The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Security Images Popular ComponentPlugin

Ever been to a site where you had to register and the registration form required that you type in the same phrase that is found in a hard-to-read image? Joomla! has now this possibility thanks to my component com_securityimages. It will protect You against most spammers attempt...

Joomla! 1.6.X - Use Securityimages 6.X

* Native Joomla! 1.6 plugin, not a component anymore!
* Use Joomla! buildin extensions manager for easy update
* Support best online captcha services: Recapctha, KeyCaptcha and NuCaptcha
* Protect all JForm Field of all Joomla! extensions without ANY patches to Joomla! core or extensions


Joomla! 1.5.X - Use Securityimages 5.X
* Components + FTP Joomla! 1.5 core patches
* 5 famillies of highly configurable captchas.
* Used by many others extensions: akobook, akocomment, Joomla! contact, login and registration, simpleboard forum,
* Joomla! core patches for protecting: Contact, Login, register, lost password, lost user account, Akobook, Akocomment, virtuemart

Report Extension

 

Images

 

PIA
2007-02-25
Reviews: 1
Dysfunctional even after practicing code changes on test site. Easier to do routine maintenance of spammers than deal with this.
2007-02-08
Reviews: 1
I've tried using this on several occasions, on various sites, hours searching the 4 corners of the web for some clue (documentation totally sux) - installs w/o error, but just doesn't show up.
2007-01-29
Reviews: 1
The CAPTCHA engine does exactly what it is supposed to do, in that it works very nicely on Joomla, providing the security protection needed for registration, login, etc. It integrates very nicely. There is one drawback, however; it is the installation process.

To work with Joomla 1.0.12, here is what I had to do to get it working:

1. Download the com_securityimages4.1.2.zip file. The link provided for downloading from this site (extensions.joomla.org) goes to an invalid page and the webmaster needs to correct this. It does take you to the www.waltercedric.com site. From there, look for the downloads link, and then to Joomla, and then further to security. There you will find the com_securityimages4.1.2.zip file.

2. Install it from Joomla
You have to know to install it as a Component and not a module or mambot (plugin).

3. Once successfully installed, go to the Components --> Security Images --> Edit General Settings and then click on the Joomla Patches tab. Here you find that a patch must be loaded. Conveniently the provide you with a link for patch, but there is no listing of patches for Joomla 1.0.12 from their link, only 1.0.11 and earlier.

4. Installing a patch after the download
I did some rummaging and found that there is a patch for 1.0.12 on Walter's site at:

ttp://www.waltercedric.com/component/option,com_docman/task,cat_view/gid,291/dir,DESC/order,name/limit,5/limitstart,5/

Running the patch through the Joomla installer does not seem to work. I examined the files and did a diff of the individual patch files against the installed files and found small differences in the code.

You could hand edit the files or just replace them with the ones in the patch distribution (if you are replacing the files, you would need to keep track of file ownership and permissions so that your installation is not disrupted). Needless to say, back up your files and take Joomla offline before making the changes.

There are many files that need to be replaced/modified and the directory structure of where the files belong is anything but flat. It is very easy to inadvertently clobber a file or two if you get distracted or are not careful.

After this is done, test your installation.

Although I had to jump through many hoops to do the install, it worked flawlessly upon the first install!

Is it worth it to go though this amount of effort for the convenience of security? Well, if you're in the business of hosting, security is everything.

I'm extremely happy I have this security tool. I hope there will be support running it on Joomla 1.5. I have not seen any indication of a new version in preparation. Hopefully, we;ll all be pleasantly surprised!
2007-01-13
Reviews: 1
It really is a great component for everything else but Virtuemart.

BUT...

It does NOT work with Virtuemart as they claim to do.

That is really a shame, otherwise it would be a 5 star component.

Hope they find out a way to fully integrate with it.

Legoland.
2007-01-07
Reviews: 1
I installed the component, it just didn't work. I patched the core code manually according to instruction, but it never even shows the capctha image. I was surprised to see that there are some really obvious bug that were showed as warning/error php message. For examples, php complains that $mosConfig_lang is undefined, it caused a file not to be loaded because of that. I just put "global $mosConfig_lang", and it fixed the bug. How can anyone miss that?

I have not seen a Joomla component with high rating that doesn't even work. I really suspect who post the high ratings.
2006-12-06
Reviews: 1
Downloaded this component along with the patch files and it worked out of the box no problems.
2006-11-27
Reviews: 1
It is a great enhancement to any Joomla site - including Community Builder.

The documentation needs consolidated although the pieces to make it work can be found on the web and/or http://forums.waltercedric.com.

Great Job!!!
2006-11-24
Reviews: 3
The directions are not clear on how to implement this component, and when attempting to go to the website, the help section isn't there. I will with regret, have to uninstall it.
2006-10-16
Reviews: 22
i hoped this would work but had to delete it again.
because i didnt wanted to overwrite any files i used the guide to edit the 2 files in com_registration and joomla.php.
The edits for the joomla.php arent uptodate anymore and i couldnt login anymore.
Although it looked very promissing but still it doesnt work just out of the box.
Page 4 of 4