The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JoomListings ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
JC - JoomListings is a professionally developed classifieds component that was built with you - the site owner - in mind and to assist you in generating income from your website. Whether you are running classifieds for autos, motorcycles, bicycles, boats, real estate, jobs, or general merchandise, JoomListings component with Joomla! is the right package for you.

*Follow us on twitter*
http://twitter.com/joomclan

******************************************
*~New Features for JoomListings V.2.5.1~*
******************************************
*Compatibility with Joomla! 2.5.x
*Quick JoomListings Installer, you can install all the plugins and modules in one click
*NEW: Help Documentation on JoomLisintgs extension is now available within the admin section of the component.
*NEW: JoomListings Social Plugin, now you have ability to share listing/Ad link on facebook, twitter, and social media web sites.
*Integration testing/QA/fixes with JomSocial version 2.6
*Integration testing/QA/fixes with Community Builder version 1.8
*Bug Fix: Upload and Download attachments in listing view
*Bug Fix: Listing counters / views
*Bug Fix: Delete button on my Ads view
*Bug Fix: Overall package assignments, relisting, and listing/package expiration
*Bug Fix: Report Listing violations drop down fixes


****************************************
*~New Features for JoomListings V.2.1.8~*
****************************************
- Checkboxes, text area, flash up-loader as an extra field
- Paypal Subscriptions for Packages
- Listing Rating
- Counts the number of views for each listing
- Joomla 1.6 compatibility
- Report Listings
- Integration with Community Builder
- Integration with Artio JoomSEF
- Bold Listing additional upgrade option in package
- Disclaimer/Privacy for Ads
- Pedigree Module
- Submit Classifieds to your Twitter account
- Improved Expired Listings Handling
- Improved Expired Package Handling
- Additional level in Regions (Now we will have Region > Location > Neighbourhood)
- Additional levels in categories
- Packages can be assigned to specific categories or all categories
- Messaging and email template bugs reported in forums
(http://www.joomclan.com/ipb/index.php?/topic/417-problem-tracker/)
- Package and listing expiry bugs reported in forums
(http://www.joomclan.com/ipb/index.php?/topic/417-problem-tracker/)

****************************************
*~New Features for JoomListings V.2.1.7~*
****************************************

- New front end template (jquery/CSS)
- Google map integration
- Unique IDs for Listings
- Search Module For searching the Listings > Only listings With Images Option
- Anti-spam protection for forms
- Tags module (jquery based)
- Images for sections and categories in the front end
- Module to show sections/categories in menu

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2013-11-04
Reviews: 3
It's really great when after purchase you don't need to spend hours for setup of the extension. I didn't get any problem with this extension. Listing is really very easy but have enough functionality to implement any listing you need. I had small conflict but support helped me out really fast. Support was professional and effective. Thank you very much for your component and help!
2012-12-01
Reviews: 1
Being a novice to website design & development (I'm neither) I engaged a local developer to design my website.What should have taken 6 weeks has taken 5 months +...
Anyway about JoomClan, I bought the Joomlistings Plugin on 11 Nov 2012 & got my developer to install & train me thereafter. Installation was done, however there was an error code which Hassan of JoomClan fixed within 24 hours, bear in mind our time differences (USA & South Africa). After that there were still some "so-called issues" affecting my site... not familiar with the support ticket system I emailed Hassan & he responded promptly telling me that the "issues" were not bugs but training items. I advised my local developer & he responded that it was a Joomlistings problem. I contacted Hassan via email & again he immediately replied asking for my skype id... we skyped, explained & discussed the issues... long story short...today Saturday 01 Dec 2012 he skyped me as my developer was not answering Hassans calls and he took me through the backend of site and trained me in a patient and professional manner for 49 of his precious & valuable minutes. My JoomListings is now working like a gem and I can now take my site to market. Further Hassan has insisted should there be any things I do not understand or forget, to contact him without hesitation for assistance.
In conclusion, all I can say " it pays in the end, to buy & work with the best in the beginning".
There are not enough stars on this review to express my appreciation of thanks to Hassan & Team JoomClan.
Guys you rock! I will certainly be using your services on my next Big Idea in 2013.
2012-11-14
Reviews: 5
This is my first time that paid money any product. I don't any code to develop my website. Before I bought joomlisting, I thought how much they would support me when I got problems. It's really good luck for me that I paid my money with right product. Every time I met different problems, I always sent to them and got good news from them. They save my money because my template is not pro and had some conflit with it but I fix my template. Really Thank to Joomlisting.
2012-09-18
Reviews: 1
IT is true that most people only write reviews when they not happy. I struggled to by this product off the site to start as its not clear where to download.
Installed easy no problems, but then, there is no documentation on houw to use it other than a single video. Yo can only get a support ticket if you give all the FTP and login details.
I only wanted to change the currency to GBP, I have been designing websites since 1994 so I am more than familiar with most things, however Joomlistings is very difficult to use, no help files and no email for support. I would not recommend it
2012-07-26
Reviews: 1
I got this product for a client a couple of months ago. The product is VERY flexible, and met the complete desire that the website needs. Further more, I would like to add, that if you have no experience, with any coding. JoomClan, will help you, with any questions you may have. They aren't a group of people who just sell the product, and leave you alone! Amazing Product! Amazing Support! A full thumbs up for JoomClan! If you need a Listing, trust me, this is all your ever going to need!
2012-07-17
Reviews: 1
It seems this product has been largely abandoned by the developer. There is no active support or community to assist site developers. Also, when trying to submit a "support ticket" (the only way to get help), the form didn't work. The Twitter and Facebook for the developer haven't been updated in a long time, and the web site makes reference to a version of the software being released that isn't available in the already needlessly hard-to-find downloads area.

This developer has lost interest in the product. Avoid it at all cost!
2012-05-31
Reviews: 1
I've been using JoomListing now for a few weeks and am still learning my way around. While it seems easy enough to manage, I've had my share of problems but the support is everything I could hope for.
2012-05-22
Reviews: 1
I just recently purchased Joomlistings. Everything was straight forward and easy out of the box. I had one minor issue, opened a ticket and got a response and fix within the hour. I have never received a reply that fast from any other extension..( Not knocking any other extensions of course) So hats off to the customer service!

Overall, this extension does what it says it does. It also integrates perfect with jomsocial. I would definitely recommend this product for the cost. Thanks!
2011-09-09
Reviews: 1
Great extension...I looked for quite a while to find a component that had all of the things my site required. Joomlistings was well worth the modest price!

I am an experienced Joomla, website builder and I highly recommend this component to anyone looking to build a classified ads website!
2011-08-03
Reviews: 1
At first I was having some problems with this extension (due to my errors, not the extension's) and the support team fixed it right away. Several times I have called with questions and every time they have fixed it right away... plus they answer their phone!

Now that the support team has my site all configured I can't imagine having all the options I have without this extension. A very valuable extension for the classified's market!
2011-04-25
Reviews: 1
Started using the JoomListing component, and I have one thing to say, "Awesome"!

At first I was a bit setback by the amount of setup required and the size of the component, but once I opened the documentation, I saw the full potential of it, I was amazed.

This component is designed to rival setups of sites like craigslist and others. So naturally there is a lot of settings and variables that need to be setup. This is not something to just jump into. It takes time to get all the settings exactly how you need them for your live site.

But I think that is where this component is great! It has a lot of customization built in. From packages and free listings to Regions and locations. The regions and locations was a great option for us. We run a statewide classified site that will be moving to a national service next year. This setting will allow us to expand without a problem, or worse getting a new component.

The component can be used for a lot of different listings sites, merchandise to real estate.

Plus, the people at Joomclan are very supportive, from fixes to feature suggestions they are generally always available.
2011-04-17
Reviews: 7
I paid for this component and support, expecting the component to work as advertised and seeing a phone number on the website, I presumed that I would be able to contact the developer. I was mistaken on both counts.

Issue 1 - Their website says that the component was compatible with JomSocial and Community Builder. It did not say that one of these were REQUIRED to be installed for the login and payment to work...and if the user does not use the JoomSocial login but use the Joomla login, the component will not treat the user as a guest.

Issue 2 - The website says that it can handle unlimited number of neighborhoods (cities or zip codes). If you have any number of cities, you have to import them directly into the database and make sure it is cross indexed with the States. If you want to add one later, you will have to edit the entire database table. Also, the number of States shown have to be equally divisible by 3 or it will crash the site.

Issue 3 - The component causes 102 Jquery errors (2 for each State) in IE 8 and the site will freeze for 8 minutes.

Issue 4 - The dropdown function of the region view does not work in Opera.

Issue 5 - When the admin changes any option in the admin section, it will crash the entire site and you have to uninstall the component and make sure ALL the JoomListing tables in the databse has been deleted before reinstall and setting the options correctly the first time.

Issue 6 - NO SUPPORT!! The phone number on the site does not work. No response by email...either that you have contacted them or if they are working on the problem.

I did contact Hasson (in Canada???) by Skype...just by chance and he said that "the component worked right out of the box." I told him my issues and he said that he MIGHT look into it with the next release...maybe in July. He also said that he ONLY supports with training on how to use the software...and that is an additional fee per 15 minutes.

Like most of you here, I am a web developer who has deadlines and contracts with clients and they (as well as I) expect Commercial software to work and be ready at the time of the purchase. Buying software from Hasson would be like paying for a car and the manufacturer saying, "here is your car...it is perfect, but the engine will be here in about 3 months and if there are any other items not working, say...the gas pedal or the breaks...that is your problem...I am here only to show you how to drive...for an extra fee."

You may think I am harsh with this review, then try it and you will find that I have been quiet kind.

I would actually give this component negative 5 stars
2011-01-28
Reviews: 1
I must admit, i am new to the world of e-commerce still in the final stages of development for my own. I can say with the good and bad reviews i have seen it keeps me on my toes as i have invested an extreme amount of time and money in my site. For one, i can confidently say that i have had really good support through the developper and with a little research and time i am able to make joomlistings 2.1.7 work for my site. I am very satisfied with JL up until now; 1 upgrade... I can say productivly for the developper Hassan that i have some excellent support however would appreciate a little more attention to understanding my full requests in detail (ex:instead of just saying done or a shor phrase to give a more detailed response)...once again very satisfied with the support). I am a little woried about futrue upgrades but only for the fact of reading the few bad reviews and my lack of experience in backend usability.

I still stand confident on the product and hope that JL will be part of my success in business.

Keep up the good work Hassan on making JL the best it can be.

Shane
2010-11-27
Reviews: 5
I am not going to go into all the issues I had with this component. I feel the developer has tried to make this way too complicated and therefore way too many bugs that still need to be worked through. I spent weeks trying to get this working the way "I" wanted, and ended up spending way too much time on it and getting frustrated. I have gone with another option.
Owner's reply

Thanks for your comment. I will not take this as a review because this doesn't explain the pros and cons of the product.

JoomListings is a complicated product. To cover the wide market of the end users requirements product is difficult to setup up initially. To overcome that we offer FREE hands on training and support for the customer.

Before purchasing product I always encourage end-users to email us so that we make sure product cover their requirements.

Clearly I see here end user getting unhappy on setting up the product. I apologize for that. But was support involved.... If there were issues were they reported....

2010-11-24
Reviews: 2
I had the opportunity to test their product in version 2.1.7 and I like the versatility in handling packages is just what I need, but apparently there are some problems with the integration in "jsocial" are not taken correctly advertiser's profile fields to contact him and something goes wrong with the "jomlistings modules" in this part, seems to be broken.

Like many users here, I also agree that the regions are not entirely flexible, I will like to see the body of the classifieds and just filters to search by country and product / services (regions or countries in function to the ads and not like it is currently).

I wonder when released version 2.1.8 "stable" to buy and I believe these improvements have already more than covered.

Greetings!
Owner's reply

Thanks for the review. I don't recall any bug associated with jomsocial (I believe) you are talking about. This bug hasn't reported to us. Please do so if there is something. JomSocial combination with modules.

In 2.1.8, we have made region as flexible as possible. In 2.1.8, we have added 3 level region, location and neighbor hood combination. You can either run site as 2 level directory or 3 level depending on your need. Or even with no regions at all. 2.1.8 is stable to buy. There is no issue with it.

2010-11-15
Reviews: 2
I bought version 2.1.5 of this software back in December of 2009 right before 2.1.6 came out.

The developer offered to upgrade the software to the new version and promptly deleted all of the current ads on my live site!

Once we got that sorted out, and I manually added all of the ads back in for my users. I was unhappy with the way that I was forced to navigate through "Regions" before I could get to the ads. In addition, there was no way to link to an individual ad. I was assured that these features would be available in "The next release"

So I waited. . . and I waited. . . and I waited some more. Very patiently, all the while dreading what might happen if the upgrade ever did happen.

When version 2.1.8 came out I decided it was time to give it a try. I spoke with the developer, I backed up my site and database, and attempted to run the upgrade on a test site. It didn't work.

I spoke with the developer and he assured me that he could have it updated within an hour. I gave him back-end Super Admin rights, my FTP account info, and MySQL access. (All of which scared the crap out of me since I have several parked domains at the same root!)

He was not able to upgrade the software either. After, two more weeks of waiting, I was finally able to upgrade the MySQL tables on another server. However, the listing descriptions were not showing due to a bug in the new version.

The developer had "his guy" look at it, all the while with unprecedented access to my site. After another few weeks, I got a short e-mail stating that the problem was fixed. I checked, it still wasn't working.

I sent the developer an e-mail but I have not heard back from him, in several weeks. So to make a long story short, after almost a year of struggling to get this to work, I ended up deleting it all together and switching to another solution.

This has been, by far, the worst experience I have ever had with a Joomla! component. (Especially for a commercial component that I paid for.)

The developer seems VERY conscientious, and wants to help you get your problems solved, but ultimately he seems unable to deliver the goods.

In fact, I think most of the features that have been added to the software are requests from individual users with individual needs. 90% of the features will need to be “turned off” for the majority of users, making the front and back end very cumbersome to navigate. If you can get it to run at all, and if the there is a way to “turn off” the unwanted “feature” to begin with.

The developer needs to work on making software upgrades easier, and eliminating major BUGS, before attempting to add new features. I wish him the best of luck in the future, but me, I’m finished messing around with this. I’ve wasted WAY to much of both his and my time! (Not to mention my money.)
Owner's reply

I bought version 2.1.5 of this software back in December of 2009 right before 2.1.6 came out.

The developer offered to upgrade the software to the new version and promptly deleted all of the current ads on my live site!
[JC] This happened year back, I accept this. But it was not because of the upgrade it was because of re-install the component on his site. The way he stated problem to us and he mentioned he is just setting up the new site. We re-installed the component. We shouldn’t have done that on the first place. I acknowledge this as our only mistake with this client.

Once we got that sorted out, and I manually added all of the ads back in for my users. I was unhappy with the way that I was forced to navigate through "Regions" before I could get to the ads. In addition, there was no way to link to an individual ad. I was assured that these features would be available in "The next release"

So I waited. . . and I waited. . . and I waited some more. Very patiently, all the while dreading what might happen if the upgrade ever did happen.
[JC] This is how product JoomListings 2.1.6 was designed. We were not selling the product with this feature year ago. Yes now in version 2.1.8 we have removed the requirement of selecting the region. It’s very simple and straight forward. Since day 1 user didn’t like this requirement of version 2.1.6 and wanted to move to different solution and based on his requirements we change this requirement in version 2.1.7.

When version 2.1.8 came out I decided it was time to give it a try. I spoke with the developer, I backed up my site and database, and attempted to run the upgrade on a test site. It didn't work.
I spoke with the developer and he assured me that he could have it updated within an hour. I gave him back-end Super Admin rights, my FTP account info, and MySQL access. (All of which scared the crap out of me since I have several parked domains at the same root!)

He was not able to upgrade the software either. After, two more weeks of waiting, I was finally able to upgrade the MySQL tables on another server. However, the listing descriptions were not showing due to a bug in the new version.

The developer had "his guy" look at it, all the while with unprecedented access to my site. After another few weeks, I got a short e-mail stating that the problem was fixed. I checked, it still wasn't working.

I sent the developer an e-mail but I have not heard back from him, in several weeks. So to make a long story short, after almost a year of struggling to get this to work, I ended up deleting it all together and switching to another solution.
[JC] I know this user and we have been supporting him for last 12 months now. I have offered him custom development, phone support and dedicated developer support but to make this particular customer happy is impossible. This review is more a revenge then actually a product review. I have asked customer to provide details of his site and we will upgrade the component for him. After 2 weeks’ time he provided the information when I started the update process I came to know the MySQL server version user has is not capable of running stored procedures with IF NOT EXISIT clauses. I have requested him to get the version of MySQL upgraded but he was not able to get it done from his hosting company and then further he got frustrated with us. To prove to him, I purchased a godaddy hosting account and showed him how easy the upgrade process is and if he had the correct MySQL version. I am not the kind of person who blames customer but issue with this customer from word go was he doesn’t want to listen and come to the conclusion by himself.

This has been, by far, the worst experience I have ever had with a Joomla! component. (Especially for a commercial component that I paid for.)

The developer seems VERY conscientious, and wants to help you get your problems solved, but ultimately he seems unable to deliver the goods.

In fact, I think most of the features that have been added to the software are requests from individual users with individual needs. 90% of the features will need to be “turned off” for the majority of users, making the front and back end very cumbersome to navigate. If you can get it to run at all, and if the there is a way to “turn off” the unwanted “feature” to begin with.
[JC] Our product is versatile and made to cater different types of small business so that they can customize and run professional classified sites. Please have a look at following comment from another customer regarding our features and flexibility. “Joomlistings was a great purchase. It has a remarkable level of flexibility - From expiration dates, pricing, file uploads, and categories beyond belief!

Among the features, the multiple modules included in the download really make a classified site on a much better level. As you may want featured ads 'up there' and newest ads 'right about there'
I've tried other classified components before. But they did not offer the flexibility and PAYMENT integration that Joomlistings does. Overall a great purchase!” – This review is posted below.

The developer needs to work on making software upgrades easier, and eliminating major BUGS, before attempting to add new features. I wish him the best of luck in the future, but me, I’m finished messing around with this. I’ve wasted WAY to much of both his and my time! (Not to mention my money.)
[JC] Our upgrade process is simple and straight forward, end user is misguiding here. The reason his upgrade was an issue because MySQL version was not updated as per Joomla! requirements to begin with. Here is our upgrade process
1- Overwrite the files /component/JoomListings
2- Overwrite the file /administrator/ component/JoomListings
3- Run the upgrade mySQL script in the phpmyadmin

2010-11-08
Reviews: 1
Joomlistings was a great purchase. It has a remarkable level of flexibility - From expiration dates, pricing, file uploads, and categories beyond belief!

Among the features, the multiple modules included in the download really make a classified site on a much better level. As you may want featured ads 'up there' and newest ads 'right about there'
I've tried other classified components before. But they did not offer the flexibility and PAYMENT integration that Joomlistings does. Overall a great purchase!
2010-10-29
Reviews: 1
First of all I must say that this extension, even if full of problems as I'll write below, is the best for listings management for Joomla.

Unfortunately there are so many bugs! The problem is that the component as it was at version 2.1.7 (no more upgraded since I modified it too much to have a site working) should have been rated as pre-pre-pre alpha. In no way it should have been distributed to use in production sites (since simply there are so many features broken).

This said, if I would have known all these problems I would have gone as well with the component because as said, it's the best (about features richness), but at least I and my client would have been conscious that it would have needed extra work to fix all the things broken.

Now I quite fixed everything (something, according with my client will not be fixed) and I introduced many hacks to accomplish my client needs, this of course prevent us to continue with upgrading and support.

To be clear: I dont' want to complain. Just suggest joomclan to think if possible to revise their delivery policy.
2010-10-18
Reviews: 6
I have been looking at, trying and working with every classified ad program for Joomla as well as those that stand alone and this one is by far the best - yes, there are still bugs and it is still growing but the concepta and functionality (especially with the regions) is so superior to anything else out there it's worth any short term inconvenience you may experience. The developer is committed to making this work and receptive to input. He is even doing webinars now to help us use it to it's fullest advantage. If you are looking for a SERIOUS classified ad program this is the one to go with. It will not be this cheap forever - I mean it will always be open source but the support is worth paying for - I'm proud to be an early supporter!
2010-10-04
Reviews: 2
I have been very happy so far with the component itself, while 2.1.7 wasnt the greatest, I expect that the new version (once out of beta) will fix my issues as the release notes seem to show it will.

My problem is the support. I sent a support request over a week ago to fix my categories (scattered all over the page) and the developer claimed he had an idea to fix it and would get back to me. I sent a reply saying thanks and to let me know, and have since heard nothing from them. It is a small issue, but if you say you're going to do something, then it should be done. I was a bit weary of this component based on some prior bad support reviews, but I liked it a lot, so went ahead and purchased.

The component is awesome, the support is non-existant as far as I have experienced.

Something tells me I will see a comment to this review before I actually receive some support.

Anyway, good component, just dont expect much help.
Page 1 of 3