The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


XCloner-Backup and Restore Popular Component

Full Backup and Restore extension for Joomla and not only.

XCloner is a Backup and Restore component designed for Joomla! The purpose is to give users possibility to clone their Joomla installation and move it over the internet on any location!

XCloner 3.0 is a Joomla native extension as well as a standalone backup application!

XCloner can also be used as a standalone backup utility for any PHP/MYSQL site, so it can backup other sites running on Wordpress, Drupal and so on.

Features:

- Create full or partial backups based on your input
- Create simple or compressed backups based on your configuration input
- Possibility to create incremental backups, so you avoid the time limit problems on php script executions
- Possibility to exclude directory and files from the backup, manually or through cron settings(AJAX powered)
- Create backups based on a cron task, created backups can be stored on the local server, remotely through ftp or emailed to a custom email account
- Possibility to run multiple cronjobs, based on different configuration files
- Ability to manage existing backups, rename/delete/move, publish to user frontend for sharing
- Possibility to clone any backup to another location, it can be done automatically by using the server ftp function or manually
- Send Backups to the Amazon S3 service
- Configuration area lets you choose on how to generate backups based on your server possibilities
- You can choose to create backups by using only PHP, or by also using some server utilities to speed things up
- Backup split option for systems with file size limitations
- Incremental database backups for large databases
- Send backup to the cloud, Amazon S3 supported


Restore Features:

- The generated clone of XCloner can be restored on a totally different server, with new server and mysql details
- Restore both simple and compressed archives
- Restore script is independent from the main component and Joomla and can be run on any host
- Full restore of a clone made with XCloner
- Ability to restore the original files and directories permissions
- Automatic re-write of the new host settings to the configuration file
- Ability to import the clone using either a ftp simulated sessions, or direct restore through php
- Possibility to exclude database from importing
- Ability to restore multiple clones to different locations, and also restore multiple database backups from the same clone

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2010-05-28
Reviews: 10
I've been using this since 2007 and it is a component I install right away on any new development. I have never had any issues with this and have cloned/moved MANY sites with it. Anytime I run into a snag the developer goes over and above to be sure everything is working. HIGHLY recommend this one!
2010-05-13
Reviews: 2
I am a very regular user with an OK Joomla experience but not trained in IT and I am sorry to say that this program for me is in no way succeeded for me to get to work. So if you're not above average user of IT, I can not recommend you to use this program!

I have now spent over 5 hours to find out of it without any success! So it most be for them there is something better than I, sow you will have to be an expert!
Owner's reply

We are very sorry for your experience, but you should get in touch with us to help you with the issues you have, we do have online documentation and our support team usually is pretty responsive to all requests

Regards, Ovidiu

2010-05-07
Reviews: 36
A must have if you want backup or move web sites quickly.
2010-03-30
Reviews: 2
this extensions is a must. It saves me hours.

EXCELLENT COMPOSANT AND EXCELLENT SUPPORT !!!

strongly recommended if you have many sites to move around different servers company
2010-03-24
Reviews: 1
I use XCloner (1.9) a lot and think it is great. What I did was take the time to create a "master" Joomla site with all the components, modules, plugins and templates installed and configured. Then, I configured everything I use often so my one "master site" is set up just the way I want it. Then, when I make a new site, I run the restore script, point it to the master site that I cloned, and within minutes my new site is up and running. No need to manually install everything from scratch. That is a huge time saver that alone is worth its weight in gold. But, I also use it to move all my development sites from my internal development server (Windows based) to my production hosted server (Linux based) and that process is quick also. It takes a little longer than creating the new clones of my "master site" only because you have to FTP the huge zip file to the hosted server. That is unavoidable though and has nothing to do with this. So, I can deploy a site to production in about an hour including file transfer time, and I can clone an internal development site in about 20 minutes.

It took me a little time to really master things, but once I did, I figure I have saved literally hundreds of hours in the past few months by cloning sites instead of creating them from scratch each time. It is much quicker to clone a site then customize it, trust me, I have done it both ways many times, and I will never go back to the old way.

Thanks for a great product!!
2010-02-19
Reviews: 2
Very good part, works perfect and also the support, you can set a support ticket whenever you like. Answers are commin within 10 to 15 minutes! Buy it!
2009-12-16
Reviews: 1
This component was just what I needed to keep my site working properly, A very nice component with a lot of potential. Nice and neat, does the work right out of the box. With the new features with fixed articles, choice from section and category and the ability to force rotation and restore original frontpage it´s impressive
2009-11-26
Reviews: 1
To be honest, I had a very difficult time moving my site, but the tech contact at this vendor did everything within his power to help me. His response times were amazing. We exchanged emails at the rate of a chat window. He jumped in and dealt with my Linux hosting account, moved files around, and really went well beyond the call of duty to help me. This is the best $77 bucks I've spent since I started working with Joomla, and probably the hardest he has had to work to earn a loyal customer.

I am confident that someone without the challenges I had with two different hosting companies would have a much easier time of it, but without hesitation I wholeheartedly recommend this vendor and this product.
2009-10-13
Reviews: 4
I have taken on several projects that require me to develop sites in one location and then move to final server upon completion. The first one I did by hand....... The second I did using XCloner (JoomlaCloner). I love this extension. It was almost $80 USD but worth every penny.

I just wish there was better documentation and EXAMPLES..... but other than that it was fantastic.
2009-06-04
Reviews: 1
I was running out of time to get a site cloned and running on a new server and was getting desperate, so i decided to invest in Joomla Cloner and its definitely worth the price, as it saved me a lot of time and money.

Very easy to use, just follow the prompts, sit back, relax and let this application do all the backing up and restoration for you.

Definitely a life saver and a must for all your Joomla website backups.
2009-02-10
Reviews: 3
I've been using this component for ages.

JoomlaCloner on my 1.0.x sites and now Xcloner for my 1.5.x sites.

It does exactly what is says on the tin, unable to fault it.
2009-01-26
Reviews: 6
bought the full version for all my sites.
Set up cron job (on the server host)
and it runs like it says on the tin!

Easy, simple, powerfull!

A must have for big to small sites!
2008-12-30
Reviews: 1
My IT guys have been utterly unresponsive, and yet I needed to clone a site immediately. Problem: I'm not very technically savvy.

Using XCloner, I was able to backup a site, then clone+move it to another website! Perfect. Many thanks!
2008-10-16
Reviews: 1
I purchased this component and then after the fact decided I was better off using their "Site move service". They switched it over no problem and took care of moving my site in less than an hour. Great service and very helpful.
2008-10-01
Reviews: 1
I have to agree with what everyone else is saying here. As good as the tool is, all those database and FTP connections can get a little tricky. When I needed help, it was there so I am happy. Also makes site owners feel safe when I can tell them to download their own copies of their websites (in case I get hit by a bus).
2008-10-01
Reviews: 1
This is one of best Joomla components we use. The technical support is simply outstanding. We have invested in many components and have found Joomlaplug's support to be "off the chart" good. Their response time and thoroughness is the best I've seen. If you run a commercial Joomla site and want "peace of mind", this is phenomenal value. When I'm asked for recommendations for the essential Joomla extensions, this one's at the top of my list.
2008-08-28
Reviews: 6
I've had this extension for awhile now and I thought it was great, but today I discovered how to REALLY get so much more out of it:

I set up a cron job in my cpanel for the first time - it was much easier than I expected. I had always avoided the crontab, thinking it was too complicated.

Put this in the cron's "command to run":
php /home/[MYPATH]/public_html/administrator/components/com_xcloner/cloner.cron.php

replacing [MYPATH] with yours.

The cron job runs JoomlaCloner every night, which creates a backup file and ftp's the file to another server.

So now I can have all the Joomla sites I manage run a daily backup and transfer it off the live server to another server that's used for storing backups.

You can set it to delete backups that are older than xx days.
2008-08-24
Reviews: 2
This is a great extension and worth every penny. Great for just backups... Clones and moves perfectly. With all extensions, sometimes we can't get it to work for us, but the support for this extension is OUTSTANDING. So if you are worried, don't be... it works!!
2008-08-19
Reviews: 1
I had some initial problems using JoomlaCloner due partly to my own stupidity and my host being unresponsive and not all that caring. Ovidiu stayed with me trhough the process of getting everything sussed out and I do not think I would have gotten through it without the excellent support. The bottom line is that JoomlaCloner is well supported and that is a rare thing these days. A+
2008-08-15
Reviews: 4
I left JoomlaPack for this and i've been very pleased this is possibly the best backup software for Joomla by far, i only had one issue with Firefox though i hope 2.1 can cure this issue, it's not a big deal as i can always just log in using IE7 but im an Avid Firefox fan, i wish developers develop around firefox more, More and more people are using firefox, i've ran a script on my site recently that shows me all the browsers users are using and about 88% are using Mozilla 2.1+ I think the IE Revolution is over.
Page 5 of 10