. upload your backup archive back to the site
2. upload kickstart.php on the site
3. access http://www.example.com/kickstart.php
4. Click the following big buttons: Start, Run the installer, Next, Next, OK, Next, Clean Up. All of them are the only option in their respective pages except the two Next buttons (there is a Back button too on those pages – but anyone can understand which one to click).

I honestly don't think it can get easier or faster than that, especially since the aforementioned procedure allows you to restore your site on any server, not just the one you backed up from (a huge difference from most competitive solutions).

If, however, you think that you have a suggestion for improvement within the realm of a plausible feature request please feel free to use the Contact Us page to provided your feedback instead of leaving an non-constructive review. FYI, if you are about to suggest for integrated restoration, that's already part of our commercial offering and we are very upfront about it on our site, having a page which compares features between the free and commercial releases.

2012-07-12
Reviews: 3
Man who build sites without this great component.

I think far out the best code writhing and documentation i found.

Thanks anyway
2012-07-10
Reviews: 10
Very easy to backup and restore a website using Akeeba Backup. Thank you!
2012-07-07
Reviews: 3
The scary thing about a backup system is that you never really know if it's going to work until you really, really need it. In this case, Akeeba came through with flying colors. Followed the instructions, loaded kickstart, and within a few minutes my site was back up. Wonderful. Thank you!
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review!

I agree that untested backups are scary. In fact, my mantra is that an untested backup is worth as having no backup. That's why I ask people to test their backups, at least every time they make a major change on their sites.

Testing your backups is very easy. You can use XAMPP, MAMP, WAMPServer, Zend Server CE or any other pre-packaged local server environment to create a fully functional web server running off your local computer in seconds, without any specialised knowledge. You can then use Kickstart to extract the archive and restore it on this local testing server.

For more information you can take a look in our Quick Start Guide. If you ever get stuck during restoration, just go to our site's Documentation, Troubleshooting section where 99% of your questions are readily answered with detailed troubleshooting instructions.

2012-07-06
Reviews: 5
No comments only i can say, Greatest joomla extension i have ever seen.
2012-06-27
Reviews: 2
All my backups run smooth, very simple, install the component, do the backup, download it, go to the other server, upload the kickstart and the backup, launch the kickstart and follow instructions!
2012-06-23
Reviews: 9
Firstly it backs up. Useful, but there are other manual ways. Still a lot faster. Then it can back up to remote places such as Amazon S3. More useful, and probably more secure. Plus... contingency.

And now, it can backup a dev site, and transfer it to a live site without screwing it up. You can tell it not to overwrite usertables, comments or forum posts. Now that's EXACTLY what you need.

His tutorials are well written too.
2012-06-16
Reviews: 3
One-click backups make this extension so easy to use that you'll have no excuse to not use it. Easy to use restore scripts will get your site back up in no time. I love having the ability to take my most current backup file and have a current copy of my site running on a dev server in minutes.
2012-06-13
Reviews: 5
Today Akeeba Backup saved me from disaster, and saved my business as well. After my host "betrayed" me and messed up my entire business website (ruined files, permissions, everything destroyed), and after everything else had failed, restoring my latest backup created by Akeeba Backup not only restored my website to perfection, but it did it so well as if disaster had never happened. It even fixed the file permissions that were completely ruined by my host. A COMPLETE TIME-MACHINE! I couldn't be happier.

Also, at some point I needed to ask a question and submitted a ticket to Nicholas. He not only replied back to me very fast, but he actually finished the process for me down to the last detail.

For as long as I have an online business or any other website, i will be using Akeeba backup for my backups. The process is so smooth that is hard to believe, and the result can bring you tears of happiness after escaping disaster. Nicholas, today you and your software saved me and my business. I am eternally grateful, and wish you all the best.
2012-06-11
Reviews: 1
I am very new to Joomla, and the regular backup needs is new to me. I am so grateful that Akeeba is there to help me. I have backed up several of my sites with it, and have had to restore as I've been building the sites. The process is painless and trustworthy. Thank you Akeeba!
2012-06-11
Reviews: 3
I have used Akeeba Backup and most of its functions including backup and with Kickstart. This extension is easy to use, and doesn't take a lot of brain power. In conjuction with Admin Tools both are excellent tools to have in your Joomla. The only way to misuse these tools is to not read.
2012-06-05
Reviews: 11
I never used any other extension for backup purpose. Not even the full version. The free version alone is enough for my backup and restore need.
Thanks to the developer for offering so much for free.
Owner's reply

You're welcome! It's a great pleasure knowing that even the free version can help people secure their sites with backups. That's why we want to give out so much for free :)

2012-06-04
Reviews: 5
Life just got so much simpler to backup, restore or move sites, content and databases.
2012-06-03
Reviews: 2
Let me start by saying that for some this is probably a very good and useful extension, however it may not be in all cases.
I wanted a simple way to backup a Joomla site, and so I installed Akeeba. This was the free version. I have a dedicated server which I was replacing so having set up the new server I ftp'd all the files etc across , great it all worked. The site had also been backed up using Akeeba before the move just in case. The site worked all was good until a problem appeared. Not a problem as I had an backup from Akeeba prior to the move that i could just install so away I went.
I followed the manual, I got Kickstart I tried to use it, I got lots of error messages most about it couldn't create this file, I tred different chmods inc 777 which i hate as it can leave a system open and still errors, i even tried creating files maunally and assigning 777 just so I knew they were full read and writable. Still no joy, after ages looking at the manual and how to's forums and all manner of sites mentioning Akeeba, i finally had to admit defeat.
Akeeba does have another route to restore though so I thought ok lets use that. I did and I got an interface where it allowed an install of files and database. I used it I restored my site, except when trying to access the site after all i got was code 500 error messages, both front and backend. The site was unaccessable. I turned of this that and the other in the database and still nothing.
Since then I have found that the plugins part of the database had errors and that login details were also corrupted.
The problems have resulted in my slowly rebuilding the site, and once all features are reinstalled I will manually compare database table information and import information a bit at a time backing up along the way so i can reverse something if needed.
Akeeba did not work for me and the backup obviously had flaws as it was taken from a fully operational site. I am an experienced computer user and not a novice. In future the easiest route for me will be to upload and create the site then once created backup the files. As Joomla is driven by the database and it is the database that controls everything it is then just a matter of backing that up regularly on its own. I can then just simply restore the files and the most recent database, only time to backup the files would be after an update as if nothing changes they don't need to be touched.
Some tools can help, but if this experience has taught me anything, do not rely on them if it is mission critical, rely on yourself.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review, but I have to strongly disagree to each and every of its points because they are misinformed, misguided, unfounded allegations or just plain wrong. You didn't follow the documentation, despite your assurances to the cotrary, and you didn't ask for support. The tool did what you told it to do, which wasn't what you meant to do because you couldn't diagnose an unrelated problem with your database. Let me take your points one be one.

"I followed the manual […] I tred different chmods inc 777"
In other words you didn't follow the manual which tells you that you need to use Kickstart's FTP mode and NEVER give 0777 permissions! Please remember that I've written an article which is called "777: The number of the beast". If my documentation told you to give 777 permissions to files so that you can write to them I'd commit harakiri without a second thought. It does tell you that you may have to give a temporary directory 0777 permissions and delete it after the restoration is over, but you didn't try that.

"all i got was code 500 error messages, both front and backend. The site was unaccessable. I turned of this that and the other in the database and still nothing."
So you still didn't read the documentation. FYI, our post-restoration troubleshooting page: https://www.akeebabackup.com/documentation/troubleshooter/prbasicts.html Furthermore, "turning off this that and the other" is not part of our instructions. These are –presumambly wrong and unrealted– things you tried, i.e. shotgun debugging to a problem you didn't care to frame adequately in order to solve. As becomes apparent further down the 500 errors were due to issues on your database which are unrelated to the backup and restoration.

"Since then I have found that the plugins part of the database had errors and that login details were also corrupted."
So far this doesn't sound like a problem related to my component. It sounds like you had a crashed table (the plugins table). Overwriting a crashed table is not possible. You have to repair the table first and then try to overwrite it, e.g. by doing a site restoration. Regarding the login details, you are asked for a new password when restoring your site. But of course you would have known HAD YOU READ THE DOCUMENTATION. OK, maybe you've read the documentation. But there's a huge difference between sifting thorugh a document and *reading* it. Sifting through it gives you the illusion that you know what you're doing. Reading it gets you to follow its instructions. Huge difference indeed.

"I am an experienced computer user and not a novice."
I am an experienced driver and not a novice. This doesn't mean I can drive a truck. Are you an experienced PHP developer who knows how Joomla! works? Did you ask for my support before concluding that something in my software "obviously had flaws"? For all I know, you had a corrupt database table and just couldn't diagnose it. Your random attempts seem to have included rebuilding the database, in which case you simply got over the problem because you got rid of the crashed table.

"As Joomla is driven by the database and it is the database that controls everything it is then just a matter of backing that up regularly on its own."
I could begin to comment in how many ways this statement is false, but I digress. Just don't state you personal opinion as a fact. It may be misleading to people reading this.

"Some tools can help, but if this experience has taught me anything, do not rely on them if it is mission critical, rely on yourself."
So yo got your free tool, you didn't do your due dilligence to test the backup before disaster stroke, you didn't follow the documentation (even though you falsely imply that you did and as a result you tried doing something as insecure as using 0777 permissions), you didn't read the troubleshooting guide, you didn't ask for support and somehow you decided that the tool is broken. Obviously the other 1160 users who gave it five star reviews are on my payroll. I rest my case.

People, we have a support service for a reason. For 7.79 Euros you could have asked for my support and I would, as with all similar cases, have provided support directly on your server. It would have saved you all the effort and dispel any doubts as to what was really going on. Think about it. 7.79 Euros versus God knows how many hours you wasted doing uncorrelated actions which ultimately lead you to rebuilding your site for absolutely no good reason.

2012-05-31
Reviews: 1
Akeeba Backup made it simple and easy for me to do what i needed to do. The Best Joomla Extension i have ever used. Easy to install and run.

All for Free!
2012-05-30
Reviews: 10
A week or so ago I wrote a poor review (still awaiting approval!), but since then I've been working on Akeeba - reading the documentation, etc. and I'm really pleased to say that I've got a successful backup which I've restored to my PC (under XAMPP) using Kickstart.
The main problem I've had is that Akeeba won't back up my jpg image files or mp4 video files, so I've had to create a mirror image of their folders on my PC (by downloading by ftp) and then copying to those folders under XAMPP. The localhost version of my web site now works well.
I would have classed this product as excellent if the backup had included the image and video folders.
If you're happy to work with this Backup Extension then it does what it claims.
2012-05-28
Reviews: 3
Every site i install this great extension first. It's realy a 'must have' for each
2012-05-26
Reviews: 8
Akeeba backup is the second extension I install on any site I build.
I lost a large (around 1000 articles) site a few years ago because I did not have a proper backup system in place. I am self taught and need an extension that is fairly simple to understand, configure and use.
Akeeba Backup fulfills all that and more. I have used it to migrate from host to host, restore after completley stuffing up migrations of joomla versions, after a site was hacked. Most of the sites I make are for non-profit clubs so I do noit get paid for my time and it is great to have access to such a brilliant extension for no cost.
2012-05-22
Reviews: 4
Akeeba is obviously a highly popular component - it really is a fantastic product!

I've been using Akeeba for the last few years and it's never let me down.

Recently, I was looking into some advanced functions and needed the support of the Akeeba developers.

Quite simply they were amazing; very quick to respond and knew everything I needed.

Highly recommended!
2012-05-10
Reviews: 2
Just downloaded and installed AKEEBA. Backed up my site, and was able to restore it (using AKEEBA Kickstart) in less than 10 minutes to a different server. Site and admin end are working 100% as if nothing ever happened. Thanks Nick for s GREAT job
Page 9 of 46