The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Admin Tools Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Admin Tools is a true Swiss Army knife for your site. Our freely available Admin Tools Core will detect, notify you about and install new Joomla! releases, fix your files' and directories' permissions, protect your administrator directory with a password, change your database prefix, set a secure Super Administrator ID, migrate links pointing to your old domain on-the-fly and perform database maintenance, all with a single click.

Written and maintained by the same developer as Akeeba Backup and the Joomla! updater component of Joomla! 2.5.4 and later.

Note: a commercial edition (Admin Tools Professional) with extra security-oriented features is also available from our site for a fee. This listing is about the free version, Admin Tools Core.

Note 2: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a valid subscription (starting at EUR 7.79) to request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the forum is free.

Report Extension

 

 

2011-04-13
Reviews: 2
Does make administration of a site much much easier and faster. Easy to understand. Thanks!
2011-04-13
Reviews: 1
As my last review (which took along time to write) never showed up I will make this short and sweet.

Admin Tools is really useful, installs in seconds and makes general administration much easier.

One of the most usefull aspects of this component (for me anyways), is the ability to set file permissions for files and folders, then have it restore permissions for all.

I had to make a hack to the CHMOD values for this as it was missing the option to set things at values of CHMOD 705 and 604, which are the preferred permissions on shared hosting to prevent cross site injections.

All in all I think most of the tools in Admin Tools should be built in to Joomla 1.6 as standard, this is one of those components you'll find yourself useing in all your installs, if only they made joomla a multisite engine!.
2011-04-12
Reviews: 7
There are several tools here in the extension directory, which do the same thing and offer better handling details:

Example:
IP-Blocking: Here: Only one by one can be entered. They cannot be disabled but have to be deleted.
Other tool: (IP Block): Offers the entering of many IPs, which can be disabled or not.

Country blocking: Here: If you accidentally block your country (as I did for testing purposes), I could not even go to the backend anymore.
Other tool: (CF Country Block): Blocks countries only in the front end and uses the same Maxmind data source.

HttpBL blocking: It works with the honeypot project but does not offer a redirecting page.
Other tool: httpbl: Offers a redirecting page.

For all blocking aspects a redirecting page 403 should be possible. For the time being only the individual language .ini files need to be adjusted, which I don't like too much.

Apart from these items the tool offers a huge variety of items to set and the tool has helped me to upgrade the Joomla core easily.

The answers in the forum came fast and could have been a little more specific in regard to the questions asked.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review, but you seem to have missed some of the tips and features of Admin Tools.

1. IP Block. You can enter IP ranges in human readable format, i.e. 192.168.0.1-192.168.1.255 or 192.168.1. If you want to mass-enter a large number of IP addresses you can use FreakedOut.de's Content Uploader to import massive lists from Excel files.

2. GeoIP blocking. Yes, we do protect your back-end as well. If you block a country you usually do so because you have tons of spamming/hacking attempts. Why risk those people attacking your back-end and not be blocked? That said, if you are you locked out, no problem, just follow the manual instructions for renaming one file, fix it and restore the file. Would you think that adding a toggle (protect front-end only / protect entire site) would be better? Please place your suggestion in our forum's Feature Request section so that we can discuss this further.

3. HttpBL blocking. What do you mean by redirecting page? Would you like to post a feature request in our forum so that we can talk about it more in depth and possibly implement this? The latest version (2.0.5 at the time of this writing) does present you with a link to a page which explains why you are blocked and what you can do to unblock yourself.

4. Blocking message: I agree. I don't like it either. This is on my to-do list for version 2.1.

Regarding the forum support, please note that we answer based on the information you provide us in your question. It's impossible to provide 100% accurate responses without having full access to the site. That kind of service is provided to AKEEBADELUXE and SUPPORT subscribers through the private ticket system - hence the higher price of those subscriptions.

Thank you for your feedback and constructive criticism! This is what helps us improve the software :)

2011-03-24
Reviews: 9
Makes the administration of my site much easier, especially considering that some of it is beyond my understanding.
2011-03-23
Reviews: 3
Admin Tools Pro version is a must have extension for Joomla 1.5 and 1.6. This component installs on both stable versions of Joomla with ease and is simple to maintain with it’s upgrade notification feature in the control panel. Notable features include; upgrade, security, and tools.

Upgrade features allow the user to maintain their Joomla installation and the component with a few simple clicks of a mouse. Security features afford the user the ability to secure the admin panel, super admin user, and create a .htaccess file with ease. Tools assist with the management of permissions, DB repair and optimization, SEO, URL redirection, session and temp file purging, and scheduling.

Overall this is an excellent extension for website administrators and business owners interested in simplifying some of the administrative processes that go along with maintaining a secure website.
2011-03-13
Reviews: 3
A time saver when upgrading, tighten security without any knowledge at all. Several other tools for cleaning and optimizing the database tables as well as fixing the tables if there are errors. Some simple SEO tools and redirecting tools as well. there also a few other tools. This is a time saver for me and makes me feel a little more secure. Excellent! I have the PRO version.
2011-03-12
Reviews: 4
This extension is a great addition to Joomla admin management and patch updates. I've used it to manage three non-profit sites and can honestly say its a breeze to use and a great time saver.

Nicholas is a Star in the Joomla Universe :)
2011-03-12
Reviews: 3
After you using the free version for a while I just found myself using it more and more each time I put up a new Joomla site. Not wanting to feel like a free loader I went ahead and bought the pro version for admin tools. Akeeba products are the swiss army knife of tools for Joomla!
2011-03-11
Reviews: 2
I've been wondering for a tool like this.
Don't expect to make my website 100% safe but definitely it helps a with the batch processes we might fail manually...
Good job guys
2011-02-10
Reviews: 2
I've been using Joomla! for years. Have avoided this extension...not sure why. I should have been using it from it's inception. An excellent tool that has helped me to do things more easily, and that has helped me do things comfortably (for example...Permissions) that I was not comfortable doing before.

I also like the authors attitude...a lot! Well documented. Very useful.

Thanks for this component!
2011-02-02
Reviews: 2
One of the first things I install on a new joomla.

Lots of great tools in one component

Thank you
2011-01-31
Reviews: 4
Another example of what open source can and should be. The tool brings together a number of features that we would need to hunt down. Nicholas has gathered them under this umbrella and released a tool that every Joomla admin should use. I suggest paying for the Pro version (as well as the Pro version of Akeeba Backup - anohter product he has generously given to the community in a free version). I would also suggest you read his statement of philosophy in his excellent documentation. Again, this guy is the epitome of the spirit of open source. He provides quick, accurate support. Can't say enough about him.
2011-01-30
Reviews: 22
Like Akeeba Backup, Admin Tools is a high-quality extension and works perfectly. Absolutely no complaints! Thanks for developing and releasing it!
2011-01-24
Reviews: 6
As a long time Akeeba backup fan I can't believe I didn't find this before now.

Well done on a great tool. So many useful utilities, especially the Joomla update and fix permissions options.
2011-01-23
Reviews: 1
I have just run the entire toolkit on 5 sites. Based on the excellence of the documentation and the quality of the support (on the Akeeba site and forums), I UNDERSTOOD what I was doing and why.

I have always loved Nicholas's documentation. By following its instructions and precautions, I was confident that none of my 5 live sites would be shut down, even though I was running powerful tools that touched the main database and other sensitive areas.

Although this is the review of the non-commercial version (as specified by the rules here), I also thoroughly endorse the upgraded version that I purchased and used. I believe that the benefits are worth every Euro.

Had I known about the issues that the Akeeba products address, I would have been anxious to deal with them. Fortunately I had the tools at the same time as I found out about the weak points of entry.

If I could give it 6 stars, I would!
2011-01-17
Reviews: 1
I must say I try this on a web site i needed to upgrade from 1.5.15 to 1.5.22 and in seconds it was done. After that now all my sites have it. Also the backup utility is extremly good.


Great job
2011-01-17
Reviews: 24
Akeeba Admin Tools should definitely be part of the Joomla Core! It gives one numerous must have security features and makes keeps Joomla updated literally as easy as clicking one button.
2011-01-17
Reviews: 2
I am using the non-commercial version at this time. After having my site hacked for a second time in a year, I found Akeeba's backup and admin tools. Both are documented well and work as advertised. Very impressed so far.
2011-01-16
Reviews: 1
A Very nice extension, simple and to the point!
Good work, I hope you will continue to working on this one!
2011-01-10
Reviews: 1
It's essential software for any joomla site (both the free,non-commercial and paid versions of Akeeba Admin and Backup) produced to highest quality coding and usability standards.

As other reviewers have mentioned caution needs to be exercised when applying a few of the powerful features that the software offers or you can encounter issues, more often than not there is a setting that can be applied to overcome any problem. Website security is a complex arena, so problems are to be expected in getting it right but with well configured akeeba admin and backup employed - site admins can sleep better.

If only all software was this well designed! Life would be better.
Page 7 of 9