The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

Admin Tools Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Admin Tools is a true Swiss Army knife for your site. Our freely available Admin Tools Core will detect, notify you about and install new Joomla! releases, fix your files' and directories' permissions, protect your administrator directory with a password, change your database prefix, set a secure Super Administrator ID, migrate links pointing to your old domain on-the-fly and perform database maintenance, all with a single click.

Written and maintained by the same developer as Akeeba Backup and the Joomla! updater component of Joomla! 2.5.4 and later.

Note: a commercial edition (Admin Tools Professional) with extra security-oriented features is also available from our site for a fee. This listing is about the free version, Admin Tools Core.

Note 2: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a subscription to request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the public tickets is free.

Report Extension



Reviews: 6
When it comes to security, every Joomla user must install this extension, because having a htpassword and many other features protecting your system will make your security like 99% more effective.

It strongly protect your site, I recommend it.
Reviews: 2
Hey i just want to say thanks to the people that make this product open to the public. To me as a newbie with Joomla its the easiest way to maintain and observe the joomla site security ! Great gyus keep the good work !
Reviews: 1
I have a fair number of Joomla! sites up and running ...
This is one of the components I allways install (together with Akeeba Backup)

Reviews: 7
Incredible tool it was so helpfull!!! THANK YOU VERY MUCH! And it is free!!!
I love keeping track of updages for the extensions!
The little thing is that it keeps on telling me update for admintools is needed but I have the latest version isntalled (currently 2.2.2) for other extensions it detects updates as soon as i install them
Reviews: 3 all my site secured within 30 minutes. Especially the joomla update was very smooth.
Reviews: 1
Upgrading from Joomla 1.7 to 2.5.3 COMPLETELY CRASHED MY SITE. Thank god I had a backup to restore my files. I would not suggest this to anyone. Do yourself a favor and install things by yourself.
Owner's reply

You do realise that Admin Tools wasn't to blame for this, right? It did what you told it to do: upgrade your site from Joomla! 1.7 to 2.5. This doesn't mean that all of your third party templates, components, modules and plugins were Joomla! 2.5 ready, ergo the site crash. For what is worth, you'd get the exact same results upgrading from Joomla! 1.7 to 2.5 using Joomla!'s own updater. Maybe you just need to reconsider your method of directly upgrading between different Joomla! minor versions (e.g. 1.6 to 1.7, 1.7 to 2.5 and so on) on a live site instead of complaining about the software which made such an upgrade possible and whose Joomla! update function will be included in Joomla! 2.5.4?

Reviews: 2
This is a great extension!
Easy installation and usage.
I use Joomla for about 5 years and this is the must have extension.
Reviews: 4
Excellent tool and as valuable as Akeeba Backup.
Would like to upgrade to the professional version but alas Paypal and I are not compatible. Would be great to have another method of credit card payment for the professional version.
Reviews: 2
Very impressive tool for site administration. However, almost lost 2 months of work a few days before deployment.
Cannot recommend SEO optimization feature at this time. Will be a great tool once adequately tested. Will contact developer with issues.
Owner's reply

Well, I never lied about Admin Tools being a SEO tool :) The only features it has of this kind are very basic and documented: Admin Tools Core is not supposed to be a SEO solution by any stretch of imagination.

I'd appreciate it if you could send me an email (use the Contact link on the bottom of our site) with your concerns. Now I'm starting at this review, wondering what you mean. How is it possible to lose 2 months of work since all you need is to disable those options to revert to the previous situation? Even if you don't have access to your back-end due to a conflicting option, our troubleshooter tells you how to manually disable the Admin Tools plugin over FTP and get back into your site:

Reviews: 1
I always install this extension for every Joomla Website I have!
Has many useful func & support from home page.
Reviews: 3
I'm a bit newbie. This tool (and the documentation provided by the developer) helps me to understand some things and how they work, instead I'm not a a developer.
I'd installed this Non commercial, but considering to upgrade to Professional version. Thanks Nicholas!
Reviews: 2
Another great tool from Akeeba.

I needed to upgrade J! core, Admin Tools simply presented the required options and did the job, quickly and easily. Marvellous! Again!!
Reviews: 2
I have used this extension from Joomla! 1.5 - 2.5 and have found it to be a big life saver. When I was working on the development of my last site, AdminTools Joomla! update feature was the only method that would work to upgrade my site from 1.7 to 2.5. I don't find myself using this extension as much as I do the other Akeeba extensions I use (Backup and Subscriptions), but it have been just as invaluable to me.
Reviews: 11
Awesome extension, works as described. A lot of useful options, all working perfectly. Included it on over 30+ sites, never a problem. Very easy to use, extremely versatile.
Reviews: 3
I tried to use admin tools to go on joomla 1.7. It broke my site. I uninstalled it and got the home page graphics back but all the menu links were broken. I went into menu manager and tried to re-link the menus but to no avail. Luckily I had a local version to fall back on.
Owner's reply

As I've written many times in the public support tickets (which can be searched and read even by non-subscribers like you) this is caused by wrong permissions on your site causing a directory to not be copied. There is a bug in Admin Tools' plugin, causing it to fail with a fatal error when that directory isn't copied. It was discovered because some other users, unlike you, took the time to file a free bug report in our Pre-Sales forum, supplying me with adequate information to replicate the issue and solve it. The bottom line is, if you have a bug report, please report it on our site. It's free. Unless you report it, don't expect to see it resolved.

Anyway, the solution to your problem is rather simple: extract the installation archive and copy the fof directory inside your site's libraries directory, so that you now have a libraries/fof directory.

Besides, we have manual uninstallation instructions in our release announcement page ( If you follow them, the software uninstalls cleanly and doesn't cause the problems you mention. My guess is that you removed the component but not the plugins, hence the persistence of your problem.

Finally, please note that as stated in the release announcement and our download page, Joomla! 1.7 is NOT supported.

Reviews: 4
I have was having problems with upgrading to 2.5.1 server errors 500. Then I found Admin tools which resolved my shared server issue. A great extension thanks, Contribution has been made.
Reviews: 1
struggling with updating my joomla from 1.7 to 2.5, I came across this nice tool...did the job without any issues :)
using akeeba backup already since years...spent a small donation, it´s so cool you guys can offer these great tools for free! :)
Reviews: 2
Easy as 123... If your looking to update from Joomla 1.5.23 to 1.5.25 and above Akeeba Admin Tools is exactly what you need to get the job done (considering so many forum posts are asking where the 1.5.23 update package can be found). The component is flawless! BTW - Be sure to use Akeeba back up before upgrading!!!!
Kudos + 5 Stars - to the development staff at Akeeba, Keep up the good work!
Reviews: 6
This does exactly as advertised and provides a neat console to control its actions. It is well worth adding to your website.
Reviews: 5
Brilliant extension. No Joomla user should be without it.
Page 3 of 9