The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


XCloner-Backup and Restore Popular Component

Full Backup and Restore extension for Joomla and not only.

XCloner is a Backup and Restore component designed for Joomla! The purpose is to give users possibility to clone their Joomla installation and move it over the internet on any location!

XCloner 3.0 is a Joomla native extension as well as a standalone backup application!

XCloner can also be used as a standalone backup utility for any PHP/MYSQL site, so it can backup other sites running on Wordpress, Drupal and so on.

Features:

- Create full or partial backups based on your input
- Create simple or compressed backups based on your configuration input
- Possibility to create incremental backups, so you avoid the time limit problems on php script executions
- Possibility to exclude directory and files from the backup, manually or through cron settings(AJAX powered)
- Create backups based on a cron task, created backups can be stored on the local server, remotely through ftp or emailed to a custom email account
- Possibility to run multiple cronjobs, based on different configuration files
- Ability to manage existing backups, rename/delete/move, publish to user frontend for sharing
- Possibility to clone any backup to another location, it can be done automatically by using the server ftp function or manually
- Send Backups to the Amazon S3 service
- Configuration area lets you choose on how to generate backups based on your server possibilities
- You can choose to create backups by using only PHP, or by also using some server utilities to speed things up
- Backup split option for systems with file size limitations
- Incremental database backups for large databases
- Send backup to the cloud, Amazon S3 supported


Restore Features:

- The generated clone of XCloner can be restored on a totally different server, with new server and mysql details
- Restore both simple and compressed archives
- Restore script is independent from the main component and Joomla and can be run on any host
- Full restore of a clone made with XCloner
- Ability to restore the original files and directories permissions
- Automatic re-write of the new host settings to the configuration file
- Ability to import the clone using either a ftp simulated sessions, or direct restore through php
- Possibility to exclude database from importing
- Ability to restore multiple clones to different locations, and also restore multiple database backups from the same clone

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2007-06-11
Reviews: 5
This is a fabulous component that is easy to use and well documented. A good cya :) tool! Handy and definitely useful.
2007-06-06
Reviews: 1
I have been using Joomla Cloner for the past few months and it has never let me down. It has always worked for me, and restored/created websites in a fraction of the time I used to spend installing from scratch.

Thank you for your hard work and excellent software Ovidiu!!!

PS You can see from other comments how Ovidiu must have used JoomlaCloner on himself to create 100 Ovidius (how else can he respond to support emails so efficiently? ;)
2007-06-06
Reviews: 2
Found it simple to install. Congifuration was straight forward, and it has the right options to give me what I needed. Many thanks.
2007-05-25
Reviews: 1
These guys are so good in support... it makes anyone happy to work with them.. I wished all the companies use their support system as a benchmark or standard. :-)

And not to forget JooomlaCloner saves lots of time and very easy to use.

Thanks. Keep up the good job
2007-05-17
Reviews: 1
JoomlaCloner was too difficult for me to get working properly out of the box. But the support is second to none and almost instantaneous. Very quickly and in spite of some very dumb tricks on my part we had a large site transferred from shared hosting to a virtual server, in its entirety and with no issues (thanks to Ovidiu). This has saved days of tedious work. Well worth the money.
2007-05-15
Reviews: 1
This is my first public review, and I just must say how happy I'm with this component!

Are you thinking of buying it. Stop thinking and just buy...

It costs money, and it's worth it! Every cent.

I've moved different sites of mine, and had few problems. When a problem occurs I contact Joomlaplug/ Ovidiu and they fix it. That easy!

Last time I got an error I didn't understand at all, and Ovidiu fixed it within the hour. It had to do with different MySQL server versions, and without help I had been lost. With help I was saved.

Thank you Ovidiu for all help!

Go buy!
2007-05-08
Reviews: 2
I could see that it was a product worth having from it's description, but would it work?
After purchasing it, I had some issues that stopped me from getting success (my problems, NOT the products problems)

I logged onto the support site and got an answer to my questions within an hour of posting them. When I STILL couldn't make sense of what to do (once again, MY problems NOT the products) they got right in there for me and fixed it.

Brilliant!
2007-05-06
Reviews: 1
Honestly, this does what it says on the tin! It makes backing up and restoring a snap and if things don't go as you expect (my webhost's memory limit was set ridiculously low) the support is friendly and lightning fast - not to say 'supportive' - and sadly that's rare these days.

The best £26 I've spent in a very long time.
2007-04-08
Reviews: 1
This would be a relatively good product. Unfortunately the way its licensed can cause problems. I have had to reinstall it several times when it just stops working and this seems to be related to the encryption used in generating the cron job php file. Every time you need you add a sub-domain you have to go online to Joomlaplug and generate a new code, what a real pain this is! Beware also that if you choose to purchase the product with only the 1 year support this is essentially a subscription service. When it expires, you won't be able to generate any new codes for your sites or sub-domains unless you cough more dollars! I'll be looking for a good cron script to use after my subscription expires. This is a good product that is let down by the poor way its licensed which makes it difficult to use and maintain.
Owner's reply

To bring some clarifications to our clients review:
1. after purchasing JoomlaCloner you will be allowed to add any number of sites(sites that you own as specified in the License Agreement) in your Profile area, and for that you will be generated a license code to use with JoomlaCloner for unlimited period of time
2. if the user purchases a limited license like 1, 2 years ones, after the period expires they can still use JoomlaCloner on the registered websites however they won't be allowed to add more websites(in their Profile area from our site) and so generate new licenses, this is considered an upgrade and will need to comply with the License Agreement

2007-03-22
Reviews: 4
This is the first commercial extension I've purchased for my site, and I must say that I'm impressed. Due to hosting limitations I haven't been able to use the full functionality but I'm working with my hosting company to allow Cron backups.

I did have problems initially, however. I read the instructions carefully but was unable to back up any files. There were a number of reasons for this, mostly due to how my hosting company had set up my account. Despite this, the developer was very gracious as he worked with me to resolve the issue. I did have to work to transfer information between the hosting company and the developer, but in the end the issues were all resolved and I was able to successfully back up my site. I never had to wait longer then two hours for a reply from the developer, and often they came much sooner. In fact, on one occasion he sent me a follow-up email with more information and something else I could try.

One reason my backup was ultimately successful was the number of backup options that are available. I ended up using the most manual process, but even that is no worse then clicking two links. If you have better control over your hosting account than I have, you can go so far as to fully automate the backups through a Cron job and speed up the process by using server utilities to tar or zip your files. Even my manual backup, with over 4000 files, took less than ten minutes. Another option that I will be testing is the ability to have finished backups automatically FTPed to another server for off-site storage. There is even the option to age backups and automatically remove the older ones.

Cloning is another nice feature. If you need to move your Joomla site to another host, simply clone it. The current site will be backed up, FTPed to the new host, and once you've entered the MySQL login information the backup will be automatically restored on the new host. This sounds like a great way to launch a live site after it's been developed in a test area.

Based on the number of backup and restore options, and especially the outstanding customer support, I would highly recommend JoomlaCloner.
2007-03-22
Reviews: 1
Fantastic component, instant and helpful service that goes beyond the call of duty and a product that saves you hours of stuffing around :)

very glad i bought joomla cloner.

-Dan
2007-02-27
Reviews: 2
Since I work on my sites daily, I do frequent backups and then store these backup files on my computer and external hard drives.

I recently had a few questions on the right method to restore a backup to a site that I basically blew up … had a few things I was experimenting with.

I submitted a support ticket and Ovidiu was on top of things in no time. With each question, I was guided step by step until I had my website back up and running.

I originally bought the JoomlaCloner Unlimited Support & Upgrades package and I’ll tell you that after today, I’m really happy that I made that investment into my business.

Once again, thank you for all your help Ovidiu,

Bob
2007-02-25
Reviews: 1
Makes backups a breeze - and superior support!!

Hope the restore option works as easily (didn't want to test :) )
2007-02-15
Reviews: 4
Is Cron really the only way to automate a backup? I had been using a tool that sent me an e-mail of the database every night; that was awesome, then the db got to big and it stopped working. That is why i tried this. It does work, but it seemed like i needed to babysit it to work. Some of the selection menus for which files you want to update are missing check all / uncheck. Why would you put the option on one menu and not the next? I don't understand how i can copy the database and all the files, but still exclude components... It did manage to backup a very large site with a ton of files to a zip file on my server. I think it will be a great tool when i figure out the cronjob setup. It says that it is a cloner, i have not tried that feature yet... could prove to be very useful for deploying a base site with a base setup of components and plugins installed.
2007-02-15
Reviews: 3
I needed to clone one of my sites and I purchased this product to do it.

If I was only allowed one word for the review I would use 'suh-WEEET!'

I eaily installed the component; the interface is beautiful and totally intuitive (of course I'm not going to slow down long enough to read the manual!).

I was able to back up my site, clone it and get it working on the new domain in about half an hour - and the only reason it took me that long is because I DIDN'T read the instructions.

I'd tried several components as well as my hosting services for backing up my Joomla sites and was never able to get them to work well enough to get a clean working copy - and after putting (sometimes countless) hours of work into getting them installed, configured and adding content THAT's a pretty scary thing.

I had an issue with how I'd configured the site to be cloned and I got a response to my post for support within half an hour and the instructions to fix it were so clean and helpful that I had the issue resolved within minutes.

I purchased the lifetime supply of updates and support for this product and I look forward to using it for many years to come.

Definitely worth every penny of the purchase price and I can't recommend it highly enough, and may even have to come back and edit my review when something else to rave about comes to mind.

Hope that helps,
Tracy A. Phaup
2007-01-28
Reviews: 1
I have bought this component, and i'm glad i did it.
This tool works perfectly. I changed 8 sites from one server to another so quickly i could not believe it.

The minor problems i had, due to my inexperience, were solved with their support. They answer really quickly.

Congratulations. Keep going!

Sofia Pedroso
2007-01-27
Reviews: 1
I highly recommend this component. It was worth every penny. I thought there was a problem when I tried to use it and I submitted a support request. The response was very prompt and accurate. The problem was with some other issue on my site that didn't have anything to do with the JoomlaCloner, but they still provided excellent support. If you are considering purchasing this product, don't wait another second.
2007-01-24
Reviews: 3
This is my most basic must have for a site right after joomlaXplorer. All my sites get backed up to a remote hosted server every night. Zero problems, plus they have other must have tools like auto installer.
ash
2007-01-24
Reviews: 1
what can i say? This component does what it says.....theres no spin going on here. It's saving me hours in design and backup and the support is exceptional. I was so impressed i had to write this review.....I would of preferred to send a box of chocolates but i guess J.Cloner will have to settle for this.

Thanks

Q. what did the big chimney say to the little chimney ?

a. your to young too smoke. (had to squeeze that one in)
2007-01-18
Reviews: 3
Last month three of my joomla sites were hacked and defaced. Days of painful recovery and lost revenue were enough to finally take a hard look at my security and my backup systems. I found JoomlaCloner and made a commitment to implement as part of my core Joomla tools.

Unlike other simpler, non critical extensions, this one requires that you read all the documentation. A very small price to pay, given the alternatives of a hacked and destroyed site without backup!.

Although JoomlaCloner may at first seem complicated to the noobie, (er like me at WAMP)who tried to stubbornly implement without asking a couple of basic questions....I have to say, the support offered was exceptional.

I recieved immediate response and had my fully functional backup and localhost server implementation running like a dream.
I can now develop and test new features on my localhost 'test' sites and publish to my live production sites as needed. But better yet, I have peace of mind that no matter what may happen to my live sites, I have a backup plan and tools to fully restore my live sites quickly and easily.

Clone or die. Your choice.
Page 8 of 10