The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Admin Tools Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Admin Tools is a true Swiss Army knife for your site. Our freely available Admin Tools Core will detect, notify you about and install new Joomla! releases, fix your files' and directories' permissions, protect your administrator directory with a password, change your database prefix, set a secure Super Administrator ID, migrate links pointing to your old domain on-the-fly and perform database maintenance, all with a single click.

Written and maintained by the same developer as Akeeba Backup and the Joomla! updater component of Joomla! 2.5.4 and later.

Note: a commercial edition (Admin Tools Professional) with extra security-oriented features is also available from our site for a fee. This listing is about the free version, Admin Tools Core.

Note 2: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscription (starting at EUR 7.79) to request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

Report Extension

 

 

2013-01-28
Reviews: 5
The tool works as described. Nicholas has accumulated a comprehensive collection of support documentation to assist with website management. He has been easily accessible via a secure ticket. A Natural teacher.
2013-01-17
Reviews: 3
I installed Admin Tools in all the sites. Easy and comprensive interface, easy updating. Basic free usage, with the possibility to upgrade the level of service with the payed version. Good and clean documentation. I have not run into any problem with it.
2013-01-02
Reviews: 1
We encurage all our joomla clients to get this kind of extensions. Hackers are smart, you have to avoid dumb ones and this tool do just that
:)
2012-12-11
Reviews: 5
There's not much I can say except: the best admin tool for Joomla ever. Thanks Nicholas!
2012-12-05
Reviews: 19
Thank you for this extension. I find the 'Database Table Prefix Editor' and 'Fix Permissions' tools very helpful and useful.
2012-12-01
Reviews: 7
Incredibly useful component. No problems, all commands executed in the blink of an eye, without ANY problems. Essential tool.
2012-10-27
Reviews: 25
Well-written essential tool for your Joomla 1.5 site. Provides a level of security at the backend administrator, denying access to bots/hackers trying to identify your site. Allows you to easily change the name of the database tables denying hackers access. For these functions alone it receives an excellent five star rating.
2012-10-16
Reviews: 1
I was having huge problems with spam coming through my submit forms. This product instantly stopped spammers and hackers. The documentation is excellent and very well written. A Great extension from a great developer. ESSENTIAL tool for any joomla install, in fact most Akeeba products are.
2012-08-16
Reviews: 2
It's magic.
A wonderful component makes my life easy with powerful functions.
Like all extensions of akeeba admin tools is brilliant.
Kudos to the developers.
2012-08-07
Reviews: 12
Products like ADMIN TOOLS and AKEEBA BACKUP, make me sleep a lot better. These products are a MUST have. Unfortunately I learned the hard way. Hackers installed their product before I installed ADMIN TOOLS and AKEEBA BACKUP. Thanks a lot for these amazing products.
2012-08-02
Reviews: 1
I'm relativley new to Joomla and products like ADMIN TOOLS make it so easy to manage your site. And if it wasn't for the ease of site BACKUP / RESTORE with the sister product AKEEBA BACKUP, I doubt if I would be using Joomla at all.

Both products are excellent.
2012-07-13
Reviews: 1
This extension is very useful for administering a joomla website. All the features mentioned work without any problem. I have this extension installed in all of my sites.
2012-07-10
Reviews: 4
I am a newbie and this extensions takes all the guesswork out for me. Thanks
2012-07-05
Reviews: 10
I needed to upgrade from 1.5.23 to the latest of 1.5.26. Didn't feel like waiting on unzipping then FTPing over 10MB of files. I found the extension via a Google search for 1.5.23 patches. I wanted to make sure the 1.5.0 patch was the correct one. One of the results was a post in the Joomla forums and someone had recommended using Admin Tools.

I love it! Installed without a hitch. It let me know there was an update available. It downloaded and installed it.

Of course I've noticed Joomla 2.5 has updating built in. I'm happy to see Joomla is up with the times of built-in automated updates/update notification.
2012-06-14
Reviews: 29
Admin Tools is very useful component. Especially for old Joomla 1.5 it makes very easy to update site and also adds some security tools like database table prefix change.

Also it was very helpful for upgrade Joomla 1.6, 1.7 while with standard Joomla update process there where sometimes problems.
Next important feature was update notification in Control Panel.

In Joomla 2.5 there were many improvements but Admin Tools is still helpful.
2012-06-11
Reviews: 2
Great set of tools. When the standard joomla upgrade failed (1.7 to 2.5.4) Admin tools came to the rescue and allowed me to upgrade seamlessly. Saved me a lot of time and hassle. Well done.
2012-05-10
Reviews: 1
I'm a noobie at Joomla (though not at programming or website maintenance). I was given an old Joomla 1.5.15 website that had been hacked twice in the last month. Installed Admin Tools with no problems and used it to upgrade Joomla and to implement basic security changes. Thank you for providing such a clean, helpful tool!
2012-05-04
Reviews: 2
I've been working with Joomla for a few years now, developed plenty of commerical sites, stores, directories, forums and the like.

There are a HANDFUL of extensions I don't leave home without - maybe 6 all up. This is one of them (although I use admin tools pro lately!). Another in that list is Akeeba Backup, by the same developer. Admin Tools and Akeeba go into every site I build, without question.

Why AdminTools?

Easy: check
Consistent across platforms: check
Security: check
Well documented: check (seriously well documented.)
Support: triple check

Nick routinely assists people with major site issues even though they are nothing to do with his extensions. The level of support is amazing.

Not only that, the self service documentation and trouble shooters are superb.

Product updates are constant and the extension does exactly what it says it does. I put up 2 test sites with Admin Tools "just to see" one day - they averaged 15 hack and probe attempts PER DAY for 3 weeks.

Get admin tools. Secure yourself. Make it easier to manage websites. And get back to the fun stuff, like building websites...instead of screwing around with security.
2012-04-25
Reviews: 1
Incredible tool and indespensable to any Joomla site! I recommend it for anyone maintaining a Joomla web site.
2012-04-17
Reviews: 2
Just the fact that it 1-click updates Joomla flawlessly is already a bliss but on top of that it help me EASILY plug the most common security holes such as Admin ID, table prefixes or file permissions and even adds some other administration tools such as correcting migrated links. It just makes life so much easier. And it's free! I use it in every 1 of my sites. A must have.
Page 2 of 9