The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


AdminExile Plugin

Your /administrator area is vulnerable - secure it with AdminExile. Access keys, IPv4/6 Black/White Lists (IP and CIDR netmasks supported), Brute Force detection. AdminExile has you covered.

The AdminExile Plugin has long been a favored and highly rated extension in the JED. Read the reviews, check out the 9 pages of documentation, and then try it yourself.

Key features:
* Access key(s) - key only, or key + key value. Others provide one or the other. AdminExile provides BOTH.
* Front-end Restriction - Restrict certain accounts from logging into the front-end with accounts intended only for back-end use.
* Lost Key Recovery - Useful for individuals using extremely difficult keys, or teams who change the keys frequently.
* IP White and Black Lists - Use individual addresses, or CIDR netmasks to define your lists.
* Brute Force Protection - Penalize users who abuse your system.
* Management of blocked addresses - See a list of blacklist attempts and bruteforce attempts, as well as the ability to reset those IP addresses.
* Admin Notification - When abuse comes from a blacklisted address or brute force is detected, an administrator can be sent a notification.
* Stealth Mode - Prevents tell-tale signs that something exists at /administrator, like the session cookie!

There are far too many features to describe in this page. Visit the documentation link to get the bigger picture.

Version 2.3.0 - additional error handling for invalid IP address/subnets typed in configuration - new IP configuration interface (With automatic sorting) and IP validation
Version 2.3.1 - fix include path issue experienced in older PHP versions
Version 2.3.2 - PHP Dynamic Loader enhancements (Thanks Richard B.)
Version 2.3.3 - fixed include path error
Version 2.3.4 - silenced unneeded warnings

All of my extensions are free and none of my extensions display advertisements or links to my sites or services. If you feel that I have blessed you, then you can bless me by making a contribution to fund future development. Visit the "Website" link to make a contribution.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-07-07
Reviews: 6
This is really a great Plugin for joomla 2.5 !! easy to install and active and the example works right away change it to your own Token and your done ( don't forget your token :) u can find it under extensions - Plugin manager )
2012-06-28
Reviews: 1
Excellent ! only one issue can't logout
running latest joomla 2.5
cleaned: cache, cookies, data
Owner's reply

Please contact me. I've never experienced, nor heard of an issue like that.

2012-06-08
Reviews: 2
Easy to install, does what it says by hiding your Administrator login area from preying eyes and spiders. Should be part of the Joomla core.
2012-05-20
Reviews: 4
Easy to install - works a treat with J2.5 helps to keep out trouble without a complex method and shields the administrator page from sight.

( Never a good idea to use purely numeric passwords, mentioned by a previous reviewer )
2012-05-06
Reviews: 1
What a very good and useful plugin, I installed it and it works, thanks
2012-04-25
Reviews: 1
good plugin.
but, when im try on nginx server i cant login. except i disable this plugin from mysql.
maybee url rewrite problem? o.O
but working good on apache
Owner's reply

Joomla /administrator doesn't utilize mod_rewrite - no SEF urls in /administrator.

2012-04-17
Reviews: 1
It's a useful plugin. But I found some issues when I use it with VirtueMart. It seems like AdminExile block VirtueMart too.
Owner's reply

When you emailed your information to me yesterday, you indicated that you were running Joomla 1.5.20 (current is 1.5.26), VirtueMart 1.1.7 (current is 2.0.6), and AdminExile 1.4 (current is 1.9).

Before you write things like this in reviews, you might consider updating your software to the latest revisions.

2012-04-12
Reviews: 3
This is a great extension with a great documentation and support from the developer. He goes above and beyond if you need help. Thank you!

Roman.
2012-04-11
Reviews: 1
One word.. whoaaa!

It is easy to use, install, add your keyword, then save.

Even leaving comment here takes longer time than use this plug-in.
2012-04-01
Reviews: 31
Brilliant - I used to use a similar extension which was free, but now costs. This is actually better in that it was much cleaner to set up - took several seconds and done! Thank you for bringing this to us for FREE.. Genius :)
2012-03-25
Reviews: 1
it s working great and easy use
2012-03-17
Reviews: 1
Worked the first time, another layer of security
2012-03-09
Reviews: 15
i was looking for some ways that people would not be able to easily come across my admin page.
this does te trick...and very well indeed.
nomore people trying to login as admin :)

i seriously hope lots of ppl will let you make extentions without buying full rights...that may sound harsh. but hey,
i really enjoy your plugins and will deffo donate when i finished this website ;)
Owner's reply

For those who are confused by this review - I offer custom development services. When a customer has an idea for an extension that I think would benefit the community - I offer to build it at a reduced cost in exchange for full copyright and a promise to release it as a free extension in the JED.

These free extensions become a calling card and code example and bring more business to me. I can't say I like charging less - but I can say that I do enjoy giving back to the community.

2012-03-05
Reviews: 2
It was very easy to setup and this is a great idea, was looking for something like this, tried another one but got locked out of the site, this extension worked immediately, thank you!
2012-03-02
Reviews: 8
How do you make money when all of your very very good extensions are all FREE. You are one of a kind of open dev. I salute you for all your hard work.

Will use your donate button later as soon as I get the next paycheck.
Owner's reply

How do I make money... Well, I don't - not from free extensions anyway.

Most of these extensions were built for my clients. Because they opted to NOT purchase full rights, I released them for free. So my clients paid me to create them, but they didn't pay to own them.

There are several extensions I've created that are, sadly, not mine to give away anymore.

2012-02-27
Reviews: 9
The first objective in safety is not to be seen. This extension redirects your browser if you try and access the back-end (e.g. .../administrator ) without a key.

Fast and easy. I am impressed.
Owner's reply

Excellent point Jody -

AdminExile isn't the only thing an administrator/owner should do to secure the administrator area. It is, however, a good first step. Strong passwords should be the next consideration.

Paranoia is a good trait for webmasters.

2012-02-17
Reviews: 3
I installed it yesterday. It is as easy as what other reviews said. And it works instantly.
Today when I try to log in again, I can't get the login page! (by the url cached on my firefox)
... ...
Problem solved by removing the www. on the url.
Not sure if it is because that url is itself a subdomain or why, anyway, hope this piece of infn is useful to those who encounter similar situation.
Owner's reply

Subdomain you say... I'll look into that!

Send me a message through my site!

2012-02-10
Reviews: 4
Does exactly what it says, takes about half a minute to set up, and it's free! Awesome!
2012-02-09
Reviews: 22
This is a must for all Joomla sites!

It works as advertized, I had it up and running in less than 1 minute. I was using another extension, however the programmer failed to support J1.6~ when I made the transition, so now I only use AdminExile on all my sites.

I love the new feature in Version 1.6 - Option to use key + value.

I also use Clean Response on all my sites.

Michael Richey please keep up the great work!
2012-02-08
Reviews: 1
I wanted to hide my 1.7 Administrator login page and this does exactly that, and does it simply and cleanly. Excellent!

I was happy to see the added feature which would allow me to block a Manager from logging into the front end (solving another of my needs), but it does not work as I expected. I'm emailing Michael for help. AdminExile still gets an Excellent rating, as the primary function works flawlessly.

Thanks!
Owner's reply

wweb pointed out a bug with the front end restriction option which turned out to be an out-of-place quotation mark (it's always something silly/simple).

Page 4 of 6