The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


AdminExile Plugin

Your /administrator area is vulnerable - secure it with AdminExile. Access keys, IPv4/6 Black/White Lists (IP and CIDR netmasks supported), Brute Force detection. AdminExile has you covered.

The AdminExile Plugin has long been a favored and highly rated extension in the JED. Read the reviews, check out the 9 pages of documentation, and then try it yourself.

Key features:
* Access key(s) - key only, or key + key value. Others provide one or the other. AdminExile provides BOTH.
* Front-end Restriction - Restrict certain accounts from logging into the front-end with accounts intended only for back-end use.
* Lost Key Recovery - Useful for individuals using extremely difficult keys, or teams who change the keys frequently.
* IP White and Black Lists - Use individual addresses, or CIDR netmasks to define your lists.
* Brute Force Protection - Penalize users who abuse your system.
* Management of blocked addresses - See a list of blacklist attempts and bruteforce attempts, as well as the ability to reset those IP addresses.
* Admin Notification - When abuse comes from a blacklisted address or brute force is detected, an administrator can be sent a notification.
* Stealth Mode - Prevents tell-tale signs that something exists at /administrator, like the session cookie!

There are far too many features to describe in this page. Visit the documentation link to get the bigger picture.

Version 2.3.0 - additional error handling for invalid IP address/subnets typed in configuration - new IP configuration interface (With automatic sorting) and IP validation
Version 2.3.1 - fix include path issue experienced in older PHP versions
Version 2.3.2 - PHP Dynamic Loader enhancements (Thanks Richard B.)
Version 2.3.3 - fixed include path error
Version 2.3.4 - silenced unneeded warnings

All of my extensions are free and none of my extensions display advertisements or links to my sites or services. If you feel that I have blessed you, then you can bless me by making a contribution to fund future development. Visit the "Website" link to make a contribution.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2013-07-19
Reviews: 6
Works like a charm and does exactly what it says.
Thank you so much.
2013-07-06
Reviews: 4
This extension does exactly what it says, it works perfectly, I am using it on several sites and it has never ever given me problems. The developer's website also contains information to get out of problems that may occur during its usage (for instance if you forget your secret url)... Can't give more than 5 stars, otherwise I would :)
2013-06-25
Reviews: 4
The best extension, that does what it promises. Fantastic stuff. Keep it up.

As long as you go to the plugins, you'll find all the stuff you need.
2013-06-15
Reviews: 2
Very straightforward accessory that every Joomla site would be benefited by. You can't even attempt to log in as an admin if you don't provide the key and value pair. Bots can't simply check the /administrator folder to see if you use Joomla.

Well thought out. Very useful. Good developer.
2013-06-09
Reviews: 7
This plugin is simply brilliant, and the support from the developer trying to debug and solve a found bug/issue, has been one of the most dedicated experiences I've ever seen on a free plugin.

I'd really like to urge all users of this plugin, to submit a donation to the developer - big or small, anything counts!
Owner's reply

As hard as I try, I cannot possibly think of every use case and environment. It takes bug reports from users to make extensions reliable and robust.

I know that many sites rely on AdminExile for protection and that's not a responsibility I take lightly. Submit your bug reports and I'll give them the attention they deserve!

Thanks for the great review!

2013-06-01
Reviews: 1
I just wanted to stop by and leave a brief message in regards to this excellent plugin and it's author. AdminExile has single handily saved me numerous headaches and I wanted to express my gratitude towards it's developer. Thank you Michael for developing and supporting the open source mentality and I will be leaving a donation as soon as my college income allows.

Regards,

Joe C.
2013-05-30
Reviews: 1
Michael you are the man!! Rarely do u see 5 star reviews from up to 95% of reviewers. There's a reason this one's rated so high.. Well done!! You are phenomenal.
2013-05-19
Reviews: 41
This extension is typical of Michael Richey's work: it works perfectly, you find yourself installing it on every website and it's FREE! Michael also strives to continually improve his extensions and is hugely responsive to feature requests and constructive advice. Thanks for another great extension :)
2013-05-17
Reviews: 30
A plugin for all to use. The support of a professional and high level of knowledge. And other great components. Congratulations MIchael. Thank you for your patience and understanding. You the man!
2013-05-16
Reviews: 40
What more can be said? If you are serious about protecting your Joomla admin area, you need this extension. Period! And, like everything developed by Michael Richey, this thing works perfectly, with no hidden back links or superfluous features. A great extension from one of the BEST developers out there helping us!! Thanks!!!!
2013-05-08
Reviews: 1
This Extension does exactly what it says. Hide the administrator log in page. Simple and easy, even for a Joomla noob like me!

Pros:
Easy and fast to configure

Cons:
None so far, does excatly what it promises

Excellent!
2013-05-08
Reviews: 2
Just simple, just works. Congratulations for the developer.
2013-04-28
Reviews: 3
This is a very useful extension. Very easy to install and configure. It adds an extra level of security to my Joomla 3 website. It deserves 5 rating.

I thank the developer for his great effort.
2013-03-17
Reviews: 1
Wow. This is the first review I have ever done. IT DOES EXACTLY WHAT IS SAYS IT DOES!! Great plugin. Tested on 2.5.9 and3.0 and all worked great. Soooo easy to configure. The hardest part is deciding what words to use. I thank you for this plugin
Owner's reply

Could I make it any easier? That's a good question. I can try.

I was thinking of adding a password generator...

2013-03-11
Reviews: 15
Download, Install and configure, in less than a minute.
It works fine, it does exactly what it does and it's one installation file for all Joomla versions. Very convenient! I read most of the reviews and it does not worth less than Excellent, plus it's totally free and without any links or annoying copyrights in the front end. All the negative reviews and ratings are 100% fault of the people who made the installation and not the extension's developer fault! The extension rocks and it should its rating should be 5 by 5.
Owner's reply

I really try to make good extensions that work. Some people have trouble, and I don't hold that against them. The only think I ask is that when things go bad, let me try to help rather than write a bad review.

Bug fixes and feature additions don't always happen unless users report the bugs and request the features.

2013-03-01
Reviews: 8
Recently I installed one other security extension which informs me of failed log-in attempts to the admin section, and blocks the IP if too many occur.

Until then I never even knew how frequent brute force attempts to guess the admin password were! Nevermind the fact I changed the default admin username to something random and used a really complicated password, I still I ended up getting a dozen alerts for each joomla site I administer, per day! It really freaked me out.

With AdminExile - no more. Now the wicked hack bots can't even try. Awesome. :D
Owner's reply

That was my intention when I wrote this extension. Because you can't bruteforce a form that you can't access.

2013-02-09
Reviews: 20
Installation and configuration very easy. Work stable. Effective protect your administrator page address. Use it as one of the security tool!
2013-01-23
Reviews: 1
i am a joomla 1.5 user and i have allot of extension for this version, i was not using joomla 3 because of the admin security reasons, so as my personal opinion this one is better then jsecure, as i find this cool plug-in i am going to turn my site to version 3 from version 1.5.26, thank you guys for the great effort put on to build this cool plug-in.
Owner's reply

It's not "you guys", it's just me, a soda, and a bag of tortilla chips.

Thanks for the great review!

2013-01-14
Reviews: 1
This plugin does a nice job of protecting your [administrator] directory. I used to use a .htaccess file that forced password, but that would still confirm the existence of the folder. After getting hacked twice, I wanted something that would block anyone knowing about the administrator directory period; this plugin does exactly what I wanted. I enabled the optional "value+key" in order to make the access key a little bit harder to guess. Thanks muchly!!
2013-01-08
Reviews: 16
OK, Joomla say's I have to write some more, just saying "little VERY useful tool. THANKS TO THE DEVELOPER !" would not be enough... SOOOO, HERE WE GO: IT IS REEEAAALLLYYY REEEAAALLLYYY EXXXELLENT AND I MEAN IT !!! Coz the best start of protecting a site (and frustrate spammers) is not showing them the Admin Login Page in the first place.
Page 2 of 6