The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


XCloner-Backup and Restore Popular Component

Full Backup and Restore extension for Joomla and not only.

XCloner is a Backup and Restore component designed for Joomla! The purpose is to give users possibility to clone their Joomla installation and move it over the internet on any location!

XCloner 3.0 is a Joomla native extension as well as a standalone backup application!

XCloner can also be used as a standalone backup utility for any PHP/MYSQL site, so it can backup other sites running on Wordpress, Drupal and so on.

Features:

- Create full or partial backups based on your input
- Create simple or compressed backups based on your configuration input
- Possibility to create incremental backups, so you avoid the time limit problems on php script executions
- Possibility to exclude directory and files from the backup, manually or through cron settings(AJAX powered)
- Create backups based on a cron task, created backups can be stored on the local server, remotely through ftp or emailed to a custom email account
- Possibility to run multiple cronjobs, based on different configuration files
- Ability to manage existing backups, rename/delete/move, publish to user frontend for sharing
- Possibility to clone any backup to another location, it can be done automatically by using the server ftp function or manually
- Send Backups to the Amazon S3 service
- Configuration area lets you choose on how to generate backups based on your server possibilities
- You can choose to create backups by using only PHP, or by also using some server utilities to speed things up
- Backup split option for systems with file size limitations
- Incremental database backups for large databases
- Send backup to the cloud, Amazon S3 supported


Restore Features:

- The generated clone of XCloner can be restored on a totally different server, with new server and mysql details
- Restore both simple and compressed archives
- Restore script is independent from the main component and Joomla and can be run on any host
- Full restore of a clone made with XCloner
- Ability to restore the original files and directories permissions
- Automatic re-write of the new host settings to the configuration file
- Ability to import the clone using either a ftp simulated sessions, or direct restore through php
- Possibility to exclude database from importing
- Ability to restore multiple clones to different locations, and also restore multiple database backups from the same clone

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2006-07-04
Reviews: 1
Support was top rate via email, and was required more because of my shortcomings rather than the software, but it is easy to use. Think i was having a bad day. It is also so fast to replicate a site. The alternative; downloading a backup with phpmyadmin or mysql administrator, ftp a new joomla to new location, overwrite the new db with the backup db, takes a few minutes. With this its done in seconds.
2006-06-28
Reviews: 1
Bought the component only yesterday in view of the upgrade to Joomla! 1.0.10.
Backup works perfect and the cloning feature as well. The only problem I encountered was cloning a site to a server with different PHP and MySQL configuration. But support from Joomlaplug was perfect. I got the answers to my questions faster than I could test it out.
Worth every penny for sure.
2006-06-11
Reviews: 1
I have tried many other backup components but I was never satisfied with the many steps. Now I have to do so much less steps to create a backup and to restore is.
This product is indeed very good, and it's worth every penny!
2006-06-09
Reviews: 3
I had a lot of problems in the past. Every time I made something wrong it was to late. After 100 crashes I decide to have backup. But for proper backup you have to do a lot of steps. When I saw "JoomlaCloner" I start to think about it. When I installed it on my website, I was happy as I can be. I still can't believe. Backup for 15 seconds - it is amazing. Clone feature it's also relieve for webadmins. Now I have test environment where I try everything before I do anything. With JoomlaCloner I don't worry I can do something wrong and crash my website again.

Many thanks for great work.
2006-05-23
Reviews: 1
I bought this tool to use on a customer site, to automate backups daily.

All I can say is it's worth every penny: Well worth the investment.
2006-05-04
Reviews: 1
This component simplifies the process for backing up your Joomla! site. The ability to use crontab to automate the process and to send the backups to a remote FTP site is excellent. It is very straightforward to set up and use.

I initially had problems getting certain parts to work correctly. The developer was very responsive and helpful to get the issues corrected. I really appreciated the quick respsonse time for support.
2006-04-25
Reviews: 1
the component will prevent the 500 error if you use the cron script to generate backups! If your provider sets the limit of the max_execution_time the script will get you an error as any other php script that needs time to do it's process!

Hope it asnwered your question fabs
2006-04-25
Reviews: 1
Initially had some trouble getting this to work on our site but got an immediate reply when I posted the error details and they looked at our site and sorted it straight away for us - very much appreciated!

Is really simple to use & much faster than our old way of doing backups which if I'm honest wasn't very often so we desperately needed this!!
2006-04-24
Reviews: 5
i asked this via email already but there was no response from the devs:
will the component prevent a 500 internal server error or timeout if my provider has set memory limits for executing scripts by stopping and reinitiating the script in intervals?
i would be happy to buy if it prevents this as so far there is no alternative backup tool.
2006-04-23
Reviews: 52
Just what we have been looking for. A way to replicate J! installs for new customer installations.
2006-04-23
Reviews: 5
too bad it is commercial license..
in about 3 months as far as i know there will be a revamped and much extended version of bigape backup which is for free!
will be worth to compare the two then! bigape will probably not offer the cloning and user frontend installation function though..:(
Page 10 of 10