The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


XCloner-Backup and Restore Popular Component

Full Backup and Restore extension for Joomla and not only.

XCloner is a Backup and Restore component designed for Joomla! The purpose is to give users possibility to clone their Joomla installation and move it over the internet on any location!

XCloner 3.0 is a Joomla native extension as well as a standalone backup application!

XCloner can also be used as a standalone backup utility for any PHP/MYSQL site, so it can backup other sites running on Wordpress, Drupal and so on.

Features:

- Create full or partial backups based on your input
- Create simple or compressed backups based on your configuration input
- Possibility to create incremental backups, so you avoid the time limit problems on php script executions
- Possibility to exclude directory and files from the backup, manually or through cron settings(AJAX powered)
- Create backups based on a cron task, created backups can be stored on the local server, remotely through ftp or emailed to a custom email account
- Possibility to run multiple cronjobs, based on different configuration files
- Ability to manage existing backups, rename/delete/move, publish to user frontend for sharing
- Possibility to clone any backup to another location, it can be done automatically by using the server ftp function or manually
- Send Backups to the Amazon S3 service
- Configuration area lets you choose on how to generate backups based on your server possibilities
- You can choose to create backups by using only PHP, or by also using some server utilities to speed things up
- Backup split option for systems with file size limitations
- Incremental database backups for large databases
- Send backup to the cloud, Amazon S3 supported


Restore Features:

- The generated clone of XCloner can be restored on a totally different server, with new server and mysql details
- Restore both simple and compressed archives
- Restore script is independent from the main component and Joomla and can be run on any host
- Full restore of a clone made with XCloner
- Ability to restore the original files and directories permissions
- Automatic re-write of the new host settings to the configuration file
- Ability to import the clone using either a ftp simulated sessions, or direct restore through php
- Possibility to exclude database from importing
- Ability to restore multiple clones to different locations, and also restore multiple database backups from the same clone

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2006-12-27
Reviews: 1
Having struggled to find an easy way of backing up a site i backed up and transferred my site within about an hour (max) of deciding to buy the component.
The site was seriously hacked in the past, I can sleep easier now.
Minor point, I used the Joomlahacks SMF bridge, after transferring to a new domain, you have to go to the bridge component, change the path and repatch the files (another 10 seconds!)
Probably the best component I have installed

Norman Martin
2006-12-23
Reviews: 1
I just got finished moving my site from a /joomla folder to the main root.

It was complicated a little by the hosting company's permissions and that they had two config.php files.

The staff at Joomla Plug worked on it over the course of hours. (I have about a dozen emails in my inbox of us going back and forth trying to figure it out.)

Where can you ever get such support? I bought the $100 version and have found it to be totally worth it. Somethings just can't be commercial free. Backing up a joomla site is one of them.
2006-12-21
Reviews: 1
Hi,
I bought a license of JoomlaCloner 2 days ago because I had problems cloning my site to my new host and wouldn't spend my whole Holidays on working to get my new site up and running.
Within Hours the whole site (190 MB) was cloned to a temporary account and today again in no time to my actual (new) account.
The support provided was excellent!
Reply's on my emails within minutes, fixes of minor problems (settings of rights) even faster. They even fixed problems that I had with some components like gallery1.
You know: Dutch ppl are not particularly fast on spending money but these are the best $$ ever spend on web tools.
For me is JoomlaCloner a must have component!
JM
2006-12-02
Reviews: 1
I cant over-compliment the customer support provided by the makers of this program. They helped me through email support often less than half an hour with most questions.

The program itself does exactly what it says, and I was able to clone my site on a completely different server!

I feel great now having a backup for all my hard work.
2006-11-17
Reviews: 2
After some initial teething problems, we have finally got this component to a point where its working perfectly. This is almost totally down to the help of Ovidiu from JC who provided us with a first class support service. I can't speak highly enough of this guy who worked over and above the call of duty for us. I only wish other Joomla developers were as good as it would make our lives a lot easier.

Thanks again Ovidiu, your product and service is top notch!
2006-11-12
Reviews: 4
This component is incredible. I had three different cloned sites running, and passed changes among them until I was ready to go live, then I cloned my original site just to be sure, and then put the working copy right over top in a matter of minutes.

I did have a spot of trouble when I first started, but it was because my site is large (300mb) and I had server timeouts. But this is where the developer steps in with the most incredible support I have ever experienced! He even went in and fixed a mess created by another unrelated commercial component. Wow!

Back up your whole site, and move it anywhere just like it says. You get what you pay for, but in some cases you get a lot more.
2006-11-10
Reviews: 1
This is a great component. Sure you have to pay for it, but at least you have a peace of mind that you won't lose your joomla website. You never know when you might get hacked, have a server corruption or simply change a setting that will ruin everything.
2006-10-30
Reviews: 1
what an app.. I was REALLY scared to do this (move my whole site out side of the joomla folder) knowing all of the confg soon to follow. AND IN UNDER 30 mins as a first time user...(drum roll please) I MADE THIS TRANSITION SEEMLESSLY with out a hitch!!!.

Forget about reinstalling joomla...clone away, effortlessly
with joomla cloner
2006-10-26
Reviews: 1
What is there to say?
I was looking for a tool to automatically backup a repository website which contains a lot of files and data. After Upgrading to a new server with a newer php and MySql version I had to go through the nightmare of manually inserting tables into the new database. I wish I had this tool then.
So a yesterday I purchased the version for unlimited use (99 dollar) installed it, but didn't get the automatic cronjob to work. Today I posted a ticket for support. In less then 30 minutes I received an email, granted them temporarily backend access and after some trial and error they solved the problem without having to rewrite some backend server script or use the cron functionality on cPanel (which I don't have, btw)
Conclusion: Buy it, install it, use it and have no worries!
2006-10-19
Reviews: 1
I dont write reviews very often but this system just works, backing up and restoring is fairly straight forward I can now create my Joomla sites on my private development server and copy to my customers webspace when complete.

If a site gets hacked you get a chance to find out how, fix the problems and restore. Simple.

Best £27 I spent in ages.
2006-10-16
Reviews: 1
As the Technology Coordinator for a School District, making a move to Joomla! is risky. When I needed to move from a local production environment using WAMP to our live server running IIS, I expected some hurdles and at least a couple-day project. I found JoomlaCloner and invested the very little amount of money that this product costs, and found 10 times the value in return. The process only took us about a half day to configure IIS for Joomla and PHPMyAdmin (also priceless), and we were ready to use JoomlaCloner.

When we hit our first stumbling block, I submitted a support ticket and within 3 minutes received an answer that WORKED. Then, we immediately ran into another issue, submitted a follow-up ticket, and almost as quickly received another working solution. We are now up and running, and cloned the site another 4 times (successfully) to accommodate 5 separate Joomla installs, one for our 'District' and four others for four 'School' sites.

All in a days work. Buy this product now!
2006-09-21
Reviews: 1
I recently had to move one of my websites to a different server, something I put off for a long time because I knew what a hassle it has been in the past. Joomla with forums, picture gallery, hundreds of users... I was not looking forward to it! Joomlacloner made this move so simple. I was able to back up my old site and move everything to a new server without much downtime at all. I was finished with the entire move in under an hour! Purchasing Joomlacloner was the best investment I have made in years. It was so simple, and worked perfectly. THANK YOU!
2006-09-17
Reviews: 7
I am in the midst of perhaps my most stressful days as a webmaster. Having made the difficult decision to finally walk away from a hosting solution that was anything BUT a solution - I purchased JoomlaCloner to help ease the pain of moving over a dozen active Joomla sites. After installing the component and running head first into a brick wall (I'm a webdesigner not a developer or coder!) I submitted a support ticket for help. I was amazed when I got a response within what seemed like seconds. I was frustrated and ready to give up before I even got started so the calm easy support that I got was right on time for me. If every program, every host company, every everything technological had the kind of support that JoomlaCloner has.... I'd be a happy, happy girl. You want a solid solution for backup and site cloning? There is NO other option in my opinion. Buy it now.... If you run into a problem, rest assured that they will hang with you until it's right. Priceless.....
2006-09-14
Reviews: 2
You are right, this product works very well and FAST!!!.

At first I had trouble using the ftp mode but when I tried using the direct mode it cloned my whole site in 2 minutes.

Their support system via tickets is excellent and they responde in minutes.

Great job guys!
2006-09-10
Reviews: 1
I am not technically advanced, so I have to admit that I have had some problems figuring out this component. However, the fast support offered through the developer's support ticket system has been GREAT. When I have been confused, he has been patient. When I encountered permissions problems, he solved them.

Granted, the software would benefit from a proper, but brief instruction manual, to give both the big picture of what it does, and how to do the details. But in the end, it does clone sites, and it does backup everything with one go. That is what it claims to do, and it does it well.
2006-09-07
Reviews: 1
We bought this product today, and started to play with our site (still in development). Since it's a hebrew site - we managed to really mess up things when we backed up the mysql, and restored it with wrong configuration. Fortunately, the support is very responsive and professional. We got back up and running in a breeze.

Recommended.
2006-09-07
Reviews: 1
I bought this component after trying out the other free versions, even the cron job one.

I have read and seen the excellent tutorials on the joomlaplug website. I also started using the component in several of my sites without a glitch.

SUUUUPER!

Until I stumbled into a JaclPlused site I have. There the restore function would no enable me to gain admin access to the restored site. Bummer - I thought!

No problem! Just went into the ticket support system of the site and started a new ticket with this issue. After some debugging and live support (due to the exquisite nature of the problem - ACL) Ovidiu - the joomlaplug GOD (I don't know how else to call him) the problem was solved. And I might add it was not a straightforward one. AND, it wasn't actually a Jomola Cloner bug. I also have to add that the return times on support requests is BLINDING FAST!

Therefore I came to two conclusions:

1 - I must review this component, coder, support website as 5 STAR.

2 - Ovidiu must surely NOT sleep! He answers your prayers before you even submit your ticket.

I am totally satisfied with this backup solution. I do sleep a bit better, now that I know I have full backups of my sites with SQL DB's and all.

Cheers!
2006-08-25
Reviews: 2
This product does everything it says it does, you can completely back up and clone an install on another server altogether if you want.

More importantly, the level of support and willingness to help on the part of the developer made this probably the most pleasant purchase of a commercial Joomla product I've ever had!
2006-08-24
Reviews: 2
Essential tool. Completed site with dbase from my local WAMP server to the remote dev site in a few minutes. Brought a smile to my face :o) A great timesaver and I found it easy to use.
2006-08-09
Reviews: 4
Installed like a charm, worked as advertised. I dosen't come much better than this...

Installed against a mambo databse there were a couple of issues. Contacted JoomlaPlug via the support ticket system on the site and within an hour or so the issues were fixed.

So not only is the product well made, efficient and works as advertised there is also a solid, committed and responsive support system right behind it.

Did I say it couldn't get better, well it just has.

JoomlaPlug sets a standard to be envied by others who claim to provide such products and service.

I wholeheartedly recommed this product! It keeps my sites alive.

Geoffrey Smith
www.breathwork.be and www.emofree.be
Page 9 of 10