The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Security Images Popular ComponentPlugin

Ever been to a site where you had to register and the registration form required that you type in the same phrase that is found in a hard-to-read image? Joomla! has now this possibility thanks to my component com_securityimages. It will protect You against most spammers attempt...

Joomla! 1.6.X - Use Securityimages 6.X

* Native Joomla! 1.6 plugin, not a component anymore!
* Use Joomla! buildin extensions manager for easy update
* Support best online captcha services: Recapctha, KeyCaptcha and NuCaptcha
* Protect all JForm Field of all Joomla! extensions without ANY patches to Joomla! core or extensions


Joomla! 1.5.X - Use Securityimages 5.X
* Components + FTP Joomla! 1.5 core patches
* 5 famillies of highly configurable captchas.
* Used by many others extensions: akobook, akocomment, Joomla! contact, login and registration, simpleboard forum,
* Joomla! core patches for protecting: Contact, Login, register, lost password, lost user account, Akobook, Akocomment, virtuemart

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-06-28
Reviews: 1
I installed this plug-in with intent to use it to secure the site and it didn't work as I expected so I removed it.

For whatever reason I looked in my /media folder a few days ago and noticed 2 folders in there (which should not have been there, I created that folder for other stuff, I don't know why these folders went in there?!?!?)

com_securityimages
system

Since they should not have been there and I'm not using securityimages on the site I moved these folders (I did not delete them just in case).

After I removed these two folders I was not able to use ANY of the administrator menus and it broke or changed several aspects of the site. I put these two folders back and everything is working again thankfully.

Either this is a nasty bug or it's potentially a very big problem in general. If a plug-in is removed should it not remove itself and not leave stuff behind like that? Especially things that can completely break a site.

I attempted to go to the support page to look if others also had this problem or if I could get a fix but the support site doesn't look like it's online right now.

Could be a good extension, but beware of these problems.
Owner's reply

Hi

if you look at the installer xml (securityimages.xml) you will see that none of these directories is created in /media. (and certainly not system)
The installer create /media/logo and /media/background so the only explanation is that YOU move something there. It cant be the code that create such a mess. I would look for directory alias (linux host). All in all, definitively not an error of my component.

2009-06-22
Reviews: 1
its a great and very usefull extension

maybe its not the extension more easily for install and setup but i think nor is it so hard

if you can't see the caracters, you can change the text size, select another font, set the text angle to 0, select another background image or buy you a glasses

i can only claim the patch to the form to send to a friend

again thanks walter
2009-06-04
Reviews: 3
I can't barely see the caracters on those images
If I was a client, I would skip from registration obviously
2009-06-02
Reviews: 10
I'm sure the end result is great, but I cannot get it to work after 30 minutes of trying. I have created about 20 Joomla sites of varying complexity, so I know what I'm doing. I instaleld the component, uploaded patch, saved config, made sure I had the correct versions of plugins, the plugin is enabled, I have registrations set to Yes - I have followed directions (what little there are) perfectly and still no captcha on registration. Since I already "patched" my core Joomla files, I feel like I'm trapped with this component so I'll have to sift through the forums of their site to find out why this is not working. Could be user error, but I'm not the first to say that this has terrible installation instructions.
Owner's reply

Installation instructions are quite explanatory, you just have to go through.

http://wiki.waltercedric.com/index.php?title=SecurityImages5.0.X

2009-05-30
Reviews: 2
I think this is a great extension, easy to install and configure. Well done!
2009-05-23
Reviews: 1
I'm fighting this extension for more than 3 days now making sure, I can get it working.

It very well might be the case with some users who live in the perfect hosting world.

Download link takes you to the general website where you have to wait for twitter, amazon links to get their responses. Than you will see a HUGE banners that is rather pointless. If you are lucky to find the file that you think you need and try to install, you will learn pretty soon, you have to get more staff from developer's website. (Why? - to read Amazon adds.) and so on and on and on.

Rather than try to fight this component, wait, captcha is a part of Joomla 1.6 (finally)
Owner's reply

you are not judging the component quality or the ease of installation, but my website... by the way which browser do you use? chrome/opera/firefox in no cache mode dont display the bottom of my page first...

all items like twitter, amazon links are at the far far bottom, while at top there is a link joomla release, another download, another joomla extensions forums, and so on.

your review is just a personal opinion of my site...I get a lot more positive feedback overall.

Note: SecurityImages exist since 2004!
and I will have a joomla 1.6 version of course :-)

2009-04-15
Reviews: 5
It's advisable by me to go ahead and use this extension. Highly recommended. The draw back for it, the installation and the correct files that need to be download and install.

I myself a bit confuse at the starting point, but when you take a deep breath, you'll gonna love this extension. Just don't forget to refer to their forum on the Documentations.
2009-02-18
Reviews: 1
Once you find the right page to download and find the wiki to explain you have to ftp files to specific directories, it works great. Love the controls.
2009-02-05
Reviews: 3
Works great with DFContact, though.
If it produced valid XHTML I would have rated "excellent".
2009-01-28
Reviews: 1
I tried all the captcha appz that you can find on extensions.joomla.org
I can assure u that this is the best.
Works with 1.5.8 and i just installed it on 1.5.9
Works excellent.

P.S

Works right out of the box ( as long as you follow the instructions)
You can change captcha image templates as well as make it sound captcha.

What else can we ask for?

Joomla Team, this extension should be defiantly a part of Joomla core..
2009-01-19
Reviews: 2
Good, i manage to get it done within 20 minute for Joomla 1.0.15

This is what i am looking for. Marvelous.

Keep this good work on-going.
2008-12-28
Reviews: 1
I try many differents capatcha engines, but this solution is really the best CAPTCHA solution! And it WORKS!
2008-12-21
Reviews: 1
The best CAPTCHA solution! No more words!
2008-11-20
Reviews: 6
I used this component on very different pages with Joomla 1.5.2; 1.5.3; 1.5.4; 1.5.6; 1.5.7; and now 1.5.8. So there is quite some experience I do have with it.

But, although I do very much appreciate the tremendeous work Walter Cedric there are some questions about it, which in part go to the Joomla! team rather than to Walter.

First of all, why on earth does Joomla! not contain this component! Every time we get a new release of Joomla!, it is recommended for security reasons to upgrade. This means, I will have to get the new patches from Walters SecurityImages too (they are quite a lot).

Everytime I do this It is the same procedure.

1. Override the original files
2. Test it - it does not work properly (mostly because some of the uploads do not work etc.
3. Download the files again and override it again.
4. After I have done this three or four times, it starts to work. But mostly not everything. So I have to go through all the files to find the faults. As I mentioned, I have got some experience and I do get it run everytime. But as some of the other mention here, there is no real tutorial here. Maybe Watler could create one, which one could buy?
5. After that, you'll have to fine tune it and finally it works great! Thanks Walter!!!
6. The newer the versions of Security Images go, the more Ads and links are put into the admin. I highly agree that the creator should have hers or his links and some ads, but it is definately overdone here. Once again, sorry do say that.
But as you might see, its a lot of hassle everytime I do upgrade Joomla which always runs smooth and this is in fact very sad, because the component is a good thing which keeps away spammers efficiently.

Pleaset Joomla! team: Make Captcha a part of Joomla!
Owner's reply

Joomla 1.6 will have an event system, so basically it will be possible for plugin to register function on events: like onFormSubmit, beforeFormSubmit etc...

moreover Joomla! 1.6 will have captcha out of the box! I will try to contact the core developer to see if I can help in this area...be patient, it is coming!

2008-08-28
Reviews: 3
I downloaded the component RC1) for Jooomla 1.5.x and it installed without difficulty. Then tried installing the patch for Joomla 1.5.6 and quit after concluding that I needed to overwrite what seem to be core Joomla 1.5 files in a number of directories (administrator/components/com_contact/contact_items.xml for example). Fortunately, I had renamed the original files so I could just change them back.

I then went to uninstall the package and ended up with two errors relating to being unable to remove tables from the database so I'm not sure the extension ever installed properly.

Lastly, it appears that support for Security Images is exceedingly limited. The documentation is essentially nonexistent and the support forum has four threads dating back to 2006. The latest thread, dated sometime in August 2008, has gone unanswered.
Owner's reply

Not true, I can not respond in less than 2 days...sometimes I can, sometimes not...

The forum contains:
2251 Posts in 598 Topics by 854 Members.

770 post being from ...me! http://forums.waltercedric.com/index.php?action=stats


The wiki is here for that and it is quite complete:
http://wiki.waltercedric.com/index.php?title=SecurityImages5.0.X

I did start tagging articles on my homepage to help people finding waht they are searching for..result twice more traffic

Not bad isnt'it? ;-)

2008-08-27
Reviews: 1
No idea how to rate this thing, as I've never seen it work. I spent a few hours with it and am no more capcha'd than I was when I got up today.

I have a couple of questions. Can anyone tell me where the "Save" button the developer tells you to go the Control Panel and "hit save" is? I go to the very specifically named section of my Joomla installation, the "Control Panel" and I'll be darned if there is any "save" button to hit or even to click on.

Or how about the "use security images=true" that he also tells me to go to the control panel to set? I've looked in every single module and component and plug-in page I have and have yet to see an option to set "use security images" to "=true".

I appreciate the work of ALL open source developers and appreciate the fact that Walter and I speak different languages but I can't understand why someone would put so much work into something and then publish it with such poor directions.
2008-08-20
Reviews: 3
I've tried many Plug-Ins for my Joomla 1.0.15. This is the best one I found. It's easy to use and the most important is we can configure the look of the verify image, font type, font rotation, font size and select background images, etc.

The other tool like recaptcha is impossible to read from the image. Therefore, I have to give up recaptcha. This tool SecurityImages is 100% greater than others.

After installing the component, you need to replace some patch files. And you can enable or disable the ability from the SecurityImages' configuration panel. Very cool...
2008-07-26
Reviews: 2
I was looking for a easy to use captcha system to integrate into my registration pages and this extension did just that plus more.

A good feature I like about this extension is that it includes several different types of Captcha styles and the ability to configure them even further by specifying background colours, fonts, rotation etc.
2008-06-24
Reviews: 2
This Component and Plugin worked exactly as I needed it to.
Was extremely easy to set-up on a 1.5 site.

Thank you for all your work on this component.
2008-06-13
Reviews: 1
I installed it on 1.0.15 with no trouble. I only needed it for registrations so that means I only had to replace/hack 3 core files. A lot of people complain about having to alter core Joomla files but that is the only way to implement captcha in registrations other than installing a separate registration component. If you're familiar with FTP and Joomla's file structure then the hacks shouldn't be a problem. However, upgrades might be a problem and require you to re-hack. I've tried many captcha solutions but this is the first one that really worked as promised.
Page 2 of 4