The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


XCloner-Backup and Restore Popular Component

Full Backup and Restore extension for Joomla and not only.

XCloner is a Backup and Restore component designed for Joomla! The purpose is to give users possibility to clone their Joomla installation and move it over the internet on any location!

XCloner 3.0 is a Joomla native extension as well as a standalone backup application!

XCloner can also be used as a standalone backup utility for any PHP/MYSQL site, so it can backup other sites running on Wordpress, Drupal and so on.

Features:

- Create full or partial backups based on your input
- Create simple or compressed backups based on your configuration input
- Possibility to create incremental backups, so you avoid the time limit problems on php script executions
- Possibility to exclude directory and files from the backup, manually or through cron settings(AJAX powered)
- Create backups based on a cron task, created backups can be stored on the local server, remotely through ftp or emailed to a custom email account
- Possibility to run multiple cronjobs, based on different configuration files
- Ability to manage existing backups, rename/delete/move, publish to user frontend for sharing
- Possibility to clone any backup to another location, it can be done automatically by using the server ftp function or manually
- Send Backups to the Amazon S3 service
- Configuration area lets you choose on how to generate backups based on your server possibilities
- You can choose to create backups by using only PHP, or by also using some server utilities to speed things up
- Backup split option for systems with file size limitations
- Incremental database backups for large databases
- Send backup to the cloud, Amazon S3 supported


Restore Features:

- The generated clone of XCloner can be restored on a totally different server, with new server and mysql details
- Restore both simple and compressed archives
- Restore script is independent from the main component and Joomla and can be run on any host
- Full restore of a clone made with XCloner
- Ability to restore the original files and directories permissions
- Automatic re-write of the new host settings to the configuration file
- Ability to import the clone using either a ftp simulated sessions, or direct restore through php
- Possibility to exclude database from importing
- Ability to restore multiple clones to different locations, and also restore multiple database backups from the same clone

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-03-28
Reviews: 2
What a great solution to cloning and backups . Previously i used to joompack,but as Joomla keeps moving the posts so quickly with new versions, it became obsolete, in addition for me it got too complicated & too expensive as my previous solution went commercial; this is simple easy and Free! I love open source and its developers. Hats off to the developer. Anyone who is going to use this, take out the time to read the instructions carefully, it isn’t hard and the instructions are well written. Making a clone, moving your site or reusing your hard work is easy and free, no strings attached.

Great work!
2012-03-25
Reviews: 3
That's it just one word
"FANTASTIC"
Surprised after all this time Joomla does not have this feature in initial install.
2012-03-12
Reviews: 2
I have previously used Akeeba backup, an, whilst it was good it was just getting more and more complicated and I was getting errors with my cloud hoster that I couldn't overcome.

Xcloner was the answer - It just works brilliantly! It's easy to install and it's just one click to backup and one click to recover.

First class software as it should be!

Highly recommended! :)
2012-03-07
Reviews: 2
Wow, what I can say is "five stars", Simple, easy, and it does all my needs~!
2012-02-23
Reviews: 5
This is a top-notch extension!

I use it to move development sites to a production server when the client is happy.

Easy to install, easy to use ... nothing more to say really.

Well done.
2012-02-13
Reviews: 8
Ok guys. Now we have long awaiting app for all serious web-aces. Some hosters has QuickInstall script for fast Joomla install. Imagine that you have supa-cool setup package for all your sites. One for all. With K2, sh404, OSE and other "bla-bla-bla" aplications. Imagine? Let me introduce XCLONER. Absolutely unbelievable script. Install any app for reference site and clone and clone it via ftp. Save hundreds of hours. One click - one site, with tons of components, templates,config files etc etc etc. Really must have. Donate to this guy for Xcloner development if you can. He is a hero.
2012-02-09
Reviews: 1
It's works OK, but don't rewrite SQL tables if it's already exists. Better then Akeeba which don't work with SQL if it's have not standart port.
Owner's reply

If you check the "Add DROP Syntax" when generating a backup, it will help in replacing existing tables on restore...

That option is disabled by default, but it can easily be checked

Aly
2012-01-12
Reviews: 4
This is amazing! Such an easy way to backup/migrate/move my Joomla! site for testing, upgrading, relocating. I hit a few snags due to server oddities, but the forums answered my questions easily. Am amazed to have moved my entire site -- fully intact -- to a new server with all links & images and everything fully functional.
2012-01-07
Reviews: 1
Works as advertised! No glitches, all was very clear and I can't stress how much it impressed me. KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK.... JOE
2011-12-09
Reviews: 4
There are no words enough to describe such an Extension, Its so user friendly and straight forward but yet so powerful.. Keep up the good work and yes The best i have ever used
2011-11-21
Reviews: 2
Thank you for this service its just awesome!!! Works like a breeze, cloned my one site to many sub-domains and just changed the names :) saved me hours of work, and the backup works great!!! Thank YOU!! for this service :)
2011-11-19
Reviews: 3
I used this component to move a development Joomla web site to its production location (on a different web host) and it worked great! My only issue was having to manually update the configuration.php file with the correct production URL (it used the server's host name instead) but besides that, it cut my migration time in half. Fantastic time saver!

Keep up the good work.
2011-09-20
Reviews: 3
This is very very good!
I loved Akeeba and it saved my life many times but Xcloner sounds esyer, more detailed and stable.
Thanks for your work!
2011-09-18
Reviews: 2
I have used Akeeba with great success in the past and it is not my intent to slam a good product. I've just been struggling without resolve for a week getting it installed on a new site. XCloner installed quickly and was running my backup in 5 minutes. Thank you for a great alternative.
2011-09-06
Reviews: 1
I switched from Akeeba to XCloner after problems with Akeeba. The switch didn't happen without first trying to correct the problems I had with Akeeba. After routing out info from the Akeeba forums and testing various solutions I an glad to say I found XCloner.

I haven't done a full evaluation of the extension yet but the feature I have used are solid, easy to use and remarkable slick.

Installing was simple and even with a low maximum upload limit to my server XCloner installed without having to unpack it fully and FTP it to the tmp directory before installing, it just installed straight from the archive file.

After Xclone was installed on the Virtual Shared Server it worked right out of the box without having to workout any configuration conflicts.

Personally, after using Akeeba for a year on various other installtions, I think its become to complicated, takes to long to back your site up and has become to clever for its own good.

XCloner feels smooth simple and does a great job of backing up your Joomla. I've not tried using a backup to reinstall a Joomla yet but after using XCloner for a month or two I have confidence that the easy slick functionality will continue once I get the opportunity to use it to install from backup files.

In terms of Pros, its solid, easy to use etc as I have said. I haven't found any Cons yet.

The performance of XCloner is supa, really quick to back up vast databases and large collections of files.

Not tested out how the level of support compares to other backup extensions. I'm hoping never have to find this out.

My level of experience with Joomla and web technologies extense to 15 years with web tech and 6 years with Joomla.

XCloner, absolutely solid extension.
2011-08-12
Reviews: 1
Excellent tool. Can be setup for simple manual backups as well as automatic cron jobs moving backups to a remote FTP site.
2011-07-31
Reviews: 3
Fits my needs. Simple. Easy to setup. Easy to control.

Does what it says.

Im a happy user and webmaster that can sleep well knowing I always have a backup outside my Joomla installation.
2011-07-16
Reviews: 6
Fast, easy, great. Best backup extension I ever tried!
2011-06-19
Reviews: 1
Just installed and used this extension for the first time. Amazing. Install worked perfect. Interface is clean and easy to use, but offers a comprehensive view of the config and options. Use is simple, complete and just plain works.
This extension is crazy good.
Thanks for the excellent software.
2011-06-14
Reviews: 12
I'm a site builder and I use this extension on all of my sites.
Page 3 of 10