The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


XCloner-Backup and Restore Popular Component

Full Backup and Restore extension for Joomla and not only.

XCloner is a Backup and Restore component designed for Joomla! The purpose is to give users possibility to clone their Joomla installation and move it over the internet on any location!

XCloner 3.0 is a Joomla native extension as well as a standalone backup application!

XCloner can also be used as a standalone backup utility for any PHP/MYSQL site, so it can backup other sites running on Wordpress, Drupal and so on.

Features:

- Create full or partial backups based on your input
- Create simple or compressed backups based on your configuration input
- Possibility to create incremental backups, so you avoid the time limit problems on php script executions
- Possibility to exclude directory and files from the backup, manually or through cron settings(AJAX powered)
- Create backups based on a cron task, created backups can be stored on the local server, remotely through ftp or emailed to a custom email account
- Possibility to run multiple cronjobs, based on different configuration files
- Ability to manage existing backups, rename/delete/move, publish to user frontend for sharing
- Possibility to clone any backup to another location, it can be done automatically by using the server ftp function or manually
- Send Backups to the Amazon S3 service
- Configuration area lets you choose on how to generate backups based on your server possibilities
- You can choose to create backups by using only PHP, or by also using some server utilities to speed things up
- Backup split option for systems with file size limitations
- Incremental database backups for large databases
- Send backup to the cloud, Amazon S3 supported


Restore Features:

- The generated clone of XCloner can be restored on a totally different server, with new server and mysql details
- Restore both simple and compressed archives
- Restore script is independent from the main component and Joomla and can be run on any host
- Full restore of a clone made with XCloner
- Ability to restore the original files and directories permissions
- Automatic re-write of the new host settings to the configuration file
- Ability to import the clone using either a ftp simulated sessions, or direct restore through php
- Possibility to exclude database from importing
- Ability to restore multiple clones to different locations, and also restore multiple database backups from the same clone

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2008-08-05
Reviews: 1
I am a newbie to Joomla and purchased XCloner about a week ago. Installed Joomla v1.53 on localhost along with EXtplorer, JCE and a commercial template from Joomlart. It took me about 2 hrs fiddling with the program first time to clone (yes exact clone) from localhost to remote server all in about 20 minutes.

I then upgraded to Joomlav 1.55 on local host and XCloned the entire site to remote server like above.

Yes i am quite impressed with this program as it will save me hours of time lost. My aim was to do all the work on local host and clone it to remote server without the hassel of reinstall/reconfig.
2008-08-04
Reviews: 1
This piece of software is worth every penny. I just purchased it this afternoon, had a problem with installing, but thanks to excellent support this was solved within half an hour. Without going through difficult procedures, I was able to duplicate my site (1.5 Gb) to another server within 2 hours, all automatically done by JoomlaCloner.

Highly recommended!!
2008-07-18
Reviews: 3
This is one of THE best extensions available money can buy.
Support is also excellent. I highly recommend this product if you don't want to go through the hassle of making a backup of your site via cPanel, but instead prefer a quick and easy way!
2008-06-25
Reviews: 2
Very easy component to use. I had a few problems setting it up and getting it to work with remository but Ovidiu's support was absolutely first class.

He was very helpful throughout and responded to all my queries almost instantly.

Highly recommended.
2008-06-23
Reviews: 2
What to say? The product is awesome. Just does what it promises. And more than the product, it is the customer service. Very fast and helpful!! 5 stars!!!!
2008-05-27
Reviews: 1
I needed something to backup my site and I did. Like every other day I made a new backup. I never really needed it... untill that one time. I messed up my website and I had to restore it. But I couldn't work that either, yet, nothing to worry about! I send an email to Joomla Plug staff and they restored the site for me immediately!! Definitely best customer service I ever saw!
2008-05-21
Reviews: 12
I will admin, I am horrible at maintaining backups. But XCloner has taken that worry away from me. After testing out the demo, I immediately purchased a full version of this software.

Now, both my Joomla site and my forum get backed up nightly at Midnight. Thanks for the awesome work!
2008-04-20
Reviews: 3
Better than I expected. Does cost a bit but worth the money. Very easy to use. Allows you to backup and or move a complete Joomla site about as easily as possible. I just moved a customer's new 1.5 site from one server to another and it worked flawlessly! Everything works perfectly including the other add on modules. If you want to save time and worry and especially if you have money riding on a Joomla installation you will want to have this. Also note: new version is being designed to allow use with most any PHP MySQL CMS. So if you work with Drupal, XOOPS, CMS Made Simple you may well be able to use it with those as well, check it out.
2008-04-18
Reviews: 1
The title says it all. Believe the hype. This component is easy and awesome to use. The learning curve is about 5 minutes. Longlive JOOMLACLONER!
2008-04-12
Reviews: 2
Now this is what I'm talking about!

Easy to use, easy to install, great instructions - done!

This is one extension you don't want to cheap out on! I had this module installed and running in about 1/2 hour, including reading the instructions.

I bought the lifetime support, and this is something I will never regret.
2008-04-02
Reviews: 2
I'm a total Joomla and php noob and this is an excellent piece of software for people like me that is very easy to use. I had a problem moving a site across hosts and sent in a support ticket. I got an answer within 3 minutes and they solved my problem for me within 15, even though it was actually nothing to do with their product. Well worth every cent.
2008-03-22
Reviews: 4
XCloner beta (which is the new name for JoomlaCloner). It allowed me to design my new 1.5 homepage in a test-environment and then just clone it to the original HP. Just great, thanks.

By the way, I only have little experience with Joomla and none with SQL what so ever, but .XCloner just works like a charm.
2008-03-14
Reviews: 3
I rarely ever do this. There have been so FEW components that I have used for Joomla that have ever warranted it, but...

From the day I first bought this component almost a year ago, it has worked almost flawlessly. There were initially a couple of stumbles, but those were user error and you guys took the time to explain the issue to me and things have worked perfectly, EVEN through an extended period of time on GoDaddy servers.

I make my living exclusively working with Joomla, and every site I create is a Joomla site with VERY few exceptions. Your component has made it possible for me to do my job and make that living. I want to thank you sincerely for your work on this component and for the value you have added to my business. The annual fee was a pittance compared to the amount of time and headaches you have saved me.
2008-03-04
Reviews: 4
Ok... so i was pretty skeptical about a full site backup and if it would be as easy as they were stating. Everything was very smooth and worked flawlessly! It took me about 30 min to transfer my site to a completely different location; and most of that time was in the time it took to ftp the backup to the new location! This component is worth every penny! Thanks
2008-02-27
Reviews: 1
This is the type of extension that saves your website when you are afraid all is lost. I made a few backups, no problem. When it came time to fall back on one, I was pretty concerned. I broke my website and NEEDED this extension to work. As a first time user, I was not sure where to start... so I jumped onto skype and wrote "Hello, I am attempting to use joomla cloner... i purchased the Unlimited license and need to revert my website back to the last back up that I created." Ovidiu jumped right onto skype with me and answered my questions, gave suggestions throughout the process. In about 10 minutes my website was back up and working. Thank God for this extension and Ovidiu's help!
2008-02-20
Reviews: 7
I bought this yesterday based on the reviews I read here. I needed something to backup my Joomlasite and my PHPBB forum simultaneously, files and databases as I recently had huge issues with files being corrupted and off course I only had old manually made backups...... The new Xcloner package does this for you, automatically, painlessly and without a hitch.

If you want to add multiple or non Joomla databases, just make sure to add an SQL user to be able to read the forum database and all you need to do next is select the extra databases you want in the Xcloner configuration...PRESTO!! Automation of backups comes through cron and I did have some trouble setting that up, but that was not Xcloners' fault, it was my lack of knowledge on cron. The documentation could be a little more newbie proof on that end perhaps.

Another neat little feature to mention is the button to exclude the backup folder from your backups without having to configure excludes manually.

Right after I installed the component, I did run into an error, but this was resolved very quickly by the author after I sent a ticket. I sent this in the evening here in Canada, and he replied in a couple of minutes, it must have been late in the night in Europe so I didn't expect an answer till the next morning, so again....hats off.

All in all, highly recommended for Joomla and non-Joomla sites.
2008-02-11
Reviews: 1
To be very honest I am not a huge fan of Joomla and many of the extensions that are out there. They are far too buggy and I get sick of pouring through forums trying to get them to work. However, Joomla.Cloner not only works, but importantly has great support. Even when you do or say something dumb they give you fast, great support. I highly recommend it. It is a small price to pay for something as important as a backup program.
2008-02-08
Reviews: 4
I'm only a newbie to Joomla. I downloaded and installed this component with no problem and soon created a backup of my site which was on my laptop. I uploaded the backup to my site, following the instructions but had problems restoring it to the new location. After a dozen or so polite emails from support, they kindly went into my site and finished it all for me. Fantastic support - I moved the site from my laptop to the web intact.
2008-02-07
Reviews: 4
I don't know why it's not listed in the extension directory, but their new release of this is called XCloner and it's simply awesome.

Most of my sites are too big for Joompack (which I also recommend, just for smaller sites) and always time out. This is so sweet, and I haven't even tested out the Clone or Move features yet (will soon after client signs).

Highly recommended. I wish this was my first purchase a long time ago. Would have saved me loads of time and headaches.
2008-02-07
Reviews: 1
This guys support is outstanding, the best, no matter what time it is they try their best to get back to you and get the problem resolved quick.
the best thing about this program is that is compatible with joomla 1.x and also 1.5 and it works perfect in both of them.
also their support is the best .. i have purchase lots of components and every is trying to do their best on support but this people are in the top of the best support.
Thanks guys.
Page 6 of 10