The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Admin Tools Professional ComponentModulePlugin

From the makers of Akeeba Backup Core/Professional and Admin Tools Core, this is the enhanced release of Admin Tools, available on a subscription basis. On top of what Admin Tools Core already offers, Admin Tools Professional has these exclusive features:
- Restrict administrator with a secret URL parameter
- Web Application Firewall to block common exploits (SQL injection, XSS, DFI, RFI, malicious user agent, CSRF/spam-bot protection, uploads scanner)
- Bad word filtering
- IP Whitelisting for the administrator section
- IP Blacklisting
- Geographic block (deny access to specific countries/continents)
- Modification of Generator meta tag and other sensitive HTTP headers
- Email on administrator login
- Block front-end Super Administrator log-in
- Block Super Administrator user modification
- Block extensions installation
- Block visual fingerprinting (tmpl, template and tp URL parameters)
- Integration of the Bad Behavior anti-spam library
- Project Honeypot IP blacklist integration
- Automatic IP blocking of repeat offenders
- Email notifications of all detected security issues
- URL redirections (exclusive support for query parameters!)
- Scheduled site maintenance operations

The software is GPL; buying a single subscription you can install it on as many sites as you want and keep it running even after your subscription expires, without encrypted code, domain limitations or other such nuisances.

Report Extension

 

 

2012-06-24
Reviews: 2
I love this component. While the free version of Admin Tools has some fantastic features, the Professional version really steps things up and takes things to the next-level.

I love the Web Application Firewall and the .htaccess generator!

The Pros:

Stable and essential component for helping to protect the confidentiality, integrity, and availability of one's Joomla installation.

The Cons:

Some of the settings can be confusing. There needs to be more tool-tips and hover-text provided for every option that clearly explains what they're for.

The verdict:

A no-brainer. EVERY Joomla Admin should have this component. This should be part of Joomla core!
2012-06-21
Reviews: 1
This thing is AMAZING.... literally the best utility on my site bar none. And for the price it is worth every penny. I want a LIFETIME membership please...
2012-06-18
Reviews: 6
Admin Tools is easy to use and it has tons of options to secure your site. Like any security measures, it is not bullet proof, but you can go very deep into detail and make it difficult to hack. Sometimes, setting the security rules too strict can lead to problems with certain extensions, but you can tweak it until it is right and the documentation is clear and easy to follow. A great solution!
2012-06-10
Reviews: 2
I tried this tool to upgrade 2.5.1 to 2.5.4 and it worked perfectly! At the same time it fixed some other issues i had ( missing xml file). Thanks very much for developing this great tool!
2012-06-07
Reviews: 1
This is a must have tool. Provides great security for joomla with lots of customization. Support is great and responsive. Additional tools help make managing a joomla site much easier and safer. Well done.
2012-05-15
Reviews: 3
I strongly encourage any joomla webmasters to pay for the professional version of admintools, if for no other reason than for the tools under the web application firewall menu. I used the free version previously but I really can't live without the ability to block potential threats from the sites I manage and this tool makes it easy, with its geographic blocking, security exceptions log, site IP blacklist, etc.
2012-05-10
Reviews: 4
We use it more than a year and I am very pleased. Before that I used SecureLive , but I was not satisfied.
Admin Tools has many features, and raised the security of our web site to the highest level, because site is a joomla, this component essential.
Automatic block users who attempt to invade and to report to the selected e-mail / mobile phone if something that I like the most. Admin Tools Professional is like swiss knife for Joomla, need to have installed.
2012-05-06
Reviews: 1
I have found installing and using this product to be a breeze and its utility soon becomes hard to live without. It was first recommended to me at a meeting of the Chicago Joomla Users Group - great advice from Pro Joomla users. Technical support on the product has been largely not needed, but I have used their support in the migration from 1.7 to 2.5.4 -- which their product helps with by the way! The support was timely, helpful and correct answers every time. I hope all Joomla users will add the security this great product provides to their collection of websites and also thereby support this type of quality developer we need contributing great products to the Joomla community.
2012-04-29
Reviews: 1
I've been involved in Joomla for over 6 years now and I've just received the best support ever. 5 minutes from ticket creation and resolution.. that deserves and review!

Love the product, love the support, well worth the money!
2012-04-24
Reviews: 1
I can't recommend this extension highly enough. The subscription is more than justified by the superb levels of support, comprehensive and well-written documentation and the sheer performance of the component.

The time and effort it saves, not to mention the abundance of features is staggering. It's top of my list of must have extensions. Just brilliant. Thankyou!
2012-04-21
Reviews: 5
This do what it's say 100%, noting to complane about this software. GREAT
2012-04-16
Reviews: 1
Admin tools Pro lives up to its claim that it will help protect your site.The tools are pretty good, but you have to use your judgement. But even you screw up there is usually a way out. The user manual is very well laid out and in a language that is relatively easy to understand. The support service is pretty good and the philosophy laid out is very realistic and honest. I am not expecting any miracles but good to know these guys are on my side.
2012-04-05
Reviews: 10
Excellent component that makes the must have security rules + the creation of your .htaccess custom file, normally a very tedious task, to be easily done, mantained & punctually updated through the AT component, when needed.
Even the provided well done PDF guide and all its detailed and valuable info. worth the cost paid for the Admin Tools Pro Subscription by far.
Thanks a lot for that and keep-up the good work and superb support!
2012-03-28
Reviews: 6
protects and saves so much time when you are managing a few hundred sites. combine it with akeba backup and you are rock solid
2012-03-17
Reviews: 2
Until I was hacked a few weeks ago, I had never given thought to a extension like Admin Tools Professional. Post hack my eyes are now wide open and I take the security of my site a lot more seriously.

I cannot emphasise enough quite how much this is a fantastic extension to have. Having given the free version a try once i looked at the comparison table to see how much more functionality the commercial version gives you, it was a no brainer really. So here I am two weeks in and I love it.

Cannot recommend this enough to anyone - this should be one of the first things you install on your joomla site !!

Nicholas, you are awesome !
2012-03-15
Reviews: 3
I had been using the non-commercial version for a long time. Now I've upgraded to the Pro-version and it was well worth the money.

Everything about the functionality seems to so carefully though of and the ease of use and simplicity for the user is amazing.

This a very clever and professional piece of work. Thanks a lot for this great component.
2012-02-26
Reviews: 1
Absolutely an essential app for your sites. Along with the akeeba backup software I could not do my work without them!

Fantastic code, great work!
2012-02-13
Reviews: 6
I've used Joomla for years without writing a single review here - but I was so impressed with Akeeba Admin Tools that I had to chime in.

I can't believe I ever ran my site WITHOUT this tool. Very easy to set up, with thorough documentation, I had it running within 15 minutes. That process REALLY opened my eyes to how many basic changes you can make to your site to help increase security - along with many more sophisticated means as well.

Using this tool has also shown me that security paranoia is well justified. My sites - which have only low to moderate traffic - are the targets of basic hacking attempts several times each day (I had no idea).

While using this tool is clearly not the magic bullet for site security, it gives you a big boost in the right direction.

Thanks Nicholas!
2012-02-11
Reviews: 7
A lot of valueable features. Worth every single cent! With a very fair license sheme (license once to run it on all your sites)! A must have!
2012-02-10
Reviews: 28
We use Admin Tools Pro on all our sites, and I would never consider looking elsewhere.

By default, it does tons of hugely useful things which I can remember having to do manually (and frequently making mistakes and breaking entire sites!) and with the update feature, I am happy to allow clients to maintain the site themselves.

The WAF is great, if a little strict, by default - but configurable enough to be able to enable and disable features to your requirements.

Support has been top notch, quick, responsive and helpful. Documentation is very good (if you read it!) and it integrates well with Akeeba Backup as well - prompting to take a backup prior to updating, for example.

Only slight frustration is the rate at which Nicholas releases new versions, I'm constantly having clients call me telling me it's out of date! But that's a good thing! :))
Page 4 of 6